Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Swift Justice (A Charlie Swift Mystery #1)” as Want to Read:
Swift Justice (A Charlie Swift Mystery #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Swift Justice (A Charlie Swift Mystery #1)

by
3.68  ·  Rating Details ·  412 Ratings  ·  87 Reviews

Charlotte “Charlie” Swift prefers working alone. That’s why after eight years as an Air Force investigator she became a PI rather than a cop. She lives alone, she works alone, and aside for the occasional flirtation with sexy cop Connor Montgomery or her hunky neighbor Father Dan, she likes it that way. Then her silent partner flees the country, leaving his wife, Gigi, w

...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published October 12th 2010 by Minotaur Books (first published 2010)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Tim
Dec 02, 2010 Tim rated it liked it
I liked this, but I liked the inaugural book in her other series much more. Charlie & Gigi make a nice duo. The supporting cast might be a bit too full of hunky guys...but I like the supporting cast (Father Dan, Montgomery, Gigi's bratty kids, the lady who runs the restaurant down the way whose name escapes me at the moment). I AM looking forward to future adventures...

Here are the two reasons for the three star instead of four star rating:

1) It was kind of obvious what was going on with Li
...more
Rage
Oct 16, 2016 Rage rated it it was amazing
I couldn't resist checking this out of the library, but I enjoyed it more than I expected. there are so many different fun elements: I liked seeing Charlie's relationship with Gigi, her unexpected new business partner, develop at the same time as we were introduced to Gigi's life, which kind of surprisingly sucks (I'm even curious to see what happens with her bratty kids). I like Charlie's interactions with her handsome neighbor and handsome cop friend -- I want to see where both go. I don't ...more
Cindy Schilling
May 05, 2015 Cindy Schilling rated it really liked it
Shelves: books-read-2015
"Swift Justice" introduces us to Charlotte, "Charlie" Swift, a PI in Colorado Springs. As the book opens, Charlie has just taken on a missing persons case, and been introduced to Gigi, the ex-wife of her silent partner. Gigi received the share of the agency in her divorce settlement and has decided she wants to be an active partner, much to Charlie's chagrin.

This was an entertaining debut, and I look forward to reading more from this author. The characters are well-developed, the cases are inte
...more
Dharia Scarab
Oct 25, 2016 Dharia Scarab rated it really liked it

Since I don't normally write reviews unless I have something specific to say, here's the break down of how I rate my books...

1 star... This book was bad, so bad I may have given up and skipped to the end. I will avoid this author like the plague in the future.

2 stars... This book was not very good, and I won't be reading any more from the author.

3 stars... This book was ok, but I won't go out of my way to read more, But if I find another book by the author for under a dollar I'd pick it up.

