Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Lightning Key (The Wednesday Tales, #3)” as Want to Read:
The Lightning Key (The Wednesday Tales, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Lightning Key (The Wednesday Tales #3)

by
4.05 of 5 stars 4.05  ·  rating details  ·  262 ratings  ·  29 reviews
Now that Miles Wednesday has discovered his link to a magical Tiger's Egg, he's suddenly at the wheel of a great voyage. Determined to recover the stolen stone and free the trapped soul within, Miles sets off with Little, a Song Angel, and the wisecracking blind explorer Baltinglass of Araby. Their destination points far across sea and desert to the home of Miles's aunt Nu ...more
Hardcover, 399 pages
Published January 27th 2009 by HarperCollins Publishers (first published January 1st 2009)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Lightning Key, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Lightning Key

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 526)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Claire
A wonderful unexpected and delightful conclusion to The Wednesday Tales. To my mind this is excellent childrens' literature. I am so happy to read a book that can be read on multiple levels. For the fast and furious or slow and reluctant reader. This can be read on the surface as a fantastical adventure- monsters, villains, deserts, buffoons, wise fools, flying machines and grand friendships and mysterious alliances. For the discerning child who wants depth and complexity Miles struggles with gr ...more
Debbie
Finding Tangerine (the orange teddy bear) torn open and the Tiger’s Egg stolen, Miles Wednesday had a goal of finding the Egg, learning how to use it and then finally finding a way to get his father back into his life. The adventure begins with the help of his Song Angel friend Little, they are joined by a blind explorer, Baltinglass of Araby. The discovery that the Great Cortado and Doctor Tau-Tau are working together to keep the egg away from Miles and to learn the secrets of controlling the e ...more
Jgudmann3
Miles Wednesday and his adopted little sister, Little. The great Cortado and Dr. Tau Tau stole the real tigers egg, at least they think they have the real one. But Miles and Little have the real one, and they are trying to get to miles aunt, so she can tech them how to use the tigers egg. When they get the tigers egg and they fin out how to use it they can get his father back from the form of the Null (a monster/bear), which Dr. Tau Tau did to him.
Michelle
Tigers, and Angels, and Lightning, OH MY!
Jon Berkeley has an amazing imagination (yeah, maybe a little demented but fun.)
The Lightning Key, the third in The Wednesday Tales series was a fun read.
I have enjoyed this dark series, about a young boy, Miles who in previous books was orphaned, on the streets, in a circus, befriended a tiger, and adopted an angel for a sister (yes a real angel.) This one wasn't quite as scary, which I liked. Probably for the 9+ crowd. Many crazy things have happened i
...more
Karen
I would've given the first half to two-thirds of this book a 2.5 if I could, because I found the non-stop run-ins and re-run-ins with Cortado and Tau-Tau tiring and implausible (e.g. the way Captain Tripoli handles "imprisoning" the villain and accomplice is just so obviously faulty and doomed that it ends up feeling, by accident, like the ineffective measures taken in the Lemony Snickets books to protect the Baudelaire children), and, also, because the introduction of one portion of the storyli ...more
Saskia
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Emily
I loved the first book of this series. I found it to be highly imaginative and full of remarkable characters. Sadly, the story just didn't stick in my memory long enough. Each book was spaced out about 2 years and I managed to forget a lot of the details in that time span. Each of the books was entertaining, but seemed to be off-kilter when compared to the mood of the one that preceded it. It was true with this one as well. The trek of Miles, Little and Batinglass of Araby through the desert was ...more
Evelyn
While I did not love this book as much as the first, it was very good. I've been looking for it ever since I finished The Tiger's Egg probably over a year ago...well. Something I like about this book better than the first is how there are fewer random "episodes" that don't contribute to the main storyline as much as they could. The prose didn't feel as noticeably flowy as before, which could be both good and bad. I felt that there was a lack of atmosphere. But something I liked very much: how th ...more
Katrina
Jun 09, 2009 Katrina rated it 3 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Kids 10-14 into Fantasy
A wonderful unexpected and delightful conclusion to The Wednesday Tales. I am happy to read a book that can be read on multiple levels. For the fast and furious or slow and reluctant reader. This can be read on the surface as a fantastical adventure- monsters, villains, deserts, buffoons, wise fools, flying machines and grand friendships and mysterious alliances. For the discerning child who wants depth and complexity Miles struggles with grand themes of family, love, fidelity, honesty, moral ch ...more
Reita
This is an advanced copy I'm reading. I have not read the first 2 books in the series but this book can stand alone. The main character is only 12. Of course there is fantasy and odd things happening in the story but it seems too juvenile for me. When I'm finished I may think otherwise.
I've finished it and I almost didn't. By the last third of the book, it held my interest to the point that I had to finish it to find out what happened to the characters. I'm going to read the first book in the se
...more
Cedes
I loved the 1st and 2nd books of the Wednesday Tales so I'm sure I'll like this one.

RLY good book so far not as good as the 1st or 2nd...yet :) but rly good none the less
i think its so kool that Miles is finally able 2 meet sum1 in his family again

*and bcuz of my obsessive disorder (i dont rly hav a obsessive disorder), i read the last page and i luv LUV LUV how it ends :D*
Hannah Givens
A fantastic trilogy with all the things I love about kidlit. Emotional truth and a magnificent plot that runs all around the world to strange locations full of odd, unforgettable people. It's in the vein of Lemony Snicket or Leven Thumps, but it's completely creative -- tigers, angels, eggs, zeppelins -- not quite like anything else. I want more by this author.
Alyssa
this book was the perfect ending to this trilogy. it explains everything and makes you so happy but scared and excited but still like you can never put it down or you'll die! this book was amazing and had everything it needed and set everything straight as it should have. this is a trilogy i recommend to all!
Dallas
Jun 27, 2011 Dallas rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: kids
It was a good romp. I read book one, skipped book two, then read book three. Book one was recommended to me by my daughter. I've been on a youth reading tip of late—nice way to keep up on what my kids' are into.
Tjala
Oct 11, 2011 Tjala rated it 3 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Tjala by: seb
certainly not the best ib the series but it was a good conclusioin and i enjoyed it when i finally got into it!!
i love baltinglas as a character hes really well presented and very likeable to the audience!
Katie
The characters in The Wednesday Tales are some of my most favorite! Esp. Baltinglass of Araby. I am having a blast reading this third installment, although, I regret it will be the last of the series :(
Amanda
Gets back to the feeling of the first after the more serious tone of the second in the series. Baltinglass of Araby just MAKES this book for me. He's a live wire and a fun guy to have around.
Holyn
This is my favorite in the Wednesday Tales trilogy. All my favorite characters returned (with some surprises) and the adventures are even more exciting than in the first two books....
Beth
Satisfy conclusion for the series. I think this one is my favorite. I knew the characters and really enjoyed the journey they took to reach the end.
Fiona
Rating: 4.25
I think the ending seemed kind of rushed, but the book was a lot better than I expected (and Baltinglass is a hilarious character).
Annika
It was a good end to the series. I hope that there is another book though. It made me sad that it was over.
Rebekah Macias
my all time favourite children's book. i recommend it to everyone. young and old. 'nuff said...
Christina
cute story about an orphan Miles who is searching for this family who, he just found out exists
Aubrey Hinchman
Oh Miles Wednesday, how I loved reading your book!!!!!!! It was perfect, I loved it.
Janet
third book of palace of laughter series!! Its really good but sad at the end... :(
Emmy
Jul 20, 2009 Emmy rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Jane, Alia
Better than the 2nd one, but it was strange like the other two. Very creative ideas.
Mikaela
It got a bit strange, but was a fun read. Everything (almost) turns out okay.
Anya Neycheva
Very nice book, enjoyed reading, looking forward to the second one.
Ariana
Ariana marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 17 18 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Blimpo: The Third Circle of Heck
  • The Mousehunter (Mousehunter Trilogy, #1)
  • The Very Ordered Existence of Merilee Marvelous
  • Guardian of the Green Hill
  • The Chaos King (Wall and the Wing, #2)
  • The Immortal Fire (Cronus Chronicles, #3)
  • Empire of Ruins (The Hunchback Assignments, #3)
  • The Fire King (The Invisible Order, #2)
  • The Monsters of Morley Manor: A Madcap Adventure
  • Tomorrow's Magic (Omnibus)
  • The Rise and Fall of Mount Majestic
  • The Demon Hunter (Oliver Nocturne, #4)
  • Mothstorm (Larklight, #3)
  • Behind the Curtain (Echo Falls, #2)
  • Freaks
  • The Crystal Mask (The Echorium Sequence, #2)
  • Rachel Spinelli Punched Me in the Face
  • Curse of the Night Wolf (Barnaby Grimes, # 1)
Jon Berkeley was born and raised in Dublin, Ireland and says he went to a school where "you were only allowed go to the bathroom if you asked in Irish." His love of art led him to study at the National College of Art and Design. From there he went to work as an illustrator in Hong Kong, Barcelona, London and Sydney.

Jon worked as an illustrator for twenty years before turning his hand to writing.
...more
More about Jon Berkeley...

Other Books in the Series

The Wednesday Tales (3 books)
  • The Palace of Laughter (The Wednesday Tales, #1)
  • The Tiger's Egg (The Wednesday Tales, #2)
The Palace of Laughter (The Wednesday Tales, #1) The Tiger's Egg (The Wednesday Tales, #2) Chopsticks The Hidden Boy A Little Book of Irish Sayings

Share This Book