Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Arata: The Legend, Vol. 01 (Arata: The Legend, #1)” as Want to Read:
Arata: The Legend, Vol. 01 (Arata: The Legend, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Arata: The Legend, Vol. 01 (Arata: The Legend #1)

3.78 of 5 stars 3.78  ·  rating details  ·  1,002 ratings  ·  49 reviews
An action-packed shonen fantasy from the acclaimed author of Fushigi Yûgi!R to L (Japanese Style). An action-packed shonen fantasy from the acclaimed author of Fushigi Yûgi! In a mythical world where humans and gods co-exist, Arata has the unfortunate honor of being the successor to the matriarchal Hime Clan. This means he has to pretend to be a girl or face death if his t ...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published March 9th 2010 by VIZ Media LLC (first published January 16th 2009)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Arata, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Arata

Black Butler, Vol. 1 by Yana TobosoPandora Hearts, Vol. 01 by Jun MochizukiFruits Basket, Vol. 1 by Natsuki TakayaKimi ni Todoke by Karuho ShiinaSailor Moon, Vol. 01 by Naoko Takeuchi
Best Manga Art
41st out of 166 books — 143 voters
Dawn of the Arcana, Vol. 01 by Rei TōmaOuran High School Host Club, Vol. 1 by Bisco HatoriVampire Knight, Vol. 1 by Matsuri HinoBleach, Vol. 1 by Tite KuboSkip Beat!, Vol. 02 by Yoshiki Nakamura
Manga read in 2012
15th out of 149 books — 31 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,858)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Mello ❣ Illium ✮Harry✮ ☀Myrnin☀ Torin Ichimaru
Synopsis:

An action-packed shonen fantasy from the acclaimed author of Fushigi Yûgi! In a mythical world where humans and gods co-exist, Arata has the unfortunate honor of being the successor to the matriarchal Hime Clan. This means he has to pretend to be a girl or face death if his true gender is discovered! On the day of his inauguration, an assassination plot forces him to flee—and he somehow winds up in modern-day Japan! Meanwhile, a boy named Arata Hinohara gets sucked into the first Arata’
...more
Kate
Arata was very different than what I was expecting... in a good way. If you have ever read anything by Yuu Watase, such as Fushigi Yugi, then you know that her writing involves adventure, action, and romance with the first two come behind the romance aspect. This made lead some readers to believe that her novels are geared toward the female reader. This is not the case with Arata. This novel is high in action and adventure with a microscopic hint of romance. While I can that the novel is not tar ...more
Saturnq
Nov 09, 2014 Saturnq rated it 2 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: young adults
Recommended to Saturnq by: Amazon
I was a BIG Yuu Watase fan in high school. I still think her series, Ceres Celestial Legend stands the test of time (and age)...so I was pretty excited to see she had come out with a new fantasy series. Maybe if I was still a teenager I'd have enjoyed Arata a little more. But after reading her other works, it is easy to see where she recycles so many plots and characters from her previous works (time travel, switched identities, amnesia, gathering power to awaken a god/princess/heavenly entity). ...more
Jannah
tl;dr A bullied boy in modern-day Japan named Arata switches lives in a magical twist of fate with a boy named Arata who is about to reluctantly cross-dress his way to the throne in a fantastical land inhabited by gods and men.

...eh. The modern-day Arata was just about the only person who interested me because I wanted to see how he would face his tormentors, but that probably won't happen for several more books. It was nice to see some Yuu Watase art again, though! (haven't read any Watase sinc
...more
Ashley
Review for vol. 1-10.

As with all Yuu Watase manga, this one is insanely pretty and detailed. That's mainly why I started reading it in the first place, since I was wary of this Watase doing a "shounen" manga.

And it's shounen. I guess. Sort of. It focuses on the action-adventure stuff, but there's still plenty of romantic subplot going on between Arata, Kotoha, Mikusa, and a smattering of other random characters.

This manga is certainly no masterpiece. If anything, all the character's motivations
...more
Bea
This is a graphic novel written by a Japanese author. As such the book is read differently than most English books, and it took me a bit to get used to the process of reading it. With help of a friend and the inside back cover of the book and lots of practice with the first chapter, I mastered the technique and then really enjoyed the story.

