Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Black Mirror” as Want to Read:
Black Mirror
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Black Mirror

by
3.48 of 5 stars 3.48  ·  rating details  ·  632 ratings  ·  68 reviews
Frances Leventhal's brother Daniel has committed suicide at the exclusive Pettengill School. But there is more to his death than meets the eye...
Unknown Binding
Published by Not Avail (first published October 28th 2001)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Black Mirror, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Black Mirror

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
Boarding School Stories
149th out of 414 books — 562 voters
The Host by Stephenie MeyerFirelight by Sophie JordanDeadly Cool by Gemma HallidayNightshade by Andrea CremerVanish by Sophie Jordan
best "eye" on the cover
352nd out of 659 books — 1,528 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,215)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Sandra
I have to say this book was really amazing...how could one character be so similar to me growing up? I'm half japanese, suffered ridicule as a teen for how I looked, my build was umm...very voluptuous, I wore big slouchy clothes to hide my body, I avoided the mirror, would sometimes have outbursts in school, and had and still have painful cycles...I too retreated into my art class and often the library...I was very much a loaner in my own right...I did have friends...but no one I would consider ...more
Mirrani
I had a very difficult time putting down Black Mirror, not necessarily because I was held at the edge of my seat with suspense, but because the characters were so real that I simply could not let them go. Reading this book I felt as if I was listening to a friend tell the story of some intense drama that happened to them in the past week and the emotion behind the characters pulled me even deeper into the story.

The main character, Francis, tells the events as they happen, in the first person. It
...more
Lauren
I would not recommend the book "Black Mirror" by Nancy Werlin to anyone. I would give the book "Black Mirror" a 1 out of 5 stars. Throughout the book, the author keeps it unexciting with no action or specific plot. The only information that explains what the book is supposed to be based on is the last ten pages. Nancy Werlin writes; "Bubbe, my father's mother, was of course a Leventhal only by marriage. Her statement felt to me like the curse of an evil fairy."(page 3) "I had a couple of morning ...more
Judy
Frances, the main character, is a scholarship student at Pettengill, a boarding school. The book begins with her brother's death, and how she is dealing with her grief. She attempts to join the club that her brother was passionately involved in at Pettengill - Unity, and starts to discover the sinister secrets behind this club.

I thought this was a suspenseful and enjoyable read. Much of the book is built on perceptions. There is Frances' perception of herself: "...you are not going to be a dain
...more
Yolanda
I just finished this book and was not all that impressed. The begining and some what of the middle dragged on for me. I feel as though, that the reason for this was to try to make the ending a little more interesting then it actually was. I did like the mysteriousness of this story, although i don't really like mystery at all. I would recommend this book if you like drugs, murdre and mystery, but if you like books that get to the point and don't drag on, I would look beyond t his one and keep lo ...more
Sandy
Frances had issues with coping. She couldn’t cope with herself, with others and then when her brother dies she couldn’t cope that that either. Instead of hiding which was her normal coping mechanism she does the opposite and slowly starts to break out of her shell. Hard as that is, she learns a little about herself and the world around her. When her brother dies unexpectantly of a drug overdose she blames herself and later on she realizes she didn’t really know her brother as well as she thought ...more
Sue
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sarah Terese *Kili!*
This book is not exactly fabulous.

I'd like to leave the book at that, but I find that I can't. The need is too strong: I MUST review it.

My first problem with it? Frances herself. I found that I could NOT relate to her or her view of teenagers at all. I go to a very public school, and although drugs are a very obvious issue here, I don't think they are as hugely spread through the teenage community as the author suggests. I also am a light skinned, blue eyed 17-year-old. I'm tall, but extremely
...more
Carmen Yeung
Frances is an unique girl to me, because she would do anything for her own brother, Daniel. Even though she is really self centered, she still manage to try to join the unity because of Daniel. In the beginning, Daniel was known as being murdered. Frances would blame everyone about it, but she never knew that Daniel was killed beacuse of her. Daniel tried to protect Frances and was murdered by his own girlfriend Saskia. Daniel was finding out facts about Saskia about Patrick. Saskia had to find ...more
Anjali
Black Mirror narrates the story of a sixteen-year-old girl Frances Leventhal whose brother committed suicide. Somehow she feels responsible, feeling she shouldn't have been wrapped up in her own self-hate and misery and realised that her brother was hurting. This is the second of Nancy Werlin's novels I have read, the first being The Killer's Cousin which was enjoyable. This novel was edging on slightly too boring and quite disappointing compared to The Killer's cousin, the character of Frances, ...more
Ryan
I like Werlin's characters and her stories. There is a coming-of-age-ness to this book. Frances was basically abandoned by both parents - her mother left to join a Buddhist monastery and her father is plainly depressed - and as the book opens, she is coping with the death of her brother. He was, she says, her best friend. Her only friend. She is different - not all Asian, not all Jewish, not all anything. Just in between and being in between is tough, lonely. But sometimes the alone is good. I l ...more
Rain Misoa
May 27, 2014 Rain Misoa rated it 1 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: To those curious about the story.
Recommended to Rain by: Library
Not a fan of this book. I couldn't even finish it because I felt that the story was bland and the characters a bit mediocre. If you are curious about it, give it a shot. Just because I didn't like it doesn't mean you won't.

