Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja (Moonshadow, #1)” as Want to Read:
Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja (Moonshadow, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja (Moonshadow #1)

3.82  ·  Rating Details ·  360 Ratings  ·  43 Reviews
In the moonlight, the explosive fast draw became a horizontal streak of silver, flashing momentarily from the cover of the shadow. The tip of Moonshadow's sword ambushed the lurking foe, who stood, still drawing his own weapon.

It's the dawn of an age of peace in medieval Japan, and a power hungry warlord is plotting to plunge the nation into a deadly civil war using a secr
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published June 7th 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (first published August 1st 2008)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Moonshadow, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Moonshadow

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Marsha
Jan 11, 2011 Marsha rated it really liked it
There are few things as cool as a ninja, and this book is about some very cool ninjas. Moonshadow is an orphan in medieval Japan who has been chosen and rigorously trained by the Shogun's secret spy organization, the Grey Light Order. He is amazingly quick, strong and resourceful, and extremely skilled in weaponry, especially in sword fighting. Moonshadow has also been trained in the ancient skill called the eye of the beast: he can see through an animal's eyes--see what the animals sees--and ev ...more
Laura
This wasn't a bad little book at all. The cover of the book grabbed my attention and it's what drew my interest, i thought it might of been a graphic novel than an actual fiction story.

I thought it was a little slow to start but after half way through the book really starts picking up the pace with cracking speeds. I'm not sure if I'd read the other two in the series but I certainly wouldn't turn away the opportunity if it arrised.

The story is fairly easy to follow, with a plot that twists and t
...more
Margo Tanenbaum
Jun 21, 2010 Margo Tanenbaum rated it really liked it
Set in Japan at the end of the medieval period and dawn of the Tokugawa era, this exciting, action-packed novel tells the story of young Moonshadow, an orphan who has been raised to be a member of the Grey Light Order, a secret brotherhood of ninja spy warriors. The members of the order are the closest thing he has ever had to a family, and he feels a strong loyalty to them. Moonshadow is not only highly trained in all sorts of weapons and disguises, he has a unique ability known in the book as ...more
Aelvana
Sep 16, 2014 Aelvana rated it really liked it
Nanashi is nearly at the end of his training to be a shinobi, one of the secretive warriors of ancient Japan. His clan, the Grey Light Order, work for the shogun at a time when Japan is newly united and uneasily at peace. But a rebel warlord plans to change the status quo. He has plans for a new and deadly weapon, one that will bring back war and conquest and lay the victory solidly in his own hands. It's a heavy first mission, but Nanashi (renamed Moonshadow) must succeed, no matter what it cos ...more
bopp king barnes
Sep 10, 2015 bopp king barnes rated it really liked it
What do you think about my shadow kept following me that remind me of my baby brother when he try to run from his shadow. The sun would rise no matter what, but would Nanashi live to see it.
My story takes place in china town on the great wall it take place in the present. The major event in my story is when Nanashi became the chose ninja and his brother got jelalosy of him. The conflict in this story is person vs person because Nanashia had fought his brother over jealosy. The theme in this st
...more
Peter.b
Mar 31, 2012 Peter.b rated it it was amazing
Shelves: pre-7th-grade
The main character of this book, Nanashi, or later known as Moonshadow, is a really great person. He is kind and has a lot of goodness inside of him, even though he is a spy/ninja. At the beginning of the book he gets his first mission after his last test, which was to get a plan of a secret weapon that a warlord is using, called Silver Wolf, who plans a rebellion on the shogan. He acts very bravely during most of the mission, sometimes worrying about the outcome, but eventually everything comes ...more
Oscar
Mar 04, 2013 Oscar rated it liked it
Shelves: 2011-2012
Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja about a young ninja spy warrior in Japan. Set during the time of the Tokugawa era. He was an orphan when found by the Grey Light Order, the organization that raised him to be a ninja spy. He also poses the power to link his mind with animals and see through its eyes. But an enemies seek to attack Japan during its peaceful time with the help of some European allies and weapons, Moonshadow is sent into action, to defend his nation and the Shogun. He must face a great ...more
ERL
Sep 18, 2011 ERL rated it it was amazing
Well, the verdict was a toss-up for this book and that is the reason for the 3 star rating.

The book club members who were able to get into the book and finish it thought the book was good. The characters were interesting and it was a nice surprise to have a strong female character who was also a spy with superior "ninja" skills. It was agreed that the best part of the book was toward the end when Moonshadow battled The Deathless. For those members that did finish the book, the overall rating wa
...more
Fantasy Literature
Mar 26, 2015 Fantasy Literature rated it it was ok
Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja and Moonshadow: The Nightmare Ninja are the first two installments in a series of children's books by Simon Higgins about, well, ninjas. The first book is mostly entertaining if a bit slight, but the second, unfortunately, is disappointing due to an overreliance on fight scenes. While the Moonshadow series has potential, it took a step backward in book two.

Moonshadow is the title character, a young member of the Grey Light Order of ninjas. In Rise of the Ninja, we m
...more
Keshav
Apr 11, 2016 Keshav rated it it was amazing
Moonshadow is a great book for people looking forward to an action packed, historical book that is filled with tough decisions and diverse Japanese weapons. Moonshadow is an orphan that was taken in by the Shogun's shadow clan and trained to be a ninja. At first he has doubts about his first mission, but he retrieves the plans that could harm Japan and made a skilled friend to help the Shogun out. This book not only includes great action scenes and vivid images, but it also gives you a historica ...more
Ethan B
Nov 26, 2012 Ethan B rated it it was amazing
I am currently reading the book called MOONSHADOW by Simon Higgins. This is about a boy from an orphanage who gets trained to be a very cool ninja. On his first real mission he encounters another ninja looking person trying to get what he had. Later the other ninja was trying to find him searching every nook and crany to get what he had stolen from the highly guarded room. The only way I could relate was the fighting part well because I do that sometimes with my brother. There was a lot of good ...more
Lillian
Great stuff! I love reading about Feudal Japan, especially in fiction. Rise of the Ninja is well written and knows how to bring out the coolness of ninjas. ;P

The battle scenes are definitely the best parts of the story, and there's a lot of them to drool over and enjoy. If you love action here and there and everywhere, then you'll love this book for sure. (Trust me, there's LOTS of action!) Other than that, I thought the rest of the plot was slow moving. It's pretty simple otherwise.

I can really
...more
Noah Kitchen
Sep 05, 2014 Noah Kitchen rated it did not like it
Moon shadow is a okay book based on a kid trying to become a ninja. This book is a really great action book for people who like fights and sneakiness. So this kid who is trying to become a ninja is coming from a group called the Grey Light and Nanashi is his leader now and they struggle in there great mission they have to get moonshadow to become a great ninja. This book was cool not the best book i have read and it was really interesting to me the fighting and action in the book was a really co ...more
Barbara
Jun 22, 2010 Barbara rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Grades 4-6
This has lots to recommend it to the upper Elem / MS crowd, especially boys and reluctant readers: fast paced, adventure, swordplay, ninja skills like walking on water & seeing thru the eyes of animals... But this isn't just for boys, Moonshadow pairs up with a girl ninja as well to complete his mission. Takes place in Japan at transition from samurai era to the ninjas and opening to the West. Beginning of a series from another Aussie author.
Laura
Jan 17, 2010 Laura rated it liked it
Good start to a series about an orphan raised to be part of a shadow warrior clan in Tokagawa Japan. The swordplay, secret spycraft and general ambiance will appeal to Middle School boys. One can only hope that this series does come to fruition (as opposed to the L.G. Bass 'series' Outlaws of Moonshadow Marsh, that stalled after the first book).

ARC provided by publisher.
Beth
Sep 03, 2010 Beth rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Tamar
Apr 14, 2013 Tamar rated it really liked it
Great book. Not too many people write books about ninjas (also known as shinobi), so I really liked the new ideas. I think that the writing style is nice, and the storyline is very good. I also really like the characters.
Arian
Aug 22, 2012 Arian rated it really liked it
Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja
haven't read it yet so I don't know what its about exactly.
Saqwer
May 03, 2013 Saqwer rated it liked it
NO real plot, just fast paced with a lot of action,with no surprises
Danielle
Feb 18, 2012 Danielle rated it it was ok
I think it is a great youth boys book, full of ninja adventure.
T
This book is really interesting in the beggining but i got bored on the middle of the plot
Janice
Nov 10, 2011 Janice marked it as to-read
Australian author readalike for John Flanagan Rangers Apprentice series
J
Apr 18, 2012 J rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
pretty mean book !
Animebeast
Apr 27, 2011 Animebeast rated it it was amazing
Best book i've read so far.Very entertaining.Just finished 5 minutes ago and i already miss it
Veronica
Nov 09, 2012 Veronica rated it it was amazing
This book was wonderful with great characters, humor, high-action, and an awesome butt-kicking cat sidekick. Loved it!
Tracie
Sep 13, 2010 Tracie rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: middle-school, elem
Recommended by a young patron who told me it was the best book he ever read. Def a winner for the boys who like ninjas and action. Sequels are coming.
Yvette
Apr 18, 2013 Yvette rated it it was amazing
Shelves: book-series
Pretty kick-ass book series, I was surprised to find. It kept my interest up and didn't bore me one bit. I greatly enjoyed it and eagerly await the third book.
Taufiq
Oct 14, 2011 Taufiq rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Tidak menarik untuk dibaca. Ada beberapa lubang dalam naskahnya. Selain itu endingnya sangat buruk, membuat hati ini mengumpat-umpat.
Isinya tentang ninja dan tetek bengeknya.
Bryan457
A very cool, young adult, feudal Japan, ninja spy/assassin story with some very nicely appropriate fantasy elements.

I am definitely going to hunt down the rest of these to read.
Joy
Sep 22, 2012 Joy rated it really liked it
A great Juvenal read especially those who are anime or kick flick fans. Engaging characters and a good dose of real cultural history of transitional Japan(the early influence of Europe.)
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Sisters of the Sword (Sisters of the Sword, #1)
  • Shipwrecked!: The True Adventures of a Japanese Boy
  • The Pure Land
  • Blood Ninja (Blood Ninja, #1)
  • Agent Q, or The Smell of Danger! (Pals in Peril #4)
  • Sword
  • Blue Fingers: A Ninja's Tale
  • Voodoo Die (The Destroyer, #33)
  • Tiger Lily
  • Archer's Quest
  • Beyond the Blossoming Fields
  • Spirit's Princess (Spirit's Princess, #1)
  • Disciple of the Wind (Fated Blades, #3)
  • Little Sister (Mitsuko, #1)
  • Midori by Moonlight
  • Wagon Wheels
  • Spirit Hunter (Bloodline, #3)
  • Half World (Half World, #1)
1909338
Simon Higgins has tried a lot of jobs, having worked as a disc jockey, laboratory assistant, marketing manager and even monster in a side-show ghost train -which he still calls ‘the zenith of his employment history.’ He also spent a decade in law enforcement. As a police officer in the South Australian Police Department, Simon served in several different postings over almost nine years, including ...more
More about Simon Higgins...

Other Books in the Series

Moonshadow (3 books)
  • Moonshadow: The Wrath of Silver Wolf (Moonshadow, #2)
  • Moonshadow: The Twilight War (Moonshadow, #3)

Share This Book