Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Goldengrove” as Want to Read:
Goldengrove
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Goldengrove

3.27 of 5 stars 3.27  ·  rating details  ·  2,036 ratings  ·  443 reviews
After the sudden death of her beloved older sister, thirteen-year-old Nico finds her life on New England's idyllic Mirror Lake irrevocably altered. Left alone to grope toward understanding, she falls into a seductive, dangerous relationship with her sister's boyfriend. Over one haunted summer, Nico faces that life-changing moment when children realize their parents can no ...more
Paperback, 288 pages
Published September 8th 2009 by Harper Perennial (first published September 16th 2008)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Goldengrove, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Goldengrove

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
karen

and here is a perfect example of why readers' advisory is so, so tricky, and why i am devoting my life to perfecting the process.

i first came across this book when i was doing an assignment for my readers' advisory class a couple of years ago. my goal was to find a read-alike for The God of Animals, which i had just read and unexpectedly loved.

for the assignment, i used many different readers' advisory resources in order to come up with suitable read-alikes. after using NYPL's "fiction connecti
...more
Yang Liu
After reading two other reviews on Goldengrove, one a five star review, the other a two star review, I was surprised to find both reviews shared much of the same sentiments and echoed many of my opinions regarding the book. I really had mixed feelings about the novel. On one hand, I felt a bit disappointed that the book's storyline did nothing to distance itself from the countless other novels about death and tragedy. On the other hand, Francine Prose's powerful writing style was able to draw in ...more
Amelia
Sometimes I read books with really poetic language and it irritates me, because I feel like the author's trying too hard (example: Echo by Francesca Lia Block). Although Prose's language in this book was indeed poetic, it wasn't overly so, and that's what pulled me in.

I liked this, although it was quite different from the satire I'm used to from Prose. Didn't know what I'd think of it; picked this up on sale at a bookstore that was going out of business. It had this creepy effect on me. It made
...more
Lara
If you've looked at this book (or the picture of it), you will likely agree with me that this is a book that begs you to read it. That is, if you’re the type (as I am) to judge a book by its cover. It’s fascinating to me how intriguing a picture of a boat and a lake can be.

I’m sure you’re wondering, then, if it lives up to its cover. After a bit of internal debate, I think it does. Why the debate? Because the book is so damn sad, it’s hard to admit that it was a lovely read.

Goldengrove is the s
...more
Kristiana
I recommended this for book club, and I am fairly certain most people did not like it. I have always read sad books and I am quite fond of them. There were really great random quotes that made me stop and think.

I'm glad the narrator established firmly at the end that she is an adult looking back at the event, it makes the language and beautiful writing seem more plausible, instead of the statements of a 13 year old. The audio narrator's voice is lovely and soothing and perfectly suited for the
...more
Susanburton
This is a novel of coming to terms with grief told by a thirteen year old named Nico. One afternoon her older sister and she were floating in their boat on the lake which they did often. Her sister dove in and due to a congenital heart failure drowned. Her parents were so grief stricken as was Aaron, her sister’s boyfriend that she had to navigate through her mourning alone.
Her struggles, decisions, indecisions, hopes, and fears are all explicitly told in this touching and healing story. I would
...more
Susan
In a word, meh - by the way, is "meh" a word? The prose is beautiful and haunting - Goldengrove is an extremely well-written novel. Why then the meh? Well, I just couldn't manage to get involved with any of the characters. Consequently in the end, I was completely unmoved by their story. The plot is bland and just plain disappointing, and the characters were flat as pancakes. Goldengrove completely failed to hit the mark with me.

Don't get me wrong, it's not a terrible book. Gracefully and elegan
...more
Rachel
Wonderful wonderful wonderful book about a family dealing with an unexpected and life-shattering lost.

I picked this galley up at BEA, and it's been sitting unread ever since. The title didn't do it for me, neither did the jacket. What a big mistake on my part because Goldengrove is gorgeous. Writing that's effortless, pacing that's perfect, and characters that make your heart break. Smart, lovely and a little bit brilliant.
Jo
It is interesting the effect of books such as 'Gone girl', 'Lovely Bones' etc have had in that when a book features a death in the early pages, you begin to immediately look for the angle, the secret killer, the mysterious element that will gradually be revealed. In 'Goldengrove' Francine Prose has simply written a book about a death, its effects on a family and on those closest to the one who died. Towards the end of the novel a more sinister element does creep in but this is no whodunnit, ther ...more
Liz
I have to say this was one powerful book. Spanning the months after a beloved older sister's death, this novel focusses on the reactions of Nico and her parents to the unimaginable--life without Margaret. I found the characterization rich, the language and style sophisticated and I felt, quite palpably, the presentation and handling of grief. Having lost a parent less than a year ago, this book, and the characters' struggles to carry on, really moved me. For some reason, everything that happened ...more
Shawna
I liked this in that it was informative. I kept reading because I genuinely wanted to know what happened. It did pull me along, but I felt that nearly every critical plot point was reached and then sort of passed over. There was no satisfaction from the story's climax. I was greatly disappointed repeatedly . . . But I couldn't not finish.

