Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Life as I Know It” as Want to Read:
Life as I Know It
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Life as I Know It

by
3.74  ·  Rating Details ·  1,037 Ratings  ·  170 Reviews
What if you had the chance to live someone else’s life? Full of heart and soul, here is a captivating novel about the choices we make for family and love—and how sometimes a total stranger is the person we really need to be.
 
Jessica Taylor is walking her dog in the rain when she meets the man of her dreams—only to be struck by lightning moments later. When she wakes up in
...more
Paperback, 368 pages
Published February 9th 2010 by Bantam (first published January 1st 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Life as I Know It, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Life as I Know It

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Laura
Apr 27, 2010 Laura rated it did not like it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sönïa Dhillion
I was in the mood to read time-travel romance that's when I came across Could it be magic. Ms. Rose did a great job by writing such a unique story. This is a contemporary so don't expect erotica. The concept of the book is cheesey and hard to believe. Something that you would read and think this can't be possible or this won't work. But Ms.Ross worked quite hard and development a unique story. She juggled two stories and described them in a way that readers never got confused.

What I liked the mo
...more
Janet Sydnor
Jun 02, 2014 Janet Sydnor rated it really liked it
I really liked this book all the way up until about the last chapter. I couldn't wait to find out how the author would get the character(s) out of their pickle but felt the end was a disappointment. Not sure how else it could have ended though?!
Melanie
Mar 26, 2011 Melanie rated it it was ok
I don't think I would have chosen to read this book if it was not a book club pick. However, I was intrigued by the premise of this book and the first few chaptes hooked me. The more I read the more I had to suspend my disbelief. Usually I am the one reminding others to suspend their disbelief and try to just enjoy a story. This was TOO much of a stretch for me. I kept hoping that the "soul switching bodies" thing would turn out to not really be happening - be the cause of a coma or a mental bre ...more
Kristine
Feb 04, 2014 Kristine rated it it was ok
Shelves: novel, chick-lit
I really wanted to love this one, but it was like a flutter of heartbeats followed by a flat-line. I read it as a read-alike to Cecelia Ahern, one of my favorite authors. It worked in tone and set-up (two women struck by lightning at the same time, one dies and the soul of the other begins alternating between their bodies) but the "substance" of Ahern (a term I use loosely in relation to chick-lit) was lacking.

The premise was promising but Rose never took it anywhere. The characters seem richly
...more
Relyn
Mar 13, 2010 Relyn rated it did not like it
Recommends it for: nobody
Recommended to Relyn by: spotted at Borders
Shelves: abandoned
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Donna Weber
Jan 20, 2013 Donna Weber rated it really liked it
Loved this book!! From the moment lightening struck I was drawn into this very unique, thought provoking novel. Melanie Rose gives new meaning to the age old question... What if you had the chance to live someone else's life? This book touched me in an inexplicable way. I couldn’t put it down though not in the typical suspense/thriller manner. Hidden under the fluffy cover lies a book that is both heartwarming yet at the same time filled with moral dilemmas and how the characters respond to them ...more
Elizabeth
Feb 03, 2011 Elizabeth rated it liked it
Shelves: fiction
I'm stingy with my four stars, but this one was close -- a delightful and very entertaining story with a plot that, while unlikely to the point of verging on science fiction, was made totally believable and compelling. The storyline is elaborated on elsewhere (quick version: simultaneous lightening strike results in protagonist inhabiting another woman's body and alternating with her own body while the other woman sleeps), but what elevated this book from "chick lit" to thought-provoking was tha ...more
Fluffychick
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Chocoholic
Feb 10, 2010 Chocoholic rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 100-in-2010
I had the chance to read this before it came out (thank you GoodReads!) and didn't know how to post my review without giving anything away! Anyway, this book is FABULOUS! It is very well written, and I couldn't put it down. From the first lightning strike, I was hooked. The description was so awesome: Single girl struck by lightning wakes up in another woman's body--she is suddenly married with four kids! It was so clever and creative and I just loved it. The journey the character goes on is ins ...more
Tracy
Nov 27, 2009 Tracy rated it it was amazing
Shelves: my-bookself
Life as I Know It is an amazing book...when I firsted picked this book up, i couldn't stop reading it and it came to the point that I yelled at anybody who interrupted me. Even when I would take a break from reading this book, i would contemplate on what would happen next.

