The Lost Children
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
read excerpt* *Different edition

The Lost Children

by
3.95 of 5 stars 3.95  ·  rating details  ·  524 ratings  ·  127 reviews
Twelve-year-old Josephine Russing lives alone with her father. Mr. Russing is a distant, cold man best known for his insistence that every member of their town wear gloves at all times, just as he does--even at home--and just as he forces his daughter to do as well. Then one day Josephine meets a boy named Fargus. But when she tries to follow him, he mysteriously disappear...more
ebook, 320 pages
Published February 9th 2010 by Aladdin (first published January 15th 2010)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,114)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Chloe
MY VERY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME!!!!
I WANT TO GIVE IT LIKE 20 MILLION STARS!!!!! Please write another!!!!!
Bridget R. Wilson
Twelve-year-old Josephine Russing has accepted certain circumstances in her life. She must always wear gloves. (It's a law!) Her father ignores her. She doesn't have any friends. But that all changes one day with the arrival of a mute boy called Fargus. When searching for him, Josephine finds herself transported into a parallel universe where children are scarce and everyone fears the "Master." With Fargus and his friend Ida by her side, Josephine intends to solve the mystery of the "Master" and...more
Kristen
Why I read this: It looked like a fun time-travel middle grade fiction, so I thought I'd give it a read. :)

Plot: I have to say, I really like time-travel plots, especially in children's novels. You get the best of both worlds, adventure and usually some glances into different cultures. This plot had some great adventure, some very cool worlds to explore, and a bad guy that I would have never thought up in a million years.

Characters: I'm going to start with the bad guy on this one. Definitely an...more
Coral
Honestly, this is one of my favorite books of all time. It is filled with adventure, friendship, and a little humor. There was not a single page where I became bored or ever wanted to put the book down. If you start reading this, you have to read the entire thing because the ending is priceless! I highly recommend this book. It is the perfect length and is one of my favorite genres. 5 stars all the way!
Gecy O.
I have read this book twice. The first time was when I first brought it, and a second time a few years later to fully understand the story. It was very magical, and it had a few plot twists. I loved this book, and I suggest you read this is you love fantasy/magical books! 5 stars from me!
Noemi
This book is a good inspiration for us kids to start reading. When I saw this book,I had started reading it and I had told myself that this is one of the best books that I had ever read. I like the plot and the dialogue because it gives lots of details and I am able to understand what is going on in the story.
Megan K
I absolutely loved this book. The characters are vibrant, and Cohagan transports you along with them for a journey through a mysterious and fascinating world full of creatures and stories you'd never imagine. It was hard to put this book down, and I looked forward to the next time I would get the chance to pick it up again. When it came to that sad time when a book is nearing its end, I was pleased to find that it had a beautiful ending, with a heartfelt and meaningful message. Brilliant and a m...more
Victory
this is my favorite book I ever read.
It's kind of twisted but the story about Josephine's father gets untangled and it really makes sense better.
I couldn't stop reading this book!!
It was one of my candidate for MCBA voting!!
If you didn't read it, I think you should!
Or else, I'm pretty sure you'll regret it!
Kristen
I was lucky enough to read this book before it is officially published and I can't wait for it to arrive in bookstores. It is beautifully written and just as captivating for adults with a love of a great story as it is children. Carolyn Cohagan is a wonderful writer and I can't wait to read more from her, especially more about Josephine, Ida and Fargus.
Emily Klein
I was lucky enough to get an early copy of this and it was such a delicious pleasure! It brought me back to those late childhood/early adolescent kind of reads - Madeleine L'Engle, CS Lewis, etc. I felt completely immersed in her world. I wanted to hang out with her characters and keep hanging out with them when the book ended. A magical first novel.
Julia Drake
From the first page The Lost Children takes you into a world, so rich with texture, emotion, and suspense, you never want to leave. I'm so glad that there will be a sequel.
Winterlyn
I LOVE this book to pieces. It about a girl named Josephine who find her way her a portal to another land and she and two friends she made back home. BTW twist ending
Caitlin
This book was awesome! It was so fun to read and I LOVE the twist at the end
Josh
The part in the country put me in a really good mood.
Liz Taylor
Pretty good - read this with my daughter.
Faith
Loved the detail! :)
Leslie
"I was fairly certain The Lost Children, the debut novel by Carolyn Cohagan, was going to have the charming ridiculousness that I enjoy in a Children’s book—well, actually any book. I was right. To my continual delight there are plenty of strange quirks to keep me transported.

