Devlin's Honor
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Devlin's Honor (Sword of Change #2)

3.7 of 5 stars 3.70  ·  rating details  ·  328 ratings  ·  7 reviews
Devlin of Duncaer is the Chosen One, champion of the Kingdom of Jorsk. A simple metalsmith and farmer turned warrior, he has become the most unlikely of heroes to the conquerors of his own people, the Caerfolk. Yet there is a growing faction of Jorskians who believe that if he were truly anointed as Chosen One by the Gods, then the immortals would have given him the Sword...more
ebook, 416 pages
Published December 18th 2007 by Spectra (first published June 3rd 2003)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 481)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Dec 03, 2008 Rachel rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition Recommends it for: military medieval book fans
This is the middle of the trilogy, which usually indicates the worst of the three. However, Patricia Bray has escaped that designation with this book as she has taken us from Kingsholm, the center of the kingdom of Jorsk, to the conquered lands of Duncaer, Devlin's homeland. Here we glimpse more of his history and character, and while the "enemies" here are a bit too nebulous for my taste, this rich character background more than make up for it - and give a second book, with its notorious bad lu...more
Mike (the Paladin)
Okay....well I'm sorry to do that ^ the three (3) stars that is. I really liked the first book in this series and snapped this one up as soon as I'd finished it. This one while not bad and I'd call it "pretty good" didn't quite strike me the same.

The first book is overtly an action tale of Devlin's growth or more properly development into "The Chosen One". He fights against political enemies in the King's court who are actively working to overthrow the weak king. The book ends with (view spoiler...more
Robert Beveridge
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Fantasy Literature
Devlin is a tortured soul. He wants to die, so he becomes his country's Chosen One because it pays a fortune (which he can send to his brother's widow) and it's certainly deadly.

Sounds exciting, but don't bother putting on your blood pressure cuff, because it wasn't.

Devlin's sure he's going to die during the initiation ceremony (actually, it was me who nearly died of boredom), but, unfortunately, he doesn't. And so we accompany him on his journeys which read more like a book report than an adven...more
Devlin of Duncaer is the Chosen One, champion of the Kingdom of Jorsk. He is coming to terms with his job and his loss of part of his hand. Rumour about a missing sword, the Sword of Light, a sword that Devlin realises that he actually knows. This means that he has to return to his home place, an occupied land. where he is now considered a collaborator and possibly a traitor. He's also starting to feel like the gods are playing with him and he's losing his mind.

I really like it, yes it's a bridg...more
Good continuation of Devlin's Luck. There were strong character's in this novel.
So far I really like these books. Very well written and the story is engaging.
Wesley Z.
It was good and suspenseful. I would recommend it to others.
Elena marked it as to-read
Apr 06, 2014
LukeVonCastiel marked it as to-read
Apr 04, 2014
Chibs marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2014
Tshepo is currently reading it
Mar 31, 2014
katie marked it as to-read
Mar 30, 2014
Matthew Denaburg
Matthew Denaburg marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2014
Tari_Roo marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2014
Mike Chovanes
Mike Chovanes marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 16 17 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Daughter of Ancients (The Bridge of D'Arnath, #4)
  • The Warrior King (The Seer King Trilogy, #3)
  • Wind Rider's Oath (War God, #3)
  • Fortress of Eagles (Fortress, #2)
  • Impossible Odds (King's Blades, #5)
  • The Shadow Roads (The Swans' War #3)
  • Reign of Shadows (The Ruby Throne Trilogy, #1)
  • Children of Amarid (Lon Tobyn Chronicle #1)
  • The Prince of Dreams (Seven Brothers, #2)
  • Flights of Fantasy
  • The Glasswrights' Test (Glasswright, #4)
  • The Dark Glory War (The DragonCrown War Cycle prequel)
Patricia Bray began her career writing historical novels set in Regency-era England before making the leap to epic fantasy with the sale of her "Sword of Change" trilogy. A resident of Upstate New York, Patricia balances her writing with a full-time career as an I/T project manager.

In 2003 her novel DEVLIN'S LUCK received the Compton Crook award for the best first novel in the field of Science Fic...more
More about Patricia Bray...
Devlin's Luck (Sword of Change, #1) Devlin's Justice (Sword of Change, #3) The First Betrayal (The Chronicles of Josan, #1) The Sea Change (The Chronicles of Josan, #2) The Final Sacrifice (The Chronicles of Josan, #3)

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »