Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Complaint Free Relationships: Transforming Your Life One Relationship at a Time” as Want to Read:
Complaint Free Relationships: Transforming Your Life One Relationship at a Time
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Complaint Free Relationships: Transforming Your Life One Relationship at a Time

by
4.13  ·  Rating Details ·  106 Ratings  ·  17 Reviews
A revolutionary approach to improving every relationship in your life, Complaint Free Relationships picks up where the internationally successful A Complaint Free World left off, with all-new methods to help you overcome toxic habits and build strong, successful connections with others.

The original Complaint-Free movement has exploded into an international phenomenon, with
...more
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published December 29th 2009 by Doubleday Religion (first published January 1st 2009)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Complaint Free Relationships, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Complaint Free Relationships

The Power of Now by Eckhart TolleThe Secret by Rhonda ByrneThe Alchemist by Paulo CoelhoJonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard BachTo Hold The Sun by Chas Watkins
Best Inspirational/Self Help
431st out of 441 books — 410 voters
A Plague on Both Your Houses by Susanna GregoryPlot it Yourself by Rex StoutSurely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman! by Richard FeynmanWhat to Expect When You're Expecting by Heidi MurkoffLies My Teacher Told Me by James W. Loewen
Grammar: Your and You're
40th out of 138 books — 6 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Linda
Jun 04, 2015 Linda rated it it was amazing
One of the best books I've read in a long time with simple clear action steps you can take to change your relationships. Oddly enough I had been doing some of the things mentioned in this book, but I had pulled from multiple sources; other books, articles I'd read, videos I'd watched, and some wonderful advice given to me by some great friends. The thing is putting it together in this format with clear, concrete instruction on what you can do to begin changing your relationships today, is not so ...more
Kate
This is good.

There is definitely a little corniness to it, and I am going to skip the illustrational "stories" the next time I read through it, but I think there is a lot of good material in here about recognizing the stories you create about interacting with others in your life and taking responsibility for the way you choose to relate to them. Good stuff about not taking others' comments personally, and I was really surprised when he mentioned the Johari window - the most interesting pane bei
...more
Katharine
Mar 19, 2010 Katharine rated it liked it
I'm actually listening to this on CD, and the fact that I don't love the way Will Bowen reads this is definitely coloring my view - a bit corny. This book was recommended to me among others, and it's definitely my least favorite book, and actually directly contradicts Why Marriages Succeed or Fail. I also think it's a bit optimistic and simplistic for the most part, but I DO think that the ideas in this book are, generally, great. Helps you to look at your thought process and relationships in a ...more
Richard
Apr 23, 2015 Richard rated it liked it
Shelves: project_2015


Interesting remarks regarding relationship…

Maureen
Jun 30, 2010 Maureen rated it really liked it
I think I got a lot of good tips from this book. I learned how complaining of any kind is counter productive. Even in the spirit of "venting". Often we think "getting it out" makes us feel better but if we are getting it out by complaining we are actually making things worse. I got this book from the library and I think I may need to purchase a copy to add to my personal library. The exercises are helpful but I did them mentally rather than keeping a journal. This will be on my "to be read again ...more
Mike Rogero
Jul 01, 2014 Mike Rogero rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
basically life changing. Shines a light on the side of you the world sees...perhaps more often than any other, without your even knowing it. Well worth the time....AND the 21 days of introspection that Will is asking for. Tough challenge to pass that one!
Jennifer Millspaugh
Dec 29, 2010 Jennifer Millspaugh rated it really liked it
It definitely made me think about how much I complain and how much of a drain that is on my relationships. I recommend it to anyone who wants to re-evaluate the state of the current relationships and recurring trends of negativity.
Glad
Feb 02, 2011 Glad added it
He provides a view of conflict resolution from the pov of relationships. Key point was the colored threads in a tie as a way of seeing different perspectives of a personality.
Randi
Mar 12, 2012 Randi rated it really liked it
Shelves: non-fiction
If you can get past the cheesyness :) this book has some great concepts for avoiding victim stance and ways in which we judge. I actually enjoyed it.
Andrew Clem
May 20, 2012 Andrew Clem rated it it was amazing
Thank Sarah this is the best igniting book for anyone that has problems getting along at work or home. Thanks
Kecia Lowe
Dec 16, 2012 Kecia Lowe rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent practical book that can really improve your relationships with yourself and others. Good self help book.
Major Doug
Jun 12, 2013 Major Doug rated it it was ok
Listened to this book: a bit too 'turn the other cheek'; however, there were some good practical exercises.
Noah
Mar 17, 2012 Noah rated it liked it
If you liked A Complaint Free World, you will like this.
Brian Walker
Oct 26, 2015 Brian Walker rated it it was ok
I'd hate to say anything...it might be a complaint.
Sarah
May 20, 2012 Sarah rated it really liked it
This book had a lot of good ideas. Very glad I found it.
Tinker
Mar 07, 2010 Tinker rated it it was amazing
Everyone should read and re-read this book.
DianeK Klu
May 28, 2013 DianeK Klu rated it it was amazing
Everyone should read this book!
Jasmin Santana-tyree
Jasmin Santana-tyree marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2016
Kris Richmond
Kris Richmond marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2016
Nizam uddin
Nizam uddin rated it really liked it
Aug 27, 2016
Becky
Becky marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2016
Tracie Wildner
Tracie Wildner marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2016
Mark Stapel
Mark Stapel marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2016
Shelby Owens
Shelby Owens marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2016
Giri Sisodiya
Giri Sisodiya marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2016
Natalie Stratton
Natalie Stratton rated it it was amazing
Jul 20, 2016
Pallavi
Pallavi is currently reading it
Jul 15, 2016
Angelic
Angelic rated it really liked it
Aug 15, 2016
North Hunter
North Hunter marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • He's Scared, She's Scared: Understanding the Hidden Fears That Sabotage Your Relationships
  • Relationship Skills 101 for Teens: Your Guide to Dealing with Daily Drama, Stress, and Difficult Emotions Using DBT
  • Be the Change: How Meditation Can Transform You and the World
  • Am I Being Kind: How Asking One Simple Question Can Change Your Life...and Your World
  • Soldiers and Slaves: American POWs Trapped by the Nazis' Final Gamble
  • If It Hurts, It Isn't Love: And 365 Other Principles to Heal and Transform Your Relationships
  • Say It Right the First Time
  • Overcoming Borderline Personality Disorder: A Family Guide for Healing and Change
  • The Hungry Spirit
  • Meditation and Its Practice
  • The Heart of the Buddha: Entering the Tibetan Buddhist Path
  • Be Yourself, Everyone Else Is Already Taken: Transform Your Life with the Power of Authenticity
  • Children of Hoarders: How to Minimize Conflict, Reduce the Clutter, and Improve Your Relationship
  • The Wild & Weedy Apothecary: An A to Z Book of Herbal Concoctions, Recipes & Remedies, Practical Know-How & Food for the Soul
  • Loving Someone with Borderline Personality Disorder: How to Keep Out-of-Control Emotions from Destroying Your Relationship
  • Transparency: How Leaders Create a Culture of Candor
  • Feeling Loved: The Science of Nurturing Meaningful Connections and Building Lasting Happiness
  • Repacking Your Bags: Lighten Your Load for the Rest of Your Life
688660
Will Bowen is an author and speaker who has been featured on/in "Oprah," NBC's "Today Show," ABC's "World News Tonight," CBS "Sunday Morning," "Fox News," "The Wall Street Journal," "Newsweek," "People," "O," "Self," "Chicken Soup for the Soul" and in hundreds of media stories around the world.

His first two books, "A Complaint Free World" (now expanded and updated) and "Complaint Free Relationship
...more
More about Will Bowen...

Share This Book



“Hurt people hurt people. We are not being judgmental by separating ourselves from such people. But we should do so with compassion. Compassion is defined as a "keen awareness of the suffering of another coupled with a desire to see it relieved." People hurt others as a result of their own inner strife and pain. Avoid the reactive response of believeing they are bad; they already think so and are acting that way. They aren't bad; they are damaged and they deserve compassion. Note that compassion is an internal process, an understanding of the painful and troubled road trod by another. It is not trying to change or fix that person.” 147 likes
More quotes…