Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Arata: The Legend, Vol. 01 (Arata: The Legend, #1)” as Want to Read:
Arata: The Legend, Vol. 01 (Arata: The Legend, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Arata: The Legend, Vol. 01 (Arata: The Legend #1)

3.8  ·  Rating Details ·  1,149 Ratings  ·  57 Reviews
An action-packed shonen fantasy from the acclaimed author of Fushigi Yûgi!R to L (Japanese Style). An action-packed shonen fantasy from the acclaimed author of Fushigi Yûgi! In a mythical world where humans and gods co-exist, Arata has the unfortunate honor of being the successor to the matriarchal Hime Clan. This means he has to pretend to be a girl or face death if his t ...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published March 9th 2010 by VIZ Media LLC (first published January 16th 2009)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Arata, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Arata

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Mizuki
Oct 30, 2016 Mizuki rated it really liked it
I have read up to 23 volumes of Arata: The Legend, it's a good, fast paced, action themed fantasy series.

The main concept of the story is based on both parallel universes and also on the Japanese creation myths: Arata is a teenage boy from a parallel world which looks quite similar with the mythical ancient Japan, he is the sole heir of the decaying Hime clan and this means he must pretend to be a young maiden and be sent to the capital in order to be the successor of the Hime Queen--an ageless,
...more
Mello ❣ Illium ✮Harry✮ ☀Myrnin☀ Torin Ichimaru
Synopsis:

An action-packed shonen fantasy from the acclaimed author of Fushigi Yûgi! In a mythical world where humans and gods co-exist, Arata has the unfortunate honor of being the successor to the matriarchal Hime Clan. This means he has to pretend to be a girl or face death if his true gender is discovered! On the day of his inauguration, an assassination plot forces him to flee—and he somehow winds up in modern-day Japan! Meanwhile, a boy named Arata Hinohara gets sucked into the first Arata’
...more
Kate
May 15, 2014 Kate rated it really liked it
Arata was very different than what I was expecting... in a good way. If you have ever read anything by Yuu Watase, such as Fushigi Yugi, then you know that her writing involves adventure, action, and romance with the first two come behind the romance aspect. This made lead some readers to believe that her novels are geared toward the female reader. This is not the case with Arata. This novel is high in action and adventure with a microscopic hint of romance. While I can that the novel is not tar ...more
Brandi
Oct 29, 2015 Brandi rated it really liked it
I've been a Yuu Watase fan since I read FY when I was younger. One of the reasons I liked her stories so much was due to their originality. She seems to recycle a lot of themes and plot devices from series to series. Whereas that may make her newer series more predictable and less original than her earlier series, I will continue to read the Arata series for nostalgia's sake. That and the artwork is cute.

I would not give Arata 5 stars like FY, but I definitely think it is worthy of 4. I would re
...more
Natalie
Ok, this review is going to go from volume 1 to volume 3.

This fantasy manga is pretty interesting as far as the setup of the fantasy world goes. There’s not much to it except for the weapons called Hayagami that give the Feudal Lords their power. The governing of Amawakuni is a bit odd. Apparently a princess rules the land with warriors that are called the Twelve Shinshou (or Feudal Lords). And smaller territories that under the Shinshou are controlled by Shou. Ok, that sounds fine except if the
...more
John Christensen
Jul 21, 2012 John Christensen rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics
Yuu Watase is fairly well known at this point for her work on Fushigi Yugi, a manga about a Japanese school girl teleported to a strange world. Its quite a good manga, with a good anime adaptation for it (the collected first season just came out on DVD, in fact). In Arata, she returns to form - it seems stranger in a strange land is a familiar paradigm for her and is indeed one in which she is skilled with.

Hinohara Arata (and this is going to get confusing, for which I apologize) is a Japanese s
...more
Ashley


I love Yuu Watase! Her stories are always a lot of fun and I love her artwork.
This first Volume had a lot going on. It could be a little confusing at times. I'm excited to see where everything goes.
I do wish we could have spent more time with the Arata that got sent to the modern world. I imagine he experienced quite the culture shock.
If you're a fan of manga, I definitely recommend giving this series a shot. Yuu Watase can create some fun, magical stories.
BOOKCITEMENT LEVEL 3.5/5
Fun!
Roxanne
Dec 18, 2011 Roxanne rated it really liked it
I enjoyed Fushigi Yūgi and Imadoki! but didn't enjoy other series like Zettai Kareshi (Absolute Boyfriend) or Ayashi no Ceres (Ceres, Celestial Legend). The jury is still out on Alice 19th. Also, my wish for Watase-senpai to find inspiration to complete her FY spinoff series gave me pause to start another series of hers. However, she managed to draw me again with a 'shonen/fantasy' premise (Family, aka matriarchal Hime Clan, needs a female heir [to allow the current princess to step down] but on ...more
Breanna
Jul 27, 2016 Breanna rated it it was amazing
This manga was absolutely amazing. I was at the library when I happened across the first 11 volumes and decided to give it a shot. I am so glad I did! I was cracking up this entire manga and I kept texting my friend (who thought it was really funny but was also annoyed because she was doing things) and just in general cracking up.
Okay, maybe instead of just saying 'haha I loved this I laughed haha' I should talk about other things I liked - the animation is fabulous, and the eyes especially are
...more
Ashley
Apr 04, 2015 Ashley rated it really liked it
Review for vol. 1-10.

As with all Yuu Watase manga, this one is insanely pretty and detailed. That's mainly why I started reading it in the first place, since I was wary of this Watase doing a "shounen" manga.

And it's shounen. I guess. Sort of. It focuses on the action-adventure stuff, but there's still plenty of romantic subplot going on between Arata, Kotoha, Mikusa, and a smattering of other random characters.

This manga is certainly no masterpiece. If anything, all the character's motivations
...more
Judy (Geeky Reading)
Jan 22, 2012 Judy (Geeky Reading) rated it liked it
Shelves: own, manga
3/5
I've read several of Watase's other works, and I didn't know that she had another one currently being published over here. That's probably because it's under Shonen Sunday, and I tend to read Shojo Beat more, so it slipped my notice. But I was excited when I heard that there was one being released, a little wary because of the Shonen Sunday, but then I got lucky and found a whole bunch on sale (it was a closing sale at Borders, and volumes 2 – 6, so I had to find volume 1, and then get around
...more
Krista Ivy
Sep 06, 2016 Krista Ivy rated it it was amazing
Shelves: manga, oppl-library
Arata must pretend to be a girl in order to become the next princess(at least until his grandmother can find another candidate for the family. He meets the current princess and she is attacked by the men who are supposed to be guarding her. They accuse Arata and he runs.

Meanwhile in our world, another Arata is starting school. He has just come from a school where he was bullied and is trying to make a fresh start. He becomes popular and then his old bully shows up at the school and does it all
...more
Bea
Dec 30, 2012 Bea rated it really liked it
This is a graphic novel written by a Japanese author. As such the book is read differently than most English books, and it took me a bit to get used to the process of reading it. With help of a friend and the inside back cover of the book and lots of practice with the first chapter, I mastered the technique and then really enjoyed the story.