This book is about two women struck by lighting at the same moment but only one survived. And so Jessica is some how stuck living her life and someone elses at the same time.

In the beginning of the book i liked Jessica lifesyle
...more
Kelli Stephenson
Jun 08, 2010 Kelli Stephenson rated it did not like it
I have never been so disappointed! This book had such a cool premise, and I had to finish it to see how it ended of course. BUT the character development was awful, the dialogue was hokey and unbelievable, and the plot was very underdeveloped. TOTAL BUMMER.
Cath Stannard
Jan 08, 2012 Cath Stannard rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amazing read! I thought it was just your usual chick lit but it was so much more than that and ran very deep, found myself actually crying at the end.
I also didn't know how the book was going to pan out til the last chapter which is a refreshing chance.
Loved it!
Leah
Oct 09, 2010 Leah rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: books-read-2010
When Jessica Taylor is struck by lightning one afternoon whilst walking her dog, she has no idea how dramatically her life is going to change! Lucky to survive, Jessica wakes up in a hospital bed – but as someone else. Apparently she’s now Lauren Richardson, wife and mother of four young children. No one will believe her story – she can hardly believe it herself. Later that night, Jessica wakes up again – as herself. She quickly works out that when Lauren sleeps, she wakes up as Jessica. But whe ...more
78sunny
Mar 03, 2013 78sunny rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3,6 von 5 Sternen
*Inhalt:*
Jessica lernt Mister Perfect kennen, doch nur wenige Minuten später wird sie vom Blitz getroffen. Mit Schrecken muss sie feststellen, dass sie in einem anderen Körper im Krankenhaus aufwacht. In Laurens Körper, einer 4fachen Mutter mit Ehemann. Und als ob das nicht schon verrückt genug sei, stellt sie fest, dass immer wenn sie als Lauren schlafen geht, sie in ihrem eigenen Körper aufwacht und dann ihr eigenes Leben bis zum Schlafengehen führt. Das bringt allerhand Probl
...more
Ma
Mar 04, 2017 Ma rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
"Mein Tag ist deine Nacht" von Melanie Rose erschien im Original als "Could it be magic" und wurde 2009 erstmals auf deutsch übersetzt.


Worum geht es? Klappentext:

Was wäre, wenn Sie plötzlich im Körper einer Fremden aufwachen würden? Vier entzückende Kinder hätten, eine luxuriöse Villa und einen liebenden Mann – aber nicht einmal Ihren Namen wüssten? Genau das passiert Jessica, in deren Singleleben doch gerade erst die Liebe wie der Blitz einschlug. Und das ist erst der Anfang: Sobald Jessica im
...more
Willinda
Sep 11, 2011 Willinda rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2011, i-own, rc
Jessica žije vcelku obyčejný život. Ráno do práce, večer domů. Doma na ni čeká pouze fenka Frankie. Nic neobvyklého, nic nadpřirozeného.
Když jde ale jednou s Frankie na procházku, přižene se bouřka a do Jessici uhodí blesk.
Když se Jessica probudí v nemocnici, všichni s ní jednají jako s Lauren Richardsonovou, vdanou ženou a matkou čtyř dětí. Jessica to nejprve považuje za hodně divný sen, a když se probudí jako Jessica, myslí si, že to je už pryč. Když ale znovu usne, probudí se zase jako Lauren
...more
Sabine
Jan 23, 2014 Sabine rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Jessica, 28 Jahre alt und Single mit Hund, lebt in Epsom.

Lauren, 35 Jahre alt und 4fache Mutter und Ehefrau, lebt in Little Cranford.

Was haben diese beiden Frauen gemeinsam? - Sie wurden beide zur gleichen Zeit während eines Unwetters vom Blitz getroffen.

Jessica, die während des Unwetters mit ihrem Hund Frankie Gassi gegangen ist und dabei vom Blitz getroffen wurde, hatte gerade während diesen Spaziergangs den süßen Dan kennengelernt, der ebenfalls mit seinem Hund unterwegs war. Sie wollen gerad
...more
Audrey
Nov 30, 2009 Audrey rated it really liked it
The story behind "Life As I Know It" is actually kind of cool. Apparently, it was originally self-published, but it got so much hype that Harper Collins eventually took notice, and now it's being published by a major publishing firm. Pretty neat, right?

After reading it, I can see what all the fuss was about. It starts off when a woman, Jessica, is struck by lightning. As a result, she finds herself leading two completely different lives in two separate bodies. While this premise isn't necessarei
...more
Jason Brown (Toastx2)
A strange twist on the “freaky friday” body swapping idea, Life as I know it takes the standard bodyswap and turns it on it’s ear. Jessica Taylor is walking her dog in a park when a storm rolls in. she is unlucky enough to be struck by lightning, awakening in another womans body.

Lauren, her host, is a married mother of four, very contrasted against Jessica who is single, has a dog, and works long hours.

The twist is what makes this book so above par for the commonly Disneyfied plot process. When
...more
Sabine
Mar 22, 2013 Sabine rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2013-read
Jessica Taylor wird von einem Blitz getroffen, sie überlebt und wacht im Krankenhaus wieder auf. Dort jedoch sitzt ein ihr fremder Mann, behauptet ihr Ehemann zu sein und mit ihr 4 Kinder zu haben. Zunächst glaubt sie an einen bösen Traum, merkt jedoch bald, dass sie tatsächlich 2 Leben führt: schläft sie in dem einen Leben ein, wacht sie in dem anderen Leben auf. Als Lauren ist sie Mutter und Ehefrau 4er Kinder, als Jessica überzeugte Single-Frau mit Karriere-Ambition. Doch schon bald stößt sie ...more
Elena
Jul 17, 2011 Elena rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
In Jessica Taylors Single-Leben schlägt bei einen schicksalhaften Spaziergang in den Downs der Blitz ein – und das gleich zweimal! Zuerst im Form einer Begegnung mit Dan, die eine wunderbare Romanze verheißt. Doch kurz darauf trifft sie ein richtiger Blitz. Als sie wieder aufwacht, halten sie alle für Lauren Richardson – Mutter von vier reizenden Kindern inklusive Ehemann, ebenfalls vom Blitz getroffen. Zunächst hält Jessica das alles nur für einen erschreckend realen Traum, so mal sie beim näch ...more
Ingrid Fasquelle
Dec 17, 2013 Ingrid Fasquelle rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Et si vous vous réveilliez dans la peau d'une autre ?

Avec Coups de foudre, son deuxième roman publié aux éditions de L'Archipel, Mélanie Rose signe une nouvelle comédie romantique au charme foudroyant. Reprenant à peu de choses près le pitch et les codes qui ont fait le succès de son précédent roman, La mémoire d'une autre, elle démontre une fois de plus son art du suspense mais également sa capacité à créer des histoires pleines d'émotion, au cœur d'une réalité teintée de surnaturel.

En dépit d'
...more
Michelle
Career gal Jessica is walking her dog on the Downs when a ferocious storm hits. She meets another - very goodlooking - dog owner, who offers her shelter in his car. But just as she gets in, Jessica is hit by a bolt of lightning. Waking in hospital, she is confused to find doctors call her Lauren - and that apparently she has a husband and 4 children. Somehow Jessica and Lauren, two totally different women, are now inhabiting one body.

I listened to this on talking book, and it rattled along at a
...more
Míša*
May 19, 2012 Míša* rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2012, i-own
Moc se mi líbí obálka knihy. Je taková jednoduchá a přitom nádherná. Člověk dokáže odhadnout o čem asi kniha je, ale přitom nemůže vědět, jaká je pravda. Zemřel Lauren opravdu? Nebo je to jen sen?