"The Lost children is an engaging story that is wonderfully imaginative, decisively original. The 313 pages are light and easy to turn. And the voice begs a read-aloud, even if the reader is alone in a room. There is a lot...more
Rachael P.
The Lost Children
Carolyn Cohagen
320 pages
Fantasy


In this book there is this little girl named Josephine Russing and she is considered a "nobody" in her school. She and her dad are not liked in the town they live in because her dad made a law that you always have to be wearing gloves. Nobody knew why he made this law but nobody liked it so they took it out on Josephine at school. So one day she comes home while her dad is at work and finds a little boy in her yard. She invites him in and gives him...more
Josette
I bought this book for a niece for Christmas, and after reading it, she promptly loaned it to me, raving about how she couldn't put it down. I'll admit, for a children's book, it's excellent. Packed with adventure, mystery, suspense, and an admirable writing style, it's a book that almost any child could and probably will devour.

The main plot is about a girl (maybe 11 or so?) named Josephine who meets a strange boy from a faraway land after he somehow appears in her back yard. She inadvertently...more
Ny'dea
If you like books that are adventurous, where they have you at the end of your seat and make you feel like Indian Jones, or books that are fiction because it makes it easier to imagine what your reading. Then you should read The Lost Children, written by Carolyn Cohagan.

This book is mainly about three kids who are running to save their lives, and end up saving others without planning to do so. When the book began to have a lot of action, I could really imagine what it looked like because of the...more
Stevo C
When a strange boy named Fargus shows up on 12-year-old Josephine Russing's property, her life changes forever.
After giving him some oatmeal and reading to him, Josephine finds he ran away, so she ends up following him to his home of the institute. There, she meets Fargus's best friend, Ida. Now, they
must rely on eachother to survive the clutches of the ruler of gulm: The Master.

So, this book's technically about three children on an adventure. My favorite character was Fargus.
One, because he d...more
Addison Children
A strange little offering. It reminded me of "Coraline," strange, dark with two realities. Josephine's mother is dead and her father does not speak to her. Also everyone hates her father, so no one else speaks to Josephine. When a strange, friendly boy appears and then disappears, Josephine tries to follow him and ends up going through the back of the garden shed to a reality worse than her own.
Taylor overman
it is good so far,it was pretty weird at chapter 3 when the boy comes in Fargus is his name josephine i feel so sorry for because she has no friens noo one will talk to her or nothing:(i could imagine if that was me but,her dad is weird and strict too?but,the glove issue is just plain out stupid they take that as a rule that you have to wear all kinds of gloves evry day,her dad catches them off of her and doesn't say a word he deliberatley goes in her drawer and pulls her out some clean new ones...more
Sarah
One of the more confused plots I've ever read. The setting could do with some grounding, and the confusion isn't helped by the fact that the back blurb is wrong. Gulm is a town, not a world. Who even knows what's going on with the world setting. Is this an alternate world? For sure? Why don't we know for sure right from the get-go? Since we have no basis for what's "normal" in the book, we don't even necessarily know what's abnormal. Which is something we need, since that would build suspense, l...more
Erica - Bonner Springs Library
(4 1/2 stars) I kept trying to compare this book to other books but it's really unique in it's own way. Though there were parts that reminded me a bit of Roald Dahl's James and the Giant Peach and The Mysterious Benedict Society. It's been compared to Alice in Wonderland but I only saw that comparison because Josephine falls down a hole after she tries to find where a mysterious boy, Fargus, came from.

