Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Aftermath” as Want to Read:
Aftermath
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Aftermath

4.4  ·  Rating Details ·  55 Ratings  ·  7 Reviews
Aftermath Presents remarkable pictures in the archive that visually relate the catastrophic destruction of the 9/11 attacks and the physical and human dimensions of the recovery effort. This book provides a record of the extraordinary extent of the World Trade Center attacks and documents the recovery efforts. Full description
Hardcover, 350 pages
Published August 21st 2006 by Phaidon Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Aftermath, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Aftermath

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. RowlingThe Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsLost In Time by Bridgitte LesleyTwilight by Stephenie MeyerVampire Academy by Richelle Mead
Books I Read In One Day
432nd out of 613 books — 343 voters
Freakonomics by Steven D. LevittStiff by Mary RoachA Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill BrysonGuns, Germs, and Steel by Jared DiamondBlink by Malcolm Gladwell
Interesting and Readable NonFiction
235th out of 889 books — 386 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 122)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Amy Paget
Jun 13, 2015 Amy Paget rated it really liked it
Sometimes it takes a long time to fully absorb a tragedy, and that’s certainly the case for me and the September 11,2001 attacks on the World Trade Center. I vividly remember the day, being at work, having children in ‘lockdowns’ at school and being worried about my husband’s colleagues and their air travel plans. Joel Meyerowitz’s photographic archive, Aftermath, brought some closure for me and provides a visual archive of the cleanup of the site. The large-size, 7 pound photography book docume ...more
Zioluc
May 20, 2016 Zioluc rated it liked it
Shelves: fotografia
Dopo l'11 settembre 2001, Meyerowitz decide di documentare l'opera di salvataggio e sgombero del luogo del crollo delle torri a futura memoria.
A fatica ottiene permessi dal municipio e da un museo e inizia la sua opera nel grande cratere divenuto un cantiere in cui lavoratori e forze dell'ordine dapprima lo guardano con sospetto armeggiare con la sua grande macchina fotografica col treppiede, poi lo accolgono nella loro comunità.
Fotografie tragiche e storie strazianti, notevoli o anche solo curi
...more
Pat Loughery
Jul 16, 2013 Pat Loughery rated it it was amazing
Shelves: photography, library
Meyerowitz' photojournalistic collection of the cleanup process after 9/11 is sobering, humanizing and powerful. It is important work.
Christyna Hunter
Apr 14, 2008 Christyna Hunter rated it it was amazing
I saw this photographer/author speak on C-SPAN. His stories of taking photos after 9/11 moved me enough to buy the book.
Kelly
Mar 24, 2007 Kelly rated it it was amazing
Striking photos and stories from Ground Zero. Meyerowitz created a compelling and moving book.
Mike
Dec 28, 2008 Mike rated it it was amazing
terrible, graceful, encouraging all at the same time.
Yes Sir!
i just purchased this book...will update this later.
Berti83
Berti83 rated it really liked it
Sep 20, 2016
Catherine
Catherine marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2016
Mark
Mark rated it really liked it
Sep 11, 2016
Animelove24 Brown
Animelove24 Brown marked it as to-read
Sep 07, 2016
Kelly
Kelly rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2016
Ryan Nijakowski
Ryan Nijakowski rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2016
Kelly Hanson
Kelly Hanson marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2016
Mo Morgan
Mo Morgan rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2015
Shannon Ramos
Shannon Ramos rated it really liked it
Dec 02, 2015
Beverly
Beverly marked it as to-read
Nov 28, 2015
Anne
Anne rated it really liked it
Oct 13, 2015
MJJCollector
MJJCollector is currently reading it
Sep 15, 2015
Whitney
Whitney rated it really liked it
Aug 28, 2015
Nathaniel Lewis
Nathaniel Lewis rated it it was amazing
Aug 03, 2015
Andrea
Andrea rated it liked it
Jul 21, 2015
Janice
Janice marked it as to-read
Jul 05, 2015
Peter
Peter rated it it was amazing
Apr 17, 2015
Emily Zickel
Emily Zickel marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Joel Meyerowitz is an award-winning photographer whose work has appeared in over 350 exhibitions in museums and galleries around the world. He was born in New York in 1938 and began photographing in 1962. Meyerowitz is a “street photographer” in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank, although he works exclusively in color. As an early advocate of color photography (early-60’s) he ...more
More about Joel Meyerowitz...

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »