Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Mr Starlight” as Want to Read:
Mr Starlight
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Mr Starlight

by
3.74  ·  Rating Details  ·  141 Ratings  ·  15 Reviews
Paperback, 316 pages
Published 2005 by Harper Perennial
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Mr Starlight, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Mr Starlight

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 222)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Lottie Clark
Feb 24, 2015 Lottie Clark rated it liked it
I enjoyed this book, a book club choice, more than I thought I would. It tells the story of two brothers leaving home in search of fame and fortune as entertainers in America. Older brother Cled is a talented musician playing both trumpet and piano, and he is also the story's imperfect narrator - a man whose own foibles are quite transparent but who fails to grasp the underlying tensions In his own family. What Cled particularly lacks is charisma and this Selwyn, his younger, less musically tale ...more
Alistair
Jun 11, 2016 Alistair rated it really liked it
Written in a pacy first person narrative by the droll Cledwyn Boff, Mr Starlight will appeal to readers who enjoyed Angela Carter's Wise Children or Beryl Bainbridge's An Awfully Big Adventure. Ranging in time from the late 1930s to mid 80s, and geographically from provincial Wales to Las Vegas, this novel follows the rise, and occasional fall, of Selwyn (Mr Starlight) and his older brother Cledwyn. Along the way we get a fascinating glimpse of the early days of television and the last days of v ...more
Cayla Brooke
Sep 01, 2013 Cayla Brooke rated it really liked it
Maybe it is because I am a oerformer that I loved this book. I laughed. I got frustrated. I cried. I enjoyed the ride.
Diane
Jul 05, 2014 Diane rated it really liked it
Superb. Laurie Graham at her best. She's so east to read and I love her diverse ideas around which to write a story.
Frankie
Oct 25, 2012 Frankie rated it really liked it
Great read with a twist at the end.
Jan Bailey
Feb 08, 2016 Jan Bailey rated it liked it
An entertaining book mixing the glamour of showbiz with the down to earth Midlands persona of our "hero", Cled. His naivity was amusing but rather unlikely as he had been in the forces and travelled.
Simon newson
the Liberace character was really well done-instantly recognised from TV footage I have seen over the year
Qiez
Jan 03, 2013 Qiez rated it really liked it
When I first flip through the pages, I assumed this one fell into chick-lit category. Apparently its not! I was surprise (in a good way, of course)with the very good values as well as precious lessons to note that came with this heartbreaking story. I must confess ; I cried when Sel died!
(sorry for the spoiler!haha)

Cheryl Davis
Jan 11, 2010 Cheryl Davis rated it liked it
Not my favourite Laurie Graham novel, but I enjoyed it all the same. This is the showbiz story of a Liberace type character, as told by the brother who has lived in his shadow for most of this life. Looks at both showbusiness and the complications of family relationships.
Windy
Sep 12, 2012 Windy rated it liked it
My first by this author. I liked the naivety of the narrator of the story which meant the reader could read between the lines about what was really going ton. Plenty of comedy although the overall story is quite sad. Enjoyable.
Neil
Feb 14, 2009 Neil rated it liked it
Shelves: relationships
Showbiz story taken straight from Liberace written from the point of view of the less talented brother. Entertaining but a bit lightweight
Sheena
Dec 30, 2010 Sheena rated it liked it
Shelves: 2010
Really ill over Christmas so this was just the right level and subject matter not too heavy until the very end and quite amusing in parts.
Nicky Williams
Dec 26, 2010 Nicky Williams marked it as to-read
Given this as something funny to read, given 2 books by this author's books for Christmas by my mum!??!
rach arkless
Not my usual kind of book but I really enjoyed it nonetheless.
Kris Kennett
Jan 17, 2009 Kris Kennett rated it really liked it
Enjoyable read.
Tracy Kedney
Tracy Kedney rated it it was amazing
Jun 13, 2016
Michelle Elizabeth
Michelle Elizabeth marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2016
Rebeccao
Rebeccao marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2016
Bridget
Bridget rated it liked it
Jun 02, 2016
Jenny
Jenny rated it really liked it
May 29, 2016
Kirsteen
Kirsteen rated it really liked it
May 05, 2016
Rebecca Moody
Rebecca Moody marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2016
Robert L. Cook
Robert L. Cook rated it liked it
Apr 08, 2016
Abbie
Abbie marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2016
Clare Bailey
Clare Bailey rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2016
Helen
Helen marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2016
Alex Brown
Alex Brown rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Reality, Reality
  • The Mysteries of Glass
  • The Soiling of Old Glory: The Story of a Photograph That Shocked America
  • Canvey Island
  • Gabriel's Angel
  • Creating a Class: College Admissions and the Education of Elites
  • The ABCs of Love
  • The Gap Year For Grown Ups
  • Gem Squash Tokoloshe
  • Behind the Scenes at the Museum / Human Croquet / Emotionally Weird (Box Set of 3 Volumes)
  • Confessions of the Other Mother: Nonbiological Lesbian Moms Tell All!
  • Accidents in the Home
  • Nourishment
  • Do No Harm
  • First Novel
  • Revenge of the Wedding Planner
  • All In the Mind
  • The Summer Of Secrets
76491
Laurie Graham was first published at the advanced age of 40. She is the author of THE TEN O'CLOCK HORSES, PERFECT MERINGUES, THE DRESS CIRCLE, DOG DAYS GLENN MILLER NIGHTS, THE FUTURE HOMEMAKERS OF AMERICA, THE UNFORTUNATES, MR STARLIGHT, GONE WITH THE WINDSORS, THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING KENNEDY, LIFE ACCORDING TO LUBKA, AT SEA, A HUMBLE COMPANION, THE LIAR'S DAUGHTER and THE GRAND DUCHESS OF NOWHER ...more
More about Laurie Graham...

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »