Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Paris Review Interviews, IV: 4” as Want to Read:
The Paris Review Interviews, IV: 4
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Paris Review Interviews, IV: 4 (The Paris Review Interviews)

by
4.3  ·  Rating Details ·  233 Ratings  ·  20 Reviews
With an Introduction by Salman Rushdie For more than fifty years, The Paris Review has brought us revelatory and revealing interviews with the literary lights of our age. This critically acclaimed series continues with another eclectic lineup, including Philip Roth, Ezra Pound, Haruki Murakami, Marilynne Robinson, Stephen Sondheim, E. B. White, Maya Angelou, William Styron ...more
Paperback, 478 pages
Published October 27th 2009 by Picador (first published 2009)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Paris Review Interviews, IV, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Paris Review Interviews, IV

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Maree
Nov 05, 2009 Maree rated it it was amazing
I stayed up half the night finishing this book. What a GREAT book. Some of the greatest writers talking about their craft, how they began, what influenced them. The interviewers were sharp, witty and knew the writers they were talking to. I found myself wanting to run out and get the 3 volumes that preceded this one. I am sure this book will be of interest to anyone who loves to read, for writers who are learning their craft and for those who are both. I recommend this book to everyone!!!!!
Nancy
Oct 27, 2009 Nancy rated it it was amazing
Wow! Another Firstreads win! This is great!

What a delight—to be exposed to such a variety of opinions about the craft of writing from authors of such varied backgrounds and ethnicities. I agree with Salmon Rushdie when he states in his introduction that the interviews sometimes reveal “more of the author than even the author knows.” Marianne Moore seems rather arrogant, Kerouac is cocky (but I do love what he has to say about haiku poetry), Philip Roth seems to have a chip on his shoulder, while
...more
Leah W
Nov 04, 2009 Leah W rated it it was amazing
Until I just looked this up, I hadn't realized that I ranked this at five stars, while I gave all the other PR Interviews four stars. Perhaps it's because this book features several of my dear favorites (Wodehouse, John Ashbery, Sondheim, Auster, Murakami), but perhaps the series is just growing on me as it continues. This is the fourth volume in what was long-billed as a trilogy; perhaps we can march Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy into another volume?

Notes:
-Oh Jack Kerouac. What weren't you o
...more
Jessica Oban
Nov 02, 2009 Jessica Oban rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Writers and readers
Recommended to Jessica by: First Reads
Mwahahaha... I love this book. I have never read any of the Paris Reviews before, and now I'm incredibly bummed to find that I was missing something amazing. Great writers talk about their books, their influences, their writing process, and just literature in general.

The interviews are a great way to enter the mind of the writers behind the greatest novels (and poems) of the century. They're sleek and smart, insightful and witty. I love them. And I will be sure to work my way through the other v
...more
Colin
Feb 08, 2010 Colin rated it it was amazing
A fascinating four-volume series. Essential reading for anyone interested in the creative process of some of the world's most highly regarded authors, playwrights, and poets.

Highlights in this volume are the interviews with E. B. White and John Ashbury. I was almost tempted to skip the one with Kerouac. God, what an idiot.

Anyway - read them. All of them.
Jill
Dec 21, 2009 Jill marked it as to-read
My 2009 motto? If Sarah Montambo likes it, Hells Yes!
Emily
Dec 28, 2009 Emily added it
Shelves: read-in-2010
A big thanks to Frances and Camille for turning me on to the Paris Review interviews! I received the third and fourth volumes of the selected interviews for Christmas, and have been making my slow but delighted way through the fourth ever since. Number Four contains interviews with two of my favorite authors, Haruki Murakami and Marilynne Robinson (which is why I started here), but it's chock full of thoughts from other luminaries of the last 75 years, including but not limited to William Styron ...more
Tom
Oct 27, 2009 Tom rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
We love celebrities. We long to be star-struck. Baseball fans idolize such players as Willie Mays, the Say-Hey Kid, and A-Rod. Basketball fans love Michael Jordan and LeBron James. Football fans…well, you get the picture. Even movie fans, especially movie fans, have their heroes. These fans have ways to connect with their idols: TV interviews, magazines (SI, People).
The avid reader is no exception. He or she wants to know why William Styron wrote, or why Ezra Pound made those radio broadcasts
...more
Niklas Pivic
Sep 09, 2010 Niklas Pivic rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: All persons living
This fourth volume in the series surprised me in a good way. While V. S. Naipul gabs the title for being the most arrogant and - in a bad way - preposterous, this is very much mitigated and made up for by people such as Haruki Murakami, David Grossman, P. G. Wodehouse, Philip Roth and E. B. White.

Most of the authors came across as hard-working and continually writing and re-writing, talking of the shitty first draft. Marilynne Robinson and Murakami don't seem to have this problem at all, instead
...more
Bill
Dec 14, 2009 Bill is currently reading it
I was in Binghamton the other day with time for lunch, and nothing to read. It turns out that there is a pretty good little bookstore about three blocks from the courthouse, and after a bit of browsing I settled on this.

