Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Megiddo's Shadow” as Want to Read:
Megiddo's Shadow
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Megiddo's Shadow

by
4.14 of 5 stars 4.14  ·  rating details  ·  140 ratings  ·  21 reviews
Fueled by anger at the death of his two brothers in World War I, 16-year-old Edward abandons his ailing father on their farm and leaves Canada to enlist. After proving that he can tame any wild horse, he's is sent to Jordan to fight with the Cavalry.

Luckily, his horse is the extraordinary Buke; in battle, a trooper's horse is the key to life and death, and his true compani
...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published June 10th 2008 by Laurel Leaf (first published September 1st 2006)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Megiddo's Shadow, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Megiddo's Shadow

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 221)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Camille
Very much a classic boy-goes-to-war novel in the tradition of The Red Badge of Courage, All Quiet on the Western Front or Fallen Angels, Edward experiences the comradeship of soldiers, a first love and the grim reality of warfare. He faces the loss of those he loves and his faith in God as he struggles to find meaning and survive.

Arthur Slade relates his grandfather and great uncles' true stories on his website. They are as gripping and heartfelt as the novel and are very much the inspiration fo
...more
Coralie
Edward, a 16 year old Canadian, enlists in the British army during World War I, after his brother is killed. This was an excellent book. The author, who I "know" through a book discussion group, manages to create a character the reader really gets to know and love, while vividly describing scenes of war. Some of the scenes are interesting and some are horrible. Although this is a young adult novel, I didn't feel the author was easy going when it came to describing battle scenes. There were some ...more
Erin
I haven't read a book about World War I for years. Bodie Thoene wrote some which I liked but they were mostly about adults. Arthur Slade's book tells the story of Edward Bathe, a sixteen year old Canadian boy who enlists in the English military after his old brother was killed in France. Edward eventually becomes a cavalryman and travels to Palestine with his horse Buke to fight the Turks. During his training in England he met Emily, a nurse who he writes to as the war progresses and with whom h ...more
Ericy Yine
This book is about a boy called Edward who lives on a farm on the prairies. When the First World War started, he shows up at the enlisting station, lies about his age with visions of glory and fame. At the training ground in England, He is assigned as part of the mounted forces, when he meets and falls in love with Emily, and builds a friend ship among his fellow soldiers. They are sent to war against the Ottomans in Palestine, where he encounters hard fighting, near-death situations, and death ...more
Steven R. McEvoy
This story was amazing. It was as gritty as the terrain and time it spans. It follows a young boy, Edward Bathe, as he becomes a man. At sixteen, after the death of his older brother in the Great War, he runs away and joins up. He wants to be infantry just like his brother. But as soon as he arrives in England after basic training, he gets transferred to a mounted unit. He is not happy, especially when his unit ships out. But soon he finds himself on the way to war; he is shipping to British Pal ...more
Monique Massiah
I loved reading this book, it was well thought out and I enjoyed knowing that it is based on a true story.
I liked how the description of the battles gave me the ability to see through the main character's eyes and it was interesting to see the effect
of war time on regular people.
Marsha
Art Slade plunges the reader into the shoes of Edward, a 16 year old who has just lost his revered older brother in the Great War. Edward lies about his age and enlists to avenge his brother's death. He quickly finds out that war is not as glamorous as he thought.

The historical detail is bang-on and Edward's day to day experiences are so real that the reader can practically feel the grit of sand in her teeth. There is much in this novel that is very mature but it's handled deftly. I found mysel
...more
Christie Harkin
I highly recommend this book to any teen who is looking for a riveting adventure set during the First World War. The Middle-Eastern desert is an oft-overlooked theatre of war when authors tackle stories set in WW1. The relationship between a young (underaged) soldier and his horse is beautiful, the action is compelling, and the complexity of the characters and their interactions is just wonderful. It's a love story on more than one level, and the coming-of-age story of a teen boy in extraordinar ...more
Cookie
I don't know why this book took me so long to read...it was jut UGH! The story was cool, the characters were cool, but I couldn't get into it...then again, maybe if I read it again? But would I WANT to read it again? I think it wasn't great because of the other books I read right before it - they were definitely edgier.
Valerie
Historical fiction at its best. Story and fact combine to paint such a vivid picture of events that it will stay with me for some time. Excellent.
Rebecca Upjohn
Sep 20, 2010 Rebecca Upjohn rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: everyone!
I loved this book. I think every high school kid should read this, particularly boys. Beautifully written, sensitive, pulls no punches--a strong coming of age story set during the first World War.
Hollyutah
I quite liked this quick read about one young man's experience as a soldier in WW1. I think teenagers who like horses and war stories would respond well--there is some mild profanity.
Lynn Bornath
Surprising and surprisingly sad. You may want to keep the tissues handy. Read the full review.
Marie
One of my all time favorite novels! I'm shocked more people haven't read it. They are certainly missing out on a well-written and amazing story.
Tracie
An underage Canadian boy enlists in World War I when the family receives news that his older brother has been killed in the fighting.
Laurie
Loved this book - Arthur Slade did an awesome job with this one! Even my 18 year old son enjoyed it.
Jc
One of the shortlisted titles for the CLA Young Adult Book Award in 2007.
Molly
A nice though wholly unmemorable look at the Middle Eastern front of WWI. ...more
Gerry
I'd give this 10 stars if it were possible!
Ali
it's is the best book ever!
Humairaa Patel
Humairaa Patel marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Lord of the Nutcracker Men
  • (You) Set Me on Fire
  • No Safe Harbour: The Halifax Explosion Diary of Charlotte Blackburn, Halifax, Nova Scotia, 1917
  • The Divine Ryans
  • True Confessions of a Heartless Girl
  • Charlie Wilcox
  • Monoceros
  • Truce: The Day the Soldiers Stopped Fighting
  • Prairie Ostrich
  • Natural Order
  • Under The Visible Life
  • Before Wings
  • Dooley Takes the Fall (Ryan Dooley, #1)
  • The Garneau Block
  • Would You
  • A Perfect Night to Go to China
  • Luck
  • The Barrio Kings
40823
Arthur Slade was raised in the Cypress Hills of southwest Saskatchewan and began writing at an early age. He is the author of the bestselling "The Hunchback Assignments" series of books, "Dust" (which won the Governor General's award), "Tribes," and "Jolted." He lives in Saskatoon, Canada (which really is a real place). Join his creatively somewhat clever newsletter at: http://arthurslade.com/news ...more
More about Arthur Slade...
The Hunchback Assignments (The Hunchback Assignments, #1) Dust The Dark Deeps (The Hunchback Assignments, #2) Empire of Ruins (The Hunchback Assignments, #3) Jolted: Newton Starker's rules for survival

Share This Book