Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Girl In A Spin” as Want to Read:
Girl In A Spin
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Girl In A Spin

by
3.80  ·  Rating Details  ·  137 Ratings  ·  23 Reviews
Jenny Hannigan might be a good-time party girl but all she secretly craves is a life of domestic bliss and solid respectability -- worlds away from her troubled upbringing back home in Ireland. So when she crashes into the arms of Richard Allam -- the young, handsome, recently separated politician hotly tipped to lead his party to victory in the upcoming election -- she th ...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published January 1st 2010 by Hatchette Books Ireland
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Girl In A Spin, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Girl In A Spin

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 779)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Aditi
A funny quote about being the "IT" Party Girl:
Working out is my partying
Protein shakes are my beer
Preworkouts are my shots
The pump is my buzz
And the pain the next morning
Is my
Hangover


Is true that life is damn hard for any rootless, party girl who doesn't give a shit about anything in the world and is it really shameful to aim for nice little domestic life with a sweet-old husband?

Jenny Hannigan is the definition of a true party girl- dinners means no home-cook meals, party means getting te
...more
Jacob Proffitt
This was a tough one to fully sink into and a large part of that is Jenny being involved with someone who isn't the love interest through most of the story. Murphy skips over the amorous bits with Richard, but it's still uncomfortable knowing (by the structure and increasing cues along the way) that he isn't the one and that her attachment is, in the end, doomed.

Mitigating that, somewhat, is that Jenny is such a sweetheart. I liked her immediately and wanted nothing more than for her to be happy
...more
Lydia Laceby
Originally Reviewed at Novel Escapes

I loved Girl in a Spin. I was immediately immersed in the plot, laughed out loud frequently and grew so fond of the characters that I desperately wanted to know how this delightful story would end.

I couldn’t help rooting for naïve Jenny. She knows what she wants, and is determined to get it, so much so that she loses sight of what’s in front of her or just plain ignores it. I wanted to shake some sense into her a few times, and couldn’t wait for her to figure
...more
Judy Rolph
Mar 14, 2016 Judy Rolph rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Possibly Clodagh Murphy's best written book- she beautifully captures of of her characters emotions with such depth and detail- you become immersed in their lives and don't want to put them down. The premise of this book- a young mistress being spun into an acceptable partner for a politician is priceless. Should be a major motion picture. Funny, sad and sweet, with a little bit of sexy thrown in for good measure. Can't wait for Clodagh Murphy to write another book!
Anna Stover
Dec 07, 2015 Anna Stover rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read the summary of this book and was blown away by its ambition. Amazingly, Murphy actually pulls it all off. Jenny is exuberant, magnetic, and believably imperfect. She tries so hard to love every boyfriend she has ever had, to no avail. Finally, with Richard, candidate for Prime Minister, she has managed to convince herself that she has found The One. Enter, the biggest most hulking obstacle to believability in Girl On a Spin. Why on earth would Jenny even want to fall in love with Richard? ...more
Lisa
Jul 30, 2015 Lisa rated it really liked it
Loved it but not quite as much pace as The Disengagement Ring. The romance took a little long to come through but overall a very good story exploring some alternative themes than you normally see in this category. For fans of Marian Keyes, Anna Maxted and Bernadette Strachan.
A writer who's at the top of my watch list.
dakotapie
I thought for sure I was going to love this after reading Murphy's other book, Some Girls Do. Alas, I disliked every single character and by the end of the book was rooting for everyone to end up alone.

Jenny is such a naïve idiot and we're supposed to accept her cluelessness as being refreshingly honest and compelling, but she's just stupid and clueless. Her paramour Richard is your typical cliche'd middle age man going through a mid-life crisis, except he's trying to become the next Prime Mini
...more
Leah
Mar 02, 2011 Leah rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Jenny Hannigan is the type of girl who likes a good party. But what she really craves, after a difficult childhood, is a man and a family to call her own. So when she meets recently separated politician Richard Allam, she falls head over heels for him and he her. However Jenny’s not exactly the model of politician’s girlfriend so Richard hires Dev Tennant, publicist extraordinaire to spin Jenny to the public and make their transition from private to public easier on everyone. However, as Jenny f ...more
Samantha Janning
May 31, 2011 Samantha Janning rated it it was amazing
Girl in a Spin, the second novel from Irish author Clodagh Murphy is out the park good. This story has romance and betrayal, politics and scandal, and a delightful heroine who will not give up on love. I know some chick lit fans are wondering about the “politics” word I used, which isn’t so common for chick lit novels. Jenny Hannigan, the good-hearted and optimistic main character, falls for Richard Allam, a recently separated politician. Jenny thinks she has found true love with Richard. He is ...more
Chanpreet
Dec 30, 2011 Chanpreet rated it it was amazing
Jenny Hannigan is 24 years old. She's a nanny and has been seeing Richard Allam, a 36 year old rising politico for the past year. He's told her he's separated form his wife, Julia, but they've kept this information private. Jenny is sort of a free spirit. She's not had a conventional upbringing and has no family, having been in the foster system since she was a child. To help with Richard's image, Dev Tennant, an old friend, and publicist is brought in to add a positive spin to Jenny's image and ...more
Meredith
In Clodagh Murphy’s latest book, Girl in a Spin, politics, public relations and perceptions collide as the lines between fact and fiction gets very blurry.

Originally posted on The Librarian Next Door:

On the outside, Jenny Hannigan looks like a typical party girl: staying out to all hours, hazy memories, and copious amounts of alcohol. Underneath that misleading exterior, however, is a young woman who wants nothing more than the stability she has lacked all her life. When she starts dating Richar
...more
Stella
Aug 27, 2010 Stella rated it it was amazing
Jenny is in love with Richard, a sexy, charismatic and recently-separated politician who, given the right circumstances, might be able to lead his party to victory in the next election. Party girl Jenny isn't quite the right match for such a man's public profile. Richard's friend and spin doctor, Dev, is called in to take matters into hand, discovering Jenny's secrets which would be better left in the past for the good of the party. As the election nears, and Jenny sees her future with Richard t ...more
Aileen
Feb 15, 2011 Aileen rated it it was amazing
Jenny Hannigan is a bit of a party girl, with an awful childhood and shady past she works as a Nanny.
Jenny starts dating Richard Allam, a Politician and who is standing to be the next Prime Minister.
Jenny is not what we would call “PM wife Material” so Richard asks top publicist Dev Tennant to introduce Jenny to the party and the public.
However Jenny’s shady past comes out and as the Election approaches her life is in turmoil, and she wonders if Richard is what she really wants.
This book is real
...more
Carrie (Rotten Banana)
3.5 stars but could've been 4 if not for the rushed ending. Also, I would have appreciated some sexy times in the story as it was hard to understand why exactly Jenny stayed with Richard and to help explain her attraction to Dev. Jenny was the one character who really got under the skin and you could see why men fell at her feet. Enjoyable story.
Lauren Agnew
A good quirky fun read, not heavy at all. I liked Jenny and as the story went on I grew to like Dev. I was rooting for him by the end and not Richard.
Pam
Apr 15, 2015 Pam rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Liked the book and the characters! A light read. Just found it hard to believe that someone could date a major political candidate for a year without someone in the press finding out. Loved that the author utilized characters mentioned in previous book.
Christi
Feb 02, 2015 Christi rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2015
3.5
Bee
Feb 08, 2012 Bee rated it really liked it
Our bubbly and lovely heroine is hiding a dark and sometimes disturbing past. It has shaped her idea of love and what life should be like... what life she thinks she wants.

Dev, our sometimes protagonist, is determined to oust her from herself...freeing her from her inner demons.

Well written and enjoyable read.

:)
Talli Roland
Feb 03, 2011 Talli Roland rated it it was amazing
Believable and likeable characters and a fantastic storyline, combined with a rare glimpse into the political word. A great read.
Jenni
Sep 23, 2010 Jenni rated it it was amazing
I absolutely loved this. I got completely caught up in the plot, I was supposed to be packing but had to keep reading one more chapter!
Melissa
May 22, 2012 Melissa rated it it was amazing
You can read my review here; http://melissa-megansthirty.blogspot....
Mandy
Sep 05, 2010 Mandy rated it really liked it
I really liked this book! Check out my review for it at http://www.beautyandlace.com.au/bookg...
Queen
May 13, 2011 Queen added it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Any fan of Sophie Kinsella
look for my review on www.queenofreading.blogspot.com
Umapranam
Umapranam rated it it was ok
May 02, 2016
Jesse
Jesse marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2016
Deborah
Deborah rated it really liked it
Apr 17, 2016
Kate Buchanan
Kate Buchanan rated it liked it
Apr 18, 2016
Rachel Nedobity
Rachel Nedobity is currently reading it
Apr 05, 2016
Cheryle
Cheryle rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2016
Bev
Bev marked it as to-read
Mar 31, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 25 26 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Bittersweet
  • Hook, Line and Sink Him
  • Falling Is Like This
  • Finding Monsieur Right
  • Finding Mr Flood
  • Up For Renewal: What Magazines Taught Me About Love, Sex, and Starting Over
  • Love Struck
  • The One That Got Away (Hen Night Prophecies #1)
  • A Promise of Safekeeping
  • This Little Mommy Stayed Home: A Novel
  • Hollywood Sinners
  • Thank You for Flying Air Zoe
  • The Happy Home for Broken Hearts
  • The Prairie Bridesmaid
  • Heaven Scent
  • The Good, The Bad And The Dumped
  • Pinch Me
  • Just Like Me, Only Better
2741952
I was born and brought up in Dublin, with my two brothers and two sisters. I had a very happy childhood until I was 5, when I was sent to school. I spent the next thirteen years waiting to leave. After school I went to university to study French and Spanish, but I dropped out after a year.

In my early twenties I moved to London to seek my fortune. I didn't find it, but I had a lot of fun while I wa
...more
More about Clodagh Murphy...

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »