Stand Proud
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Stand Proud

4.07 of 5 stars 4.07  ·  rating details  ·  56 ratings  ·  8 reviews
“Pain resulting from other men's follies causes Stand Proud's Frank Claymore to develop an iron will that heeds no man's judgment except his own, nor any woman's. Some of his decisions are wrong, and the price of pride proves high.”— Elmer Kelton

The jarring strike of the clock in the towering cupola drew Frank Claymore's unwilling eyes to the two-story courthouse.

Frank Cla...more
Paperback, 320 pages
Published March 4th 2008 by Forge Books (first published 1984)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Stand Proud, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Stand Proud

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 90)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
K.D. Absolutely
Sep 14, 2012 K.D. Absolutely rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to K.D. by: Nowhere
This is my second western book and, compared to the first - Ralph Compton's The Goodnight Trail (1992) - I liked this more.

Like the first book, I just picked this up from the stacks of second-hand books at Booksale. I just wanted to read and discover more good western books without spending a fortune.

Elmer Kenton (1926-2009), a Texan journalist and writer, holds the record of having won the highest number of Spur Awards, the annual literary prize awarded by Western Writers of America. So, Kento...more
I really liked this book. There is a reason that Elmer Kelton won the Spur Award seven times. Stand Proud is well done as it tells the tale of Frank Claymore using flashbacks to tell the story of his life during his trial for murder. I did not see the ending coming which is a pleasant surprise and after reading this western found myself still thinking about the story and outcome.
Jeff Dickison
One of the best westerns I have ever read. The life of Frank Claymore, West Texas rancher, is reviewed from his being a young man to being an old hard-bitten rascal on trial for murder. Nifty surprise ending! Highly recommended to anyone, not just western fans!
Rodney Haydon
When I first read that Elmer Kelton was voted the greatest western writer of all time, I assumed that was just more hyperbole that publishers use to sell books. Now that I have read a few of his works, I see that he indeed deserves the acclaim and his work should not be missed out by other readers just because he is a "western" writer.

Though I may put this one just below "The Time it Never Rained" and "The Man who Rode Midnight", I loved it. This is a great story, and told wonderfully. Though in...more

Very sensitive writing.
Rosemary Willis
Engaging tale
Todd Zywicki
Started a bit slow to me but turned into another great Kelton story of the west and the conflicts between the old and new west.
Mark Luongo
Great story. Always looking for something to listen to on the way to and from Gettysburg. This fit the bill nicely.
Shannon is currently reading it
Aug 04, 2014
Mike added it
Jun 16, 2014
Bill marked it as to-read
Apr 23, 2014
Delene H. Allen
Delene H. Allen marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2014
Paula marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2014
Larry Test,
Larry Test, marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2014
Paul marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2014
Ken is currently reading it
Jan 19, 2014
Murray is currently reading it
Dec 23, 2013
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Elmer Kelton (1926-2009) was award-winning author of more than forty novels, including The Time It Never Rained, Other Men’s Horses, Texas Standoff and Hard Trail to Follow. He grew up on a ranch near Crane, Texas, and earned a journalism degree from the University of Texas. His first novel, Hot Iron, was published in 1956. Among his awards have been seven Spurs from Western Writers of America and...more
More about Elmer Kelton...
The Time It Never Rained The Good Old Boys The Day the Cowboys Quit The Buckskin Line (Texas Rangers, #1) The Pumpkin Rollers

Share This Book