Things I Know About Love
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Things I Know About Love

3.63 of 5 stars 3.63  ·  rating details  ·  1,116 ratings  ·  214 reviews
Things I know about love.

1.People don't always tell you the truth about how they feel.
2.Nothing that happens between two people is guaranteed to be private.
3.I don't know if you ever get over having your heart broken.

Livia Stowe's past experiences with love have been nothing but disappointing, but all that is about to change. After years of illness, she's boarding a plane...more
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published June 22nd 2010 by EgmontUSA (first published October 27th 2006)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Things I Know About Love, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Things I Know About Love

The Fault in Our Stars by John GreenThe Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. SmithThirteen Reasons Why by Jay AsherThis is Not a Test by Courtney SummersThe Fine Art of Truth or Dare by Melissa Jensen
2012 Young Adult Standalone Challenge
175th out of 236 books — 866 voters
Divergent by Veronica RothCity of Bones by Cassandra ClareThe Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenClockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Perfect Boyfriend List
267th out of 552 books — 386 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 2,378)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Eunice
4 of 5 stars

Can I say that my first read for 2012 left me crying? Ugh. Yeah right, it was New Year and I was freaking crying! Not that I'm saying the book was bad, in fact I really did liked it, it was just that I wasn't really expecting to get really emotional by the end of this book. When I picked this up I was looking for a fun and light read. I was expecting a sweet and happy ending so when the ending came it kind of caught me off guard and bam! I started crying and I had a clogged nose that...more
Jianne
Things I Know About Love is a very light, adorable and cute story about love, realization and life.

Summary
Seventeen-year-old English girl, Livia Stowe who just recovered from Leukemia flies from England to Princeton, New Jersey to visit her brother. While in Princeton, Livia discovers new adventures of life she has yet to experience especially on love and looks back to her disappointing past relationships and try to get it right this time.

Ups and Pros
The best thing about reading Things I Know...more
Brooke  T
Okay, I admit that when I first began reading this book, I didn't like it and it took me awhile to get into it (probably because of all the English terms that we don't use in the U.S.) Then when Adam came along, I didn't stop reading. I read this book in about an hour or two since it's a really fast read. I really wish there was more detail as I wanted to get to know about Livia and Adam more and Jeff and Krystina. By the time you get to the end of the book, I really wanted to cry. It was a bit...more
Literary Cravings
Love is a tricky thing to find, some search their whole life to find it, that connection with that one person who makes everything better. Who some how gets you and understand you and care about you more than anything in the world and just want to see you happy. Many who think that they have found it are quickly shown that they were wrong. Finding that pure honest love with someone, other than your family members, who feels the exact same way is so hard to find but it doesn’t stop us from trying...more
Adrienne
Jun 07, 2013 Adrienne rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: People with lots of Kleenex.
Recommended to Adrienne by: Abbie
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
E.V.Franzmnn E.V.Franzmnn
3.5 stars

Ok, I'll try to do a review, but I ask you to consider the state I'm in the moment witch is not good at all. I'm heart broken and very emotional but I'll try to be at least a little rational about it.

The Plot - Is the cutes ever. Livia is traveling to see her brother and live , yes, live and love and all that teen excitements that normal teens are suppose to have before they grow into adulthood. She is like a diary lover and so she does this blog (secret and privet) where she puts all h...more
Lindsay
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Marjorie De Los Reyes
As I was looking for a book to read, I saw the title and the cover and decided that this will be the one that I will be reading. The title itself is very catchy, and the cover, showing a woman (only her lower body actually) sitting on some luggages with buildings on the background is what encouraged me to read this book. From there, you can tell that it is about love and travel. (Wonderful title and amazing cover really gets my attention.)

Livia Stowe is a 17 year old leukemia survivor. She’s jus...more
Samantha
Love is hard to find, we have to go through a lot of things to find our true love who makes everything seems so perfect and who makes our day brighter like we don't wanna end the day with them. So here's the story of Livia who went to America to bond with her brother and she's up for a mission to have a summer fling with an American boy but find herself falling in love with Adam-his brother's friend. By the way the story is in a blog form-blog of livia and blog of adam.

This is one of the best b...more
Stephanie (StephTheBookworm)
Livia, an English teenager who has grown up with Leukemia, feels unlucky in love. Now that she has been feeling better for some time, and believes that she may be recovering, she has decided to spend the summer in America, visiting her older brother who is attending Princeton. While there, she chronicles her time in the U.S. on a blog, as well as her past experiences of love, and also, the new guy she meets, Adam, who may just change everything she thought she knew about love. . .