4 sta
...more
Janet
Oct 01, 2016 Janet rated it liked it
Me a while to get through this book simply because… well read for yourself.
These are notes I made halfway through the book;
Can't say I care much for the main character here, Charlie. She's just bland and unlikable, in fact that seems to be an accurate description of this book, so far. I'll hang in there though, on the hope that Gigi will provide some good entertainment further on. At least she has a good attitude and interesting personality.
As I go further into this book, the less I like Charli
...more
Ed
Sep 05, 2013 Ed rated it really liked it
#1 in the Charlotte “Charlie” Swift series. This debut novel was shortlisted for the 2011 Lefty Award. Author DiSilverio turns in a very fine first effort. "Charlie" Swift is an Air Force investigator turned P.I. In a great balancing act, the serious matter of tracking down the father of an abandoned baby, after the mother is killed, is offset by the comic situations arising as a result of divorced socialite, Gigi, getting half of the detective agency in her settlement and deciding she wants to ...more
Kari Wainwright
Oct 31, 2010 Kari Wainwright rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Beth Groundwater
P. I. Charlie Swift specializes in finding missing persons, being a loner, and drinking a lot of Pepsi. As the book opens, a client appears in Swift’s Colorado Springs office to ask her to find her missing daughter. A daughter she hasn’t seen since she gave her up for adoption as an infant. The teen-age daughter who recently left her own newborn on her birth mother’s doorstep a week ago.
The client doesn’t want to meet her daughter. She just wants her granddaughter returned to the teen-ager.
N
...more
Hallie
Jan 27, 2011 Hallie rated it really liked it
Author Laura DiSilverio’s debut novel, “Swift Justice” (her PI is named Charlotte “Charlie” Swift), opens in Charlie’s Colorado Springs office with a visit from Melissa Lloyd, an interior decorator who has had something unexpected left on her porch: a newborn baby. She’s had the baby’s DNA tested and it’s her own grandchild. The baby has to have been abandoned by the daughter Lloyd gave up for adoption seventeen years ago. “Find my daughter,” Lloyd says. Only she has no name, no photo, and no ...more
Kristi
Meet Charlotte (Charlie) Swift, a PI who likes to work by herself. She has her own firm that consists of her and a silent partner, whose only role was funding. Now meet Gigi. Gigi is a 50-something former beautician-turned-housewife, whose husband has just left her and the kids. All Gigi has is the house, her husband's Hummer, and bills to pay. Did I mention Gigi's husband is Charlie's silent partner? He also left Gigi his half of Swift Investigations. Gigi is eager to learn the PI trade, ...more
Kaye
Oct 01, 2012 Kaye rated it really liked it
Charlotte "Charlie" Smith, former U.S. Air Force Investigator, now PI, has her own agency, a hunky neighbor, Father Dan, and a hunky detective, Montgomery, for friends, so what could go wrong? She likes being independent. She takes a missing person's case involving a teenager who recently gave birth, the baby, and the woman who found the baby on her doorstep. That quickly becomes complicated when the woman confesses that she had a daughter when she was a teenager, and a DNA test proved that the ...more
Susan
Mar 15, 2011 Susan rated it liked it
I'll look forward to more books in the seriers. If you like Janet Evanovich, I think you'll like DiSilverio. Not quite as crazy and Evanovichs but still plenty of fun. I like Charlie and GiGi and the rest of the cast.

"Charlotte “Charlie” Swift prefers working alone. That’s why after eight years as an Air Force investigator she became a PI rather than a cop. She lives alone, she works alone, and aside for the occasional flirtation with sexy cop Connor Montgomery or her hunky neighbor Father Dan,
...more
Dolly
Dec 17, 2010 Dolly rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Mystery fans
This book introduces Charlotte "Charlie" Swift, a no-nonsense PI that strongly resembles a modern day Kinsey Milhone. The story is funny, dramatic, suspenseful and entertaining. It was a quick read and left me wanting to read more about her characters. The story was fairly predictable, but I enjoyed reading about the areas around Colorado Springs and Denver and I loved her blend of sarcastic wit, humor, and dramatic suspense. The book cover reminded me of some of Carl Hiaasen's books.

I've also r
...more
Pam
Oct 10, 2011 Pam rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery, colorado
DiSilverio, Laura
Swift Justice
Mystery/2010/Minotaur Books/290 Pgs
Debut -- Charlie Swift PI series
Present/Colorado Springs, CO
Characters: Charlotte "Charlie" Swift -- former USAF investigator, PI w/ focus on missing persons
Gigi -- Charlie's new partner, x-wife of Charlie's silent partner
First Lines: The bear had toppled my bird feeder again, the 2 aspirin I'd gulped w/ a swig of Pepsi weren't making a dent in my headache (note to self: don't try to match Father Dan drink for drink ever again), a
...more
Amanda
Feb 14, 2013 Amanda rated it really liked it
Shelves: cozy-mysteries
Charlie Swift sounds like the kind of woman that Steve McGarrett (from Hawaii 5-0) would enjoy working with. In fact they could probably teach each other a lot.

I admit I would have agreed with Charlie on Gigi's choices for decorating the office, and I would most likely be just as annoyed as she was when Gigi tried to completely change the office. Yet Gigi proved that she can be tough enough to do the job, she is loyal and determined to make things work for her and her children (no matter how ung
...more
Penny Ramirez
May 09, 2011 Penny Ramirez rated it really liked it
Shelves: mystery, series
What fun! I love discovering a new author/series with lots of promise. Kind of a cross between the zaniness of Evanovich and the seriousness of Grafton - a good mix.