I loved the odd time-warp twist at the very end.
Erica
(4 1/2 stars) I kept trying to compare this book to other books but it's really unique in it's own way. Though there were parts that reminded me a bit of Roald Dahl's James and the Giant Peach and The Mysterious Benedict Society. It's been compared to Alice in Wonderland but I only saw that comparison because Josephine falls down a hole after she tries to find where a mysterious boy, Fargus, came from.

I loved the odd time-warp twist at the very end.
Tevia
I really enjoyed this story. This is a first novel for this author and I feel like she did a wonderful job.

This story is about a young girl who is pretty miserable in her life. One day she happens across a grubby looking boy and then the story really begins. She follows him into a different world and they have to try and free all these children who had been taken by the master for his sinister purposes.

She, with the help of her new found friends save the missing children and make more friends a...more
Rad
I am unsure if the ending is to my liking or not.

I KNOW!

HOW DO I NOT KNOW?

This is a complicated book is all I will say. And I will also say that I have thoroughly, thoroughly enjoyed it.

But there is that confusion about the end. Do I like it? Do I not like it?

I remember trying to explain to my boyfriend about the book. Obviously, for the end to make sense, I had to relate to him the entire plot. The fact that I could do this with ease speaks of how put-together the author is, how she obviously...more
Ashlyn Hunt

It has been some time since I've delved into a mid-grade story for writing research. Styles have certainly changed, edgier, I think. The mystique behind the cover of The Lost Children drew me in. Plus it was recommended by my librarian. So I went with it.

The fantasy adventure of an adolescent trio appealed to me rather quickly. There were times though when I had to rethink the maturity level of the characters, their ages. There were times they were portrayed outside of their maturity grade. But...more
Erin Sterling
3.5 A great tween book and pretty good read-alike for Roald Dahl I think because it has a similar mix of weird characters, a dark edginess, and a bit of ridiculousness. 12-year-old Josephine is ignored by her father and disliked by fellow students because of the ridiculous decree in the town instituted by her father that everyone must wear gloves, at all hours of the day, no matter what the job (her father owns a glove factory). So when she discovers that her shed is a doorway to another world w...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 37 38 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Ladies & Lite...: Game/Contest: The prize is a childrens book 108 56 Aug 10, 2012 01:57PM  
  • The Tilting House
  • Attack of the Fluffy Bunnies
  • The Dead Boys
  • The Witchy Worries of Abbie Adams
  • The Vanishing Violin (The Red Blazer Girls, #2)
  • The Yggyssey: How Iggy Wondered What Happened to All the Ghosts, Found Out Where TheyWent, and Went There
  • Timothy and the Dragon's Gate (Alex and the Ironic Gentleman, #2)
  • Archvillain (Archvillain, #1)
  • Path of Beasts (The Keepers, #3)
  • Crossing Over (Suddenly Supernatural #4)
  • Curse of the Were-wiener (Dragonbreath, #3)
  • The Wish Stealers
  • The Other Half of My Heart
  • The Night Fairy
  • Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains
  • Green
  • Emma On Thin Icing (Cupcake Diaries, #3)
  • The Hollow Bettle (Poisons of Caux, #1)
3138466
Carolyn began her writing career as a stand-up comic, performing in comedy clubs all over the world including New York, Chicago, London, Amsterdam, and Auckland. After studying physical theater at the Ecole International de Theatre Jacques LeCoq in Paris she began to write and perform one-woman shows.

Her first, No Spleen, has been performed in Edinburgh, Chicago, New York and enjoyed a sold out r...more
More about Carolyn Cohagan...
The Lost Children

Share This Book

“And when you grow up one day," her mother would always add, "you might be lucky enough to be shot by someone you love.” 4 likes
More quotes…