Devil May Cry, Volume 1
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Devil May Cry, Volume 1

4.03 of 5 stars 4.03  ·  rating details  ·  458 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Tony is a rough-and-tumble jack-of-all-trades with a haunted past. His encounter with Gilver, a mysterious swordsman swathed in bandages, changes his life dramatically for the worse. Tony is thrust into the dark underworld of an unsolvable case, separated from his partner and his loved ones, and pushed over the edge of desperation. Who's forcing him into a corner? What do...more
Paperback, 206 pages
Published October 31st 2006 by TokyoPop
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Devil May Cry, Volume 1, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Devil May Cry, Volume 1

Halo by Eric S. NylundAssassin's Creed by Oliver BowdenBioShock by John ShirleyAssassin's Creed by Oliver BowdenAssassin's Creed by Oliver Bowden
Video Game Novels/Trades
38th out of 182 books — 201 voters
Ouran High School Host Club, Vol. 01 by Bisco HatoriDeath Note, Vol. 1 by Tsugumi OhbaVampire Knight, Vol. 01 by Matsuri HinoKingdom Hearts, Vol. 1 by Shiro AmanoCardcaptor Sakura, Vol. 1 by CLAMP
List of Awesome Manga/Graphic Novels!
63rd out of 337 books — 136 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,075)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Meghan
This is my first time reading a book like this, and I really enjoyed it. It feels a lot like reading Manga, which I've done quite a bit of, but obviously in this case there is a lot more words then there are pictures. But if you are into the Manga scene, I'm sure you would enjoy this!

Devil May Cry was an action packed story full of darkness, hate, evil and all those gloomy details. It definitely stands out from most YA genre books. There is no softness, romance, happiness, sunshine, none of that...more
Justyna
I just finished reading. I waited over half a year to lay my hands on the Devil May Cry novel. And I can say it was worth all the waiting. I enjoyed it in 100%.

For those who haven't read it. Tony Redgrave is a mercenary, but he doesn't take on whatever job that is offered. Thanks to his unusual strength he is considered to be the best, and thus gets most of the offers. However he's position changes when Gilver appears in Bobby's Cellar. And from that day nothing looks the same. From the first pa...more
Morgan
Feb 13, 2008 Morgan rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: any one who like anime,scifi,video games
Story:
Tony Redgrave is just trying to enjoy his life as the best mercenary in town with his partner and friend Grue when these pesky demons keep showing up and trying to kill him. Soon a mysterious swordsman by the name of Gilver comes into town and begins working with Tony on jobs that become increasingly violent and dangerous. Not long after Tony's friends begin disappearing one by one. Until finally there is only Tony and Gilver. It soon becomes clear that Gilver is behind all of the recent t...more
Charles
Jul 05, 2008 Charles rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of DMC and Dante's Inferno
Shelves: survival-horror
Along came a Japanese pop novel based on the video game series Devil May Cry (which is based on Dante's Inferno). Expecting a bad translation and a trash pop novel, I discovered something so much more. A beautifully woven novel that builds intricate characters with pasts and personalities that make them insanely lovable. Although the novel does become a little bit unrealistic at times, it's overall extremely enjoyable. When I read this I wept, smiled, laughed, and finished it in practically one...more
Whitney
Nov 25, 2010 Whitney rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Devil May Cry Fans, new or old. Those who enjoy action.
This book is so sad at the, but it's worth the read. I have been waiting for it for a long time and then I got the book and I was so happy. It explains about his past and probably why he isn't very close to anyone in the games. Yeah he might have some friends, but he doesn't have friend like families like Grue, Jessica or Nell, because if he gets to close to them, they end up being hurt or killed... I love the book and all of those who love Devil May Cry be it die-hard fans like me, or beginners...more
Daantee
May 27, 2014 Daantee marked it as to-read
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Pablo
Dante is Half demon and half human, he is charged with ridding the world of the demons that plague it...for the right price. The doors to his business, Devil May Cry, are always open to those with money in pocket, and occasionally to some without. Dante is approached by a man named Morrison to deliver a young heiress Patty to her inheritance. He thinks it's a job not worthy of his time - that is, until a group of demons intent on killing Patty crash the party. With guns drawn and sword ready by...more
Kaylee Goodwin
Awsome I loved the horror and Dante wow awsome dude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jonathan
A very good story based on a popular video game.
Cathy  Keaton
Review on Oct. 17, 2011.
Michael Kelly
oh yeah this was awesome
Jeo
Jeo marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2014
Megan
Megan marked it as to-read
Sep 21, 2014
Ethan
Ethan marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2014
Laura
Laura marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2014
Riski-kan Ma'arif
Riski-kan Ma'arif is currently reading it
Sep 14, 2014
Iftekhar
Iftekhar marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2014
Mike
Mike marked it as to-read
Sep 12, 2014
Hilary
Hilary marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2014
Victoria
Victoria marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2014
Artem Elagin
Artem Elagin marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 35 36 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Princess Ai: The Prism of Midnight Dawn, Volume 1 (Princess Ai, #4)
  • Trinity Blood: Reborn on the Mars, Volume 1: The Star of Sorrow
  • Hack//Another Birth, Volume 1: Infection
  • .hack // AI Buster (AI Buster, #2)
  • Gravitation: Voice of Temptation
  • Cowboy Bebop, Vol. 2
  • Princess Ai: Evolution (Princess Ai, #3)
  • Hellsing, Vol. 10 (Hellsing, #10)
  • Saiyuki Reload, Volume 9
  • Juvenile Orion, Volume 3
  • Blood+, Vol. 05 (Blood+, #5)
  • .hack//XXXX, Volume 1 (.hack//XXXX, #1)
  • The Dark-Hunters, Vol. 3 (Dark-Hunter Manga, #3)
  • Vampire Hunter D Volume 07: Mysterious Journey to the North Sea - Part One
Devil May Cry: Volume 2

Share This Book