Arata is a teenaged boy in ancient Japan who is asked (well, forced, maybe) by his grandmother to impersonate a girl. When he is found out and the princess a
...more
Sandy
Dec 06, 2010 Sandy rated it really liked it
Definitely a book I was hoping to re-read before posting my review because there was certainly a lot to take in as there always is with alternate universes but I didn't have enough time this weekend. Still, despite having to encounter new words for new devices and such I enjoyed this first volume and am sure as with many books things will become clearer once I get my hand on the second volume. Arata (the both of them) are two distinctly different characters with their own set of problems and unu ...more
Saturnq
Nov 09, 2014 Saturnq rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: young adults
Recommended to Saturnq by: Amazon
I was a BIG Yuu Watase fan in high school. I still think her series, Ceres Celestial Legend stands the test of time (and age)...so I was pretty excited to see she had come out with a new fantasy series. Maybe if I was still a teenager I'd have enjoyed Arata a little more. But after reading her other works, it is easy to see where she recycles so many plots and characters from her previous works (time travel, switched identities, amnesia, gathering power to awaken a god/princess/heavenly entity). ...more
Alicia
Dec 05, 2011 Alicia rated it it was ok
Shelves: own
This is one of those that I'll have to read the second book in order to get a good gauge of the series.
Yuu Watase is one of my favourites, so I picked it up for that reason, I don't expect to be disappointed though.
(view spoiler)
...more
Wickedshizuku
Mar 03, 2016 Wickedshizuku rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Anime fans, Manga fans, Skip Beat fans
Recommended to Wickedshizuku by: Goodreads
We are introduced to this manga with an apocalyptic scene of the world's rebirth. Then the scene exposes a ritual in progress. I learned right off that there are 12 protectors called Shou.
Then the scene changes to a young man named Arata and his grandmother having an argument. We come to find out that his grandmother registered Arata's birth as a female. The way the empire works is that ther is a power swich and that there is supposed to be an induction of a new princess, but things go wrong lea
...more
Megan M
Feb 27, 2012 Megan M rated it really liked it
Picked this up at the library hoping that it would be a new Fushigi Yugi... and it is to some degree. This time, the story focuses on two young men, both named Arata, who switch places between worlds. One now is the chosen warrior of an otherworldly God, fighting to save a princess and being accused of murder in a fatastical alternate unverise. The other one now goes to high school. It's cute and easy to read, which an obvious love interest and beautiful, action-packed art work. It's nothing rev ...more
Jannah
Aug 09, 2016 Jannah rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
tl;dr A bullied boy in modern-day Japan named Arata switches lives in a magical twist of fate with a boy named Arata who is about to reluctantly cross-dress his way to the throne in a fantastical land inhabited by gods and men.

...eh. The modern-day Arata was just about the only person who interested me because I wanted to see how he would face his tormentors, but that probably won't happen for several more books. It was nice to see some Yuu Watase art again, though! (haven't read any Watase sinc
...more
Erin O'Riordan
Jun 23, 2011 Erin O'Riordan rated it really liked it
Shelves: manga
In this charming parallel-worlds fantasy, two young men named Arata trade places. One Arata lives in contemporary Japan, where he's the target of high school bullies. The other Arata is the unfortunately-male heir to a matriarchal throne. When the princess whom the dark-haired Arata is supposed to replace is viciously attacked by her own bodyguards, Arata is framed. That's when the switch occurs, throwing the blond Arata into a world of gods, magical swords and the mysterious "horror at the end ...more
Pither
Nov 09, 2010 Pither rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
Quite enjoyable! I'm a big fan of Fuskigi Yuugi and Ayashi no Ceres, so my expectations were pretty high in picking up this manga. I liked the two Arata's and the respective problems they were dealing with (and the depiction of just how traumatizing bullying can be). The action flowed smoothly, and the art is beautiful: depicts a great deal, shojo pretty with lots of bishounen, and a clean style. I'm looking forward to getting started on the second one!
Mayday
Mar 12, 2013 Mayday rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
It's so so actually, so shoujo, too many appealing bishonens with fancy dress (from its anime's PV), but since it's by Watase Yuu (whose artwork I love, even if I only read Alice 19th and Sakura Gari), it's 3 stars. I can't say whether this one will be good or not, just like when watching anime, first episode is not enough to make any judgment, one volume is completely not enough.

The translation is a bit odd in my opinion, I don't know why, it just feels awkward :|
Sarah
An enjoyable start to a manga series about a two boys with the same name -- one in modern day Japan and the other in a feudal fantasy world. When the two are switched it becomes about more then just wacky mix ups. There is adventure and betrayal. Both Aratas are intriguing and although Kotoha is a bit of a Mary Sue, I'm interested to see where Watase takes the concept. A natural readalike for Fushigi Yugi by the same author.
Tiger
Jul 30, 2010 Tiger rated it really liked it
Another fantastic story by Yuu Watase, Arata the Legend has a boy for the main character this time.
The art work, as always, is beautiful and the story moves forward not too fast but not slowly either.
If you liked Watase's Fushigi Yugi and Ceres series, you'll certainly enjoy this latest creation.

