Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Death of a Witch (Hamish Macbeth, #25)” as Want to Read:
Death of a Witch (Hamish Macbeth, #25)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Death of a Witch (Hamish Macbeth #25)

by
3.76 of 5 stars 3.76  ·  rating details  ·  2,443 ratings  ·  255 reviews
Returning from a foreign holiday, Hamish Macbeth is worried because he senses a dark cloud of evil hanging over the Highland village of Lochdubh.

He learns that a newcomer, Catriona Beldame, is regarded as a witch and various men have been seen visiting her. Hamish himself is charmed by her until he finds out she has been supplying dangerous potions.

At first the villagers
...more
Audio CD, 0 pages
Published February 3rd 2009 by AudioGO (first published February 1st 2009)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Death of a Witch, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Death of a Witch

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Una Tiers
While it is nice to see the familiar characters of this series, it seems like conflict is set up and solved in less than a paragraph. The plot wasn't bad but sometimes it was difficult to see where the connections were.
June Ahern
Of course I had to read who's killed my sister witch. Plus, I've read M.C. Beaton's Hamish MacBeth's mysteries before. I was as pleased with this as past readings. I loved returning to the small village in the Scottish Highlands where the simple but very efficient Hamish is the local copper (policeman). Ms. Beaton creates such fun, interesting and truly what a character, characters.

Death of a Witch is filled with mysteries, and as more people enter, suspects, coppers, helpers and dead bodies, t
...more
Judy
Since I'm still at the beach, I picked another cozy mystery from M.C. Beaton to read while sitting in my beach chair and watching the dolphins frolic and the brown pelicans fish. This book is the 25th in the series featuring Hamish MacBeth, a local constable in the small village of Lockdubh located in the Scottish Highlands. MacBeth has just returned from a rather unsatisfying vacation to find that a woman, who is rumored to be a witch, has moved near the village and that the village men are vis ...more
Linda
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
An Odd1
Hamish Macbeth has annoyingly un-believable un-policeman-like forebodings, again and again "a large black cloud swept across the sun and all at once the wind died" p16. The meek men in secluded Scottish village Lochdubh are denied, "marital rights .. ye frigid wee hoor" p25 despite "herb" remedies from new arrival Catriona Beldame who "gives me the shivers" p4. She hid under the false surname (view spoiler) ...more
Catherine Woodman
Beaton’s popular Hamish Macbeth mystery series, now on its twenty-fifth title, continues to surprise and delight fans with gentle humor and the confirmed bachelor’s brushes with romance. Highland police constable Hamish returned from an unsatisfying vacation in Spain to find the quiet Scottish village of Lochdubh in an uproar over its newest tenant, Catriona Beldame. After Hamish had private words with a few local married men, he realized Catriona was dispensing possibly dangerous herbal cures f ...more
Jerry
MC Beaton is brand new to us, but from her legion of fans and lengthy booklist, she obviously enjoys great success as an author. “Witch” is part of her Hamish Macbeth series, the 25th novel no less (!) to feature this humble small town policeman quite contentedly running a one-man shop. He almost takes personal offense at crime in his village, and so is desperately hoping that when a new lady in town, Catriona Beldame (to whom the men seem suddenly attracted, and the women think is a witch !), t ...more
Anne Hawn Smith
The latest Hamish Macbeth book is a good one. Lockdubh has a resident witch and she is creating havoc in the life of the village. Several men have been seen leaving her house late and night and the women are furious. Soon there is a murder and Hamish is left to solve the mystery while Inspector Blair, who has made a career of trying to get rid of Hamish, muddies the waters in his rush to judgement. There are a number of subplots, but they all come together nicely except for one. I was a little d ...more
LG (A Library Girl's Familiar Diversions)
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jeffrey
Hamish MacBeth returns in his 25th novel of Highland sleuthing. A strange new female has moved to the quiet Highland village while Hamish was away on Holiday. He returns to find the elder females of the village angered that the new lady might by running an illegal brothel. It turns out that she is selling tainted potions to the men of the village – promising that the ill-advised concoctions will rekindle the lustful feelings of their wives.

In truth, the wives were angered as were the men, leadi
...more
Leanna
I've had a very lazy reading year (might have something to do with teaching 28 university class hours), but now I'm on summer vacation, I'm back in the U.S., and I have nothing more pressing to do than read.

What was my first choice? An old favorite and friend: Hamish Macbeth. M.C. Beaton's latest, Death of a Witch, did not disappoint. Hamish is as charming as ever as he tracks a serial killer in Lochdubh, Scotland.

