Kremlin Rising: Vladimir Putin's Russia and the End of Revolution
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Kremlin Rising: Vladimir Putin's Russia and the End of Revolution

3.75 of 5 stars 3.75  ·  rating details  ·  150 ratings  ·  18 reviews
In the tradition of Hedrick Smith's The Russians, Robert G. Kaiser's Russia: The People and the Power, and David Remnick's Lenin's Tomb comes an eloquent and eye-opening chronicle of Vladimir Putin's Russia, from this generation's leading Moscow correspondents.
With the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia launched itself on a fitful transition to Western-style democ...more
ebook, 464 pages
Published June 7th 2005 by Scribner (first published 2005)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 284)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Sandy
A revealing and provocative look at the developments going on in post-Soviet Russia under Vladimir Putin. As an aspiring scholar of Russia myself, I was strongly impressed with the depth of the disturbing trends revealed by Baker and Glasser in this book. The pair demonstrate the crackdown on democracy and free speech, the brutality of the war in Chechnya, the disturbing realities of the health and legal systems and the corruption rife in contemporary society in, at times, disturbing detail.

The...more
Bubba
For those of us in the West, and in its former satellites, who cheered the demise of the Soviet Union, it may be hard to make sense of Russia's current political tragectory. But, for those poor folks who saw their proud Empire turn into a chaotic mess under Yeltsin's experiments in Democracy and market economics, the brittle authoritarianism of Putin has its benefits. If you want to know what's up in Russia since the rise of Putin, you should read this book. A Soviet premier he is not, but neith...more
King
The Washington Post is "my" newspaper, the one I grew up reading as a kid in the suburbs of Northern Virginia. This book's authors were, until a couple years ago, the Post's Moscow bureau chiefs (I remember reading the article versions of some of these chapters). Anyway, even with a new Russian president-elect set to take the reigns in a few months, the book's exploration of Putin's tactics remains relevant. The writing is crisp and offers both insight and interesting trivia. It's one thing to r...more
Tandy
This book covers the current situation in Russia really well. It is well written and written at a level that anyone can pick it up and read it without having background knowledge of Russia and her politics. It is well researched it covers things I have read about in newspapers and other books and puts them in this one book. I recommend this book as a place to turn to get up to speed on what is going on in Russia and with Russia's elections coming up a lot of people might want to read about the e...more
Rachael
This is an excellent analysis and presentation of the current state of Russian politics and society. It is very comprehensive and accessible to readers who might not follow Russian current events as closely as dorks like me. I only wish I had read this closer to the beginning of my time in Russia.
Michael Gerald Dealino
A scathing attack on Putin, his cronies, and their wishful thinking to revive Soviet "glories"- a euphemism for eroding democracy. It deserves to be read, especially these days when more Russians are finally opposing Putin's hubris.
Francine Uenuma
Baker and Glasser used to be bureau chiefs in Moscow, and describe Putin's gradual repression of many of the freedoms gained in Russia post-Cold War. Not a comprehensive history but makes for a quick read.
katie
May 24, 2007 katie rated it 2 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: people who hate putin
people should give putin a chance. poor putin. he goes and has a few people "offed" and now everyone is jumping down his throat. come on, people.
Sam
Jul 19, 2007 Sam rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: anyone wanting to know what Russia is like now
Insightful look into modern day Russia, and Putin. Mildly disturbing, but amazingly well done.
Emily
Oct 18, 2007 Emily rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: anybody interested in Russia
so fascinating and fun to read! not a narrative, but reads like one with many stories in it.
Sarah
THE best post soviet history of russia I have read. Wonderful!
victor harris
This takes you through 2005. The early years of the Putin dictatorship when he took control of the media, kept stoking the fires in the former republics and established his government of cronyism featuring many of his ex-KGB pals. Also covers the Chechnyan terrorist attacks in Russia and how he completely befuddled and manipulated Bush. Very interesting commentary on how he revived many of the symbols of the Soviet era and now runs a semi-Soviet state while calling it a democracy. Anyone wanting...more
Kd0imh
If you love Russia, or know someone who does, or have concern for someone who lives there then this book is for you. A great record of what's happened in the last 6 years under Putin. Things are getting worse and less free in Russia, not better. People who say "the verdict is still out on Putin," should probably read this book. In the past few years most "free" speech has been virtually outlawed, all TV media is now state-owned, oil and gas have been renationalized, the quagmire in Chechnya has...more
Bookmarks Magazine

This portrait of "the fishy-eyed, single-minded man at the top" (New York Times) takes a thematic approach to Putin's political leadership. Baker and Glasser, husband-and-wife Moscow bureau chiefs for The Washington Post from 2001 to 2004, scrutinize events from Putin's arms and oil deals with Iraq to the school siege in Beslan and find that the former KGB functionary has impeded late 20th-century Russia's democratic progress. If the book veers toward being too black and white, overemphasizing P

...more
Kerry
If your knowledge about Russian history ends with the fall of the USSR, this book fills in the recent history gap with first-hand observation and analysis about what major events and decisions by Putin meant and how they effected the development of Russia after he came into power.
James
It seems more of us should have read this when it was published in 2005. It's depressing to see the authors' early pessimism of Putin's rule in Russia turn out to be so justified.
Owen
The most readable of the anti-Putin diatribes.
Daniel Goulden
Fantastic book. The style is thoroughly enjoyable and quite literary. This is much more than just an analysis of Putin's rise to power. It does
Dawn
I think I need to give this one another try. Didn't finish the first time - Putin was pissin' me off so I took a break.
Tammy
947.086 Bak
Jon
Jon marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2014
Alizaheer Ali
Alizaheer Ali marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2014
James
James marked it as to-read
Jul 03, 2014
James
James marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2014
Georgianna
Georgianna marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2014
Alan
Alan marked it as to-read
Jun 06, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Revolution in the Arab World: Tunisia, Egypt, and the Unmaking of an Era

Share This Book