Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Shadow Companion (Grail Quest, #3)” as Want to Read:
The Shadow Companion (Grail Quest, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Shadow Companion (Grail Quest #3)

3.71 of 5 stars 3.71  ·  rating details  ·  65 ratings  ·  7 reviews
The Quest for the Holy Grail has finally begun, but now three very unusual teenagers are riding along with King Arthur's knights: young squire Gerard, a stable boy named Newt, and Queen Guinevere's maidservant, the strangely magical Ailis. Packed with suspenseful action, fantastic creatures, and legendary characters, the Grail Quest trilogy is perfect for fans of King Arth ...more
Hardcover, 250 pages
Published November 1st 2006 by HarperCollins Publishers
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Shadow Companion, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Shadow Companion

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 156)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
I enjoyed it, but found it frustrating that all of the main characters in the story had been written into corners, to explain why none of them were more famous in the Arthurian legends.
I was also a little annoyed by the author's insistence on letting us know which of the guys will eventually get the girl, even though that had nothing to do with the story itself.
The style was why it took me forever to get around to reading the third volume of this series, after polishing off the first two ages ag
Michelle Liao
Awesome, though I wish Gerard would marry Ailis.
Laura Battle
Third in the series. Enjoyable.
3 teenagers accompany Arthur's knights on the grail quest. Morgain is making things difficult by her traps and the discord she is magically fostering between the knights. Behind Morgain is the shadow companion she has called up to help her acquire the Grail before any knight can find it.
Not as good as the first one. In the third installment in the series, Gerard, Ailis and Newt finally start the actual quest for the grail. The book was good, but not in any way the ending I expected.
Jessica Salt
In the third book of Grail Quest Trilogy. The trio Gabirel, Newt, and Alis are on a quest for the Holy Grail. They go on the quest the King Author's men.
Kailey marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2015
Lessa marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2015
Kathy marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2015
Stanley Faris
Stanley Faris marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2015
Shawna added it
Jun 30, 2015
Jenna Owens
Jenna Owens marked it as to-read
May 02, 2015
Jessica Taylor
Jessica Taylor marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2015
Catriona Laurie
Catriona Laurie marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2015
Gizmo marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2015
Martha marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2015
Lisa marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Naomi Moffitt
Naomi Moffitt marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2015
Hannah marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2014
Shiv marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2014
Liz marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2014
Elizabeth marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
By the time she was fourteen, Laura Anne Gilman knew she would be an editor, a teacher, or a writer.

By thirty, she was all three. She's a little focused that way (when not being distracted by -oooh shiny!).

After fifteen years working in NY publishing, Laura Anne became a full-time writer, with more than twenty novels under her various bylines, including the SILVER ON THE ROAD, the Nebula Award-nom
More about Laura Anne Gilman...

Other Books in the Series

Grail Quest (3 books)
  • The Camelot Spell (Grail Quest, #1)
  • Morgain's Revenge (Grail Quest, #2)
Staying Dead (Retrievers, #1) Hard Magic (Paranormal Scene Investigations #1) Curse the Dark (Retrievers, #2) Pack of Lies (Paranormal Scene Investigations #2) Deep Water (Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Season 3, #21)

Share This Book