Werewolf Versus Dragon
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Werewolf Versus Dragon (An Awfully Beastly Business #1)

3.78 of 5 stars 3.78  ·  rating details  ·  147 ratings  ·  31 reviews
The first title in this series about a sanctuary for dragons, ogres, werewolves, and many other fantastical creatures

Ulf is an orphaned werewolf who has lived all his life at Farraway Hall, the home of theRoyal Society for the Protection and Care of Beasts (RSPCB) and a sanctuary for rare and endangered beasts. When a dead dragon arrives and a ghost reveals a dark secret,
...more
Paperback, 194 pages
Published April 1st 2012 by Simon & Schuster UK (first published July 7th 2008)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 250)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
An Abundance of Books
Featured at An Abundance of Books

The Beastly Business series take place in a modern world where mythical creatures aren't so mythical - and they're protected by law. The Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts (RSPCB) exists to not only protect these creatures, but set up breeding and conservation programs, healing and helping to rehabilitate beasts so that they can return to the wild. Ulf is a young werewolf who has grown up at the RSPCB main headquarters which doubles as a 10, 00...more
Clearwater Public Library YOUTH
This imaginative book told the story of Ulf, a little werewolf boy who lived at the RSPCB(Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts) along with many other mythical beasts like fairies, giants and ghosts. Dr. Helen Fielding presided over all the creatures under her care. This first volume of the series revolved around stopping The Baron, and his evil henchman Bone and Blud, from capturing mythical beasts and forcing them to fight each other. One of the things I thought was so creative...more
Jvillena4
Ulf a young not developed ware wolf wanted to let Dr. Fielding the professor that he is brave and strong and is willing to keep the RSPCB safe with his assistants. But there has been a huge memory about a mother dragon and that the same mother dragon has been captured waiting to be held in this beast battle where humans gather 2 beasts and bet who wins. So he starts to try and help but the evil man who captured the mother dragon kept Ulf locked up. Then Ulf tried to go free and succeeded but wha...more
Amanda
Looking at the book as a mature adult I’d say that Werewolf versus Dragon is a predictable tale about supernatural beasties with a super obvious villain. But if I were a kid who hasn’t read a million books before, I’d say this is the coolest book ever! It’s all about perception here.

In the book we don’t discover the identity of the mysterious villain until the end. Buuut, it’s pretty easy to guess who the villain is right away, it’s really no big surprise. But perhaps it would be to a kid. So as...more
Jenny / Wondrous Reads
Werewolf Versus Dragon is the first book in the Beastly Business series, which is being republished and repackaged throughout the year. It's a great read for kids, and would be perfect for fans of Tommy Donbavand's Scream Street series. There aren't quite as many laughs, but there are some brilliant characters and some equally brilliant beasts!

The RSPCB is an acronym for The Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts. It's a massive conservation-type area where injured beasts are reha...more
Jennifer Wardrip
Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

WEREWOLF VERSUS DRAGON starts off with Ulf and Dr. Fielding watching a radar screen at the RSPCB (Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts). On the screen, they see two blips, which Dr. Fielding explains are dragons. The mother and baby dragon are migrating further north and passing over the RSPCB.

Later though, Dr. Fielding and Orson the giant retrieve the body of the baby dragon. It was found dead and Dr. Fielding is determined to discover wha...more
Emma
Jun 30, 2013 Emma rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Kids 8-12
Shelves: read-in-2013
I loved reading Werewolf versus Dragon, book 1 in the series An Awfully Beastly Business, by David Sinden, Matthew Morgan and Guy Macdonald.

In Werewolf versus Dragon we are taking on an adventure with Ulf, Dr. Fielding, his friend Tiana the fairy and Orson the giant. When two fire belly dragons, mother and baby, are heading from the Great Volcanoes past the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts (RSPCB) on their migration route to the Ice Mountains of Greenland they run into trou...more
Jessica
Apr 07, 2014 Jessica rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: fans of middlegrade adventures
When I picked this up for a road trip, I didn't realize it was a middle-grade read. My 5th grader loved it and was enthralled the entire time. But even she figured out who the bad guy was pretty quick. Still, this was fun. Since read we listened to the audio book, we got to hear the great accents and voices given to the characters. Made a long road trip a lot more bearable.
Daman
This book that i recently finished is about a boy werewolf named Ulf and his adventures with Tiana the Fairy, Orson the Giant, and Dr.Fielding the RSPCB vet.(RSPCB standing for Royal Society For The Prevention Of Cruelty To Beasts). The story line basically was about when a dragon arives at the RSPCB. Ulf the werewolf must stop an evil beast poacher from creating something horrifing.

