Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Star Of Danger (Darkover, #15)” as Want to Read:
Star Of Danger (Darkover, #15)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Star Of Danger (Darkover #15)

3.7 of 5 stars 3.70  ·  rating details  ·  1,238 ratings  ·  30 reviews
First published in 1965, Star of Danger is a work that stands as a foundation for the bestselling Darkover series, introducing many loyal fans to this wonderful, mysterious world. Two natives of Darkover are forced to combine Darkover matrix magic with Terran technology to stand against a shared enemy.
Mass Market Paperback, 213 pages
Published 1965 by Ace
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Star Of Danger, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Star Of Danger

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,954)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
mark monday
an entry in the Darkover cycle. pleasantly enjoyable overall, but also slim and rather forgettable. this one concerns Larry Montray, Terran, and his teen adventures on the wintry, semi-barbaric world of Darkover. those adventures come complete with assorted monsters & aliens, bullying street urchins & dastardly kidnapping bandits, psychic powers, a forest fire, an amusingly antagonistic bromance between our hero & an arrogant Darkovan lordling, and much contemplation & conversati...more
Valerie
I have two editions of this book, which is one of the earliest Darkover Books written, and was rewritten in a later edition, to bring it more in line with the series as it developed.

The rewriting is not very obvious in this title, and it's sometimes difficult to realize what has changed. But the copy I read this time is the earlier edition.

In terms of internal chronology, this is set during the childhood of Kennard Alton. At this time, Valdir Alton lived at Armida in winter, and (mostly) at the...more
Miriam
MZB does the Boys' Adventure Story much better than one would expect.
Valerie
I have two editions of this book: this one, and the 1985 edition with the blue cover (20 years after the first edition).

Based on other books in the series, it takes place after the Forbidden Tower moved to Mariposa Lake, on the acession of Valdir to the title of Lord Alton. Valdir was about 14 (Darkovan years are longer than Terran ones, so conversion is uncertain) at the time of The Forbidden Tower, and Valdir's father lived for some years afterward, with Damon Ridenow as both Valdir's and old...more
Lisa (Harmonybites)
Apr 21, 2010 Lisa (Harmonybites) rated it 3 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Darkover Fans
Recommended to Lisa (Harmonybites) by: Kenji
I'm a fan of Marion Zimmer Bradley, but my affection for her rests not on the Avalon books, which I didn't care for, but her Darkover series. Darkover is a "lost colony" of Earth that falls into a medieval society. Ruled by a psychic aristocracy after centuries it's rediscovered by a star-spanning high-tech human federation, giving the series a feel of both science fiction and fantasy. The series as a whole features strong female characters, (although not in this particular book) but it has enou...more
Mike Smith
This entry in the Darkover series is classified as a "juvenile" by the author (what is today called "teen fiction"). In other words, the hero is a teenager. But this straightforward action story has enough depth to appeal to adult readers too. Like most Darkover novels up to this point in the author's career, this one features a hero with identity issues and is unaware of certain important events in his own history.

As with all early Darkover novels, the main them is the clash between a modern, e...more
Kyleigh
The book was pretty good. I was a little disappointed with it mainly because I am used to MZB’s feminist literature and was expecting something more along the lines of that. There was only one female in the whole book and she had a very minor role. The book gave a too much away. In the beginning they tell you that the Darkovan people are humans (non-humans live there too) and speak a variation of early earthly languages. Then at the end you find out in a big revelation that the Darkovan humans a...more
Ken
It's been about ten days since I finished Star of Danger. I sat down to review it just now, and I drew a blank: I couldn't remember the story! Finding a synopsis on the web helped to remind me. But it does go to show that Star of Danger wasn't all that memorable.

When I began reading the Darkover books, I was hoping to immerse myself in a fascinating universe. So far, I'm only getting a wading pool. Well, that's not entirely fair: the world of Darkover actually is a fascinating creation. But, Br...more
Chuck
Continuing my Bradley kick. This is the "oldest," in terms of order written, of the Darkover series I've read so far, so I meet a number of characters I have met in other books when they are younger.

Typical of the Early darkover stuff, you have a Terran, Larry, who comes to Darkover and feels strangely at home. Although I love the Darkover series, Bradley's "trick" of having every Terran who is red headed turn out to be "reallY" Darkoveran is getting a bit transparent, although I wasn't surprise...more
Jeff Doten
In my late teens I became somewhat obsessed with the Darkover books, So reading this was a return a favorite series. I enjoyed some of it, particularly the first third with the spaceflight, arrival and early investigation of the new world. But it doesn't really live up the title Star of Danger. Typical of many novels time , there is little urgency to the events despite being captured by bandits, escaping giant predatory birds and being captured by Ewoks. As I said, I went through stage of readin...more
Surreysmum
[These notes were made in 1984:]. Chronologically, this novel comes late in Darkover's history, after the establishment of the Terran space colony, and as such is partly about cultural clashes and compromises. But since about the last half of the novel involves the wanderings through the Darkovan wilderness of a Terran (Larry Montray) and a Darkovan (Kennard), both young men, it is also primarily a bildungsroman, and is about male bonding. I enjoyed it very much indeed, and was interested to not...more
Marcello Tarot
L’inizio di una nuova era, in un certo senso

Con questo romanzo ambientato qualche anno dopo la riscoperta di Darkover, assistiamo alla base dell’evoluzione che la Bradley avrebbe voluto per i rapporti tra Darkover stesso e l’Impero Terrestre, cosa poi non verificatasi per via delle incongruenze fuori di testa scritte da Adrienne Martine-Barnes che – a modo suo – Deborah J. Ross sta cercando di correggere.
Ma questo a parte, il libro è meritevole perché, con la scusa dell’avventura vissuta dai du...more
Aerine
Ok, now I really understand why M. Bradley states repeatedly that these are all separate books in a shared reality. Some of the characters carry over yes. Valdir is the Alton lord who became a lord in Forbidden tower. However, he's "never met a terran who's come to Darkover terms". And his uncle IS terran, at least in Forbidden. There are other niggly things. I didn't notice any of this when I read them at the age of 14 or so... Still, if you ignore the fact that it fits/doesn't fit in the serie...more
Erin
I read this in one of the new MZB Darkover omnibus editions; can't remember what it's called, but it has this one, The Bloody Sun, and Winds of Darkover. This one's definitely not as developed as some of her later books, and it's very much a Boys' Own Adventure, starring Terran Larry Montray and Darkovan Kennard Alton, but I enjoyed it quite thoroughly anyhow.

This was actually my first read of this one, because some of the Darkover books used to be pretty hard to find before DAW did the omnibus...more
Christopher Sutch
This is a competent juvenile adventure novel in the tradition of Heinlein and Burroughs, as well as a fairly vital chapter in the history of Bradley's Darkover. Here she explores how the Terrans adn Darkovans first realized that they were both from Earth originally, and poses the problem, explored more thoroughly and more competently throughout the following two decades, of how those cultures could be reconciled. Far from the best Darkover book, but a good read.
Nicole
Enjoyed this story.
dogpossum
One of the earlier books in the Darkover series (earlier in the sense that it was written in the 60s but appears later in the chronology), this is one of the stronger stories. A shorter book (phew - some of the longer Darkovan books are tiresome), this is a quick, fun adventure story. Again, these are good male characters, and I quite like the '60s feel' of the writing.
John
1982 Grade B+.
2013 Grade A-.

Book D8. Year 2060.

This is a young adult story, as are many of the books I like. The first "half" is grade A SciFi mixing of cultures. The second is grade B fantasy from the capture, escape and journey. The result is a deep friendship bond of two people and the bonding of two cultures.
Karel Musil
If I'm not mistaken, this was the first Darkover book that I managed to get in English. It's one of the first published novels in the series and there are certain discrepancies with the newer books, but despite it's shortness this one is fun to read. And for the first time after Landfall there was member of Chieri race again!
Bron
This is a fairly simple adventure story but it does fill in some of the gaps - it describes how Kennard Alton and Larry Montray first meet as teenagers, and their advanture after Larry is kidnapped by bandits is an introduction to some of the features of Darkover - laran power, non human species, leronis, star stones......
Largeprintbooklover
I registered a book at BookCrossing.com!
http://www.BookCrossing.com/journal/11629952
Carla
É um livro interessante, dentro da saga de Darkover, onde a imaginação da autora explora novos mundos e novas espécies.
Deidre
i definitely prefer my darkover a little less terran...andrew carr, yes...larry montray, eh
Cathy Holford
One of the books of Darkover...perhaps not my favorite, but still a good read.
Mariah
This was the first Darkover book I read and it got me hooked...
Janni
Feb 12, 2013 Janni added it
Thoughts on rereading here: http://simner.com/blog/?p=4135
Kalyn
First book I read in the Darkover series and I love it.
Jack Teague
science fiction
George
Autographed
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 65 66 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Marion Zimmer Bradley's Sword and Sorceress XXI
  • Exiles Of The Stars (Moon Magic, #2)
  • Lost Dorsai (Childe Cycle, #6)
  • The House of the Kzinti (Man-Kzin Wars)
  • When the Changewinds Blow (Changewinds, #1)
  • Orphan Star (Pip & Flinx #3)
  • Man-Kzin Wars X: The Wunder War
  • Decision at Doona (Doona, #1)
  • Cross The Stars (Hammer's Slammers, #1)
  • Merchanter's Luck (Company Wars, #2)
  • Tanar of Pellucidar (Pellucidar, #3)
  • The Gates of Creation (World of Tiers, #2)
  • The Starfollowers of Coramonde (Coramonde, #2)
  • Split Heirs
  • World's End (The Snow Queen Cycle, #2)
  • Time Scout (Time Scout, #1)
  • The Silver Warriors (Erekosë, #2)
4841825
Marion Eleanor Zimmer Bradley was an American author of fantasy novels such as The Mists of Avalon and the Darkover series, often with a feminist outlook.

Bradley's first published novel-length work was Falcons of Narabedla, first published in the May 1957 issue of Other Worlds. When she was a child, Bradley stated that she enjoyed reading adventure fantasy authors such as Henry Kuttner, Edmond Ham...more
More about Marion Zimmer Bradley...
The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, #1) The Forest House (Avalon, #2) Lady of Avalon (Avalon, #3) Priestess of Avalon (Avalon, #4) The Firebrand

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »