Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hellblazer: Fear and Loathing” as Want to Read:
Hellblazer: Fear and Loathing
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hellblazer: Fear and Loathing (Hellblazer Collection #2)

by
4.15  ·  Rating Details  ·  2,887 Ratings  ·  27 Reviews
Cynical mystic John Constantine has dealt with the dangers of magic and mysticism firsthand. Even with his mastery of the dark arts, he has tasted death many times and barely survived. So when he learns that his niece has decided to follow his dangerous career path, he knows that even greater trouble awaits him. But not even he is prepared for what lies ahead, as he finds ...more
Paperback, 160 pages
Published February 1st 1997 by Vertigo (first published 1993)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hellblazer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Hellblazer

The Hobbit by J.R.R. TolkienThe Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. TolkienThe Odyssey by HomerOn the Road by Jack KerouacThe Road by Cormac McCarthy
Road Trip
152nd out of 304 books — 197 voters
Storm Front by Jim ButcherHounded by Kevin HearneChanges by Jim ButcherSummer Knight by Jim ButcherDead Beat by Jim Butcher
Urban Fantasy With Male Lead Characters
398th out of 625 books — 1,137 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Quentin Wallace
Mar 15, 2016 Quentin Wallace rated it really liked it
I didn't realize how good the Ennis Hellblazer stories were until recently. I read some of the volumes years ago, but now that I'm working my way through the Hellblazer collection I'm seeing just how good Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon were on Hellblazer before they got to Preacher.

This volume really makes you see Constantine is a true anti-hero, as he's not really the nicest guy. He's like a cop that's a total jerk but would still sacrifice his life in the line of the duty to save others. He's a
...more
Michelle Morrell
Jul 12, 2015 Michelle Morrell rated it really liked it
I have long wanted to read my way through the Hellblazer series, John Constantine is one of my favorite comic characters, up there with Spider Jerusalem. But I'd read him in all sorts of other formats and series: Sandman, Lucifer, Swamp Thing, the movie and more, only once in his own books, the very first one. I know enough about the world and stories to feel comfortable picking one at random. I chose this one because of the Hunter S Thompson reference, and because it's Constantine struggling wi ...more
Shannon Appelcline
Oct 11, 2015 Shannon Appelcline rated it it was amazing
End of the Line (62). Nice to see the continuing continuity of Gemma. Beyond that, this is Constantine as his trickster best [7+/10].

Forty (63). A nice look at Constantine's current supporting cast, but beyond that it's a pretty shallow story largely built on jokes [6/10].

Fear & Loathing (64-66). This arc is shocking and horrifying. It shows Constantine at his best and at his worst, and his gives some of his supporting cast (especially Kit!) a real chance to shine. It's one of Ennis' best [8
...more
Mike Cruden
Jan 30, 2015 Mike Cruden rated it really liked it
This is Garth Ennis at his best, with an excellent combination of the supernatural and political with a generous sprinkling of humour throughout. The story concerning Constantine's fortieth birthday is a gem, featuring interesting guests and copious amounts of alcohol. The story arc centring on racism and racists contains some of Ennis' most cutting and hard-impact plotting and writing. Steve Dillon's artwork is also excellent, so effective in carrying the story, lovely to look at but devoid of ...more
Christian
Mar 03, 2014 Christian rated it really liked it
Sentimental Garth Ennis, which means only one person gets a knife in the dick & there's lots of swearing & fighting in the rain.
Lisa
Sep 09, 2015 Lisa rated it liked it
This was interesting since it filled in some of the Gaps I had developed reading these comics out of order. I liked seeing Gabriel but this universes Gabriel is not the real one (The real one from supernatural :) ) and I don't think he actions would have cause any trouble at all with God in the real world.
Krystl Louwagie
Sep 22, 2011 Krystl Louwagie rated it liked it
I read this because it was written by Garth Ennis, whom I've got a reading crush on. It was cool to read some of the Constantine comic line, but this is very late in the game-in fact, John Constantine turns 40 in this graphic novel! It's collected comics, but doesn't really follow one major plot throughout, just small stories that go in order. I'd prefer it the other way. Since I don't know much about the Constantine storyline, I was probably missing a lot. Reading the earlier core Constantine c ...more
Andrew
Mar 08, 2012 Andrew rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another of Garth Ennis's books and a brilliant read. This however shows the problem seen with other Constantine books - and which was in fact described in the first volume i read of Hellblazer. The problem is that the stories are collected together instalments - many of them from disjointed story arcs not necessarily from the same time line - the result is that you do get the feeling the book is presented in episodes - like one of the saturday afternoon compilation episodes of your favourite soa ...more
Liam Jennings
Jan 27, 2014 Liam Jennings rated it it was amazing
A wonderful book. This is the book that made Constantine a comicbook mainstay. Smart, grotesque, witty and offensive, all the things that make a great read. Unless you're insulted by that, then I hold no responsibility.
Dan
Mar 06, 2015 Dan rated it liked it
Forty,fallen angels and love. Seems no one can get too close to Constantine.
Bosco Burns
Oct 24, 2014 Bosco Burns rated it liked it
Was alright but that Gabriel stuff didn't explain itself properly
Felix
Jun 10, 2009 Felix rated it it was amazing
Shelves: comics
One of the best Hellblazer collections out there. After a few (at least in hindsight) a bit disappointing issues (collected in the previous volume), that seem to be driven more by downright rudeness and laddish humour, Garth Ennis now starts to get the feel for the character and really gets going. Ennis and Steve Dillon are doing really well as a team, the artwork splendidly complementing the story-writing. This collection shows why Ennis/Dillon are by many fans considered to be the dream-team o ...more
Jules
Nov 19, 2012 Jules rated it it was ok
I don't really care for Ennis/Dillon Hellblazer, it reminds me too much like Preacher. Don't get me wrong, I love Preacher, but it's not John's style. Still, this volume had a few great storylines like the Fall of Gabriel, Kit kicking ass, Constantine family time, the racism-in-Britain and John's birthday. It just didn't really tie together into one big coherent story.

Also, I (view spoiler)
Lauri
Oct 23, 2014 Lauri rated it it was amazing
Hellblazer parhaimmillaan. Constantine'i alkohoolsete tagajärgedega lahkuminek oma iirlasest girlfriendist, mis omakorda on põhjustatud white power äässhõulide rünnakust Constantine'i vastu. Ohtralt graafilist vägivalda, mis tänu samale autori/kunstnikupaarile meenutab ilgelt "Preacherit", isegi mõned momendid tulevad tuttavad ette, sest on hiljem "Preacheris" veidike põhjalikumalt lahti töötatud.
Matt
Feb 20, 2012 Matt rated it really liked it
Shelves: hellblazer
Constantine's a wonderfully likable anti-hero. The way he maneuvers people and things in order to get what he wants, the way he never really likes who and what he is...it's all, somehow, massively likable. And this volume goes a long way toward showing it. The National Front story is excellent, as is John's 40th birthday and his confrontation with his niece. Just excellent stuff, all around.
Kirsten
Feb 16, 2008 Kirsten rated it really liked it
Is John Constantine going domestic? He's turning forty, settling in with his girlfriend Kit, and advising his niece Gemma to stay far, far away from ritual magic. Peace is always shortlived in the Hellblazer universe, however, and figures from his past are threatening to encroach on his happiness with Kit.
LemontreeLime
Jul 19, 2011 LemontreeLime rated it did not like it
Its very rare that I say this, but after finally reading the comic with one of the stories most heavily drawn upon for the movie, I have to admit the movie did a better job. This novel reminds me very much of the thomas hobbes quote "The life of man, solitary, poor, nasty, brutish, and short."
Morgan
Dec 24, 2012 Morgan rated it it was amazing
Gemma is a great character, and John's relationship has always been a wonderful counterpoint to his life and lifestyle. Plus, it has the Birthday Party issue. This is one of my favorite collections.
Ahimaaz R
Jan 06, 2010 Ahimaaz R rated it really liked it
Mundane setting even for Constantine but, sure, there is the twisted metaphysical horror. I like what Kit does to this basterd of a John!
Brendan Howard
Mar 05, 2012 Brendan Howard rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Fans of Trainspotting, Preacher, and urban horror
Shelves: comic-books
It's not the best Dillon and Ennis will put together, but it's their first yarns for Hellblazer, and it's a game-changer.
Marc
Aug 15, 2011 Marc rated it liked it
Listen to my review on V for Vertigo, Episode 115 at http://vforvertigo.blogspot.com or on iTunes.
Christopher
Jan 24, 2013 Christopher rated it liked it
Decent, but not great. Constantine does chainsaw an angels wings off. That's pretty cool.
Anne
Sep 11, 2008 Anne rated it it was ok
Shelves: graphic-novels
I was disappointed with this one. It just fell flat for me at the end.
Doug
May 23, 2010 Doug rated it did not like it
Shelves: graphic-novel
Don't waste your time - damaging to the spirit in my opinion.
Keith
Sep 19, 2012 Keith rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics
i think garth ennis's writing works better with a cartoon-y artist.
Frankie C
Jul 13, 2013 Frankie C rated it really liked it
Love Ennis and Dillon together. Nothing better.
Jeremy
Aug 15, 2012 Jeremy rated it it was ok
Skip it.
Martin
Martin rated it it was amazing
Jun 28, 2016
Dave
Dave rated it it was amazing
Jun 28, 2016
Fernando Cota
Fernando Cota rated it it was amazing
Jun 28, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Hellblazer: Rare Cuts
  • Hellblazer: Setting Sun
  • Hellblazer: Red Sepulchre
  • Hellblazer: Freezes Over
  • Hellblazer: The Laughing Magician
  • Hellblazer: The Red Right Hand
  • Hellblazer: Scab
  • Hellblazer: City of Demons
14965
Ennis began his comic-writing career in 1989 with the series Troubled Souls. Appearing in the short-lived but critically-acclaimed British anthology Crisis and illustrated by McCrea, it told the story of a young, apolitical Protestant man caught up by fate in the violence of the Irish 'Troubles'. It spawned a sequel, For a Few Troubles More, a broad Belfast-based comedy featuring two supporting ch ...more
More about Garth Ennis...

Other Books in the Series

Hellblazer Collection (5 books)
  • Hellblazer: Dangerous Habits
  • Hellblazer: Tainted Love
  • Hellblazer: Damnation's Flame
  • Hellblazer: Rake at the Gates of Hell

Share This Book