Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Vampireology - The True History of the Fallen Ones” as Want to Read:
Vampireology - The True History of the Fallen Ones
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Preview

Vampireology - The True History of the Fallen Ones (Ology)

4.12 of 5 stars 4.12  ·  rating details  ·  281 ratings  ·  28 reviews
Explore (if you dare) the true history of the Fallen Ones — and follow the fate of a 1920s investigator lured by a beauty with violet eyes.

Long before the term vampire was born, long before Bram Stoker fictionalized this being’s ways, blood-drinking demons were banished to Earth by Michael’s host of Angels, or so the Bible describes. Now this rich, mesmerizing resource, wr
...more
Hardcover, 30 pages
Published May 11th 2010 by Candlewick (first published January 1st 2010)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about Vampireology - The True History of the Fallen Ones

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 690)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Faris Rassac
Do you believe in Vampires? Why not? I don't like your answer. Maybe it's because you haven't read this book about vampireology. You will find out that they are in your everyday life and have an origination story. This book is a guide on how to defend yourself and even explains the process of becoming a vampire. When you hear vampire, you think of Dracula. Sorry to break it to you but that story was made up and only takes a little bit from the truth of vampireology. Don't be scared, you can alwa ...more
Penelope
This book was very creepy.Anyone who gets scared easily should most defenintly only read this book if they are sure that they want nightmares.
Arjun Thakrar (Excellent Reads)
To start off I want to say this is NOT for the faint hearted. Anyone who gets scared by horror or the original vampire, well this is not for. This is really creepy, but also totally awesome. Just beware because this could give you some serious night mares.


Just A Fact
------
Do Not Read
After Dark

I absolutely adored this book. It was so cool, with fake letter, and fake shards of a sword. It was pretty awesome. I love the tale of the three fallen ones. Pretty cool. I also love how seeing a vampir
...more
Monster
Vampireology is a guide to vampires ostensibly written by Archibald Brooks, a Protector, or slayer of vampires. It covers a great deal of ground, from their biblical origins, to the passing of their curse, to powers, vulnerabilities, and even their historical animosity toward werewolves and the Protector. When Brooks is murdered, presumably by vampires, the guide goes to his successor, Joshua Kraik, a private detective, who adds his own personal notes. Every page of the book has foldouts of Krai ...more
Timmy De Leon
I've learned so much about vampires after reading this book. From their beginning, the vampires in history, the powers of a vampire, methods of identifying a vampire, protecting yourself, how to destroy a vampire, and Dracula.

Let me share some of what I have learned:
1. Vampires were angels before who tried to defy God, their bodies fell from heaven and landed on earth. They were sometimes called a Fallen One. Those three angels were the Moloch, Ba'al, and Belial.
2. Some of the vampires in histor
...more
Matti Karjalainen
Archer Brooksin "Vampyrologia : langenneiden todellinen historia" (Kirjalito, 2010) on ainakin näille nurkilla tietokirjapuolelle sijoitettu opus, joka sisältää tietopuolisen osuuden vampyyreista sekä sen rinnalla kulkevan, juoneltaan melko ohuen tarinan jonkin sortin vampyyritutkijan ja mystisen kreivittären kirjeenvaihdosta.

Kivan idean vesittää kuitenkin se valitettava tosiseikka, että "faktaosuus" on valtaosin kirjailijan itsensä sepittämää eikä sisällä sanottavasti mitään oikeaa tietoa vamp
...more
Anna
Not the best of the ology series, but not the worst.

The illustrations were gorgeous and the layout of the book fantastic. The story was pretty good as well. But I thought the made-up history of vampires to be weak. It's never really clear how one is able to know a vampire by sight, and the three types are generally just confusing. Plus, it was rather silly to believe that characters such as Greek gods, Attila the Hun, and Montezuma II were actually vampires. The book just claimed they were witho
...more
Drucilla
Dec 29, 2013 Drucilla rated it 4 of 5 stars
Shelves: o
This one is more in the vein of Dragonology and Monsterology in that the majority of the information is made up. However, many historical figures and events are pulled within the book making for an extremely detailed and amazing book. It creates a mythology for vampires that incorporates all the different legends and explains why there are so many. The frame story does a good job of explaning the book and is good but the information itself is the draw here. If you are a fan of vampires, even if ...more
Amanda
Another great addition to the Ology series!