The Paris Review Interview series were originally issued in more-or-less chronological order, and I read the first four volumes in the series that way. They are long out-of-print, and this reissue series blends newer interviews with older ones in a pattern I haven't been able to
...more
Amy Dixon
Oct 27, 2009 Amy Dixon rated it it was amazing
I won The Paris Review Interviews, Vol. IV, in a Good Reads contest. It was no accident that I entered this drawing. I've read and loved the previous three volumes. Volume IV is as terrific as the preceding books.

Volume IV contain author interviews, culled from the pages of the Paris Review, that includes Marianne Moore, P.G. Wodehouse, Haruki Murakami, and many more. The earliest interview is with William Styron in 1954; the latest is with Marilynne Robinson in 2008. The interviews not only ca
...more
Jim
Feb 03, 2010 Jim rated it really liked it
This is a it-does-what-it-says-on-the-tin kind of a book. All you need to do is look at the list and you will either love it or loathe it:

America: William Styron, Marianne Moore, Ezra Pound, Jack Kerouac, E. B. White, John Ashbery, Philip Roth, Maya Angelou, Stephen Sondheim, Marilynne Robinson
United Kingdom: P. G. Wodehouse
Trinidad: V. S. Naipaul
Japan: Haruki Murakami
Turkey: Orhan Pamuk
Israel: David Grossman

The interviews are of the standard we’ve come to expect. The only issue really is
...more
j_ay
Apr 24, 2010 j_ay rated it liked it
Shelves: interviews
William Styron *****
Marianne Moore ****o
Ezra Pound ***oo
Jack Kerouac ****o
E. B. White ***oo
P. G. Wodehouse ***oo
John Ashbery ***oo
Philip Roth ***oo
Maya Angelou ***oo
Stephen Sondheim ****o
V. S. Naipaul ***oo
Paul Auster ***oo
Haruki Murakami ****o
Orhan Pamuk ****o
David Grossman ***00
Marilynne Robinson ***oo
Kevin Brown
Feb 10, 2015 Kevin Brown rated it liked it
Like all collections of interviews, I found it uneven. Also, not surprisingly, most of the interviews I enjoyed were the ones with authors whose works I also enjoy (and are familiar with).
Pamela
Oct 31, 2011 Pamela rated it it was amazing
Wonderful as always.
Kenny
Nov 27, 2012 Kenny added it
Shelves: writing-guides
Maya angelou keeps the bible on her bed. she was quiet for a decade before coming out with caged bird. tidbits like that
Anne
Feb 22, 2012 Anne rated it it was amazing
I wanted to start with the first volume, but this was the only one at the library. Fascinating.
Joe
Jun 19, 2013 Joe rated it really liked it
The Murakami one was pretty good in here. At least, that's the one I remember the most.
Brent
Brent rated it it was amazing
Jan 24, 2012
skilar
skilar rated it it was amazing
Nov 06, 2011
Dana Bell
Dana Bell rated it really liked it
Sep 08, 2011
Michael Gossett
Michael Gossett rated it really liked it
Sep 16, 2011
J G
J G rated it liked it
Dec 11, 2015
Quinn Irwin
Quinn Irwin rated it it was amazing
May 14, 2013
Elaine
Elaine rated it it was amazing
Dec 09, 2015
Steph Teaberry
Steph Teaberry rated it really liked it
Nov 03, 2014
Kevin
Kevin rated it really liked it
May 21, 2014
Claire
Claire rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2013
David Clarke
David Clarke rated it it was amazing
Mar 10, 2011
Marcia Bana
Marcia Bana rated it it was amazing
Dec 14, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
John Ashbery on Marcel Proust 1 26 Sep 17, 2010 04:53AM  
  • The Believer Book of Writers Talking to Writers
  • The Writer on Her Work
  • Shop Talk: A Writer and His Colleagues and Their Work
  • First We Read, Then We Write: Emerson on the Creative Process
  • Writers on Writing: Collected Essays from The New York Times
  • The World Within the Word
  • New Ways to Kill Your Mother: Writers and Their Families
  • Vermeer in Bosnia: Selected Writings
  • Advertisements for Myself
  • For a New Novel: Essays on Fiction
  • How I Write: The Secret Lives of Authors
  • The Fun Stuff: And Other Essays
  • Rivers and Mountains
  • The Collected Stories of Peter Taylor
  • The Best American Essays 2007
  • Vanity Fair's Proust Questionnaire: 101 Luminaries Ponder Love, Death, Happiness, and the Meaning of Life
  • Nog
  • Borges on Writing
7373
Founded in Paris by Harold L. Humes, Peter Matthiessen, and George Plimpton in 1953, The Paris Review began with a simple editorial mission: “Dear reader,” William Styron wrote in a letter in the inaugural issue, “The Paris Review hopes to emphasize creative work—fiction and poetry—not to the exclusion of criticism, but with the aim in mind of merely removing criticism from the dominating place it ...more
More about The Paris Review...

Other Books in the Series

The Paris Review Interviews (4 books)
  • The Paris Review Interviews, I: 1
  • The Paris Review Interviews, II
  • The Paris Review Interviews, III

Share This Book



“Novels are fictions and therefore they tell lies, but through those lies every novelist attempts to tell the truth about the world.” 1 likes
“thing, “Typhoon and the Tor Bay” it was called,” 0 likes
More quotes…