Catriona Beldame moves to Lochdubh while Hamish is on holiday in Spain and immedia
...more
Saadia
First time I read this author. Story setting is some obscure village in the Highlands of Scotland, with a confirmed bachelor policeman, Hamich Macbeth, working on purpose below the radar so he can stay in his cottage with his two pets. It took me a while to get used to the comings and goings and pace of life and cast of characters.
Newcomer woman of dubious background and character gets murdered. Police investigation finds out a subtext of repressed sex lives among the local village men. Other mu
...more
Kristen Woodbury
Just finished another Hamish Macbeth. Love these books and this was a fun one. Maybe I just love hearing the accent in my head when I read. In my mind I have a perfect Scottish accent.
Bayneeta
I've read or listened to most of the series now and they remain a satisfying read for me. Short, cozy, rural village in the Scottish Highlands, Hamish pursued by or pursuing women and always coming to naught; Hamish solving cases but doing everything in his power to avoid promotion and assignment to bigger places. Priscilla and Elspeth both put in appearances in this one. Recent posts on Fiction_L say this series is a possible read-alike for McCall Smith's Ladies No. 1 Detective series. One diff ...more
Suzanne
This is somewhere around #25 in a series about a Scottish police officer from a small town. It's a very simple, sweet story where the crime is secondary to the funny and clever relationships of the townspeople. It is a little reminiscent of the #1 Ladies Detective Agency series. You'd read a book like this if you wanted a reprieve from heavy crime or political novels. This one had me laughing hysterically at the theme...a town filled with married couples who didn't like having sex...now read on ...more
Bobby Underwood
After vacationing in Spain at the wrong resort, our favorite constable, Hamish Macbeth, returns to his beloved village in Scotland. He soon discovers that an outsider to his beloved village of Lochdubh is causing trouble. Catriona is loved by the village men, yet not one of them will speak about her. Lochdubh is not the place for sex, according to Hamish, and he senses all the ingredients for murder are brewing on her doorstep. His instincts prove correct, and the girl who some believe to be a w ...more
Kate
"Returning from a foreigh holiday, the red-headed Constable Hamish Macbeth senses a dark cloud of evil hanging over his Scottish village of Lochdubh. A newcomer, Catriona Beldame, has cast a spell over the town, and word of her magical powers spreads as fast as the Highland fog. The local men are visiting Catriona's cottage at all hours of the night and the women are outraged, ready to cast this witch into the sea loch. Hamish himself is charmed by her, too, until he begins to suspect that she i ...more
Dale Safford
I usually listen to these novels as books on CD, since I love the Scottish accent of the reader, which I am missing by reading the books. I would like to do the whole series, and the shortness, liveliness, and great stories in the Hamish Macbeth series make me tempted to read all the ones I can get my hands on which are not available on CD. I always enjoy reading the interaction between Hamish and Elspeth, and there usually seems to be one other character seeking his attentions, too. Put down Ma ...more
Ralph
If I wanted to flee big city crime and all the wretchedness of a world spiraling into the maelstrom, I might seek the haven of a picturesque village in the Scottish Highlands, far, far off the beaten path. But whatever village I chose, it certainly wouldn't be Lochdubh, where death is a regular visitor and where people who depart this world are usually helped along the way by person or persons unknown, generally with malice aforethought. On the other hand, if I wanted to make sure my murderer wa ...more
Tracy Enright
Hamish Macbeth has a murder to solve when a newcomer to the village is murdered. Her arrival causes some ripples, she has set herself up as a witch, and more than one local inhabitant ends up with their feathers ruffled. Hamish is determined to find the culprit, hoping that it is not a local, and soon finds himself dealing with a string of murders. Hamish also has to deal with the disturbing discovery that he doesn't know as much about the people he lives amongst as he'd thought.

This is the 24th
...more
Judy
I can't figure out why I keep reading Beaton's books--both the Hamish Macbeth series and the Agatha Raisin series. They are full of cranky, sour, grumpy characters. The writing is terse and flat, underlying Beaton's ironic, sardonic comments.

I guess it's like eating pickles. I can't stop!
Janet
Fun read on audio in the car on a recent trip...love these murder mysteries especially located in Great Britain and that beautiful accent the reader offers.
Deb
I've been a great fan of Agatha Raisin, but this is my first Hammish and I like him at least as much. What fun!
C.J. Prince
Read on, Macbeth.

Murder and sex, a rousing combo. Poachers, death threats, danger, murderes and humor. Perfect summer reading when it is too hot to think.

This is #25 in the series, so fall in love with Hamish in book #1. Each book will take you on an adventure. If you figure out the "formula" for the series, you still might not be sleuth enough to find the murderer.

Elsbeth, Priscilla and a new woman on the scene Lesley add tension, humor and intrigue into Hamish's love life, or lack thereof.

