Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “No Castanets at the Wells (Sadlers Wells, #3)” as Want to Read:
No Castanets at the Wells (Sadlers Wells, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

No Castanets at the Wells (Sadler's Wells #3)

3.91  ·  Rating Details ·  229 Ratings  ·  11 Reviews
Fans of Sebastian and Veronica (see A Dream of Sadler's Wells and Veronica at Sadler's Wells) will love this story about Caroline, Veronica's loyal younger cousin. Back in Northumberland, Caroline has been working on her dancing, hoping to emulate Veronica's success. In the meantime, she has also made friends with a charming young man, Angelo Ibanez, a Spanish dancer and ...more
Published (first published 1953)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about No Castanets at the Wells, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about No Castanets at the Wells

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Louise Armstrong
May 27, 2016 Louise Armstrong rated it it was amazing
This book really comforted me when I was young because the heroine worked and tried and worked and hoped, yet was totally rubbish right up to the end - when a twist (that I won't give away) reveals that a change of direction/focus/location can make everything come good. What a great message for a miserable, and rather unsuccessful, youngster. Don't give up: 'The game's not won or lost until the last counter's played.'

Who knows how influential this book was? I am now able to look back and think,
...more
LH Johnson
These are the most beautiful books I own. The hardback editions of the Chalet School come close to them (that is, when I can sell my liver to afford one) but somehow they never quite reach the great grace of the Sadler's Wells books. I think it all centres on that front cover and the way that they, all of them, catch light so well. These are sunlight, morning books full of warmth and glowing life. The artist, Esme Verity, is actually Hill's daughter working under a pseudonym. And she's gifted, ...more
Felicity
Oct 04, 2016 Felicity rated it really liked it
This book focuses more on Caroline Scott Veronica's cousin. And how she ends up going to the Wells but feels ballet isn't right for her. Then she meets Angelo who introduces her to Spanish dancing!

I enjoyed this book more than the 2nd book but missed Veronica!
Speakercoret
sebelum ke radal, ngider2 bms sebentar sambil nungguin ijul n aini, eh dapet buku ini ^_^
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
kalo urutan terbit kayaknya terbitnya pesta topeng di wells dulu baru ini, tp gramed nerbitin ini jadi buku 3, buku empatnya malah pesta topeng...
bikin bingung aja -_-

---------------------------------------------------------------

Di buku ketiga ini tokoh utamanya Caroline, sepupu veronica.
Setelah veronica pergi belajar tari di well’s,
...more
Deborah
Oct 11, 2014 Deborah rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When we first met Caroline, two books ago, she was the kind but rather ordinary younger sister of the awful Fiona. She's still kind but rather ordinary (well, as ordinary as you can be if you've been brought up in an ancestral hall) in this book, which I think may be why I like it so much. Veronica is mostly off-stage, so to speak, as Caroline keeps her own presence at Sadler's Wells a secret (Veronica is off touring a lot of the time, which is helpful) and this is Caroline's story: the story of ...more
Mutia
Jul 15, 2011 Mutia rated it it was amazing
Wah, buku yang bagus sekali (sayang punya gw ilang)... ceritanya berlatar belakang kota kecil di Inggris, tentang seorang anak perempuan yang terobsesi jadi penari balet karena terinspirasi sama sepupunya... setelah kerja kerasnya ternyata dia menemukan fakta bahwa dia tidak berbakat dalam menari balet -yes, in ballet, talent does matter-

ternyata dibalik kegagalannya, tuhan punya rencana lain, pada akhirnya dia sukses jadi penari flamenco... dan kesuksesannya menari flamenco salah satunya ditunj
...more
Tina
Oct 27, 2015 Tina rated it it was ok
Prijetno. Caroline je tak lik, za katero si res želiš, da bi se ji nasmehnila sreča. Sicer je Fiona že utrujajoča, človek bi mislil, da se bo kaj razvila. Fino je bilo slišati malo več o Veronikinem uspehu in o Sebastijanu.
Pamela
Jul 15, 2011 Pamela rated it it was amazing
No Castanets at the Wells menceritakan tentang Caroline, sepupu Veronica Weston, yang juga belajar ballet di Sadler Wells. Namun sekian lama di Wells, Caroline semakin menyadari bahwa potensinya bukan di dunia Ballet. Dia lebih menyukai tarian Spanyol yang lebih semangat dan menggunakan castanet.
Ratna
Ratna rated it really liked it
Jul 15, 2011
Kaja
Kaja rated it it was amazing
Jul 10, 2012
Nataša
Nataša rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2016
Rina Suryakusuma
Rina Suryakusuma rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2015
Mariyanti
Mariyanti rated it liked it
Jun 29, 2011
Leilani Serfontein
Leilani Serfontein rated it liked it
Aug 28, 2014
Erykah
Erykah rated it really liked it
Aug 22, 2013
Eilidh Montgomery
Eilidh Montgomery rated it it was amazing
Aug 24, 2016
Leah O'connor
Leah O'connor rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2014
Esther Maria Anne Sebayang
Esther Maria Anne Sebayang rated it it was amazing
Apr 06, 2012
Abigail
Abigail rated it liked it
Aug 20, 2015
Roz Radmore
Roz Radmore rated it liked it
Nov 04, 2015
Laloa Dolphinsky
Laloa Dolphinsky rated it it was ok
Nov 26, 2012
Kate Small
Kate Small rated it it was amazing
May 22, 2015
Striratna  Nityahayu
Striratna Nityahayu rated it liked it
Mar 25, 2013
Reny
Reny rated it it was amazing
Aug 30, 2013
Adalain
Adalain rated it really liked it
Jan 06, 2015
Rebekah
Rebekah rated it it was amazing
Sep 30, 2013
Ray McCarthy
Ray McCarthy rated it really liked it
Apr 16, 2016
Dewi
Dewi rated it liked it
Jul 15, 2011
Aleks
Aleks rated it liked it
Apr 12, 2013
Maya Irena
Maya Irena rated it really liked it
Jul 15, 2011
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Drina Dances in Switzerland (Drina, #9)
  • Jo Returns to the Chalet School (The Chalet School, #13)
282773
Hill attended school in Durham and then went to Le Manoir in Lausanne, on the shores of Lake Geneva, Switzerland. She obtained a BA at Durham University, and there met her husband, a clergyman. They moved to the remote parish of Matfen, Northumberland, where she played the organ in church and ran a Sunday school.

Hill's career as an author began when her daughter Vicki, then about ten years old, fo
...more
More about Lorna Hill...

Other Books in the Series

Sadler's Wells (1 - 10 of 14 books)
  • A Dream of Sadler's Wells (Sadler's Wells, #1)
  • Veronica at the Wells (Sadler's Wells, #2)
  • Masquerade at the Wells (Sadler's Wells, #4)
  • Jane Leaves the Wells (Sadler's Wells, #5)
  • Ella at the Wells (Sadler's Wells #6)
  • Return To The Wells (Sadler's Wells, #7)
  • Rosanna Joins the Wells (Sadler's Wells, #8)
  • Principal Role (Sadler's Wells, #9)
  • Swan Feather (Sadler's Wells, #10)
  • Dress Rehearsal (Sadler's Wells #11)

Share This Book