I think that th...more
Ashley
Although I have a million books requested at the library, this book grabbed my attention when I came across it. Perhaps it was because of the length - just over 150 pages. I feel like I don't have much free time for reading anymore, and I don't want to spend forever reading one book. (I'm looking at you, 11 22 63!) The cute cover and the summary that promises travel and romance helped hook me. But what really got me to take this book home was reading the other Goodreads reviews telling of an une...more
Lauren
At first look, Things I know about Love seemed like it was going to be a sweet and short romance that would leave me with a smile on my face by the end, and while it was some of those things, it was also something I wasn't expecting... incredibly heartbreaking. So sad, in fact, that even though it's been a day since I've finished this, whenever I think about it I start to tear up.

Livia and Adam were a very cute couple, and I liked how you could just tell how much they meant to each other from t...more
K. Bird
Livia is traveling from the UK to Princeton, New Jersey to visit her graduate student brother.

She is traveling alone for the first time. She is traveling for the first time alltogether, because she's spent the last few years battling leukemia.

Livia is writing a diary so she can fully explore her own history of boyfriends and figure out what she wants from love.

This is a cute story, Livia is likeable, her experience of the US and the way she reacts to American friends of her brother's is a hoot.

T...more
Karla (Reads and Thoughts)
Strangers are called strangers because they are strange. Duh!

After surviving leukemia, Livia Stowe decided to relive the times she has missed because of her sickness. She's been healthy now for almost a year and she is now ready to get back to her normal energetic self again. So when her brother, who is attending Princeton, asks her to visit him there for a few weeks, she immediately grabs the opportunity though convincing her mother to allow her was pretty hard. After being gone for so long, s...more
Karen
Livia’s childhood was spent mostly in hospitals battling leukemia. She’s missed out on most of the things that teenage girls get to do and her love life has been limited as well.
Having never been outside of England and never flown on a plane, Livia takes her first trip to spend the summer with her brother who’s now a student at Princeton University, in NY. She’s hoping to take in the sights and maybe a have a fling with an American boy during the month she’s there.
To document her trip & her...more
Joy (joyous reads)
Leukemia survivor Livia Stowe decided to fly across the Atlantic to see her brother Jeff who was studying in Princeton. Her mum was always worrying about her and her health. She went on to document her trip to America by way of a blog. Not so much about her travels but she wanted to chronicle the things she learned about love. Being a cancer survivor doesn’t really leave much room for successful relationships. There was Darren, a guy whom she turned down a second date and ended up being the butt...more
Jessica Lawlor
Things I Know About Love tells the story of Livia Stowe, a seventeen year old British girl who is traveling to the United States to visit her brother who is a student at Princeton University in New Jersey. Livia is super excited to see her brother, who she is extremely close to. She is also excited to take this trip on her own, especially after fighting and winning leukemia a year prior.

Livia begins a blog about her American adventures. When she arrives in the United States, she is quickly greet...more
Kala
Do you like romance? Do you like to cry? Do you like reading a book where you sigh and say. 'Why can't that happen to me?!'? How about hating happy endings? Feeling like your heart is being ripped out? Well guess what, this is the book for you.
I have been reading a lot of love stories lately; mainly because the guys in my life suck but thats beside the point. I started reading this and loved it right away! Its all about her true feelings, i mean its her blog, and you get to know exactly what sh...more
Anjanette Jan

“I need to move on and take chances when
they find me. To be fearless even if it means getting hurt again."



It's short and easy to read.

It's funny and entertaining, sweet and quite predictable and at the very last moment, SAD.

It's almost captivating if it wasn't only too short. It's really heartwarming and it made me cry! (YES!! It really did, It's too sad I can't take it). It's like those other books where you'll find the character alive and kicking and at the same time living his/her life to the...more
Lauren Miller
In the novel, "Things I Know About Love," written by Kate le Vann, Livia, the main character is setting off on an adventure to see her brother in America as she is now Leukemia free. Livia is an eighteen year old girl who wants her last "hoorah" the summer right before she ventures off to college back to her hometown in England. This book did not only keep me wanting more from the story, but also wanting more from the author.
If you're looking for a quick, easy read, I suggest you read this nov...more
ijul (yuliyono)
Jadi, apa yang kautahu tentang cinta?