Enjo
...more
Lorraine
This was my first Hamish Mcbeth book. He's a bobby with a large area to patrol. His immediate supervisor is a drunk, and his higher up boss hates him. A woman is found murdered and Hamish tries to solve the case. It appears she was selling a potion to the local men to make them more attractive to their wives, but it really only caused them pain in their privates. Then a local housewife is murdered, and Hamish wonders if there is a connection between the two.

This was a story set high in the Scott
...more
Pat
The tiny village of Lochdubh and its surrounding area continues to have strangely complicated mysteries involving one death after another. The locals continue to hold back important information because of their Highland reticence concerning certain subjects. Hamish Macbeth's superiors continue to thwart him at every turn and he manages to solve crimes in spite of them. Women continue to appear and re-appear in his life, but something always gets in the way of every possibility. As usual - a good ...more
Tess Mertens-Johnson
12DEC11 Death of a Witch

Ah Hamish Macbeth – I love this character! This is the 25th book in this series and the second one I have read. This book slips some romance in for the bachelor Hamish, which gives his character a new twist…which I like!
After a disappointing retreat in Spain, Hamish comes back to find the quiet Scottish village of Lochdubh in an uproar over its newest tenant, Catriona Beldame. Hamish finds out she is dispensing natural herbal cures to the local men to increase their libid
...more
Krista
This was another fun Hamish MacBeth mystery. I'm never sure whether this series should be classified aa a cozy. I guess it doesn't since Hamish is a police bobby. But is sure does have that feel sometimes since the upper levels of police management try to step in the way of Hamish solving the mystery.

I started listening to this in audiobook format, for about 1/3 of the book. Then the later discs didn't had some sort of errors and wouldn't play at all. (As sometimes happens on books checked out
...more
Sherry
Death of a Witch is another fine installment of the life and times of Hamish Macbeth as he goes about his duties in keeping his village Luchdubh safe. But it is the newest resident, Catriona Beldame who is disturbing the peace of the village. Catriona is a woman who considers herself a true witch and sells “herbal” remedies, specifically for husbands who come to her cottage in the middle of the night. It is not long before whispers of the husband’s behavior become local knowledge and this cause ...more
Cheryl
Sheriff Hamish Macbeth has just returned from a much needed vacation to his home in the village of Lochdubh. Upon his return, he learns there is a new resident in town. Her name is Catriona Beldame. The people of Lochdubh, including Hamish suspect Catriona of being a witch.

Strange things start happening to some of the men. Hamish goes to talk to Catriona and discovers her potions. Hamish calls his boss to discuss taking action but he does not believe Hamish. The next day Hamish goes to talk to
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Evanly Choirs  (Constable Evans, #3)
  • Sick of Shadows (An Edwardian Murder Mystery #3)
  • Kilt Dead (A Liss MacCrimmon Mystery #1)
  • Mrs. Jeffries Forges Ahead
  • The Tale of Castle Cottage (The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter, #8)
  • A Christmas Beginning (Christmas Stories, #5)
  • The Winter Garden Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple, #2)
  • Jack in the Pulpit (Martha's Vineyard Mystery, #4)
  • Rest You Merry (Peter Shandy, #1)
  • Before Midnight (Nero Wolfe #25)
  • Murder for Christmas
  • Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh (Mrs Pargeter, #4)
1657638
Like her on Facebook!

Learn more on her website!

Watch a video of Marion discussing the casting of the AGATHA RAISIN Christmas special

Marion Chesney Gibbons
aka: Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, Helen Crampton, Marion Chesney, Charlotte Ward, Sarah Chester.

Marion Chesney was born on 1936 in Glasgow, Scotland, UK, and started her first job as a bookseller in charge of the fiction department in John
...more
More about M.C. Beaton...

Other Books in the Series

Hamish Macbeth (1 - 10 of 31 books)
  • Death Of A Gossip (Hamish Macbeth, #1)
  • Death of a Cad (Hamish Macbeth, #2)
  • Death of an Outsider (Hamish Macbeth, #3)
  • Death of a Perfect Wife (Hamish Macbeth, #4)
  • Death of a Hussy (Hamish Macbeth, #5)
  • Death of a Snob (Hamish Macbeth, #6)
  • Death of a Prankster (Hamish Macbeth, #7)
  • Death of a Glutton (Hamish Macbeth, #8)
  • Death of a Travelling Man (Hamish Macbeth, #9)
  • Death of a Charming Man (Hamish Macbeth, #10)
The Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, #1) Death Of A Gossip (Hamish Macbeth, #1) The Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, #2) Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, #3) Death of a Cad (Hamish Macbeth, #2)

Share This Book

“Ellie lowered her voice dramatically. “She was a black witch. I can still hear her dreadful laughter as I ran away.” Elspeth translated this as—I said something silly and she began to laugh and I was offended.” 0 likes
“Wickedness is a myth invented by good people to account for the curious attraction of others. —Oscar Wilde” 0 likes
More quotes…