Arata is a teenaged boy in ancient Japan who is asked (well, forced, maybe) by his grandmother to impersonate a girl. When he is found out and the princess a
...more
Roxanne
I enjoyed Fushigi Yūgi and Imadoki! but didn't enjoy other series like Zettai Kareshi (Absolute Boyfriend) or Ayashi no Ceres (Ceres, Celestial Legend). The jury is still out on Alice 19th. Also, my wish for Watase-senpai to find inspiration to complete her FY spinoff series gave me pause to start another series of hers. However, she managed to draw me again with a 'shonen/fantasy' premise (Family, aka matriarchal Hime Clan, needs a female heir [to allow the current princess to step down] but on ...more
Judy (Geeky Reading)
3/5
I've read several of Watase's other works, and I didn't know that she had another one currently being published over here. That's probably because it's under Shonen Sunday, and I tend to read Shojo Beat more, so it slipped my notice. But I was excited when I heard that there was one being released, a little wary because of the Shonen Sunday, but then I got lucky and found a whole bunch on sale (it was a closing sale at Borders, and volumes 2 – 6, so I had to find volume 1, and then get around
...more
John Christensen
Yuu Watase is fairly well known at this point for her work on Fushigi Yugi, a manga about a Japanese school girl teleported to a strange world. Its quite a good manga, with a good anime adaptation for it (the collected first season just came out on DVD, in fact). In Arata, she returns to form - it seems stranger in a strange land is a familiar paradigm for her and is indeed one in which she is skilled with.

Hinohara Arata (and this is going to get confusing, for which I apologize) is a Japanese s
...more
Natalie
Ok, this review is going to go from volume 1 to volume 3.

This fantasy manga is pretty interesting as far as the setup of the fantasy world goes. There’s not much to it except for the weapons called Hayagami that give the Feudal Lords their power. The governing of Amawakuni is a bit odd. Apparently a princess rules the land with warriors that are called the Twelve Shinshou (or Feudal Lords). And smaller territories that under the Shinshou are controlled by Shou. Ok, that sounds fine except if the
...more
Sandy
Definitely a book I was hoping to re-read before posting my review because there was certainly a lot to take in as there always is with alternate universes but I didn't have enough time this weekend. Still, despite having to encounter new words for new devices and such I enjoyed this first volume and am sure as with many books things will become clearer once I get my hand on the second volume. Arata (the both of them) are two distinctly different characters with their own set of problems and unu ...more
Alicia
Dec 05, 2011 Alicia rated it 2 of 5 stars
Shelves: own
This is one of those that I'll have to read the second book in order to get a good gauge of the series.
Yuu Watase is one of my favourites, so I picked it up for that reason, I don't expect to be disappointed though.
(view spoiler)
...more
Ramon Sanchez
My thought's on the manga was that it has a lot of potential, and that it may one day have it's own anime series that follow's Arata. But the one thing that I am looking forward is the fan fiction, and all the fan art to.
Wickedshizuku (and her 7 Black cats)
Aug 24, 2015 Wickedshizuku (and her 7 Black cats) rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Anime fans, Manga fans, Skip Beat fans
Recommended to Wickedshizuku by: Goodreads
We are introduced to this manga with an apocalyptic scene of the world's rebirth. Then the scene exposes a ritual in progress. I learned right off that there are 12 protectors called Shou.
Then the scene changes to a young man named Arata and his grandmother having an argument. We come to find out that his grandmother registered Arata's birth as a female. The way the empire works is that ther is a power swich and that there is supposed to be an induction of a new princess, but things go wrong lea
...more
Jennifer Cole hemphill
Did not make sense to me. Manga is not something I would normally read and I can see why. Not sure of the appeal to this typical genre, but the graphics were good I guess.
Megan Sanchez
Picked this up at the library hoping that it would be a new Fushigi Yugi... and it is to some degree. This time, the story focuses on two young men, both named Arata, who switch places between worlds. One now is the chosen warrior of an otherworldly God, fighting to save a princess and being accused of murder in a fatastical alternate unverise. The other one now goes to high school. It's cute and easy to read, which an obvious love interest and beautiful, action-packed art work. It's nothing rev ...more
Erin O'Riordan
In this charming parallel-worlds fantasy, two young men named Arata trade places. One Arata lives in contemporary Japan, where he's the target of high school bullies. The other Arata is the unfortunately-male heir to a matriarchal throne. When the princess whom the dark-haired Arata is supposed to replace is viciously attacked by her own bodyguards, Arata is framed. That's when the switch occurs, throwing the blond Arata into a world of gods, magical swords and the mysterious "horror at the end ...more
Sunshine
Actually better than what I expected it to be. It deals with challenges from both the real, modern world and the magical world. On book 6 and so far the main character, Arata Hinohara, has developed into a pretty decent character, although the love relationships in the story seem a little forced to me. Can't wait to read the rest.
Alexandra
Such an unbelievable story, depressing and sporadic storyline.
Vi
More strong characters. I dunno. More escapism.
Snow
Mar 05, 2015 Snow added it
Shelves: book1, b
B
Victoria
I wanted to make sure to check this out before the anime starts being released and I'm glad I did. I've been a huge Watase fan for years and this book has her all over it, with made shades of what made Ceres and Fushigi Yuugi so enjoyable.

