Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Showcase Presents: Bat Lash” as Want to Read:
Showcase Presents: Bat Lash
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Showcase Presents: Bat Lash (Showcase Presents)

3.91  ·  Rating Details ·  53 Ratings  ·  13 Reviews
This value-priced volume stars Bat Lash, a self-professed pacifist, ladies' man and gambler whose hands are never far from his six-guns.
These are the original stories from the 1960s, involving jilted lovers, Indian raiders, card sharps and more as the legend of Bat Lash spreads across the old West.
Paperback, 240 pages
Published July 14th 2009 by DC Comics (first published July 7th 2009)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Showcase Presents, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Showcase Presents

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Andy
Oct 16, 2009 Andy rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Western comics fans
DC comics constantly pushed the envelope during the Silver Age, and "Bat Lash" was the western comic that stood out from the pack about a non-violent cowboy perpetually drawn into a world of violence. The comic's secret weapon was the ornate stylings of artist Nick Cardy who gave the comic a bizarre rococo feel with elegant saloons, fetching dance hall girls and western period lettering.

Unfortunately Marvel Comics rapidly gained in popularity during this period (late Sixties) with their overwro
...more
Sesho Maru
Sep 01, 2012 Sesho Maru rated it it was amazing
Wow, after seeing Nick Cardy's art in the Aquaman Showcase 1, I couldn't believe this was the same artist that produced the original Bat Lash series. The art was great and suited the Old West setting perfectly. Lots of humor and even an emotional impact you wouldn't expect from a series like this. Great title.
Loyd
Jul 19, 2009 Loyd rated it really liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
Yes, it's an amalgam of Bat Masterson, Maverik, and a zillion other Sensitive Gunslinger-in-the-Wild-West stories. But this was a comic book, possibly the only one of its kind in the 60's and 70's. Nick Cardy (Aquaman, Teen Titans) and Sergio Aragones (Groo, Mad magazine) outdid themselves in this series, and it's obvious they had a lot of fun doing it.

I was never a fan of Marvel Western comics like Rawhide Kid and Kid Colt, but DC made some interesting experiments in the genre in the 60's and
...more
Jason Luna
Sep 03, 2014 Jason Luna rated it it was amazing
A very clever mix of westerns, monthly comic books, and humor.

The character of Batlash is written in a very personable way, as he chats up all these ladies he has crushes on, he declares his affinity for fine food and drink and flowers and stuff. In general, the dialogue is written in a very solid way, even though at times it's kind of forced exposition.

The stories have a great sense of action to them. Unlike a lot of comic books, they motivate the action pretty well, because Bat Lash has a pers
...more
Rich Meyer
Dec 22, 2012 Rich Meyer rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-in-2012
This is the series by which most western comics should be judged. Bat Lash was a short-lived comic book in the late sixties created by Sergio Aragones (best known for his margin cartoons in Mad Magazine) and Nick Cardy (best known for his work on Teen Titans and Aquaman). Bat Lash reads like a spaghetti western directed by Fred Zinneman.

It's a shame that this series hasn't been given a hardcover color treatment yet, but the fine details of Nick Cardy's artwork, and Dan Spiegle's in the newer st
...more
Fizzgig76
Reprints Showcase #76, Bat Lash #1-7, DC Special Series #16, and Jonah Hex #49, 51-52. Bat Lash travels the West and does whatever he feels like. Bat Lash is a very strange Western comic. It seems to be heavily influenced by series like Maverick where the action is tongue and cheek. Sometimes this works in the stories but other times it feels very repetative and the stories don't seem to know how to end. The few origin stories that ended the Bat Lash series seemed to start to develop the ...more
Tom
Jul 19, 2009 Tom rated it liked it
Fans of DC's Showcase series and Westerns should probably be warned this volume is notacably shorter than the others at 240 pages, not even half of the standard 500+ (meaning even Ambush Bug got more pages than Bat Lash), but this is a lighthearted series for the most part of a gunslighter who abhored violence and seemed to fall into a lot of it anyway. Its mildly humorous and has a certain charm, but there just isn't much here.
Fraser Sherman
Jan 03, 2014 Fraser Sherman rated it it was ok
Back in the days when comic-book Western heroes were as true-blue as the Lone Ranger, Bat Lash stood out: a peace-loving (unless someone shot at him), womanizing, gambling crook, though not without a flash of decency. Unfortunately while Nick Cardy was a fabulous art, the look of the book is too slapstick-comical (very much in the style of co-creator Sergio Aragones) when it really needs something a little more black-humored.
Erik
May 22, 2015 Erik rated it liked it
Shelves: comics-western
A western hero in the vein of Maverick, Bat Lash takes western stereotypes and plays them up for comedic effect. The stories are fun and funny, and there’s a bit of heart too. Nick Cardy’s art is a perfect fit for the tone, although there’s a noticeable drop in quality when the artist switches for the last few entries.
Rob
Jul 08, 2012 Rob added it
One of the all-time great DC Western heroes. Aragones & Cardy tell some great, mostly lighthearted, stories.
Joseph
Aug 26, 2012 Joseph rated it really liked it
Pretty fun stories. Glad to see these collected. Hopefully, we will see more of Bat Lash in the new 52.
Nicholas
Nicholas rated it liked it
Jan 17, 2016
Sean
Sean rated it really liked it
Dec 19, 2012
David Mckenzie
David Mckenzie rated it it was amazing
Dec 10, 2011
Daniel Elkin
Daniel Elkin rated it really liked it
Jun 12, 2012
David
David rated it really liked it
Mar 22, 2009
Josh
Josh rated it liked it
Mar 30, 2011
Vance
Vance rated it liked it
Apr 03, 2014
John Zschunke
John Zschunke rated it really liked it
Apr 24, 2014
Yosef Shapiro
Yosef Shapiro rated it it was ok
Jan 27, 2012
Nick Rennis
Nick Rennis rated it it was amazing
Jul 14, 2010
Greg Hatcher
Greg Hatcher rated it it was amazing
Dec 12, 2009
Jeremy Spaulding
Jeremy Spaulding rated it it was amazing
Jul 14, 2009
Janne
Janne rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2015
Stephen A. Rhodes
Stephen A. Rhodes rated it really liked it
Jan 13, 2012
Bror Bengtsson
Bror Bengtsson rated it really liked it
Jul 24, 2016
John
Nov 02, 2009 John rated it liked it
Fun and funny, if a bit dated.
Zack Adam
Zack Adam rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2011
Graham Vingoe
Graham Vingoe rated it really liked it
May 20, 2014
Jarr
Jarr rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2011
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

Showcase Presents (1 - 10 of 124 books)
  • Showcase Presents: Adam Strange
  • Showcase Presents: All Star Comics
  • Showcase Presents: All-Star Squadron, Vol. 1
  • Showcase Presents: Ambush Bug
  • Showcase Presents: Amethyst, Princess of Gemworld
  • Showcase Presents: Aquaman, Vol. 1
  • Showcase Presents: Aquaman, Vol. 2
  • Showcase Presents: Aquaman, Vol. 3
  • Showcase Presents: The Atom, Vol. 1
  • Showcase Presents: The Atom, Vol. 2

Share This Book