Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja (Moonshadow, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja (Moonshadow #1)

3.93 of 5 stars 3.93  ·  rating details  ·  246 ratings  ·  30 reviews
In the moonlight, the explosive fast draw became a horizontal streak of silver, flashing momentarily from the cover of the shadow. The tip of Moonshadow's sword ambushed the lurking foe, who stood, still drawing his own weapon. It's the dawn of an age of peace in medieval Japan, and a power hungry warlord is plotting to plunge the nation into a deadly civil war using a sec...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published June 7th 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (first published August 1st 2008)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Moonshadow, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Moonshadow

The Lightning Thief by Rick RiordanThe Lost Hero by Rick RiordanDivergent by Veronica RothThe Ruins of Gorlan by John FlanaganThe Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
Lighthearted
81st out of 97 books — 21 voters
Baby by J.K. AccinniArmageddon Cometh by J.K. AccinniEcho by J.K. AccinniEvil Among Us by J.K. AccinniThe Meat Market by James Chalk
Awsome Action
31st out of 118 books — 145 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 736)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Marsha
There are few things as cool as a ninja, and this book is about some very cool ninjas. Moonshadow is an orphan in medieval Japan who has been chosen and rigorously trained by the Shogun's secret spy organization, the Grey Light Order. He is amazingly quick, strong and resourceful, and extremely skilled in weaponry, especially in sword fighting. Moonshadow has also been trained in the ancient skill called the eye of the beast: he can see through an animal's eyes--see what the animals sees--and ev...more
Laura
This wasn't a bad little book at all. The cover of the book grabbed my attention and it's what drew my interest, i thought it might of been a graphic novel than an actual fiction story.

I thought it was a little slow to start but after half way through the book really starts picking up the pace with cracking speeds. I'm not sure if I'd read the other two in the series but I certainly wouldn't turn away the opportunity if it arrised.

The story is fairly easy to follow, with a plot that twists and t...more
Peter.b
The main character of this book, Nanashi, or later known as Moonshadow, is a really great person. He is kind and has a lot of goodness inside of him, even though he is a spy/ninja. At the beginning of the book he gets his first mission after his last test, which was to get a plan of a secret weapon that a warlord is using, called Silver Wolf, who plans a rebellion on the shogan. He acts very bravely during most of the mission, sometimes worrying about the outcome, but eventually everything comes...more
Margo Tanenbaum
Set in Japan at the end of the medieval period and dawn of the Tokugawa era, this exciting, action-packed novel tells the story of young Moonshadow, an orphan who has been raised to be a member of the Grey Light Order, a secret brotherhood of ninja spy warriors. The members of the order are the closest thing he has ever had to a family, and he feels a strong loyalty to them. Moonshadow is not only highly trained in all sorts of weapons and disguises, he has a unique ability known in the book as...more
Oscar
Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja about a young ninja spy warrior in Japan. Set during the time of the Tokugawa era. He was an orphan when found by the Grey Light Order, the organization that raised him to be a ninja spy. He also poses the power to link his mind with animals and see through its eyes. But an enemies seek to attack Japan during its peaceful time with the help of some European allies and weapons, Moonshadow is sent into action, to defend his nation and the Shogun. He must face a great...more
WakeForest
Well, the verdict was a toss-up for this book and that is the reason for the 3 star rating.

The book club members who were able to get into the book and finish it thought the book was good. The characters were interesting and it was a nice surprise to have a strong female character who was also a spy with superior "ninja" skills. It was agreed that the best part of the book was toward the end when Moonshadow battled The Deathless. For those members that did finish the book, the overall rating wa...more
Ethan B
I am currently reading the book called MOONSHADOW by Simon Higgins. This is about a boy from an orphanage who gets trained to be a very cool ninja. On his first real mission he encounters another ninja looking person trying to get what he had. Later the other ninja was trying to find him searching every nook and crany to get what he had stolen from the highly guarded room. The only way I could relate was the fighting part well because I do that sometimes with my brother. There was a lot of good...more
Barbara
Jun 22, 2010 Barbara rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Grades 4-6
This has lots to recommend it to the upper Elem / MS crowd, especially boys and reluctant readers: fast paced, adventure, swordplay, ninja skills like walking on water & seeing thru the eyes of animals... But this isn't just for boys, Moonshadow pairs up with a girl ninja as well to complete his mission. Takes place in Japan at transition from samurai era to the ninjas and opening to the West. Beginning of a series from another Aussie author.
Beth
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Laura
Good start to a series about an orphan raised to be part of a shadow warrior clan in Tokagawa Japan. The swordplay, secret spycraft and general ambiance will appeal to Middle School boys. One can only hope that this series does come to fruition (as opposed to the L.G. Bass 'series' Outlaws of Moonshadow Marsh, that stalled after the first book).

