Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Best Enemies” as Want to Read:
Best Enemies
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Best Enemies

by
3.55 of 5 stars 3.55  ·  rating details  ·  495 ratings  ·  59 reviews

Book publicist Amy Sherman tripped over it when she caught her fiancé horizontally attached to her best friend, the impossibly tall, inexcusably blonde, and insufferably gorgeous Tara Messer, who added insult to injury by marrying the cad right out from under her.

After four years of therapy, Amy's finally back on track-until she has to publicize the hottest new book of the
...more
Mass Market Paperback, 336 pages
Published March 1st 2005 by St. Martin's Paperbacks (first published 2004)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Best Enemies, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Best Enemies

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 775)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Linda
Simply said, I'm a huge fan of author, Jane Heller. I fell in love with her novels after devouring "The Secret Ingredient", "Princess Charming", "Name Dropping", and "Lucky Stars". I'm happy to report that this novel, "Best Enemies", ranks right up there with the rest of her fun, entertaining, and witty books.

If you haven't given this author a try, and you like amusing conflict, smart-dialogue and just an all around good read, you must check out any of Ms. Heller's books. You won't be disappoin
...more
Agatha Christie
Before anything else, I want to express my sincerest gratitude to my dearest cousin, Charen, for lending me the book. At first I was kind of hesitant to bring it along with me because I still have other books (take note: they are unread) at home that I want to finish reading before borrowing another. Think about the money that I spent for those if I will just store it in a box and not read it. Haha. But the title really captured my interest and I can't stop thinking about that book until I've de ...more
Kristina Jo
So, my mom and I end up talking a fair amount about how there are at least two sides to every story. It depends on how many participants are involved, but in your typical good vs. bad story, you hear all about Batman's experiences, and the audience is all, "Poor Batman!" while forgetting that the Penguin has a perspective, too. Which is what made Best Enemies so cool: Heller switches halfway through the novel to tell the "bad guy's" story. And when I saw that, I was, in my 3-am, sleep-deprived o ...more
Jenni Holmes
Couldn't put this down, great story about friendship, relationships and the importance of telling the truth. A little bit predictable, with some plot twists thrown in... Looking forward to reading more by this author.
Trish
Thoroughly enjoyed this particular tell of two best friends who through a broken trust and thus a broken engagement become enemies. Amy and Tara were best friends, but yikes ... who can be best friends with the girl you find boinking your fiancee? Flash forward five years and they meet again ... the tale begins, first with Amy's POV and then when the story reaches it's turning point, we get to see what Tara thinks.

Well done using the two-character point of view. Nice characters, inlcuding the ne
...more
Sandy D.
Reading on the extremely light side here....but also pretty enjoyable. The story of a woman who caught her fiance and her best friend in bed two weeks before her wedding. Four years later, she runs into them again when the former best friend (now married to ex-fiancee) is publishing a book on living with style at her publishing company. Elaborate revenge schemes and double crosses abound.

Extremely fast read but not too flakey.
casey
I loved this book, it was exactly what I wanted to read for a while now. Thank you for recommending it you guys. I loved the characters, and even in the end I think for some of it Tara got what she had coming to her, carma people. The story ended really well, and I really enjoyed the characters. I will look into more books by Jane Heller now.
I really glad I read it and I look forward to more like it.
Princess
This book was so good I literally didn't put it down. I read it from 4 pm to 5 am one stormy day. It's a great book about friendship and growing up. It teaches you to never ever ever lie. The ending is PERFECT. I never saw it coming.
Camille
Good for what I was looking for - an easy airplane read. Predictable plot, but a different way of looking at the characters. Would read this author again.
Jocelyn
I loved this book! I really enjoyed that it was told from both characters perspectives...Definitely going to look for more books by Jane Heller to read!
Joy
May 10, 2007 Joy rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: women
Shelves: goodbook
Good book, tells a believable story about two women who were best friends, fall apart, and are thrown back together. Recomended for any woman!
Heather
This ended up being far better than I expected. I liked the dual POV thing although it doesn't really start until over halfway through.
Jean Galloway
I just love Jane Heller and have read most of her books I have a couple left I understand she's going to be putting out a new one soon too
Paula
I love this book! What a page turner, it was very fun. I finnished this book in one day, and so did my best friend! Very light and fun!
Terquoise
very entertaining and i liked reading about what goes on in the book publishing world. fun chick lit.this would make a cute movie.
Elaine
I loved the way she wrote this story. Again, very entertaining. It was told from 2 different view points. Clever....and funny.
Meaghan
enjoyable story. i liked getting the different point of view from the other main character in the middle of the book.
Ann-marie Michocki
I recently discovered Jane Heller and I am never disappointed! Her books have great characters and interesting plots!
Graceann
Nov 29, 2007 Graceann rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: chick lit fans
Shelves: chick-lit
More fun and friction from Jane Heller - great for fans of Jennifer Crusie and Janet Evanovich.
Lkostishion
This book is hilarious. The grass is not always greener on the other side.
Kevin Connery
Good, not great. The change in viewpoint midway through was jarring.
Dena
Mar 28, 2008 Dena rated it 2 of 5 stars
Recommended to Dena by: Jennifer J
Story was far fetched and it was lousy chick lit, in my opinion.
Salma
handle complex relationship between female friends...
best!
Harriet
Hillarious!
Jill
cute beach read
Kris
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Lizpeveto
You can relate that this story might be your worst nightmare. Amy and Tara have been best friends since childhood. Amy is marrying Stuart Lasher and Tara has asked Amy to be her maid-of-honor. Before vows are exchanged, Amy walks in on Stuart and her best friend in bed and to make it worse, the two cheaters marrry. Amy has moved on (after years of therapy) and is enjoying a successful career as a publicity director when who should she run into in the street - you guessed it - Tara. Tara has just ...more
Spazfungus
The book was fun for the first 224 pages. Though the plot wasn't original [Amy finds Tara(best friend/maid of honor) horizontally attached to her fiancee Stuart, 2wks before her wedding. 4yrs of therapy later, Amy suddenly sees Tara(now Mrs. Stuart) again and is ordered by her boss to promote Tara's new book, revenge plots ensue:] It was entertaining, especially since the author decided to write the betrayal from both Amy and Tara's point of view... Then the author must have gone on vacation. Th ...more
Heather
One of the reviewers said something along the lines of: the author builds up a mystery but doesn't add any suspense, then she has a romance but doesn't add any details... That's kind of how I felt during the last quarter of this book. The beginning was enjoyable enough - fairly used story line, but new take on the subject and interesting to have both viewpoints. However, after setting up a pretty specific pace for the majority of the events, the author rushes through the last quarter like she ha ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 25 26 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Anglophile
  • Pen Pals
  • Invitation to Provence
  • Dating Without Novocaine
  • Love: A User's Guide: A Novel of Romance with Attitude
  • Spinning Disney's World: Memories of a Magic Kingdom Press Agent
  • Plum Girl
  • Original Cyn
  • Burning The Map
  • Lying to Meet You
  • More to Life Than This
  • Accidental It Girl
  • Secret Confessions of the Applewood PTA
  • Sleeping with Beauty (Glass Slipper, Inc., #3)
  • Be Our Guest: Perfecting the art of customer service
  • The Disney Way: Harnessing the Management Secrets of Disney in Your Company
  • Adrian Lessons
  • Just Say Yes. Phillipa Ashley
8267
Jane Heller, a New York native who migrated to Santa Barbara, is the author of 13 novels of romantic comedy, including "Name Dropping," "Lucky Stars," and "Princess Charming." Nine of Heller's novels have been optioned for film or television, and all of them have been translated in countries around the world and are now available in ebook editions. Her first book of nonfiction, "Confessions of a S ...more
More about Jane Heller...
Female Intelligence Name Dropping Some Nerve Sis Boom Bah An Ex To Grind: A Novel

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »