Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Chasing the Rabbit: How Market Leaders Outdistance the Competition and How Great Companies Can Catch Up and Win, Foreword by Clay Christensen” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Chasing the Rabbit: Ho...
 
by
Steven J. Spear
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Chasing the Rabbit: How Market Leaders Outdistance the Competition and How Great Companies Can Catch Up and Win, Foreword by Clay Christensen

3.93  ·  Rating Details ·  89 Ratings  ·  12 Reviews
Spear's reputation as a thought leader is recognized by elite media, publications, and conferences including Harvard Business Review, The New York Times, Boston Globe, Bloomberg Business Radio, the Shingo Prize, and the Association for Manufacturing Excellence The pioneering insights in Chasing the Rabbit are based on original thinking in the tradition of Jim Collins, C.K ...more
ebook, 352 pages
Published September 21st 2008 by McGraw-Hill Education (first published 2008)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Chasing the Rabbit, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Chasing the Rabbit

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Torben
Aug 23, 2012 Torben rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Steven has written an amazing book that anyone considering lean or simply involved in change initiatives should read. Also people working with knowledge management or similar will benefit. An amazing dissemination of the inner workings of Toyota and a sharp eye for detail on what makes TPS and lean work. Even a good starting point for understanding lean values and principles in their basic form which is essential for thinking about applying lean in other contexts than manufacturing. Highly recom ...more
Tom
Aug 13, 2010 Tom rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
One the one hand, it's 'another Toyota story' book; however, this one is particularly interesting. In the first pages, one can see why programs and processes like lessons learned often do not produce the learning hoped for - why organizations often do not learn and tend toward repeating their experiences. If one has an interest in organizational or process improvement, then I do recommend this book.
J Deepak
Jan 29, 2012 J Deepak rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This has been one of the best books I have read on continuous improvement principle, distilled to a science. The approach in fact is generic to be applied to every aspect in life ...

One of the best books I have read till date and a eye opener to achieving excellence through continuous innovation
Walt
Sep 24, 2011 Walt rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Spear uses case studies of both failed as well as succeeding organizations and details why some lead in competitive industries. He summarizes the business philosophy of seeking to be the best in an industry. Must read for Lean thinkers!
Doug
Aug 26, 2009 Doug is currently reading it  ·  review of another edition
Very interesting. We will be using these ideas at work.
Troy Doughty
Jan 06, 2015 Troy Doughty rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Enjoyed his book though listening to him speak almost gives the book away.
Patty
Sep 17, 2009 Patty rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I could not get into this book, and gave up after a couple of chapters.
Leighton
Nov 23, 2012 Leighton rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
One of the best business books I've read! A must for manufacturing leaders...
Cheryl Silverman
Aug 29, 2012 Cheryl Silverman rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition


Using the lean concepts at work. Read it!
Warren
Jun 16, 2012 Warren rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
But see Spear's 'High-velocity edge: how market leaders leverage operational excellence to beat the competition,' the second edition of this book.
Arun Ragothaman
Jan 19, 2011 Arun Ragothaman rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: management
Awesome book on how you can learn from companies like toyota. Very implementable ideas and unlike other fancy ideas, most of the insight seem to be from solid systems thinking.
Thomas Lyons
Thomas Lyons rated it really liked it
Apr 07, 2016
Kacey
Kacey rated it really liked it
Apr 23, 2011
Paul Britt
Paul Britt rated it it was amazing
May 29, 2011
Miguel
Miguel rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2016
Amine Haji
Amine Haji rated it really liked it
Jun 25, 2017
Bob
Bob rated it liked it
Sep 24, 2012
Drew Hill
Drew Hill rated it really liked it
Apr 26, 2015
Ed Gausman
Ed Gausman rated it it was ok
Apr 25, 2014
Arun Ragothaman
Arun Ragothaman rated it really liked it
Jan 19, 2011
Blair
Blair rated it really liked it
Sep 27, 2016
Melissa
Melissa rated it really liked it
Mar 15, 2012
Lance Svoboda
Lance Svoboda rated it it was amazing
Oct 16, 2016
Yuval Yeret
Yuval Yeret rated it liked it
Feb 01, 2012
Ed
Ed rated it liked it
Sep 16, 2012
Buttface_killa
Buttface_killa rated it liked it
Sep 07, 2010
John Ryan
John Ryan rated it really liked it
Jul 15, 2014
Nowells
Nowells rated it liked it
Oct 28, 2011
G00dread
G00dread rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2017
Mohammad Abu Shaban
Mohammad Abu Shaban rated it did not like it
Feb 26, 2015
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Employees First, Customers Second: Turning Conventional Management Upside Down
  • Learning to See Version 1.3
  • Managing to Learn: Using the A3 Management Process to Solve Problems, Gain Agreement, Mentor and Lead
  • Customers for Life: How to Turn That One-Time Buyer Into a Lifetime Customer
  • Topgrading: How Leading Companies Win by Hiring, Coaching, and Keeping the Best People
  • Managing The Design Factory:  A Product Developer's Toolkit
  • Understanding A3 Thinking: A Critical Component of Toyota's PDCA Management System
  • Lean Solutions: How Companies and Customers Can Create Value and Wealth Together
  • Getting the Right Things Done: A Leader's Guide to Planning and Execution
  • The Human Equation: Building Profits by Putting People First
  • Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions
  • Toyota Talent
  • One from Many: VISA and the Rise of Chaordic Organization
  • The Art of Problem Solving: Accompanied by Ackoff's Fables
  • Empowered: Unleash Your Employees, Energize Your Customers, and Transform Your Business
  • The Art of Scalability: Scalable Web Architecture, Processes, and Organizations for the Modern Enterprise
  • What About the Big Stuff?: Finding Strength and Moving Forward When the Stakes Are High
  • The New Economics for Industry, Government, Education

Share This Book