I haven't been completely blown away by it yet but the story looks promising, the characters are fairly likeable, and the art, naturally, is gorgeous. I am very eagerly anticipating reading more of this series, hopefully again before the anime airs.
Mayday
It's so so actually, so shoujo, too many appealing bishonens with fancy dress (from its anime's PV), but since it's by Watase Yuu (whose artwork I love, even if I only read Alice 19th and Sakura Gari), it's 3 stars. I can't say whether this one will be good or not, just like when watching anime, first episode is not enough to make any judgment, one volume is completely not enough.

The translation is a bit odd in my opinion, I don't know why, it just feels awkward :|
Pither
Quite enjoyable! I'm a big fan of Fuskigi Yuugi and Ayashi no Ceres, so my expectations were pretty high in picking up this manga. I liked the two Arata's and the respective problems they were dealing with (and the depiction of just how traumatizing bullying can be). The action flowed smoothly, and the art is beautiful: depicts a great deal, shojo pretty with lots of bishounen, and a clean style. I'm looking forward to getting started on the second one!
Sarah
An enjoyable start to a manga series about a two boys with the same name -- one in modern day Japan and the other in a feudal fantasy world. When the two are switched it becomes about more then just wacky mix ups. There is adventure and betrayal. Both Aratas are intriguing and although Kotoha is a bit of a Mary Sue, I'm interested to see where Watase takes the concept. A natural readalike for Fushigi Yugi by the same author.
Tiger
Another fantastic story by Yuu Watase, Arata the Legend has a boy for the main character this time.
The art work, as always, is beautiful and the story moves forward not too fast but not slowly either.
If you liked Watase's Fushigi Yugi and Ceres series, you'll certainly enjoy this latest creation.

(And if you haven't read her other series, you should check them out too!)
Solace Winter
Actually, there was nothing here that sucked me in like most of Yuu Watase's novels. Is it because a male is the star? Probably not. The plot seems absurd for the first Arata in the story, and the one with the bullying issue seems out of place. Neither did a good job of explaining anything, and sort of rushed through a first novel. I'll read more, but I'm more cautious than I should be.
Taylor
I picked up a used copy of this at a local store I frequent. Yuu Watase won me over in high school with Ceres: Celestial Legend and I've been in love with her work ever since. She's never steered me wrong before so trusting that I read through this and I'm happy to say I was not disappointed. Her stories always manage to snag my undivided attention and this one takes the cake.
Yasmin
I'm a huge fan of Fushigi Yuugi, and after watching the Arata anime, I figured I needed to find out what happened next.

First major difference between the anime and the manga? The anime rushes through the story while the manga gives you a better opportunity to get to know Arata and relate to him.

It's also a great start to a hopefully memorable story.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 61 62 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Rin-Ne 1 (Rin-Ne, #1)
  • Grand Guignol Orchestra, Vol. 1
  • Ai ore! Love me! Vol. 4
  • Blank Slate, Vol. 1
  • Sakura Hime: The Legend of Princess Sakura, Vol. 01 (Sakura Hime: The Legend of Princess Sakura, #1)
  • Jiu Jiu, Vol. 1
  • Honey Hunt, Vol. 1
  • AiON Volume 1
  • Papillon 1
  • The Good Witch of the West, Volume 1
  • Buso Renkin, Vol. 1
  • Dream Saga, Vol. 01
  • The Record of a Fallen Vampire, Volume 1
  • Yurara, Vol. 1
  • The Story of Saiunkoku, Vol. 1
  • Othello, Volume 1
  • Kyo Kara MAOH!, Volume 01
  • Arisa, Vol. 01 (Arisa, #1)
732829
A Japanse shoujo manga-ka. She is known for her works Fushigi Yūgi, Alice 19th, Ceres: The Celestial Legend, Fushigi Yūgi Genbu Kaiden and Absolute Boyfriend. She likes all music, except heavy metal and old traditional music.

She received the Shogakukan Manga Award for shōjo for Ceres, Celestial Legend in 1997. Since writing her debut short story "Pajama de Ojama" ("An Intrusion in Pajamas"), Wata
...more
More about Yuu Watase...

Other Books in the Series

Arata: The Legend (1 - 10 of 22 books)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 02 (Arata: The Legend, #2)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 03 (Arata: The Legend, #3)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 04 (Arata: The Legend, #4)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 05 (Arata: The Legend, #5)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 06 (Arata: The Legend, #6)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 07 (Arata: The Legend, #7)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 08 (Arata: The Legend, #8)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 09 (Arata: The Legend, #9)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 10 (Arata: The Legend, #10)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 11 (Arata: The Legend, #11)
Absolute Boyfriend, Vol. 01 Fushigi Yûgi: The Mysterious Play, Vol. 01: Priestess Alice 19th, Vol. 1 (Alice 19th, #1) Ceres, Celestial Legend: Aya (Ceres, Celestial Legend #1) Fushigi Yûgi: Genbu Kaiden, Vol. 01

Share This Book