Once you open the cover you can’t help but get lost in the beauty of this epic world of the undead. The creators put so much effort into making Vampireology, that I am stunned with how much there is to explore and discover (there are even a few hidden laughs in there). On top of the splendor, there is a fantastic story that absolutely captivates you.
Melanie Fair
It was a quick read; not quite as good as "Vampyre", but I digress. Since I'm already pretty firmly set in my own vampire styles, it was hard to read this objectively. It did have some interesting "facts" though, and I learned a couple of things...which is a big deal if you knew how much research I've done on them.
Althea
This book is one of my favorites among the 'ology' series. Like most of the ologies, along with the so-called 'facts', there is a story to go along with it. Both the 'facts' and the story were very interesting. I would like to recommend this to anyone who is interested in mythology or fantasy.
Jo
Presented as a journal left by a private detective, this book sets out to inform the reader of the danger of The Fallen Ones. I think I would've liked this more if I was a teenage girl who thought that sparkly vampires were, like, so totally rad.
Jessica Fure
My rating is based primarily on the art - I can't really judge the text well, as it's a children's book (I think I would have enjoyed it when I was in the suggested reading range, but who's to say now?) - however, the art is freaking brilliant.
Kim
Oct 05, 2012 Kim rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: vampire fans
Shelves: fantasy, teens
A fun take on the vampire myth, as told by the "Protectors" or slayers.

I enjoyed this book, with its pop-up-like additions, the notes, the little pieces collected over the centuries and placed in the book. It was quite fun to read.
Katie
Very interesting take on vampires. I like the style and art.
I am reading the excerpts from the calendar and the little additional content is fun. Mostly it's great inspiration for writing about vampires.
Rebecca Johnson
Fun read! In the vein of Nick Bantock -- this fantasy is interactive. You open letters an play with this book. Really fun.
Queen B.
I picked this book and bought it because of the cover and lettering.
It looks like a scrapbook.
Very informative too.
Andrew
Jul 29, 2011 Andrew added it
A really well written ology. I thoroughly enjoyed the historical references and the origin story. Great fun.
Michelle E.
Nov 14, 2013 Michelle E. marked it as unowned-want-to-read-3
Shelves: buy-me-now
Saw this at the library; it's very pretty, has "real" press clippings and other such things. Worth owning.
Heather Rose
It's basically a pop-up book for adults... Content... eh... BUT IT'S A POP UP BOOK FOR ADULTS!! =)
Burn my Dread Kitty
So far I am amazed at the different perspectives how people percieve vampires to be.
Reika
Apr 09, 2013 Reika rated it 5 of 5 stars
Shelves: owned
i love it, it fascinates me how the author made this book feel real. :-)
Bri
this book was really great with a lot of different features and pop-outs!
Elsa
Fun!--the folklore is pretty accurate too.
Denise
Fun, scrapbook style, mystery story book.
Stefanie
Interesting. The format is fun.
Erikat
GREAT BOOK
Victoria daVinci
Victoria daVinci marked it as to-read
Apr 23, 2015
Annie
Annie marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 22 23 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Spyology
  • Illusionology
  • Mythology (Ologies, #5)
  • Egyptology (Ologies, #2)
  • The Dragonology Handbook: A Practical Course in Dragons
  • Flower Fairies of the Trees
  • Enchanted Forest
  • Legendele Olimpului Vol 1: Zeii
  • Last Seen After Midnight (Trese, #4)
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Nursery Rhymes

Other Books in the Series

Ology (1 - 10 of 12 books)
  • Dragonology: The Complete Book of Dragons (Ologies, #1)
  • Egyptology (Ologies, #2)
  • Wizardology
  • Pirateology: The Pirate Hunter's Companion (Ologies, #4)
  • Mythology (Ologies, #5)
  • Monsterology (Ologies, #6)
  • Spyology
  • Oceanology: The True Account of the Voyage of the Nautilus
  • Alienology (Ologies, #10)
  • Illusionology
Beowulf: A Tale of Blood, Heat, and Ashes Dracula First Bondage Robin Hood Hucow 323 - The Human Cow: Maggie the Milked Maid 2

Share This Book