Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Rising Sun: A Novel” as Want to Read:
The Rising Sun: A Novel
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Rising Sun: A Novel

by
3.48  ·  Rating Details  ·  101 Ratings  ·  9 Reviews
Now in paperback, Douglas Galbraith's The Rising Sun is an extraordinary tour de force of historical fiction in the tradition of Caleb Carr's The Alienist and David Liss's A Conspiracy of Paper. A widespread critical favorite in hardcover, it was hailed by Kirkus Reviews as one of the best novels of the past decade, and established its author as a major new talent. In 1698 ...more
Paperback, 535 pages
Published December 12th 2001 by Grove Press (first published January 1st 2000)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Rising Sun, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Rising Sun

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 232)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Jody
Jan 22, 2009 Jody rated it it was ok
Just starting on this one. It's about 5 Scottish ships that are sailing to the new world to begin a colony. Almost from the beginning, there are troubles between the various members of the crew and passengers. I'm only about 30 pages in to it so, I don't have good feel for whats going on. We'll see.

I'm over half way now and mostly reading it because it's here. Actually it's 1st person view is pretty interesting. However, interesting it is to actually know how many barrels of salt or pairs of thi
...more
Steve
Aug 16, 2015 Steve rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
High 4. Galbraith has taken one of the forgotten yet fascinating episodes of Scottish history to fashion not only a worthy addition to the best that historical fiction can offer, but a true adventure yarn worthy of Louis Stevenson or Dumas. His narrator, young Roderick MacKenzie, as superintendent of cargoes aboard the titular flagship provides an eyewitness account of the tragedy which befalls the attempt to colonise the Panamanian isthmus at Darien at the end of the seventeenth century. Not on ...more
Sean Mcdonald
Apr 27, 2014 Sean Mcdonald rated it it was ok
It was entertaining for historical fiction. The history is the failed Scottish colony of Darien (in modern Panama). The book is written in 3 parts, part 1 before the voyage and the Atlantic trip, part 2 the Caribbean/Gulf of Mexico and actual colony and part 3 the aftermath. As a stand-alone story, Part 3 felt completely unnecessary, though it did show up the long term result of the colony for Scotland.
Sjo
Oct 14, 2009 Sjo rated it liked it
Shelves: 2009
Historical novel covering the failed Scottish colony of Darien on the coast of Panama in 1698. The book is narrated by Rory MacKenzie, a young Scot who ends up being the accounts man on the expedition. There is lots of context throughout that is helful if you have some grounding in Scots history, but probably still an entertaining man vs. nature sort of read regardless. There is a real interesting thread from this failed expedition to the 1707 act of union between Scotland and Englang--Galbraith ...more
Dov Cole
Nov 07, 2012 Dov Cole rated it it was ok
So, I really wanted to like this book I really, really did. I've read seafaring novels before and enjoyed them. But never from the point of view of the book-keeper. I usually give it about 100 pages to develop. Nothing much happened & I didn't feel like I learned anything new. There was some torture by writing in "olde english" style, but I adjusted. I gritted my teeth & read some more. But nothing ever happened. I was disappointed but tried again. At page 170 enough is enough. I guess a ...more
William  Shep
Jan 02, 2009 William Shep rated it liked it
Not bad for a debut novel. The writer has good descriptive powers but the narrative lags a bit and none of the characters really shine. There is some humor but overall a sense of impending doom throughout, and rightly so, since this is an account of the now obscure and tragically failed Scottish attempt to launch a colonial empire in Panama at Darien in the 1690s.
Ben
Nov 24, 2007 Ben rated it really liked it
A fantastic story of the search for fortune in a far off land. Rich in detail and with a haunting melancholy.
Xdw
Feb 16, 2013 Xdw rated it liked it
historical fiction. but watch out, quite a bit of fiction fixing up the facts.
Lindsay
Lindsay marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2016
W. Cartwright
W. Cartwright marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2016
Jaime A.  Zobel de Ayala
Jaime A. Zobel de Ayala marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2016
Dean
Dean marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2016
Kimberly
Kimberly marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2016
Ashley W
Ashley W marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2016
Samantha Shelby
Samantha Shelby marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2016
Bryan
Bryan marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2016
Jeannine
Jeannine marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2016
Susanna
Susanna marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2016
Derek
Derek rated it really liked it
Feb 28, 2016
Jenni
Jenni marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2016
Carlos
Carlos rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2016
Fiona
Fiona added it
Dec 15, 2015
Erik
Erik marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2015
Kerry
Kerry marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2015
Tammy
Tammy rated it it was ok
Nov 28, 2015
Jacob Webb
Jacob Webb rated it it was ok
Dec 17, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Old Man and Mr. Smith: A Fable
  • Panama: A Novel
  • Die Feuerzangenbowle. Eine Lausbüberei in der Kleinstadt
  • The Rothschilds: A Family Portrait
  • Le maître de thé
  • Demon of the Waters: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Whaleship Globe
  • Deus Lo Volt!: A Chronicle of the Crusades
  • The Blackbirder (Thomas Marlowe, #2)
  • Als wir träumten
  • The Mask of Anonymity
  • The Maestro, the Magistrate and the Mathematician
  • Snow Mountain Passage
  • Black Monday
  • Let It Be Morning
  • Eagles and Angels
  • The Astronomer
  • Liquidation
  • Air Mail

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »