Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Poor White” as Want to Read:
Poor White
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Poor White

3.63 of 5 stars 3.63  ·  rating details  ·  188 ratings  ·  23 reviews
Purchase one of 1st World Library's Classic Books and help support our free internet library of downloadable eBooks. Visit us online at www.1stWorldLibrary.ORG - - Hugh McVey was born in a little hole of a town stuck on a mud bank on the western shore of the Mississippi River in the State of Missouri. It was a miserable place in which to be born. With the exception of a na ...more
Paperback, 192 pages
Published November 3rd 2006 by Hard Press (first published 1920)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Poor White, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Poor White

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 387)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Mad Dog
An ambitious book that bored me for much ot its length. This book's intent was telling the tale of the impacts of the Industrial Revolution on small-town America as well as telling the personal tale of some of those involved. But the book got bogged down (in parts) by the boring telling of the story of the lead character (Hugh McVey). The character never really progressed (throughout the book), but worst of all he never really got interesting. He took long walks and brooded about how he didn't f ...more
James Govednik
It seems everything I've read about Sherwood Anderson rates Winesburg, Ohio as Anderson's best work, but I like Poor White better. Like Winesburg, the plot is strongly rooted in the internal struggles of the characters. While Winesburg is a series of character studies, Poor White takes us along on the journey of Hugh McVey as he grows from a dazed social outcast to an unwitting mover and shaker of commerce, from the 1890s into the 20th century. Like life 100 or so years ago, the story moves alon ...more
Wadlington Johnson
Where Sherwood Anderson succeeds is in his ability to raise the every day normal experience to a place of beauty. He doesn't in the way some authors do by relying on magical realism. Through his simple approach to writing and his ability to root out truths that are nearly almost always relevant if not often realized till Anderson points it out. Anderson is not necessarily an author for the current generation that has grown accustomed to wild twists and turns in story. What Anderson does is tell ...more
Alex
Sherwood Anderson pulls it off. It's definitely an imperfect novel. There are moments when he seems to want it to be Bigger than what it is followed by moments in which he focuses in on one emotion, and the two moves aren't quite reconciled. That said, Anderson is very perceptive of the multifaceted and often-overlapping pulls of progress and nostalgia - the human experience of the modernization process - which makes for the novel's greatest strength. You get the feeling here that Anderson, as a ...more
Veronica
t saddens me to say that I was, once again, disappointed with an admired author’s work. Poor White felt like it was trying much too hard to be a work of historical fiction, and in doing so, had this reader losing interest. I have read many great books within this category, however, this was not one of them.