(And if you haven't read her other series, you should check them out too!)
Victoria
May 13, 2013 Victoria rated it liked it
I wanted to make sure to check this out before the anime starts being released and I'm glad I did. I've been a huge Watase fan for years and this book has her all over it, with made shades of what made Ceres and Fushigi Yuugi so enjoyable.

I haven't been completely blown away by it yet but the story looks promising, the characters are fairly likeable, and the art, naturally, is gorgeous. I am very eagerly anticipating reading more of this series, hopefully again before the anime airs.
Anna
Feb 05, 2013 Anna rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: manga
OMG, Watase-sensei does a series where the lead isn't a girl!

2 boys share the same name - Arata. One just happens to live in a fantasy-land and is gettin framed for the murder of the country's princess. The other lives in modern-day world and is gettin crazy bullied in school.
Whatever could happen if they switched places/worlds
Taylor
Sep 03, 2012 Taylor rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: manga
I picked up a used copy of this at a local store I frequent. Yuu Watase won me over in high school with Ceres: Celestial Legend and I've been in love with her work ever since. She's never steered me wrong before so trusting that I read through this and I'm happy to say I was not disappointed. Her stories always manage to snag my undivided attention and this one takes the cake.
Sunshine
Aug 30, 2014 Sunshine rated it really liked it
Actually better than what I expected it to be. It deals with challenges from both the real, modern world and the magical world. On book 6 and so far the main character, Arata Hinohara, has developed into a pretty decent character, although the love relationships in the story seem a little forced to me. Can't wait to read the rest.
Solace Winter
Aug 09, 2013 Solace Winter rated it it was ok
Actually, there was nothing here that sucked me in like most of Yuu Watase's novels. Is it because a male is the star? Probably not. The plot seems absurd for the first Arata in the story, and the one with the bullying issue seems out of place. Neither did a good job of explaining anything, and sort of rushed through a first novel. I'll read more, but I'm more cautious than I should be.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Sakura Hime: The Legend of Princess Sakura, Vol. 1
  • Rin-Ne, Vol. 1 (Rin-Ne, #1)
  • Honey Hunt, Vol. 1
  • Blank Slate, Vol. 1
  • AiON Volume 1
  • Grand Guignol Orchestra, Vol. 1
  • Four-Eyed Prince, Volume 1
  • Papillon Volume 5
  • The Record of a Fallen Vampire, Volume 1
  • Yurara, Vol. 1
  • The Magic Touch, Vol. 1 (The Magic Touch, #1)
  • Jiu Jiu, Vol. 1
  • Ai Ore! Love Me! Vol. 1
  • Sorcerers & Secretaries, Vol. 1 (Sorcerers & Secretaries, #1)
  • Flower in a Storm (Flower in a Storm, #1)
  • Ōoku: The Inner Chambers, Vol. 3 (Ōoku: The Inner Chambers / 大奥, #3)
  • Buso Renkin, Vol. 1
  • JLA Classified, Vol. 4: The Hypothetical Woman
732829
A Japanse shoujo manga-ka. She is known for her works Fushigi Yūgi, Alice 19th, Ceres: The Celestial Legend, Fushigi Yūgi Genbu Kaiden and Absolute Boyfriend. She likes all music, except heavy metal and old traditional music.

She received the Shogakukan Manga Award for shōjo for Ceres, Celestial Legend in 1997. Since writing her debut short story "Pajama de Ojama" ("An Intrusion in Pajamas"), Wata
...more
More about Yuu Watase...

Other Books in the Series

Arata: The Legend (1 - 10 of 24 books)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 02 (Arata: The Legend, #2)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 03 (Arata: The Legend, #3)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 04 (Arata: The Legend, #4)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 05 (Arata: The Legend, #5)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 06 (Arata: The Legend, #6)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 07 (Arata: The Legend, #7)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 08 (Arata: The Legend, #8)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 09 (Arata: The Legend, #9)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 10 (Arata: The Legend, #10)
  • Arata: The Legend, Vol. 11 (Arata: The Legend, #11)

Share This Book