To read my full review, click here.
Molly
A misfit at an elite private school, Frances Leventhal is shocked when her brother is found dead of a drug overdose. She soon becomes drawn into a school charity called Unity, run by a shady CEO and wunderkid. I did not find it to be an edge of your seat thriller, but it was a reasonably good mystery for ages 13-16.
Audrey Ettinger
This novel felt much less original than her other work; I love Double Helix so much that I've taught it in college courses, and Impossible is just delightful. This is a fairly tedious mystery where (ooooh!) some of the good guys turn out to be bad, some of the "bad guys" are really good, and the parents are useless.
Cherylann
I swore that I wasn't going to read dark books for a while. I was only going to read funny books that made me laugh and were light and enjoyable. And then I realized that there was one book by Werlin that I hadn't read. How could that be, I wondered. So I began Black Mirror. It is dark. Or at least it begins with a tragic event. And as the novel unfolds the reader learns that everything they think (and Frances, the protagonist) thinks about Pettengill School, her classmates, and her brother are ...more
Kara Ripley
A good YA mystery is pretty hard to find.

This was a pretty good one although it seemed to just kind of ended. Stuff was starting to build and then it was over. I wish the building had continued for 50 more pages at least.
Stacey
This book was in deed suspenseful. Francis, a young teenage girl going through things that most teenagers do feel like she is never noticed. Who wouldn't when you live with a bad father and your mother left in order to find her inner self- not caring much for her children at all- but for herself and her hopeful future. Francis' brother Daniel commits suicide and Frances blames the guilt on herself. It isn't till long that she begins a journey to solve the mystery of her dead brother and what cou ...more
Cynthia
I really enjoyed reading this book because it had a good mystery to solve. It starts off as Frances being insecure about herself because all her life her grandmother told her that she was never gonna be as pretty and secure like her, from then on she promised herself that she was never gonna look in a mirror again. The only friend Frances had was her brother who unfortunately died from an overdose, but Frances thinks it very suspicious because her brother hand't done drugs for a very long time. ...more
Allysa
I adore this book!!!!!!
I was just casually strolling through the library, when i noticed this book. never heard of the author.....so i decided to try it, best decision ever.
When reading this book, be sure to look for some hints the author drops to foretell the ending. I feel this book is best recommended for those who have some previous knowledge about Buddhism, and a also some knowledge about the Jewish religion.
(THE MAIN REASON I RATED THIS BOOK A 5 IS BECAUSE A CHARACTER'S NAME WAS ALLYSA. SH
...more
Kewpie
Frances and her brother attended an exclusive prep school on scholarship. While she didn’t fit in or feel comfortable, her brother had a large friendly group of friends connected to a charity organization. When he suddenly dies of a heroin overdose, Frances joins his organization to get to know his friends better. Instead of befriending them, she becomes suspicious that her brother might have been murdered – and the club was involved somehow in his the crime. Readalikes: Readalikes : Speak by La ...more
Veazey
2.5 Rating.

This book was very mild. It wasn't bad, I did enjoy it, it just wasn't nearly as thrilling or exciting as I anticipated. I enjoyed the characterization and overall plot. I also liked how Werlin writes her character's interactions. It was just a little too dull. It wasn't dull enough for me to put it down, I'm glad I finished it, I was just expecting something a little bit more.

