Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Devil May Cry, Volume 1” as Want to Read:
Devil May Cry, Volume 1
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Devil May Cry, Volume 1 (Devil May Cry)

4.1  ·  Rating Details ·  632 Ratings  ·  17 Reviews
Tony is a rough-and-tumble jack-of-all-trades with a haunted past. His encounter with Gilver, a mysterious swordsman swathed in bandages, changes his life dramatically for the worse. Tony is thrust into the dark underworld of an unsolvable case, separated from his partner and his loved ones, and pushed over the edge of desperation. Who's forcing him into a corner? What do ...more
Paperback, 206 pages
Published October 31st 2006 by TokyoPop (first published June 13th 2006)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Devil May Cry, Volume 1, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Devil May Cry, Volume 1

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Justyna
Jul 13, 2016 Justyna rated it really liked it
I just finished reading. I waited over half a year to lay my hands on the Devil May Cry novel. And I can say it was worth all the waiting. I enjoyed it in 100%.

For those who haven't read it. Tony Redgrave is a mercenary, but he doesn't take on whatever job that is offered. Thanks to his unusual strength he is considered to be the best, and thus gets most of the offers. However he's position changes when Gilver appears in Bobby's Cellar. And from that day nothing looks the same. From the first pa
...more
Meghan
Nov 13, 2012 Meghan rated it really liked it
Shelves: library-borrowed
This is my first time reading a book like this, and I really enjoyed it. It feels a lot like reading Manga, which I've done quite a bit of, but obviously in this case there is a lot more words then there are pictures. But if you are into the Manga scene, I'm sure you would enjoy this!

Devil May Cry was an action packed story full of darkness, hate, evil and all those gloomy details. It definitely stands out from most YA genre books. There is no softness, romance, happiness, sunshine, none of that
...more
Morgan
Feb 13, 2008 Morgan rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: any one who like anime,scifi,video games
Story:
Tony Redgrave is just trying to enjoy his life as the best mercenary in town with his partner and friend Grue when these pesky demons keep showing up and trying to kill him. Soon a mysterious swordsman by the name of Gilver comes into town and begins working with Tony on jobs that become increasingly violent and dangerous. Not long after Tony's friends begin disappearing one by one. Until finally there is only Tony and Gilver. It soon becomes clear that Gilver is behind all of the recent t
...more
Charles
Jul 05, 2008 Charles rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of DMC and Dante's Inferno
Shelves: survival-horror
Along came a Japanese pop novel based on the video game series Devil May Cry (which is based on Dante's Inferno). Expecting a bad translation and a trash pop novel, I discovered something so much more. A beautifully woven novel that builds intricate characters with pasts and personalities that make them insanely lovable. Although the novel does become a little bit unrealistic at times, it's overall extremely enjoyable. When I read this I wept, smiled, laughed, and finished it in practically one ...more
Whitney
Nov 25, 2010 Whitney rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Devil May Cry Fans, new or old. Those who enjoy action.
This book is so sad at the, but it's worth the read. I have been waiting for it for a long time and then I got the book and I was so happy. It explains about his past and probably why he isn't very close to anyone in the games. Yeah he might have some friends, but he doesn't have friend like families like Grue, Jessica or Nell, because if he gets to close to them, they end up being hurt or killed... I love the book and all of those who love Devil May Cry be it die-hard fans like me, or beginners ...more
Pablo
Sep 07, 2009 Pablo rated it it was amazing
Dante is Half demon and half human, he is charged with ridding the world of the demons that plague it...for the right price. The doors to his business, Devil May Cry, are always open to those with money in pocket, and occasionally to some without. Dante is approached by a man named Morrison to deliver a young heiress Patty to her inheritance. He thinks it's a job not worthy of his time - that is, until a group of demons intent on killing Patty crash the party. With guns drawn and sword ready by ...more
Rosie
May 18, 2016 Rosie rated it it was amazing
A great, fast read. Was really easy to read and a pleasure to read. Would like to bring attention to the
Nice touches throughout the book, I.e a page of manga every two or so chapters though out the book as well as an image of the Sword Rebellion instead of an eclipse to paragraph break "..." five stars.
Kayleigh Brewton
Jan 04, 2016 Kayleigh Brewton rated it really liked it
I am a big fan of the games so naturally when I saw this book i had to get it. Its a fast read considering its a bit less than 300 pages but it's still a good read. The first book is mostly what you would consider a prequel. I really enjoyed this and believe most fans might like this book just to have a little extra story on Dante.
Jessica Morgan
Jessica Morgan rated it it was amazing
Aug 05, 2014
Plum Coyle
Plum Coyle rated it liked it
May 31, 2016
Rikyo
Rikyo rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2013
Katherine Scheck
Katherine Scheck rated it really liked it
May 19, 2014
Khurram Alavi
Khurram Alavi rated it liked it
Jan 05, 2017
Reni
Reni rated it really liked it
Jul 26, 2013
Nico Nebula
Nico Nebula rated it it was amazing
May 31, 2015
Joshua
Joshua rated it it was amazing
Jan 26, 2013
Florencia Cubilla
Florencia Cubilla rated it it was amazing
Dec 04, 2014
Jossette
Jossette rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2016
Kyle Wendt
Kyle Wendt rated it really liked it
Nov 08, 2011
Chris
Chris rated it it was amazing
Jan 14, 2015
MC
MC rated it really liked it
Sep 18, 2011
Craig6844
Craig6844 rated it liked it
Nov 15, 2014
Kooky Panda
Kooky Panda rated it it was amazing
Jul 27, 2013
Erika Mclean
Erika Mclean rated it it was ok
May 15, 2012
Martin
Martin rated it liked it
Feb 18, 2012
Stephy
Stephy rated it liked it
Aug 09, 2012
Anthony Mackenzie
Anthony Mackenzie rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2013
LtFox
LtFox rated it really liked it
Feb 12, 2014
Vergil
Vergil rated it it was amazing
Jul 07, 2010
Tina
Tina rated it liked it
Apr 13, 2008
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Code 1: Dante (Devil May Cry 3, #1)
  • From the Empire (Trinity Blood: Rage Against the Moons, #1)
  • Trinity Blood, Vol. 3
  • Deadpool's Art of War
  • Vampire Hunter D Volume 07: Mysterious Journey to the North Sea - Part One
  • Calling You
  • Princess Ai: The Prism of Midnight Dawn, Volume 1 (Princess Ai, #4)
  • Blood+ Adagio, Vol. 01 (Blood+ Adagio, #1)
  • .hack // AI Buster (AI Buster, #2)
  • Hands Off!, Volume 1
  • Borderlands: The Fallen
  • X (3-in-1 Edition), Vol. 3
  • Blood: The Last Vampire 2002
  • Princess Ai: Evolution (Princess Ai, #3)

Other Books in the Series

Devil May Cry (2 books)
  • Devil May Cry: Volume 2

Share This Book