Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dungeon: Zenith - Vol. 1: Duck Heart” as Want to Read:
Dungeon: Zenith - Vol. 1: Duck Heart
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Preview

Dungeon: Zenith - Vol. 1: Duck Heart (Donjon Zénith #1-2)

4.23 of 5 stars 4.23  ·  rating details  ·  324 ratings  ·  27 reviews
Welcome to Dungeon, the looniest world of horror and heroic fantasy you’ll ever be transported into! This series, a best-seller in many countries, starts with the apogee of Dungeon, a mighty castle filled with monsters, trolls and goblins kept by a wily bird, the Dungeon Keeper, and the object of desire of many an uncouth and disgusting form of life (and afterlife) and Her ...more
Paperback, 92 pages
Published August 1st 2004 by NBM Publishing (first published 1998)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dungeon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dungeon

Watchmen by Alan MooreThe Complete Maus by Art SpiegelmanV for Vendetta by Alan MooreThe Sandman, Vol. 1 by Neil GaimanThe Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
Best Graphic Novels
348th out of 1,930 books — 4,460 voters
Red Rackham's Treasure by HergéThe Incal by Alejandro JodorowskyThe Nikopol Trilogy by Enki BilalTintin in Tibet by HergéAsterix in Britain by René Goscinny
Best European Graphic Novels/Comics
191st out of 448 books — 143 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 451)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
matt
I picked this up thinking it would be a light diversion - nothing serious. And it is ..... until it isn't. This book is a lot of fun, and it is also remarkably smart, charming, tragic, sad, and wise. I don't know how it manages to pull off so many different feats - but I think it has something to do with the fast paced storytelling, the delicious artwork, the refusal to ever take itself too seriously, and the ability to make the reader care about comic book creatures that look absurd.
I am very e
...more
Sarri
Dungeon-sarjakuvasarjan ensimmäinen ja varsin hurmaava osa. Duck heart sijoittuu fantasiamaailmaan, missä kaikki, kuten aina, on mahdollista omalla vinksahtaneella tavallaan. Herbert the Timorous Duck päätyy onnettomien yhteensattumien johdosta barbaarisoturin sijaiseksi tuhoamaan salaperäiset viittahahmot, jotka haluavat ostaa Dungeonin. Mukaansa Herbert ottaa alkuperäisen barbaarin yllä olleet miekan ja Kohtalon vyön. Vyön mielestä Herbert ei ole valmis käyttämään miekkaa, tai mitään muutakaan ...more
db db
Feb 26, 2008 db db rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: grown up fans of Asterix, only it's better.
Recommended to db by: I find these things, it's what I do.
Hi hilarity, and low-. Marvin the duck exhibits pluck and perseverance while carefully maintaining his essential cowardice and laziness, yet somehow managing to both survive and carry the day.

Long-time Gamernerds especially will love it. But the book is 'spit your coffe' funny. Hernia funny. And this volume at least is a-ok for all ages. (Later volumes have more nudity and crudity, which may startle or discomfort the more easily flustered and protective of us American parent types. In our local
...more
Matt
Feb 26, 2008 Matt rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: All ages-- fantasy lovers, people who like to laugh
There's nothing that isn't awesome in this series. The comedy, the fantasy, the cartooning, the endless detail, invention, and novelty that populates this world. It is both a great fantasy series and a great comedy series, neither in the tradition of Pratchett or Adams. The unbelievable team of Trondheim and Sfarr break new ground in this series.

This is the first book of a series with a difficult chronology-- in fact 3 separate series with many of the same characters, set in the same world. It d
...more
Jace
Dec 17, 2009 Jace rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: WoW/Diablo/D&D fans who like a little humor with their geekery
Shelves: comics
This is one of the best Graphic Novels I've read in some time. One of the authors described the book as "Conan the Barbarian meets The Muppet Show," which turned out to be a fairly accurate characterization. Essentially, DUNGEON is an anthropomorphic comic parody of Dungeons & Dragons, but a quick glimpse into the book reveals that it's so much more than a parody--the world of DUNGEON really takes on a life of its own. At first glance, DUNGEON reminded me of the card game Munchkin, which als ...more
Brandon
The Dungeon series is one of the best things I've ever stumbled upon. Still trying to haphazardly make my way through the series. Fortunately you can pretty much start with any series, regardless of continuity and not feel like you're missing anything.