Normally I can drone on and on about a book, but this one...sadly, I just don't have that much to say about i
...more
Shane
I had to read this for school recently. I hated it so much! Frances was all depressed about loosing her pothead brother Daniel, so she goes in his room and smokes Pot and cries about it. She is such a frickin' dope, and she was very unlikable to me. She also had a cliché romance with a drug dealer. The setting was unknown to me, but in a very cloudy, snowy, depressing area. I didn't learn any lesson or gather any entertainment from this book. If you are a bi-polar, whiney pot head, go ahead and ...more
Sarah Dickson
Black mirror was alright but not necessarily amazing. Although it only took a few hours to read those hours seemed to last quite some time since it was not very fast paced at all. The climax was also rather disappointing as I kept reading in the hopes that there would be a big dramatic mystery revealed but it fell quite short. I guess to sum up my experience, I read forty pages then put it down to finish my other books before forcing myself to finish. I'm very easily pleased so that, in and of i ...more
Meredith
I have of history of loving/being totally frustrated by Nancy Werlin books, so I'm excited for this one!

It's not my favorite of Nancy Werlin's books, but it was still good. In tone, it was pretty similar to The Killer's Cousin, but I enjoyed the mystery and the conclusion more in that book. Still there were aspects of this book that really surprised me (in a good way), and I read it all in only about two days, because I really wanted to find out what happened.
Roslyn
This is the third Nancy Werlin book I have read, but it definitely is not a favorite. Frances Leventhal is half Jewish half Japanese. She is a loner and definitely not comfortable with who she is - actually I don't even think she knows who she is. Her brother dies from a drug overdose. Frances takes his death very hard and yet she believes that his death was not a suicide. Werlin's books have strong characters that can analyze themselves and their situations.
Rebecca
While it took a bit to get into the full story here, there wasn't any point in the book where I wanted to stop reading it. At first, I wasn't sure I was going to like it - it was one of those stories that starts after a huge event, and you don't fully understand until the end. I'm not too fond of those types of plot but this one I hugely enjoyed. It was totally not what I expected but I loved it. Towards the end especially it became very hard for me to put it down.
Kimathy
Mar 29, 2010 Kimathy rated it 1 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: no one
Recommended to Kimathy by: no one
im sorry i just only got to page 5 and could not like it, it wasn't me. i mean people in the supermarket trying to figure out your ethnicity in front of you? i dont like it, its not really realistic, i dont know any people who would do that and i definitely can't picture the character in my head, is she Asian? is she African? i dont freaking know! lol...my opinion? it might be good but if i dislike to beginning that much it's probably not.
Charity
May 17, 2011 Charity rated it 2 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Charity by: My friend Daly
I completely despised the ending, it made me angry just like the ending in Extraordinary. Also, I guessed who James was after his encounter in the woods so I kept reading to see why he was there, that was about the only part I liked. Saskia was not a believable character nor her name, I don’t even know if I pronounce her name correctly. I can’t imagine a person not showing any remorse for what she did to Daniel.
Luna
Maybe a 2.5? I waffled between a 2 and a 3 for this one. I've loved all of Werlin's books I've read before this but this was my least favorite. I didn't connect with the main character at all--I didn't like most of the characters, other than Andy. I felt the mystery was a little odd... And it seemed strange that drug use was that rampant at a boarding school. Some things about the final reveal surprised me, though.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 40 41 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Hiroshima Dreams
  • Now You See Me
  • Murdered, My Sweet
  • Maizon at Blue Hill
  • The Presence: A Ghost Story
  • Kissing the Rain
  • Tagged
  • Nothing But the Truth (and a few white lies)
  • Wolf Rider
  • Flip-flop Girl
  • Drita, My Homegirl
  • The Dark Pond
  • Brendan Buckley's Universe and Everything in It
  • Gentlehands
  • Damage
  • Singing Stone
  • Nothing to Lose
63983
Nancy Werlin writes young adult fiction: New York Times–bestselling fantasy, Edgar-award winning suspense, and National Book Award-honored realistic novels.

Nancy's newest book is UNTHINKABLE, the sequel to IMPOSSIBLE and EXTRAORDINARY.
More about Nancy Werlin...
Impossible (Impossible, #1) The Rules of Survival Extraordinary Double Helix The Killer's Cousin

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“Jews put black over mirrors during times os mourning so they wouldn't think about themselves. But I never did look in mirrors anyway, because I disliked myself. No, wait. I disliked my appearance.” 6 likes
“I walked out. I left. Andy Jankowski had taught me how.” 3 likes
More quotes…