What I learned from this was how young people internalize loss, and how wrong things can go when they're left to deal with it on their own. I'm not going to pu
...more
Kolleen
Goldengrove was a strange little book. It is about Margaret, a 17 year old girl who dies one day of a heart condition as she is swimming. She leaves her family and boyfriend to deal with her death. Throughout the book, we see the way people seem to drift through death and grief and deal with (or not deal with) it in their own ways. The book is sad and real, that is, until the weird relationship between Aaron, Margaret's boyfriend and Nico, her younger (13 year old) sister begins to develop.

I've
...more
Jenni Lou
Goldengrove by Francine Prose is a story set amid the landscape of immeasurable loss and grief. Its thirteen year old protagonist, Nico, attempts to comes to terms with the loss of her older sister, Margaret, as her parents fold into themselves as they, too, seek solace from the pain.

I had never heard of Francine Prose before. But she’s written something like 15 books. I have no idea why she has eluded me. Especially because she is quite simply, amazing. Her prose is so fluid and haunting with a
...more
Greta Logan
Here is a book that makes me wish Goodreads had a three-and-a-half-stars option, because although I don't think this book deserves four stars, it definitely deserves more than three.

"Goldengrove's" best quality is the writing. Francine Prose obviously understands what works in writing, and she manages to bring across a very powerful voice and unique style in this book. The imagery and descriptions are just gorgeous, quite frankly. It almost makes me feel like I'm in a half-real, half-mystical w
...more
Susan
Oct 09, 2008 Susan rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: people interested in loss
Recommended to Susan by: EW
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Tammy
The first two or three chapters were incredibly beautiful. The imagery dazzled, the plot staging complemented those images, and the characters and their relationships were real and believable. This part of the story could stand as a five-star short story.
Then the novel enters a sort of murkiness that takes over for the rest of the story. The depictions of the parents, Aaron, Elaine, cease to be startling fresh characters but rather lapse into typecasts. The plot loses momentum, some details and
...more
Jeanne
Oct 09, 2008 Jeanne rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: readers who have lost a sibling; young adults
Recommended to Jeanne by: Booklist
Margaret, are you grieving
Over Goldengrove unleaving?

For those of you familiar with the poetry of Gerard Manley Hopkins, you know that this novel is not going to be a happy one. But please don’t let that stop you from reading Prose’s latest; it is certainly worth your time.

Thirteen-year-old Nico is devastated when her older sister, Margaret, drowns in the lake by their home. Margaret was her best friend; Margaret was her world.

Like many others in the same situation, Nico struggles with her grief
...more
Kelly
A coming-of-age story about 13-year-old Nico, who spends the summer grieving after her older sister drowns while taking a leisurely swim in the lake. Nico must cope mostly on her own, as her parents are caught up in their own grief. The only person who she feels can understand is her sister's boyfriend, and they thus begin a risky, complicated "friendship". The author did a great job of getting inside Nico's head, and I felt as if I were seeing the world through her eyes. This is one of those bo ...more
Kathy
The story of thirteen year old Nico, who loses her older sister Margaret to drowning dragged me in and wouldn't let me go. How Margaret's death affects their parents and Margaret's boyfriend Aaron is the backdrop for Nico's story of personal exploration, growing maturity and the eventual conquering of the will to live over the pull of wanting to follow your loved one into the dark.

I was moved by Prose's, well, prose, and couldn't put this story down. Each character was vital and well-drawn, and
...more
Lindsey
This was a waste of my time. I feel that all books bring a memory or a thought that is worth digging up from your past. This brought nothing. It was completely a disappointment at the end of the book.

The book is about a young girl named Margaret that goes through the horrible experience of having her older sister die. Her older sister was apparently the favorite. Her sister dies around page 20 and for the next 250 pages (luckily its a short read) Margaret is grieving and getting through it basic
...more
Pam
For some readers, the saddest part of this tale would be the parents & 13yr old sister floating along in grief after the accidental death of their 17yr old daughter/sister. And yes, the details of how survivors manage to get through each day following a stunning loss were sometimes excruciating to read. The book concludes years later when the impact of Margaret's death is long diminished -- life DOES goes on. As it should, but it was still very poignant that her impact on her loved ones' liv ...more
Erica
I really liked this book until the end. It's the story of a girl named Nico whose sister drowns (this happens at the very beginning), and the grief that consumes her and her parents afterward. She begins spending time with her sister's boyfriend with unfortunate results.