Summary
Livia Stowe, seorang gadis London yang sebentar lagi lulus dari high school, dan pada musim liburan kali ini ia memutuskan terbang ke Princeton, Amerika Serikat untuk mengunjungi kakak lelakinya, Jeff, yang kuliah di sana. Oleh sebab leukimia yang dideritanya, Mum dan Jeff khawatir atas perjalanan itu. Namun, Livia tetap berangkat. Selain untuk berlibur, dia juga ingin merenungkan tentang cinta. Kebetulan dia memang baru putus dari Luke.

Dan, di Amerik...more
Abigail
Things I Know About Love is about a seventeen-year-old girl named Livia Stowe. She had been in remission from leukemia for about a year so she decided to visit her older brother, Jeff, in Princeton, New Jersey. From a private blog that she kept, Livia recorded her experiences in America as well as in love.

As the book progressed, I fell deeply in love with all of the characters, especially Livia, Jeff, and Adam. Everything about the book was cute and witty, and I found myself smiling most of the...more
JLObcena
I was so into this story that I didn't notice it's about to end. Really, I was expecting more from Livia and Adam's story. More moments shared together and their relationship to go deeper. But...ugh. That's just how the story goes. then...ting!It ended suddenly. I was kinda disappointed and sorry for Adam. :(

That was not how I picture its ending. Though Livia's condition is laid, the timing of its ending is saddening.

Anyway, despite of the surprise unexpected ending that I get, I got too involv...more
Stephanie
The ending was heartbreaking and I nearly cried. This was the second time I have read this book and I completely forgot about the ending.
Hafiz Shariff
Got a referral from a friend for Things I Know About Love and very glad to have read it. Definitely recommend this one.

Simple story about a trip to America for a British girl named Livia who meets a boy named Adam with the two falling completely in love with each other, even though they're together for a very short time. But the ending was really surprising, certainly wasn't expecting it despite what I knew about her.

Really goes to show that no matter how long you've know them, if you are comple...more
Sarah
An unexpected gem found in my library's ebook library. This short novel (read it in 2 hours) is kind of gut wrenching. The blog post concept seems like a silly, unnecessary premise at the start, but by the end, it makes total sense. What's not revealed in the book description is that the story's actually told from the perspective of two people, and those dual perspectives really make the book work. A good read I haven't seen much chatter about.
Emy
WARNING I GET V. DEEP :P.......................

Okay. I started this book today and finished today.. This alone should tell you all to not let overlook this book!... I have to admit that I am soo confused though :/

Even thought it is a bit of a cliché, it wasn't. I know it doesn't make sense, but never having read a story with this kind off plot, i was sucked in easily. That's why its hard to decide wheter to give this 4stars or 1!?..

I feel like Livia is a good friend of mine now. I was happy that...more
Shauna Tyndall
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kelly
Totally predictable and not enough character development for my liking. A good readalike for Lurlene McDaniel fans. I felt the ending was a bit of a cop out...Full review here: http://stackedbooks.blogspot.com/2010...
Becky R.
Although I've seen some serious mixed reviews on this novel, I have to say that it really grabbed me and shook me up a bit. In short, it made me cry, and I was okay about it. Livia was a sweet character, filled with vulnerabilities and a kind of guilelessness that didn't have me skeptically doubting her goodness, but rather had me wanting to have someone shelter her. The experiences that Livia has had as a teen with boyfriends of various kinds feel very familiar and real, from the boy who wanted...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 79 80 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
PRLHS Book Club: Things I Know About Love 1 5 Mar 21, 2012 09:00PM  
  • Sullivan's Law (Carolyn Sullivan, #1)
  • Mail Order Cowboy (Brides of Simpson Creek, #1)
  • Klepto
  • Freedom Road
  • I Now Pronounce You Someone Else
  • The Boyfriend Game (First Kisses, #5)
  • The Deathday Letter
  • Second Chance (First Comes Love, #2)
  • My Invisible Boyfriend
  • Chasing Boys
  • The Good Girl's Guide to Getting Kidnapped
  • Of All the Stupid Things
  • Winter Longing
  • Emma Hearts LA
  • Suite Dreams
  • My Friends, My Dreams
  • House of Dance
  • The View from the Top
Tessa in Love Rain The Worst of Me Two Friends, One Summer Trailers

Share This Book

“Because falling in love, even when it's unrequited, is not something that happens to only one person. The other person can't help getting involved, whether they like it or not.” 47 likes
“I was too proud to show him how hurt I was.” 36 likes
More quotes…