The Stuart Sapphire (Tam Eildor Mystery) (Tam Eildor Mystery)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Stuart Sapphire (Tam Eildor Mystery) (Tam Elidor #4)

2.45 of 5 stars 2.45  ·  rating details  ·  11 ratings  ·  3 reviews
In August 1811, George, Prince of Wales and the Prince Regent is horrified to find his mistress Sarah, Marchioness of Creeve dead in his bed, strangled by the string of pearls around her neck. The Prince realizes what a scandal could come out of a dead married woman (not to mention his younger brother s mistress) so he has Tam Eildor, masquerading as a Scottish lawyer, inv...more
Paperback, 302 pages
Published December 1st 2006 by Allison & Busby LTD (first published January 1st 2005)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
Knots and Crosses by Ian RankinHide and Seek by Ian RankinStrip Jack by Ian RankinDr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis StevensonThe Black Book by Ian Rankin
Tartan Noir
142nd out of 187 books — 57 voters

More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-23 of 22)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Okay.. When I've first read the synopsis of the book, the Georgian setting with a murdered lady and a missing jewel caught my attention. "oohh.. sounds interesting.." This is about Tam Eildor, the Edinburgh lawyer (as he'd introduced himself) often described as an enigmatic young man in the book. Tam's a time traveler! for goodness sake, I didn't know that when I bought the book and I do hope that this is not a spoiler for it is mentioned in the first chapter. He was asked by the Prince to help...more
This was alright but I suddenly realised that I wasn't actually enjoying it that much, so decided to stop. Even though I was halfway through I didn't feel that I knew the characters at all, and I wasn't really bothered about what happened to them. It all felt very stiff and faraway and there was a lot of repetition. I don't think I'll read anything else by this author.
Zero stars if that was an option. Plot wandered. Characters unlikeable. I still don't know why Tam was in Brighton in the 1800s.
Natalya Kuraeva
Natalya Kuraeva marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2014
Ashley marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2014
E. Chainey (Bookowski)
E. Chainey (Bookowski) marked it as to-read
May 28, 2013
Catie marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2012
bwah marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2011
Bridgette marked it as to-read
May 26, 2011
Melanie marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2011
Arya polgara
Arya polgara marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2010
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
aka Margaret Hope

Since the publication of her first book in 1969, Alanna Knight has written more than forty novels (including eleven in the successful Inspector Fare series), four works of non-fiction, numerous short stories and two plays. Born and educated in Tyneside she now lives in Edinburgh where the Inspector Fare and Rose McQuinn mysteries are set. She is a founding member of the Scottish A...more
More about Alanna Knight...
The Inspector's Daughter (Rose McQuinn, #1) Enter Second Murderer (Inspector Faro, #1) An Orkney Murder (Rose McQuinn, #3) Blood Line (Inspector Faro, #2) Dangerous Pursuits (Rose McQuinn, #2)

Share This Book