Charlie Swift is a former Army OSI investigator who retired and opened a PI business, with the help of an invetor/partner. One day she finds a strange woman in her office - turns out the partner decided to dump his wife (the woman) for a 22-year-old personal trainer, leaving Gigi with the house, the Hummer, and his interest in Charli
...more
Meg Fee
Nov 09, 2011 Meg Fee rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Terry
Debut in a new series featuring an independent female PI--and her eventual partner, a not-so-independent sidekick, Gigi. Plenty of snappy dialogue and funny situations make this a quick, enjoyable read. Charlotte (Charlie) Swift needs to find the mother of an abandoned baby who's been left on the grandmother's doorstep. Problem: baby's mother has been killed. And who's the father? And what's the motive? Gigi--complete with a bright yellow Hummer and a great spirit--comes to Charlie's aid more ...more
Susan
Oct 31, 2010 Susan rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery-colorado
Years of experience have made Charlie Swift really good at locating missing persons. But her latest case, finding out who left a baby at the home of a woman who gave away her own child seventeen years ago, is going to be tough. What's making it even harder is that her silent partner has decamped, leaving his deserted wife with the need to make a living, by becoming Charlie's not so silent partner. Gigi does not have the chops Charlie has learned to use, so Charlie sends her out on the most ...more
Caroline
May 25, 2011 Caroline rated it really liked it
I liked Lila Dare's Southern Beauty Shop book so, when I found out that Lila Dare was also Laura DiSilverio, I figured I'd enjoy this book. Although I usually buy all my books then read them and pass them on via swap, I got this one out of my local library. Read it in two days and enjoyed every minute of it. I really like Charlie Swift and the fun of the relationship between Charlie and her new partner is great to read. All the characters are realistic and the story was complicated enough to ...more
Michele
Jul 27, 2013 Michele rated it really liked it
I was at the library and my son picked out a book for me. I brought it home, looked it up and it turns out it was the third book of a series. So, I got the first book, this one. I LOVED IT. The characters are funny, believable and loveable. Unlike Stephanie Plum, this character doesn't seem to be in heat all the time. Unlike Kinsey Milhone, she actually has a soft side. (I only quote those characters because the reviews likened this series to those two) I can't wait to read the next 2 books. If ...more
Susan
Mar 08, 2012 Susan rated it really liked it
Shelves: adult, mystery
I picked this book up as a read-alike for Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series. I really liked it and look forward to the second book in this series. In this story Charlie is a thirty something private eye. She has a silent partner who skips town with a 22 year old and his wife shows up making the partnership real instead of silent. Charlie was an investigator for the Airforce for eight years so she knows what she is doing. The partner, Gigi, a 52 year old society matron, provides the comic ...more
Nancy Rogan
Jun 19, 2013 Nancy Rogan rated it really liked it
This was my first DiSilverio book and I really enjoyed it. Her writing style is easy-reading and fast-moving. The characters were interesting, a little eccentric, but believable and likable. I liked that the main character is an established PI with some credibility, not a bumbling, wanna be. The bumbling wanna be character is funny and lovable without being completely silly. I look forward to reading more of these as well as trying her other 2 series.
Janice
Jan 04, 2011 Janice rated it liked it
1st in a series -fun read, evanovich read alike, but not as goofy. Charlie (Charlotte) Swift is private investigator, whose silent partner has run off with his personal trainer and his family finances leaving a wife (Gigi and two kids behind. Gigi needs a job, and decides to become a not so silent partner in the PI buisness. Oil and water..... Gigi provides the comic relief as she learns the buisness.
Sam
Aug 19, 2014 Sam rated it it was amazing
Shelves: cozy-mysteries
Hooray for Charlie Swift! What a character -- and, since DiSilverio does a lovely job of developing said character, we really get a chance to get to know it in this debut novel. She can be exasperating, sure, and rough around the edges, but her new partner provides an entertaining and often touching foil to Charlie's curmudgeonliness. Highly recommended! I only wish there were more books in this brief, rollicking series.
Kaitlin
Jul 06, 2011 Kaitlin rated it really liked it
This was a book I picked up at the library because the cover caught my attention but I am glad that I got it! I thought the book had a refreshing and unique storyline to it that had my attention all the way through. I love the way Charlie and Gigi interact with each other and got a kick out of Gigi's experience as a PI. I thought this was a great debut to the series and am looking forward to reading more by Laura DiSilverio!
Mark Baker
Mar 01, 2014 Mark Baker rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2012, mystery
When PI Charlie Swift is saddled with a new partner, she does everything she can to get this new woman to quit the business. Meanwhile, she has to track down the missing mother of a baby. The book has an odd combination of humorous and serious, but it really works. I liked the characters and can't wait to visit them again.