ARC provided by publisher.
Tamar
Great book. Not too many people write books about ninjas (also known as shinobi), so I really liked the new ideas. I think that the writing style is nice, and the storyline is very good. I also really like the characters.
Arian
Moonshadow: Rise of the Ninja
haven't read it yet so I don't know what its about exactly.
Joy
A great Juvenal read especially those who are anime or kick flick fans. Engaging characters and a good dose of real cultural history of transitional Japan(the early influence of Europe.)
Bryan457
A very cool, young adult, feudal Japan, ninja spy/assassin story with some very nicely appropriate fantasy elements.

I am definitely going to hunt down the rest of these to read.
Tsing Lin
Currently I think ancient Japan must have been a really corrupted country, but really good soldiers! (If it's true)And the ninja tricks are pretty cool
Yvette
Pretty kick-ass book series, I was surprised to find. It kept my interest up and didn't bore me one bit. I greatly enjoyed it and eagerly await the third book.
Jessica Duivenvoorden
I loved this book, it's another of my favourites I think! I learn karate, and this is a good book for me, as I understand what Simon is writing about.
Tracie
Recommended by a young patron who told me it was the best book he ever read. Def a winner for the boys who like ninjas and action. Sequels are coming.
Chris Boult
THis book was really interesting beacuse you got to see how some people's lives are like and how they don't have a ny friends and how they cope.
Veronica
This book was wonderful with great characters, humor, high-action, and an awesome butt-kicking cat sidekick. Loved it!
T
This book is really interesting in the beggining but i got bored on the middle of the plot
Theo P
Good! Very good! Especially in the fighting parts because it seemed like real sword fighting.
Animebeast
Best book i've read so far.Very entertaining.Just finished 5 minutes ago and i already miss it
Janice
Nov 10, 2011 Janice marked it as to-read
Australian author readalike for John Flanagan Rangers Apprentice series
Danielle
I think it is a great youth boys book, full of ninja adventure.
Saqwer
NO real plot, just fast paced with a lot of action,with no surprises
Molly
Grades 4+ Ninjas... I know who to sell this book to
Benton
there has to be a seqeul
Jonathan Dorsay
This book was great!
J
pretty mean book !
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 24 25 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Sisters of the Sword (Sisters of the Sword, #1)
  • Shipwrecked!: The True Adventures of a Japanese Boy
  • Blue Fingers: A Ninja's Tale
  • The Pure Land
  • Beyond the Blossoming Fields
  • Blood Ninja (Blood Ninja, #1)
  • The Vine Basket
  • Wagon Wheels
  • Archer's Quest
  • Spirit's Princess (Spirit's Princess, #1)
  • The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn (Samurai Detective, #1)
  • Sparrow Girl
  • Eirelan
  • Now and Zen
  • Midori by Moonlight
  • Celandine (Touchstone Trilogy, #2)
  • Half World (Half World, #1)
  • Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit (Moribito, #1)
1909338
Simon Higgins has tried a lot of jobs, having worked as a disc jockey, laboratory assistant, marketing manager and even monster in a side-show ghost train -which he still calls ‘the zenith of his employment history.’ He also spent a decade in law enforcement. As a police officer in the South Australian Police Department, Simon served in several different postings over almost nine years, including...more
More about Simon Higgins...
Moonshadow: The Wrath of Silver Wolf (Moonshadow, #2) Moonshadow: The Twilight War (Moonshadow, #3) Doctor Id (Jade Draper, #1) Thunderfish (Thunderfish, #1) Tomodachi: The Edge of the World

Share This Book