After Photography
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

After Photography

3.76 of 5 stars 3.76  ·  rating details  ·  82 ratings  ·  12 reviews
In the tradition of John Berger and Susan Sontag, Fred Ritchin analyzes photography’s failings and reveals untapped potentials for this evolving medium.

One of our most influential commentators on photography investigates the future of visual media as the digital revolution transforms images, changing the way we conceptualize the world. From photos of news events taken on...more
Paperback, 199 pages
Published February 15th 2010 by W. W. Norton & Company (first published December 8th 2008)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 210)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Arya19
La fotografia nasce come volontà di catturare l'attimo, il momento e di fissarlo nell'eternità. Ma cosa succede dopo la fotografia? Nei tempi di internet e dell'immediata circolazione delle immagini... Cosa implica lo scatto politico, la foto messa in scena o quella ritoccata, nella nostra mente? È in grado una sola fotografia di cambiare la storia? O la percezione che noi abbiamo delle cose?

Questo libro tenta non di rispondere a queste e ad altre migliaia di domande ma piuttosto di svelarci le...more
Steve
I stumbled across this book in the bookstore, and knew just by briefly flipping through it that it would be worth buying. I'm glad I did! It turned out to be a lively, provocative look at both what photography is and what it may become in the future. That said, it seems more like a series of related essays than a singular coherent vision of the future of the still image. Fortunately, this makes it more appealing; instead of making predictions about the future development of photography, a variet...more
Zenzile
What an amazing book for photographers, artists and anyone concerned with the madness and wonder ushered in every millisecond by not just digital photography but the digital age at large! I have to admit that there are some very dense moments in the critique and I felt like running to my dictionary on more than one occasion, but essentially I feel that what Ritchin has to say about the possibilities for digital photography is so important. It really sort of put my feelings about my own use of di...more
Fred Zimny
Synopsis
"After Photography" examines the myriad ways in which the digital revolution has fundamentally altered the way we receive visual information, from photographs of news events taken by ordinary people on mobile phones to the widespread use of image surveillance. In a world beset by critical problems and ambiguous boundaries, Fred Ritchin argues that it is time to explore the possibilities created by digital innovations and to use them to understand our rapidly changing world.Ritchin invest...more
Merany Eldridge
I did not expect that I was going to love this book but I couldn't put it down. Such a great analysis on not only how photography changed art and journalism but how it changed us, how we think, and how we go about the world. Richtin is skeptical and concerned about the future but not someone who is opposed to progress. His argument is complicated and thorough and he focuses much more on what new media can do to enhance photography and understanding rather than lament that it is destroying the wo...more
Diana
An interesting take on photography as it converts from analog to digital, Ritchin's analysis concerning photo manipulation and media literacy in the modern era is enlightening and a little frightening. While he veers a bit too much into fantastical philosophy when discussing potential future implications, he makes some excellent points about how to avoid "compassion fatigue", the endangered nature of individual privacy, and the evolving role of citizen journalism/activism - all the result of the...more
Margot Note
I read this book during a Sunday 6 train ride into a the city and a long bath, and I can't stop thinking about it. The author is the director of pixelpress.org, which "encourage[s:] documentary photographers, writers, filmmakers, artists, human rights workers and students to explore the world in ways that take advantage of the new possibilities provided by digital media."
Reacher
Some interesting insights, but even in the 5-6 years since the author wrote this, many of Ritchin's concerns about digital photography have proven to be unfounded, which speaks to just how fast technology is evolving -- in many senses this book is already outdated.
Jen
Thus far this book is very much what I was hoping it would be. Current and inter-disciplinary, it approaches photography from a wide perspective, placing it within the context of our wider contemporary culture.
Kala
Brillant commentary on how media shapes our view of the world...and how we shape media to match our view of the world. This book is thought provoking and absolutely enjoyable.
Ryan Buckley
Started off strong, then got a little too prophetic. A great and intriguing read, however.
Damien Miller
Damien Miller marked it as to-read
Jun 06, 2014
Juno
Juno marked it as to-read
May 19, 2014
Gab
Gab marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2014
Jekaterina
Jekaterina marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2014
Jeremy Hochhalter
Jeremy Hochhalter marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2014
Sami Sayed
Sami Sayed marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Bending the Frame: Photojournalism, Documentary, and the Citizen Magnum Photos In Our Own Image: The Coming Revolution in Photography In Our Own Image: The Coming Revolution in Photography: How Computer Technology is Changing Our View of the World Magnum Photos

Share This Book