Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Devil May Cry, Volume 1” as Want to Read:
Devil May Cry, Volume 1
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Devil May Cry, Volume 1

4.08 of 5 stars 4.08  ·  rating details  ·  527 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Tony is a rough-and-tumble jack-of-all-trades with a haunted past. His encounter with Gilver, a mysterious swordsman swathed in bandages, changes his life dramatically for the worse. Tony is thrust into the dark underworld of an unsolvable case, separated from his partner and his loved ones, and pushed over the edge of desperation. Who's forcing him into a corner? What do ...more
Paperback, 206 pages
Published October 31st 2006 by TokyoPop
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Devil May Cry, Volume 1, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Devil May Cry, Volume 1

Halo by Eric S. NylundAssassin's Creed by Oliver BowdenBioShock by John ShirleyAssassin's Creed by Oliver BowdenAssassin's Creed by Oliver Bowden
Video Game Novels/Trades
53rd out of 196 books — 232 voters
Ouran High School Host Club, Vol. 1 by Bisco HatoriDeath Note, Vol. 1 by Tsugumi OhbaVampire Knight, Vol. 1 by Matsuri HinoKingdom Hearts, Vol. 1 by Shiro AmanoFruits Basket, Vol. 1 by Natsuki Takaya
List of Awesome Manga/Graphic Novels!
73rd out of 344 books — 153 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,224)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Meghan
This is my first time reading a book like this, and I really enjoyed it. It feels a lot like reading Manga, which I've done quite a bit of, but obviously in this case there is a lot more words then there are pictures. But if you are into the Manga scene, I'm sure you would enjoy this!

Devil May Cry was an action packed story full of darkness, hate, evil and all those gloomy details. It definitely stands out from most YA genre books. There is no softness, romance, happiness, sunshine, none of that
...more
Justyna
I just finished reading. I waited over half a year to lay my hands on the Devil May Cry novel. And I can say it was worth all the waiting. I enjoyed it in 100%.

For those who haven't read it. Tony Redgrave is a mercenary, but he doesn't take on whatever job that is offered. Thanks to his unusual strength he is considered to be the best, and thus gets most of the offers. However he's position changes when Gilver appears in Bobby's Cellar. And from that day nothing looks the same. From the first pa
...more
Morgan
Feb 13, 2008 Morgan rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: any one who like anime,scifi,video games
Story:
Tony Redgrave is just trying to enjoy his life as the best mercenary in town with his partner and friend Grue when these pesky demons keep showing up and trying to kill him. Soon a mysterious swordsman by the name of Gilver comes into town and begins working with Tony on jobs that become increasingly violent and dangerous. Not long after Tony's friends begin disappearing one by one. Until finally there is only Tony and Gilver. It soon becomes clear that Gilver is behind all of the recent t
...more
Charles
Jul 05, 2008 Charles rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of DMC and Dante's Inferno
Shelves: survival-horror
Along came a Japanese pop novel based on the video game series Devil May Cry (which is based on Dante's Inferno). Expecting a bad translation and a trash pop novel, I discovered something so much more. A beautifully woven novel that builds intricate characters with pasts and personalities that make them insanely lovable. Although the novel does become a little bit unrealistic at times, it's overall extremely enjoyable. When I read this I wept, smiled, laughed, and finished it in practically one ...more
Whitney
Nov 25, 2010 Whitney rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Devil May Cry Fans, new or old. Those who enjoy action.
This book is so sad at the, but it's worth the read. I have been waiting for it for a long time and then I got the book and I was so happy. It explains about his past and probably why he isn't very close to anyone in the games. Yeah he might have some friends, but he doesn't have friend like families like Grue, Jessica or Nell, because if he gets to close to them, they end up being hurt or killed... I love the book and all of those who love Devil May Cry be it die-hard fans like me, or beginners ...more
Daantee
May 27, 2014 Daantee marked it as to-read
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Pablo
Dante is Half demon and half human, he is charged with ridding the world of the demons that plague it...for the right price. The doors to his business, Devil May Cry, are always open to those with money in pocket, and occasionally to some without. Dante is approached by a man named Morrison to deliver a young heiress Patty to her inheritance. He thinks it's a job not worthy of his time - that is, until a group of demons intent on killing Patty crash the party. With guns drawn and sword ready by ...more
Kaylee Goodwin
Awsome I loved the horror and Dante wow awsome dude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jonathan
A very good story based on a popular video game.
Cathy  Keaton
Review on Oct. 17, 2011.
Michael Kelly
oh yeah this was awesome
Anna
Anna is currently reading it
May 04, 2015
Emiya Shiro
Emiya Shiro marked it as to-read
May 03, 2015
Usagi
Usagi marked it as to-read
May 03, 2015
Renthroh
Renthroh marked it as to-read
May 01, 2015
Angie
Angie marked it as to-read
Apr 27, 2015
Stanley Faris
Stanley Faris marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2015
Peter John
Peter John marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2015
Alina
Alina marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2015
Vanessa Chase
Vanessa Chase marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 40 41 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Code 1: Dante (Devil May Cry 3, #1)
  • Princess Ai: The Prism of Midnight Dawn, Volume 1 (Princess Ai, #4)
  • From the Empire (Trinity Blood: Rage Against the Moons, #1)
  • Hands Off!, Volume 1
  • Blood+ Adagio, Vol. 01 (Blood+ Adagio, #1)
  • Princess Ai: Evolution (Princess Ai, #3)
  • Gravitation: Voice of Temptation
  • .hack // AI Buster (AI Buster, #2)
  • Cowboy Bebop, Vol. 2
  • Juvenile Orion, Volume 4
  • Dragon Knights, Volume 2
  • Saiyuki Reload, Volume 9
  • Hack//Another Birth, Volume 1: Infection
  • The Cain Saga, Volume 4: The Seal of the Red Ram, Part 2
  • The Dark-Hunters, Vol. 4 (Dark-Hunter Manga, #4)
Devil May Cry: Volume 2

Share This Book