Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Lightning Key (The Wednesday Tales, #3)” as Want to Read:
The Lightning Key (The Wednesday Tales, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Lightning Key (The Wednesday Tales #3)

by
4.08  ·  Rating Details ·  327 Ratings  ·  32 Reviews

The grand finale to Miles's spectacular adventures

Miles Wednesday is suddenly at the wheel of a great voyage. Determined to recover the stolen Tiger's Egg and free the trapped soul within, Miles sets off with his Song Angel friend, Little, and the wisecracking blind explorer Baltinglass of Araby across sea and desert to the home of Miles's aunt Nura, who may be their o

...more
Hardcover, 416 pages
Published February 1st 2009 by HarperCollins (first published January 1st 2009)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Lightning Key, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Lightning Key

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Michelle
May 23, 2010 Michelle rated it liked it
Tigers, and Angels, and Lightning, OH MY!
Jon Berkeley has an amazing imagination (yeah, maybe a little demented but fun.)
The Lightning Key, the third in The Wednesday Tales series was a fun read.
I have enjoyed this dark series, about a young boy, Miles who in previous books was orphaned, on the streets, in a circus, befriended a tiger, and adopted an angel for a sister (yes a real angel.) This one wasn't quite as scary, which I liked. Probably for the 9+ crowd. Many crazy things have happened i
...more
Denise Valtr
Feb 16, 2017 Denise Valtr rated it really liked it
It was good. It showed if you never stop doing something you can accomplish it.
Debbie
Sep 20, 2009 Debbie rated it really liked it
Finding Tangerine (the orange teddy bear) torn open and the Tiger’s Egg stolen, Miles Wednesday had a goal of finding the Egg, learning how to use it and then finally finding a way to get his father back into his life. The adventure begins with the help of his Song Angel friend Little, they are joined by a blind explorer, Baltinglass of Araby. The discovery that the Great Cortado and Doctor Tau-Tau are working together to keep the egg away from Miles and to learn the secrets of controlling the e ...more
Claire
A wonderful unexpected and delightful conclusion to The Wednesday Tales. To my mind this is excellent childrens' literature. I am so happy to read a book that can be read on multiple levels. For the fast and furious or slow and reluctant reader. This can be read on the surface as a fantastical adventure- monsters, villains, deserts, buffoons, wise fools, flying machines and grand friendships and mysterious alliances. For the discerning child who wants depth and complexity Miles struggles with gr ...more
Karen
May 08, 2012 Karen rated it really liked it
I would've given the first half to two-thirds of this book a 2.5 if I could, because I found the non-stop run-ins and re-run-ins with Cortado and Tau-Tau tiring and implausible (e.g. the way Captain Tripoli handles "imprisoning" the villain and accomplice is just so obviously faulty and doomed that it ends up feeling, by accident, like the ineffective measures taken in the Lemony Snickets books to protect the Baudelaire children), and, also, because the introduction of one portion of the storyli ...more
Emily
May 05, 2009 Emily rated it liked it
Shelves: review-books
I loved the first book of this series. I found it to be highly imaginative and full of remarkable characters. Sadly, the story just didn't stick in my memory long enough. Each book was spaced out about 2 years and I managed to forget a lot of the details in that time span. Each of the books was entertaining, but seemed to be off-kilter when compared to the mood of the one that preceded it. It was true with this one as well. The trek of Miles, Little and Batinglass of Araby through the desert was ...more
Katrina
Nov 25, 2008 Katrina rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Kids 10-14 into Fantasy
A wonderful unexpected and delightful conclusion to The Wednesday Tales. I am happy to read a book that can be read on multiple levels. For the fast and furious or slow and reluctant reader. This can be read on the surface as a fantastical adventure- monsters, villains, deserts, buffoons, wise fools, flying machines and grand friendships and mysterious alliances. For the discerning child who wants depth and complexity Miles struggles with grand themes of family, love, fidelity, honesty, moral ch ...more
Evelyn
May 29, 2009 Evelyn rated it really liked it
While I did not love this book as much as the first, it was very good. I've been looking for it ever since I finished The Tiger's Egg probably over a year ago...well. Something I like about this book better than the first is how there are fewer random "episodes" that don't contribute to the main storyline as much as they could. The prose didn't feel as noticeably flowy as before, which could be both good and bad. I felt that there was a lack of atmosphere. But something I liked very much: how th ...more
Reita
Dec 10, 2008 Reita rated it it was ok
This is an advanced copy I'm reading. I have not read the first 2 books in the series but this book can stand alone. The main character is only 12. Of course there is fantasy and odd things happening in the story but it seems too juvenile for me. When I'm finished I may think otherwise.
I've finished it and I almost didn't. By the last third of the book, it held my interest to the point that I had to finish it to find out what happened to the characters. I'm going to read the first book in the se
...more
Jgudmann3
Jun 01, 2014 Jgudmann3 rated it really liked it
Miles Wednesday and his adopted little sister, Little. The great Cortado and Dr. Tau Tau stole the real tigers egg, at least they think they have the real one. But Miles and Little have the real one, and they are trying to get to miles aunt, so she can tech them how to use the tigers egg. When they get the tigers egg and they fin out how to use it they can get his father back from the form of the Null (a monster/bear), which Dr. Tau Tau did to him.
Cedes
Oct 29, 2008 Cedes rated it really liked it
Shelves: books-i-own
I loved the 1st and 2nd books of the Wednesday Tales so I'm sure I'll like this one.

RLY good book so far not as good as the 1st or 2nd...yet :) but rly good none the less
i think its so kool that Miles is finally able 2 meet sum1 in his family again

*and bcuz of my obsessive disorder (i dont rly hav a obsessive disorder), i read the last page and i luv LUV LUV how it ends :D*
Hannah Givens
Jan 12, 2013 Hannah Givens rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy, middle-grade
A fantastic trilogy with all the things I love about kidlit. Emotional truth and a magnificent plot that runs all around the world to strange locations full of odd, unforgettable people. It's in the vein of Lemony Snicket or Leven Thumps, but it's completely creative -- tigers, angels, eggs, zeppelins -- not quite like anything else. I want more by this author.
Alyssa
Jan 03, 2009 Alyssa rated it it was amazing
this book was the perfect ending to this trilogy. it explains everything and makes you so happy but scared and excited but still like you can never put it down or you'll die! this book was amazing and had everything it needed and set everything straight as it should have. this is a trilogy i recommend to all!
Dallas
Jun 27, 2011 Dallas rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: kids
It was a good romp. I read book one, skipped book two, then read book three. Book one was recommended to me by my daughter. I've been on a youth reading tip of late—nice way to keep up on what my kids' are into.
Sirona Leopold Montenegro Valverde
It's unfortunate when you don't know how to start a review whith three beers in your system! Then again, it may as well be that I just can't think of a stretched out way of saying that the book series you cared so much about seeing it unfold has become unpleasantly generic.
Katie
Apr 27, 2009 Katie rated it it was amazing
The characters in The Wednesday Tales are some of my most favorite! Esp. Baltinglass of Araby. I am having a blast reading this third installment, although, I regret it will be the last of the series :(
Tjala
Sep 28, 2011 Tjala rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Tjala by: seb
certainly not the best ib the series but it was a good conclusioin and i enjoyed it when i finally got into it!!
i love baltinglas as a character hes really well presented and very likeable to the audience!
Annika
May 03, 2013 Annika rated it it was amazing
It was a good end to the series. I hope that there is another book though. It made me sad that it was over.
Holyn
Jul 13, 2011 Holyn rated it really liked it
This is my favorite in the Wednesday Tales trilogy. All my favorite characters returned (with some surprises) and the adventures are even more exciting than in the first two books....
Amanda
Apr 11, 2009 Amanda rated it liked it
Gets back to the feeling of the first after the more serious tone of the second in the series. Baltinglass of Araby just MAKES this book for me. He's a live wire and a fun guy to have around.
Fiona
Jul 07, 2012 Fiona rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Rating: 4.25
I think the ending seemed kind of rushed, but the book was a lot better than I expected (and Baltinglass is a hilarious character).
Beth
Mar 20, 2009 Beth rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy, youth, series
Satisfy conclusion for the series. I think this one is my favorite. I knew the characters and really enjoyed the journey they took to reach the end.
Nana
Mar 10, 2016 Nana rated it liked it
Shelves: adventure, fantasy, tales
This book was pretty interesting--and weird...but I liked it anyway. I don't think there's any point reading the first two books now, though...
Hether
Hether rated it really liked it
Mar 31, 2014
Mselyn
Mselyn rated it it was amazing
Sep 07, 2012
Paperlilies
Paperlilies rated it it was amazing
Mar 31, 2011
Alex Bondar
Alex Bondar rated it it was amazing
Jul 31, 2015
Weston
Weston rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2012
Billur
Billur rated it really liked it
Jan 22, 2013
Grace Atwater
Grace Atwater rated it really liked it
May 13, 2013
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Blimpo: The Third Circle of Heck
  • The Mousehunter (Mousehunter Trilogy, #1)
  • The Very Ordered Existence of Merilee Marvelous
  • Guardian of the Green Hill (Under the Green Hill)
  • The Chaos King (Wall and the Wing, #2)
  • Empire of Ruins (The Hunchback Assignments, #3)
  • The Fire King (The Invisible Order, #2)
  • Winter of Magic's Return
  • The Siren Song (Cronus Chronicles, #2)
  • The Sunlight Slayings (Oliver Nocturne, #2)
  • Smugglers' Mine (Something Wickedly Weird, #5)
  • The Rise and Fall of Mount Majestic
  • Behind the Curtain (Echo Falls, #2)
  • Legion of the Dead (Barnaby Grimes, # 3)
  • Under Town (Edgar & Ellen, #3)
Jon Berkeley was born and raised in Dublin, Ireland and says he went to a school where "you were only allowed go to the bathroom if you asked in Irish." His love of art led him to study at the National College of Art and Design. From there he went to work as an illustrator in Hong Kong, Barcelona, London and Sydney.

Jon worked as an illustrator for twenty years before turning his hand to writing.
...more
More about Jon Berkeley...

Other Books in the Series

The Wednesday Tales (3 books)
  • The Palace of Laughter (The Wednesday Tales, #1)
  • The Tiger's Egg (The Wednesday Tales, #2)

Share This Book