Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Corpse in Shining Armour (Liberty Lane, #3)” as Want to Read:
A Corpse in Shining Armour (Liberty Lane, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Corpse in Shining Armour (Liberty Lane #3)

3.75 of 5 stars 3.75  ·  rating details  ·  126 ratings  ·  25 reviews
Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet. Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the ...more
Paperback, 440 pages
Published 2010 by Harper (first published April 6th 2009)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Corpse in Shining Armour, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Corpse in Shining Armour

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 265)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Anne
Loved this book. Really. I would have given it 5 stars, but the ending was too over the top for me to justify anything more than 4 stars. I've been racking my brain for something to compare these book to, and then I noticed another reader's review mentioned that these were very Agatha Christieish.
smacks forehead
Yes! That describes the style perfectly! Liberty could definitely double as a young Miss Marple.
I don't feel the need to describe the plot, because like Christie's stories, it's not the
...more
Nan
Jun 26, 2010 Nan rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: fans of Deanna Raybourn
Caro Peacock's Liberty Lane was my first entry into the evolving genre of neo-Victorian female detective fiction. After reading the first two Liberty Lane novels (A Foreign Affair and A Dangerous Affair), I chose to read Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Gray series and the first book in Tasha Alexendar's Lady Emily series. Each of these three take a very different tack in telling the story of a female detective.

In my mind, Alexander's Lady Emily is undoubtedly the weakest of the three characters and
...more
Nicola Mansfield
Reason for Reading: Next in the series.

I like to think of the Liberty Lane series as one of my guilty pleasures. I know I'm in for a quick dip immersion into the Victorian era with a light mystery and an easy read. I also know Liberty is not going to get into a romance with anyone, though someone will probably be trying to play matchmaker for her but Liberty has more important things to do as a "private intelligencer", a name coined for her line of work by her friend and politician Benjamin Disr
...more
solaret
First off, Liberty Lane has to be one of the stupidest names ever. If my parents had seen fit to give me that name, I'd have changed it at first opportunity.

Having said that, the protagonist was quite interesting. She's headstrong, determined, and inventive. Though this is a Victorian-society type book and I was expecting more in the way of court politics than detective work, I liked the countryside that formed the main setting for A Family Affair.

On the other hand, there was the clear Chekhov's
...more
Laura
I love Miss Liberty Lane. This adventure begins with Miss Lane being asked to look into whether a woman is mad or not. There is a question of the next heir in the family and the mother is saying the eldest is not the legitimate heir because she was visited by a dark knight and not her husband. Of course, this turns into a long investigation along with Miss Lane becoming entangled in her own drama. It was a good story and I can't wait to see if she has more adventures. I love her character. She n ...more
Kirsty Darbyshire
I decided to read the third in the series shortly after the second before I forgot about it again. Disappointed to find no sign of a fourth book in the series yet.

Early Victorian London; jousting is the latest craze among young aristocrats & a paternity question arises between the two sons of a dying Lord. Liberty Lane steps in to investigate. Fun. I guessed one of the twists but it's well plotted and that didn't matter. Occassional anachronous-ish foresight by the characters - as when they
...more
Mary
This is early Victorian in its setting; the queen is young and the country is fascinated with her. Liberty Lane is young and working hard to be independent, which is something the times make difficult. This particular story involves succession in an aristocratic family. Like many detectives Liberty's clothes take a beating. I wonder how her budget holds up, when her shoes split seams and she goes riding in dresses particularly unsuited to horseback, even side saddle. The story never fails to ent ...more
Rachael
This was a light, easy book that I flew through. It was interesting. I had to come to terms with how out of character Miss Lane was but by the end I was fine. It wasn't very suspenseful. I am use to a more Agatha Christie approach, while includes deaths that are more frightening, but this book wasn't bad. I doubt I will read it again, but only because I don't reread mystery novels. I thought some of the characters were rather flat but overall I enjoyed it.
Nepeta
Originally published as A Corpse in Shining Armour, now evidently re-titled A Family Affair, presumably to give the series continuity. The third Liberty Lane book, good storyline, interesting characters but what really fascinates me is the detailed look at everyday life for all classes in the Victorian era.
Jenn Estepp
am quite sold on liberty lane and her version of early victorian life. really fun to spend time with and a big, thick book that i read slowly in order to savor. i'd never deem it the height of literary accomplishment, but there's something very comforting about it, which is probably appropriate for a historical cozy.
Rosemary
I just read the American edition of this mystery from one of my favorite authors. I like the British title better than A Family Affair (the American title), especially since the plot revolves around the Victorians' love for all things medieval.
Barbara
Gotta suspend; I was able to renew this one and need to read another library book before it is due on Saturday.

Resumed 4-26-12

3.5. Quite good. I've asked the library to order the 5th book in the series, due out in June.
Jaime Howey
This is also "A Family Affair". Very enjoyable read although we seem to have gotten away from the historical, social rules of the time period. I will continue to read the series.
Sarah
(AKA in the US as *A Family Affair.* And if you don't get the '70s-ish Sly and the Family Stone song by the same name stuck in your head from that, you're a better person than I.)
Amy D
I guess these are my form of mind trash. They're not the best written mysteries but I love escaping into the Victorian age...
Natalie
Well ... the copy I have is called A Family Affair but it is the same book ... another fine Liberty Lane mystery.
Perky
I thoroughly enjoyed this read. I'm a big Caro Peacock fan, and this might be my favourite of her works.
Drianne
I really enjoyed this book! The mystery was surprising and I still really like the characters.
Tessa
I enjoyed this novel it was exciting, quite a page turner and well written.
Mindi
Fun read about a women investigator in Victorian England.
Jerelyn
My favorite so far. Review to follow
Victoria
Really enjoying this series.
Nattaporn
good as always
Betty
Good audio book
Rika Safrina
Rika Safrina marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2015
Loisa
Loisa added it
Jun 29, 2015
Beth
Beth marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2015
Megan
Megan marked it as to-read
Jun 16, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • India Black and the Widow of Windsor (Madam of Espionage, #2)
  • One Blood
  • The Ninth Stone
  • The Illusion of Murder (Nellie Bly, #2)
  • The Seventh Trumpet (Sister Fidelma, #23)
  • Peril at Somner House
  • A Gentleman of Fortune (A Dido Kent Mystery #2)
  • The Père-Lachaise Mystery (Victor Legris, #2)
  • Where Shadows Dance (Sebastian St. Cyr, #6)
  • Stalking Ivory (Jade del Cameron Mysteries, #2)
  • Early Graves (Dave Brandstetter, #9)
  • The Mistaken Wife
  • Fire and Fog (Fremont Jones, #2)
  • The Pericles Commission (The Athenian Mysteries, #1)
  • The Founding (The Morland Dynasty, #1)
  • Murder in Grub Street (Sir John Fielding, #2)
  • Prime Time
  • The Dark Enquiry (Lady Julia, #5)
775413
Aka Gillian Linscott.

Caro Peacock grew up in a farmhouse that, for most of her childhood, contained half a dozen brothers, sisters and cousins, twice as many cats and dogs, no central heating and one bathroom that stopped working every time the spring that supplied it water silted up. This possible bred the habit of curling up in a quiet place with a book, and later, a passion for travel that led
...more
More about Caro Peacock...

Other Books in the Series

Liberty Lane (6 books)
  • A Foreign Affair (Liberty Lane, #1)
  • A Dangerous Affair (Liberty Lane, #2)
  • When the Devil Drives (Liberty Lane, #4)
  • Keeping Bad Company (Liberty Lane, #5)
  • The Path of The Wicked (Liberty Lane, #6)
A Foreign Affair (Liberty Lane, #1) A Dangerous Affair (Liberty Lane, #2) When the Devil Drives (Liberty Lane, #4) Keeping Bad Company (Liberty Lane, #5) The Path of The Wicked (Liberty Lane, #6)

Share This Book