Stylistically, it feels like a blend of Miyazaki and Aragones, but far more manic in its world building and comedy respectively. It's kind of like if Robin Williams wrote a fantasy comic -- meandering, inventive and hilarious.
Owen
"Gangway, fetid gnome. My virility needs space!"
Very odd and very funny, with a surprisingly complex story and a cast of bizarre and instantly likeable characters (one of which is a magically animated lump of half-digested headcheese). Dungeon reads like Usagi Yojimbo crossed with Ren & Stimpy and set in the old AD&D Castle Greyhawk campaign - what's not to like! I discovered Dungeon at my local comics shop sitting on the shelf next to The Rabbi's Cat (which I had already read & love
...more
Jdetrick
A great, funny fantasy series about a barbarian duck and the dungeon where he works. Unique.
Damon
This was really great. Funny, a lot like a Sergio Aragones book except it doesn't make you feel like you're reading Mad magazines from the 70s, and it's not quite as silly. Which is not to say it's not silly, but it's also pretty intelligent, and weird, and kinda violent.
Ron
Interesting look at dungeons (the D & D type) from the point of view of the monsters. Reminded me of the flip side of Finneous Fingers, a strip that used to run in Dragon Magazine in the 1970/80's.
Miriam Fitting
Trans. from French. A duck who works as a low-level administrator in a dungeon finds himself pressed into service as a barbarian, and goes on various quests. Lots of fun details, witty exchanges.
Darrell
even the NYT book review (6/3/07) agrees with me...a noble cowardly duck and his dragon bodyguard who are both vegetarians go out to save a dungeon from hooded things...quite funny
Korynn
I read Parade first and then these volumes. I do not regret the order but I think these stories are more solid.
Muneer Uddin
I liked the various spoofs they did of the D&D set, as well as the medieval pauper rescuing a princess trope.
Emilia P
I didn't really get was going on for much of it.
The monsters of all shapes and sizes looked really awesome.
Lou
Jan 09, 2008 Lou rated it 4 of 5 stars
Shelves: comics
Great quest-type story, and truly funny writing, along with a good sense of visual humor.
Giacomo
Nice riff on the Dungeons&Dragons stereotypes, with some tremendously hilarious moments.
Joe Decie
Brilliant. You should read these books, and this is probably the best place to start.
Dru
Funny, action and lots of fantasy staples makes this a fun book to read.
Jason
Funny and clever in that unique Trondheim way. Highly recommended.
Adam Bessie
Infectiously quirky series by the author of Rabbi's Cat (Sfar).
Chris
A friendly parody of all things D&Dish and a good story to boot.
John
Great fun. Exquisite artwork. Well done on every level.
jen
hilarious. this one i really enjoy reading.
Roger
Mad and brilliant - all of them.
Ron Sadowski
Graphic Novel 4-10-2012
Anna
Made me smile.
Diego Bonilla
Diego Bonilla is currently reading it
Apr 17, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 15 16 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • A.L.I.E.E.E.N.: Archives of Lost Issues and Earthly Editions of Extraterrestrial Novelties
  • Gus & His Gang
  • Quimby The Mouse
  • Ordinary Victories
  • The Last Musketeer
  • Isle of 100,000 Graves
  • Corto Maltese: Les Celtiques (Corto Maltese #5)
  • Finder, Vol. 09: Voice
  • Notes for a War Story
  • Click
  • Black Blizzard
  • The Best of the Spirit
  • Le Secret du janissaire (De Cape et de Crocs, #1)
  • The Arctic Marauder
  • I Shall Destroy All the Civilized Planets! (The Complete Works of Fletcher Hanks, #1)
  • Three Fingers
  • Monkey vs. Robot
  • Complete Concrete
26392
Joann Sfar (born August 28, 1971 in Nice) is a French comics artist, comic book creator, and film director.

Sfar is considered one of the most important artists of the new wave of Franco-Belgian comics. Many of his comics were published by L'Association which was founded in 1990 by Jean-Christophe Menu and six other artists. He also worked together with many of the new movement's main artists, e.g.
...more
More about Joann Sfar...

Other Books in the Series

Donjon Zénith (6 books)
  • Coeur de canard (Donjon Zénith,#1)
  • Le roi de la bagarre (Donjon Zénith, #2)
  • La Princesse des barbares (Donjon Zénith, #3)
  • Sortilège et avatar (Donjon Zénith, #4)
  • Un mariage à part (Donjon Zénith, #5)
  • Retour en fanfare (Donjon Zénith, #6)
The Rabbi's Cat Le Petit Prince The Professor's Daughter Le Chat du Rabbin, Tome 1: La Bar Mitsva Vampire Loves (Grand Vampire, #1-4)

Share This Book