Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Porto Bello Gold” as Want to Read:
Porto Bello Gold
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Porto Bello Gold

3.64  ·  Rating Details ·  28 Ratings  ·  3 Reviews
This thrilling "prequel" to Robert Louis Stevenson's classic pirate tale imagines how Captain Flint and Murray sacked the Spanish galleon and buried their ill-gotten treasure on the Dead Man's Chest and on Treasure Island
ebook, 304 pages
Published April 1st 1999 by McBooks Press (first published November 30th 1923)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Porto Bello Gold, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Porto Bello Gold

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-55)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Helmut
Feb 21, 2013 Helmut rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: pirates, favorites
Fünfzehn Mann auf des Toten Manns Kiste...

Heutzutage wird die Erbfolge der britischen Monarchie in Tageszeitungen diskutiert - soll der alternde Prinz Charles auf sein Thronrecht zugunsten seines Sohnes William verzichten? Solch ähnliche Diskussionen waren Mitte des 18.Jh., als unser Roman spielt, nicht nur eine emotionale Frage, sondern führten zu blutigen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den Jakobiten, also Unterstützern des abgesetzten Hauses Stuart unter Führung von Bonnie Prince Charlie, und d
...more
Sarah Elizabeth
Jun 15, 2009 Sarah Elizabeth rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It took me years to track this book down. On any recommendations or lists I've ever heard or read, "FOR FANS OF TREASURE ISLAND, ETC.", Porto Bello Gold has been listed as number one. But of course, it's out of print. However, it's worth the search and the drama of searching. This book is great; it's dramatic, exciting, adventurous. It's deeper than a simple pirate yarn, both younger and older fans will enjoy. Like most pirate, etc., novels I've read recently, it took me a while to get through ( ...more
James
Nov 06, 2016 James rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great prequel to the classic Treasure Island. Swashbuckling intrigue galore.
Tom Barnett
Tom Barnett rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2009
Marek
Marek rated it liked it
Nov 05, 2016
Toralf Saffer
Toralf Saffer rated it liked it
Jul 21, 2013
Steven Castle
Steven Castle rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2016
Jordan
Jordan rated it really liked it
Jun 16, 2013
Tyler
Tyler rated it really liked it
Feb 05, 2009
Vendimia
Vendimia rated it really liked it
Nov 19, 2012
Hannah
Hannah rated it really liked it
May 30, 2014
Austin Bachmann
Austin Bachmann rated it it was amazing
Mar 20, 2008
Craig
Craig rated it liked it
Jul 23, 2016
Joseph
Joseph rated it it was ok
Oct 07, 2016
Mark Roebuck
Mark Roebuck rated it liked it
Feb 23, 2015
Chrissy
Chrissy rated it really liked it
Jun 15, 2015
Brandon
Brandon rated it liked it
Jan 01, 2014
Chiara
Chiara rated it liked it
Feb 07, 2016
socal91701
socal91701 rated it liked it
May 04, 2009
Michal
Michal rated it liked it
Feb 24, 2013
Allison Tebo
Allison Tebo rated it it was ok
Nov 24, 2016
Jon
Jon rated it really liked it
Sep 12, 2014
Vero Kobylan
Vero Kobylan rated it really liked it
Aug 19, 2016
Kevin Cheesman
Kevin Cheesman rated it really liked it
Jun 19, 2014
Neil
Neil rated it really liked it
May 17, 2013
Jörn
Jörn rated it liked it
Dec 26, 2010
Brage Strand
Brage Strand rated it liked it
Mar 28, 2016
Alejo
Alejo rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2013
Megan
Megan marked it as to-read
Nov 16, 2007
Michael
Michael marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2008
Margaret
Margaret marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2010
Cierra
Cierra marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2011
Liliaceae
Liliaceae marked it as to-read
May 28, 2011
Richard
Richard marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2011
Brian
Brian added it
Jul 27, 2011
Joe Johnston
Joe Johnston marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2012
Andrew Eberle
Andrew Eberle marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2012
Lisa Rathbun
Lisa Rathbun marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2012
David Fraser
David Fraser marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2013
Glory
Glory added it
May 20, 2013
Yinzadi
Yinzadi marked it as to-read
May 22, 2013
Alicia
Alicia marked it as to-read
Oct 11, 2013
Mohammed Mosleh
Mohammed Mosleh marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2013
Beverly
Beverly marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2014
Kakashi-stylz
Kakashi-stylz marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2014
Jennifer
Jennifer marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2014
Milan
Milan marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2014
Alex
Alex marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2014
Kristin
Kristin marked it as to-read
May 29, 2014
Nate Gearhart
Nate Gearhart marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Raven
Raven marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2014
Bastet
Bastet marked it as to-read
Aug 16, 2014
Barry
Barry marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2014
Becky
Becky marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book