Anderson’s commentary on the burgeoning Industrial Revolution during the early 20th century reads at times like a scholarly work, rather than a piece of fiction, and has an academically dry to
...more
Christine Granados
Enjoyed reading "Winesburg, Ohio" but this one not so much. I kept thinking that McVey's internal monologues could have been edited to one page. I did come away from the book with lines worth quoting about how America created/started its myth of greatness: "In a sweeter age many of these young men might have become artists, but they had not been strong enough to stand against the growing strength of dollars. They had instead become newspaper correspondents and secretaries to politicians. All day ...more
Jim
First published in 1920, it seems dated today, and I found that even if I flipped the pages from time to time I wouldn't lose any of the story line. Its about a young man who is urged by parent-like figures to work hard and treat life seriously. He subsequently leaves a job at a railroad station, as he has become successful as an inventor of labor-saving farm machinery. Somewhat introverted, that life takes over to the detriment of relationships of any kind until he meets a young woman on the re ...more
Jodi Lu
His style is so unsettling to me. It’s so odd in the sense that everything’s so NORMAL to the point of extreme sleepiness of descriptive prose and top-level dialogue and clearly arranged chronology and blandish development but still, this banal scene and the faintest glimmer in each otherwise matte eye, is always infused with a sense of extreme anxiety that is definitively sticky and macabre. He should’ve tried his hand at horror. In Winesburg, Ohio (which is far more interesting to read in my o ...more
Kayla
I know Anderson is supposed to be a great regional author, but i really think the only reason why he was published was because of the subjects that he wrote about (industrialism vs. nature, hardships of the underprivileged, sexual orientations, and Freudian philosophies. Everything is in exposition and he makes grotesque grammar mistakes. For example: "Hugh builded a wall between them."
Great regional author or not, this is a terrible book and i feel sorry for the people who are forced to read it
...more
Eldonfoil TH*E Whatever Champion
I can understand most readers' criticism of this book. But it's Sherwood Anderson and he's got much to say. He has left his writing as the definitive stamp for the Midwest (and into Appalachia and other regions), for the turn of the century, and for modern America and the new industrialism. He's the one who puts things in its proper perspective and sees a bit further. He's the one who felt it so much he just got up and walked into the cornfields. I wish he could have walked another hundred years ...more
Timothy Crook
One of the most overlooked books in American fiction by one of the most overlooked but influential writers that influenced so many writers after him, love Sherwood Anderson!
Dylan Alford
This book reminded me of the grapes of wrath...like it could be a midwestern prequel to that. It's about a socially awkward, isolated guy who has a gift with math and mechanical reckoning...which shows that our progress from agriculturalism to industrialism was headed by unnatural, isolated people who put all of their energy into their work. It's also just about social isolation in general, as anderson's main theme...people's innability to communicate and resist loneliness. Then there's the whol ...more
Judy
Taking place during the late 1800s, a poor white trash boy gets to escape his background but never quite "fits in" with anyone. He wanders and eventually ends in a small Ohio town. The story of the coming age of industry -- factories that turn out labor-saving devices -- and the effect on working people; the story of those who are moneymakers and organizers; the story of young people who don't know how to love -- this book covers all of that and more. Apparently, this was Anderson's only success ...more
Kinsley
while some parts may seem a bit sluggish, it was beautifully descriptive and incredibly insightful. It is really something people should read to understand a bit about where we are today, where we came from, what we gained and what we lost. If you are looking for a lot of plot and action though, this is not your book. I just read Winesburg, Ohio (it had been on my to-read list forever!) and think that book is more enjoyable to read, but I really appreciated this book for its beauty and insight.
Paul Hansbury
Recommend it and recommend it for historian/sociologists to yellow-marker multiple passages which shrug off the limited third-person narrative and describe american societal change in apt terms.
Iain Coggins
I have always loved Anderson and I had wanted to read this particular novel for years. What a pleasure to enjoy his clear, simple prose, so weighted with meaning! This is an American classic in the vein of Cather and Hemingway, but sadly one that has fallen by the wayside.
Jeane
As i always think about books written by American writers, about America around the times this was written, I thought it would be boring. But again i start to find this book quite interesting and find it harder to put down the more i read it.
Dave
Anderson has always been difficult for me to describe. His books have this strange tone that uncover this layer of mystery that I start to see in real life. Everything seems unknown and life more beautiful as a result. Almost opposite in Tolstoy.
Wanda
Sep 14, 2011 Wanda marked it as to-read
Samuel Eliot Morison mentions it favorably in his "The Oxford History of the American People"; in fact it seems to have quite touched him. I found it on Gutenberg, so I downloaded it to my eReader.
Jeff
Pretty good, though a bit disjointed, collection of characters and stories about industrialism and the changes it wrought in the mid-west late in the 19th century.
Lorenzo Berardi
Huckleberry Finn revisited in the north of United States.
Better than Mark Twain.
Catherine
Interesting story of rural America and the advent of the industrial age.
Mary
Simple, quick, makes you think.
Loida Pan
Loida Pan marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2015
Chris Tompkins
Chris Tompkins marked it as to-read
Jun 10, 2015
Maria
Maria added it
Jun 08, 2015
Peter Surrena
Peter Surrena is currently reading it
Jun 06, 2015
Ricardo Vazquez
Ricardo Vazquez marked it as to-read
May 30, 2015
Teerath
Teerath is currently reading it
May 29, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 12 13 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Prince Otto
  • Little Me: The Intimate Memoirs of that Great Star of Stage, Screen and Television/Belle Poitrine/as told to
  • Fanshawe
  • The Evil Guest
  • The Moneychangers
  • Africa in My Blood: An Autobiography in Letters
  • In Youth is Pleasure
  • The Daring Young Man on the Flying Trapeze and Other Stories
  • Fanny and Stella: The Young Men Who Shocked Victorian England
  • The Bürgermeister's Daughter: Scandal in a Sixteenth-Century German Town
  • The Golden Pot and Other Tales
  • Crime Novels: American Noir of the 1930s & 40s
  • Mosquitoes
  • Jennie Gerhardt
  • Dodsworth
  • Spring and All
  • Morte D'Urban
  • Malcolm: A Comic Novel
45645
Sherwood Anderson was an American writer who was mainly known for his short stories, most notably the collection Winesburg, Ohio. That work's influence on American fiction was profound, and its literary voice can be heard in Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, Thomas Wolfe, John Steinbeck, Erskine Caldwell and others.

From PBS.org:
Sherwood Anderson, (1876-1941), was an American short-story writer a
...more
More about Sherwood Anderson...
Winesburg, Ohio The Egg and Other Stories Death in the Woods and Other Stories The Portable Sherwood Anderson Certain Things Last: The Selected Short Stories

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“The machines men are so intent on making have carried them very far from the old sweet things.” 6 likes
“All men lead their lives behind a wall of misunderstanding they have themselves built and most men die in silence and unnoticed behind the walls. Now and then a man, cut off from his fellows by the peculiarities of his nature, becomes absorbed in doing something that is personal, useful and beautiful. Word of his activities is carried over the walls.” 3 likes
More quotes…