Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Doing a Literature Review: Releasing the Social Science Research Imagination” as Want to Read:
Doing a Literature Review: Releasing the Social Science Research Imagination
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Doing a Literature Review: Releasing the Social Science Research Imagination

3.49  ·  Rating Details  ·  91 Ratings  ·  6 Reviews
This book can provide an excellent framework for bolstering what is often an experiential process - doing a literature review. It is best seen alongside the supervisor, as a guide, through the multidimensional sea of academic literature' - "British Educational Research Journal "

I have been waiting for this book for five years. It sets out a number of important dimensions i
...more
Paperback, 230 pages
Published March 1st 1999 by Sage Publications Ltd (first published November 1st 1998)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Doing a Literature Review, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Doing a Literature Review

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 228)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Katie
Feb 04, 2012 Katie rated it it was ok
I picked this book up after hearing good reviews from a few of my PhD student twitter mates. I have never put together a formal literature review the size of a dissertation before, and needing help with my analytical and social science writing skills I thought this book would be a good fit. I was especially excited about this text as it is written by a scholar in the information science field.

What this book does well is present schemas and and frameworks for organizing and analyzing texts and I
...more
Glenn
Jul 23, 2013 Glenn rated it it was amazing
This book gave me a lot of good points to consider before writing the dissertation for an MA. The book covers not only how to research information but how to approach critically evaluating research. Discussion of Fisher's (1993) approach to argumentation analysis was extremely helpful and whilst I would have liked more discussion on inference indicators, I was able to take themes and ideas from the book and follow them up. My overall impression is that this book offers more an opportunity to cri ...more
Brian
Mar 27, 2016 Brian rated it really liked it
Shelves: personal
I like the idea of being able to do this without having to run experiments to get published.
k8inorbit
Nov 07, 2007 k8inorbit rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: thesis and paper writers
Shelves: academic
This is a very very very comprehensive and detailed intro to writing a lit review. The overview is interesting, but I can't help feeling like this could also just all be simplified into a really handy 5-10 page handout.
Taruia
Jul 24, 2011 Taruia rated it liked it
Comprehensive without introducing any startling revelations.
Mzayyat
Oct 27, 2010 Mzayyat rated it really liked it
Good book
Natalie
Natalie is currently reading it
May 24, 2016
Abdelazeim
Abdelazeim marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2016
Apurva Shrivastava
Apurva Shrivastava rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2016
Amy
Amy rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2016
Dang Nguyen
Dang Nguyen marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2016
Arthur Davinci
Arthur Davinci marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2016
Tobias Barker
Tobias Barker rated it liked it
Mar 20, 2016
Tousif
Tousif marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2016
ms
ms marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2016
Lekita
Lekita marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2016
Sharon Guy
Sharon Guy rated it really liked it
Feb 22, 2016
Elise
Elise marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2016
Bryan Wagner-Adair
Bryan Wagner-Adair rated it liked it
Feb 21, 2016
Malin
Malin rated it liked it
Feb 17, 2016
Stan Skrabut
Stan Skrabut marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2016
M
M added it
Feb 08, 2016
Frederick Acheampong
Frederick Acheampong marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Angela
Angela added it
Jan 25, 2016
Lora Mae Frecks
Lora Mae Frecks rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2016
Laura-Jo Popland
Laura-Jo Popland rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2016
Zilal Meccawy
Zilal Meccawy rated it liked it
Jan 26, 2016
David
David rated it liked it
Jan 18, 2016
Rhona
Rhona rated it it was ok
Jan 11, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Qualitative Data Analysis: An Expanded Sourcebook
  • Event Planning: The Ultimate Guide to Successful Meetings, Corporate Events, Fundraising Galas, Conferences, Conventions, Incentives and Other Special Events
  • Data Points: Visualization That Means Something
  • Get-It-Done Guy's 9 Steps to Work Less and Do More
  • Beyond Bullet Points: Using Microsoft PowerPoint to Create Presentations That Inform, Motivate, and Inspire: Using Microsoft PowerPoint to Create Presentations That Inform, Motivate, and Inspire
  • The Golem: What You Should Know about Science
  • The Challenger Launch Decision: Risky Technology, Culture, and Deviance at NASA
  • Networks of Outrage and Hope: Social Movements in the Internet Age
  • Authoring a Ph.D.: How to Plan, Draft, Write and Finish a Doctoral Thesis or Dissertation
  • Doing Your Research Project: A Guide for First-Time Researchers in Education, Health and Social Science
  • Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning
  • Sorting Things Out: Classification and Its Consequences
  • How the World Sees You: Discover Your Highest Value Through the Science of Fascination
  • The Activist's Handbook: A Primer
  • Leviathan and the Air-Pump: Hobbes, Boyle, and the Experimental Life
  • Human Capital: A Theoretical and Empirical Analysis, with Special Reference to Education
  • Qualitative Research Design: An Interactive Approach
  • 7 Steps to Raising a Bilingual Child
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name.
More about Christopher Hart...

Share This Book