This book was an overall a pretty good read, a nice short novel. Mainly probably meant for 4th or 5th graders in m...more
Lydia Perversius
It is rather sad to be the one that rates this book in such a cruel way, but I can't really give it even half a star more - two are too much as it is. The plot was nice, even though childish, but I feel like it was just left at that - a nice idea that never got to fully blossom into a story with 3D characters and elements that would keep you interested. Not to mention how predictable it was. Sadly, I won't be giving this series a second chance, I have far too many books waiting in my TR list, an...more
Sunny
I have just finished a book called An Awfully Beastly Business. By David Sinden. This book is fantasy. It's about this boy name Ulf who really is a werewolf boy. He lives in the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts(RSPCB). They are basically a rescue center for beast. The main problem in this book is when a criminal name Maracki, captures one of the dragon and left the other one dead. The criminal disguised as an Inspector and got in to the RSPCB. The theme of this book is be ca...more
Red Kedi
Adoro leggere libri per bambini. Chiarito questo punto, sono ben felice di aver letto questo primo libro di una saga. Un breve racconto di avventura e di amicizia, di coraggio e voglia di essere utili agli altri, con il desiderio di fare qualcosa di buono perchè è la cosa giusta anche se non è sempre facile. Ulf è un bambino esteticamente particolare ma con il cuore uguale a tanti altri. Scorrevole e coinvolgente, si fa leggere in poco tempo. Consigliato ;)
Chris
As a young, orphaned werewolf, Ulf has spent his life at the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts. He helps Dr. Fielding manage the RSPCB, giving a huge assortment of beasts shelter until they are ready to return to the wild. But during a migration a young dragon has been killed and its mother kidnapped, and now they must find the culprit before anyone else can come to harm.
*Queen Diva*
I wasn't sure if I was going to like this book or not when I started it, but I found, in the end, I did enjoy it! It was a quick easy read with a main character you can't help but like! I will be reading the next book in the series!

And, it should be noted, for some reason, the bad guy in this book reminded me of Count Olaf XD I have no idea why...but he did
Kellylynn
There wasn't anything that really stood out with this one. It was ok, I listened to the audio version.
Katiana
When a dragon Arrives at the royal society for the prevention of cruelty to beasts, a rescue center for rare and endangered beasts, UIF the werewolf uncovers a dark and terrifying secret. With the help of Orson the giant, Tiana the fairy, and Dr.Fielding the RSPCB vet, UIF must stop the most evil beast poacher in the world before its too late.
Mindi Bennett
Listened to this in the car today with Jackson, Sierra, Kaia, Tristan and Ruby. Ruby & Tristan fell asleep, I guess they aren't into Werewolves and Dragons. It was just OK, but I can see how kids would enjoy reading the series. There are just so many good books out there, I hope I can distract my kids from these kinds of so so ones.
Chrissy
The Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts is a great setting for a new series with lots of monsters and fairy tale creatures. Ulf, a young werewolf helps Dr. Fielding care for all the beasts and in the end, he even gets to save the day. Check more stories about Ulf in further books in the series.
Ola
The Book is beautifully illustrated -Hurray!
Lots of monsters - Sweet!
The hero is a monster - Interesting
And we are told that cruelty against animals is wrong - Yes I fully agree

But the book is still almost painful to read...there are much better books. But it looks good on the shelf.
Nadine
Cute book, short and sweet. Nice change in pace from the mystery books I've been reading. Love the characters, especially Ulf the werewolf. Love the ending, a total cliffhanger for whats to come. Great for kids 10 and under who like mythical beasts. Happy Reading :)
Heather
Normally I love anything werewolf and with beings mentioned in this book. Don't take 3 stars as bad, the book itself is good, but I think it was just the fact it was a children's book. Very well written and the artistry is beautiful.
Oscar
Kids will like all the different monsters that appear in the book. This is going to be a well read series in the classroom.
Lettervreter
Ik heb dit enkele maanden gelkeden gelezen maar vind nu eindelijk een vertie mét foto.
Zacharylangston
this book was cool.it had a lot of monsters peopleshoould read it.
Michelle Royer
Great book for reluctant readers. Tons of funny gross stuff:)
Laela
A lot of build up, not alot of adventure.
PWRL
Mar 28, 2012 PWRL marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2012-new
SM
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Sea Monsters and Other Delicacies (An Awfully Beastly Business, #2) The Jungle Vampire (An Awfully Beastly Business, #4) Bang Goes a Troll (An Awfully Beastly Business, #3) Werewolf Versus Dragon and Sea Monsters and Other Delicacies Mixedfd Ppk16 An Awfully Beastly Business

Share This Book