Beautiful writing, wonderful portrait of grief, and then the end . . . without giving anything away, I'll just say that the author absolves everyone of their sins of grief except the boyfriend, and it feels gross and unfair, and
...more
Jud Barry
There were lots of good things about this book, in which (mostly) a 13-14 year old girl has to come to grips with the loss of her older sister and the boyfriend she left behind. I even copied out one passage--about how omnipresent someone can be, even when he/she is absent, how we carry on an internal dialogue with that person. But somehow the dead sister's boyfriend's weirdness--even though he was *supposed) to be weird--came across as a not-so-compelling weirdness.

My first book by her. I want
...more
Terri
Someone named Francine PROSE needs to grow up and become on author! Good thing she did.

Goldengrove takes place in a small town on a lake. Francine Prose is very insightful; she knows how people think.

'"Smoke this.' She smiled and gave me a funny salute she'd copied from Ginger Rogers. Then she dove into the water." And with that, Nico loses her only sister, her only sibling. Margaret,the talented, beautiful, svelte one leaves Nico, the nerdy, plain, plump one behind.

This is a story of what appea
...more
Bronwen
Really, really sad but really good, too. Francine Prose writes with vivid clarity about grief and her prose is more like poetry with intense feeling and startling sensuality. The story is about how a pre-teen girl deals after her older sister dies in a boating accident. It transports you back to the age of 13, hauntingly, creepily and somehow comfortingly, too.
Dori Ostermiller
A beautifully crafted, haunting and lyrical coming-of-age story about a girl who becomes involved with her dead sister's old boyfriend. Prose tackles the tricky subject of emergent sexuality/identity amidst unbearable grief and does so with beauty and unbelievable economy. Loved this!
Lauren
Not my favorite- depressing story about dealing with death of a loved one and the inability to cope with the changes immediately after...

strange story line involving ex-boyfriend of dead sister and younger sister- just a bit too weird for my taste

style not my favorite either
Gina Faulk
This book was well-written, but very slow-paced. I was really bored by the book and I usually have a lot patience, but not with this one. Slogged through it though.
Miranda
I'm going to make this short and sweet. This book does not have action or romance or anything spectacular about it, but that's what makes it so amazing. This is simply about life. It's not a 'slow' book, but it's not 'fast'. I've read this book multiple times and each time I fall more in love with it. Obviously the majority of teenagers can not relate to Nico, but you feel a connection no matter what age. It's the book where you put it down and you just feel completed. The cover explains this bo ...more
Jennifer
OK book - somehow kind of sticks with me in a creepy way. A bit overwraught. Overwrought?
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Eye of My Heart: 27 Writers Reveal the Hidden Pleasures and Perils of Being a Grandmother
  • Appassionata
  • Two Marriages
  • Hummingbirds
  • Beginner's Greek
  • Split: A Memoir of Divorce
  • Palace Council
  • What Was I Thinking?: 58 Bad Boyfriend Stories
  • Songs for the Missing
  • Don't Cry
  • The American Girl
  • Laura Rider's Masterpiece
  • Playdate
  • One D.O.A., One on the Way
  • Last Seen Leaving
  • The Widows of Eastwick (Eastwick, #2)
  • Hush
  • The Kreutzer Sonata and Other Short Stories
12180
Francine Prose (born in 1947 in Brooklyn, New York) is an American novelist. She graduated from Radcliffe College in 1968, and received a Guggenheim fellowship in 1991. She has sat on the board of judges for the PEN/Newman's Own Award, and her novel Blue Angel, a satire about sexual harassment on college campuses, was a finalist for the National Book Award. She is now teaching at Bard College.

For
...more
More about Francine Prose...
Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those Who Want to Write Them Blue Angel Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932 Anne Frank: The Book, the Life, the Afterlife After

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“I waited for dawn, but only because I had forgotten how hard mornings were. For a second I'd be normal. Then came the dim awareness of something off, out of place. Then the truth came crashing down and that was it for the rest of the day. Sunlight was reproof. Shouldn't I feel better than I had in the dead of night.” 126 likes
“The mystery of death, the riddle of how you could speak to someone and see them every day and then never again, was so impossible to fathom that of course we kept trying to figure it out, even when we were unconscious.” 75 likes
More quotes…