Knížka Má noc je tvůj den je taková odpočinková četba, kdy člověk nehledá nic jiného, než prostě příběh, který by se m líbil, ale nemusel přitom prskat napětím, jak to celé skončí. Samozřejmě jsem byla strašně zvědavá, jaký konec určila autorka postavám, ale připadá mi takový ,,odbitý‘‘. Celý děj to vyp
...more
Angela
Jun 30, 2016 Angela rated it it was ok
I picked this up because it looked like an interesting premise and I was curious how the author was going to handle it. There were a lot of weird things about this book, besides the plot itself and this review will have spoilers.

I did not appreciate the love scene. It wasn't super long but it was unnecessary. You've known each other 3 days so obviously you're going to throw aside reason and strip down every time you meet. That's not what true love is about. Loving someone doesn't mean you have
...more
Alissa Bach
Nov 30, 2009 Alissa Bach rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: fans of chick lit
Review from an Advanced Reader copy I won through Goodreads:

A very cute, refreshing chick-lit story about the possibilities and impossibilities of "What If...".

Twenty-something single girl Jessica is feeling like her life is finally coming together. The realization hits her like lightning. Quite literally. She wakes in the hospital in the body of Lauren, the married mother of four who, by coincidence, was also struck by lightning. Thus begins Jessica's confusing new life. Some mornings she wake
...more
Saskia
May 20, 2012 Saskia rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
Wát een super ge-wel-dig boek!!! Ik stond er eerst wat sceptisch tegenover, maar wat een fantastisch origineel apart verhaal! Vanaf de eerste bladzijde werd ik erin meegesleept en wilde dat het nooit stopte. Leven als Lauren had voor mij eindeloos mogen duren. Zo mooi en zo ontzettend jammer, dat het uit is!

De bliksem slaat in op het leven van Jessica en Lauren. Jessica is vanaf dan zowel zichzelf als Lauren met man en 4 kids. Je vraagt je steeds af hoe dit af gaat lopen, want je weet direkt al
...more
Sonja
Aug 15, 2010 Sonja rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: chick-lit, favourites
I picked this book up a couple of months ago, because the story sounded great, the book had tons of positive ratings/ reviews and I absolutely *loved* Melanie Rose's "Coming Home".
After about 30 pages into the story I took a look at the last 2-3 pages to see how it ends and how the "problem" would be solved (yeah, I'm THAT kind of reader!!), I'm always way too curious... I must say that I was disappointed and sad about the ending (although I loved the beginning), but still wanted to finish the
...more
Keksisbaby
Apr 15, 2012 Keksisbaby rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: borrowed, read-2009
Jessica führt nach einem Blitzschlag zwei Leben. Zum einen ihr altes als Rechtsanwaltsgehilfin mit Hund und potentiellem neuen Freund und plötzlich auch als vierfache Mutter mit einem übereifersüchtigem Ehemann. Wie genau sie da hineingeraten ist weiß sie nicht, nur das es Dinge gibt die gerade gerückt werden müssen. Also versucht sie nicht zu verzweifeln und das beste aus der Situation zu machen.
Ein wundervoller leichter Sommerroman. Nicht unbedingt mit sehr viel Tiefgang, dafür aber eine tolle
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • With Friends Like These
  • And Then I Found Out the Truth
  • Let the Shadows Fall Behind You
  • I Never Fancied Him Anyway
  • 29
  • Dog House: A Love Story
  • Venus Envy
  • The Jewels of Manhattan
  • Leaving Unknown
  • Nancy's Theory of Style
  • The Secret of Joy
  • Confessions of a Beauty Addict
  • Just Like Me, Only Better
  • Pieces of Happily Ever After
  • Geknipt voor jou
  • Death's Last Run (Clare Vengel Undercover, #3)
  • Love in Mid Air
  • Waxed
436788
Melanie Rose is the author of Finding Home (Jan '11) and Life As I Know It, (Feb 2010)
Both books are published in the US by Bantam and previously published in the UK as Coming Home and Could It be Magic? and across Europe under different titles, earning her a place on the bestseller list in Germany as Mein Tag Ist Deine Nacht.
Melanie has been a writer all her life whilst caring for children as a c
...more
More about Melanie Rose...

Share This Book