Read my full review at Carstairs Considers.
Jenni V.
Jul 08, 2013 Jenni V. rated it really liked it
Find all of my reviews at:
http://readingatrandom.blogspot.com/2...

Well written with enough twists to keep the plot entertaining, this was an easy breezy mystery perfect for summer reading.
Recommended to someone looking for a light mystery. I will definitely read more by the author, including the continuation of this series.
Grey853
Nov 15, 2010 Grey853 rated it it was ok
Shelves: mystery, detective
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Liz
Nov 05, 2011 Liz rated it really liked it
Shelves: mystery
It is a light but delightful read. It is a fast-paced, well-written page turner.
Charlotte (Charlie) Swift is a PI. She is hired to find the father of a newborn baby whose mother has been murdered. Set in Colorado Springs and its environs, Swift presents is with lots of interesting characters that I'm sure will be regulars in the series.
I am looking forward to reading #2 in this series.
Suzanne Jacob
Feb 07, 2016 Suzanne Jacob rated it it was amazing
Janet Evanovich move over. Laura DiSilverio created a private investigator in Charlotte (Charlie) Swift, a retired, single Air Force investigator. Charlie gains a new partner in Gigi Goldman, the ex-wife of Charlie's silent partner.
Together, they create a unique agency. The story line is excellent, with well-developed characters and a full plot.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Skating Around the Law (Rebecca Robbins, #1)
  • Polished Off (Southern Beauty Shop, #2)
  • Liar, Liar (Cat DeLuca Mysteries, #1)
  • Physical Education (A Murder 101 Mystery, #6)
  • Murder on the Bride's Side (An Elizabeth Parker Mystery, #2)
  • A Bad Day's Work (Lilly Hawkins, #1)
  • Death on Tour (Jocelyn Shore, #1)
  • A Taste Fur Murder (Whiskey, Tango & Foxtrot Mystery, #1)
  • The Highly Effective Detective (The Highly Effective Detective, #1)
  • The Puffin of Death ( A Gunn Zoo Mystery, #4)
  • Angel's Verdict (Beaufort & Company, #4)
  • How to Party with a Killer Vampire (Party Planning, #4)
  • Murder at Honeychurch Hall (Honeychurch Hall Mystery, #1)
  • The Miracle Strip
  • The Probability of Murder (Sophie Knowles, #2)
  • Pumped for Murder (Dead-End Job Mystery, #10)
  • Scoop to Kill (A Mystery a La Mode, #2)
  • Paper, Scissors, Death (Kiki Lowenstein Scrap-n-Craft Mystery, #1)
3463703
I'm the author of the Swift Investigations, Mall Cop and Readaholics mystery series.

After twenty years as an Air Force intelligence officer – serving as a squadron commander, with the National Reconnaissance Office, and at a fighter wing – I retired to parenting and writing full-time.

Spying was easier.

(Laura DiSilverio is also Ella Barrick.)
More about Laura DiSilverio...

Other Books in the Series

A Charlie Swift Mystery (3 books)
  • Swift Edge (A Charlie Swift Mystery #2)
  • Swift Run (A Charlie Swift Mystery #3)

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »