Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Seeking Sara Summers - A Coming Out Later in Life Lesbian Novel” as Want to Read:
Seeking Sara Summers - A Coming Out Later in Life Lesbian Novel
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview
Read eBook

Seeking Sara Summers - A Coming Out Later in Life Lesbian Novel

by
3.6 of 5 stars 3.60  ·  rating details  ·  142 ratings  ·  22 reviews
The Best Selling Coming Out Later in Life Lesbian Novel! You'll enjoy this story of courage and transformation. How would your life be different if you were truly yourself? Sara Summers Stanton has raised three children and works as a high school teacher at the same school she attended growing up. Her 25 year marriage is showing cracks in the facade and now she's dealing w ...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published July 25th 2008 by Wild Lily Arts
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about Seeking Sara Summers - A Coming Out Later in Life Lesbian Novel

Tipping the Velvet by Sarah WatersFingersmith by Sarah WatersAnnie on My Mind by Nancy GardenKeeping You a Secret by Julie Anne PetersFried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
Best Lesbian Fiction
182nd out of 1,157 books — 1,383 voters
A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled HosseiniGone with the Wind by Margaret MitchellA Midsummer Night's Dream by William ShakespeareThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz ZafónThe Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
Seasons and Weather in Titles
327th out of 549 books — 70 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 428)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Jennie
This is the most recent book I won on www.goodreads.com. I just love getting free books, especially free books that are really enjoyable to read! This is the story of a woman, Sara, who is feeling a little lost in her life. Her children are grown and out of the house and her husband seems to be on a different planet all together. She longs for something to fulfill her and take away the blah feeling of her life. She takes a leap into the unknown by tracking down her old childhood friend and this ...more
Parastoo Samiei
I've read the whole book in three days which is a record for me these days. I didn't feel that the author has made up a story. It was obvious that she had gone trough same drama herself. I believe that's the reason I've been really connected with Sara and I could have believed her thoughts and emotions.
Jo
Who hasn't questioned their life at some point in time? I applaud Susan Summers for following her heart after facing cancer in the eye and stepping into a life for herself. I saw myself as I go through my life doing for my husband and daughter, with very little regard for my wants and needs. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to read this book, it has opened my eyes and I will not take my days for granted and will look for what soothes me. OK life....here I come, hope you are ready for me ...more
Georgiann Hennelly
Sara is feeling a little lost in her life. Her children are grown and out of the house and her husband seems to have his own life. She longs for something different something to take away the blah feeling.Sara decides to track down her old childhood friend and this one action changes the course of her life, her attitude and her entire being. the ending of the story was just what i hoped it would be.
Lissi Lu
A wonderful friend of mine bought me this book... amazing surprise!! I was so excited to read this book. The overall story was ok, I connected more with the feelings and emotions that they were going through... and the outcome was as I wished for them! A happy ending :)
Susan Gabriel
Mar 17, 2014 Susan Gabriel rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  (Review from the author)
I wrote this book, so I am totally biased. Wouldn't you give one of your kids 5 stars?!
Ivana
When Sara decides to take a trip to Florence, Italy, it is much more than a flight across the ocean. Merely, it’s a journey to rediscover herself in one of the most beautiful places in the world. There is more to this trip than to visit a place she has always dreamed about, but pushed the desire aside in favor of every day’s tasks; it’s about finding yourself again. The physical journey is a transition of life, living life from the top of her lungs and continue life from a point where it was bro ...more
Amy (mrsAmy#s)
This is the story of middle-aged Sara Summers, a married woman with 3 kids who is in the midst of breast cancer and a marriage that is falling apart. She decides to go to Italy to visit her old best friend from high school (Julia) and ends up falling in love with her. Ultimately she must decide whether to go back to her old life or not.

So, this book was sort of like Under the Tuscan Sun, as most of the story takes place in Italy, and ultimately it's a story about Sara finding herself as well as
...more
Christopher
Sara Summers is the wife and mother who's always done what's expected. Her three grown children have it together, visit for the holidays and genuinely care about their mother. Grady, her husband, has been seeing a therapist with Sara for some time, evidently with little impact on their life together. He seems uninterested and sometimes completely oblivious to her moods. She feels distant and trapped. She also has been battling cancer, which up until recently was in remission. With what may be he ...more
Sara
Overall, I found this to be an enjoyable book. There were several distracting instances where apostrophes were misused, and a couple of times where homonyms were mixed up, but they did not do much to detract from the story as a whole and I was able to get past them fairly quickly.

Part of what drew me to this story was the title. I am always happy to find characters with my name, spelled the way I spell it. Characters named Sarah are very common, those named Sara are hard to find. To have nothing
...more
Darlene
Nov 15, 2010 Darlene rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: yvensong, cherylllr, kay
Recommended to Darlene by: Sistertalk
Shelves: lesbian, feminism, favs, womyn
I was SO disappointed. Not with the book, but that it ended! I wanted to read more. Could there be a part two where we can see a true growth in all the characters as they learn to not only accept what has happened in their lives but can see errors in their own thinking in the past.

I read many of the reviews who felt she put in too many details that may or may not relate to the story, but I loved those asides and feel if you can't handle that in such a small book, you might want to start reading
...more
Jean Roberta
Novels about mid-life crises or, more specifically, about women who dump their husbands, change careers, go back to school, hit the road, or “come out” as lesbians, bisexuals, transmen or members of a BDSM community tend to be interesting studies in personality development.

Considering that few people really change completely in middle age, an apparent change is usually based on the re-emergence of passions that have been buried for years. Since the birth of Second Wave feminism in the 1970s, co
...more
Katie Somers
I just wanted to say that I loved reading Seeking Sara Summers. I bought it Sunday night and was done reading it last night. I was looking for a book with a lesbian theme (not erotica) and stumbled upon this title. It was very good and refreshing to read one without all the erotica. As a lesbian, sometimes I am envious of all the romance type novels that the rest of the real world gets to read. So glad I found Seeking Sara Summers.
Pam
This book was a short and easy read. Nothing complex about the plot, no surprises, and no twists or tricks.

...And I liked all of these things about it. This book is about a woman's transformation into a new person, and about how as much as she wants to experience this transformation, she is so stuck in the mindset that all she deserves is predictability and monotony, that she refuses to embrace new happiness at every turn.

When the main character, Sara, makes a spontaneous trip to Italy, she fal
...more
Baxter Trautman
A mature and tender tale. Though it will appeal to readers of lesbian romance I hesitate to put it in that genre as it is also a heartfelt story of transformation. Sara Summers takes an unflinchingly honest look at her life so far and finds it wanting. Whether or not she will have the courage to change that lack is the heart of the story. Definitely an above average lesbian fiction read.
Dianne
Tragedy, discovery, romance, travel, emotional breakthroughs-- what more can you ask of a short novel? I will say that this book was difficult to put down, yet at points difficult to read. I pray that I shall know what to do when the time comes and be courageous enough to make the necessary decisions to that end.

I would give this book 3 1/2 stars if I could.
Sheryl
Decent story, with good description and decent dialog, but overall, dealt with a big issue in a somewhat simplistic manner. I found myself wishing for a more in depth delving into the relationships and the secondary characters response to the main story. Light read, more along the lines of a romantic story ( but not a typical romance novel) than a drama.
Aileen Murphy
I loved this woman. Especially at the beginning of the book, I feel the author did a great job of putting into words the emotions of a woman who has always done exactly what was expected of her, and is now realizing she has no idea of her own voice. I cried and felt her emotions and was so sad the book ended so quickly. A very enjoyable read...
Rebeca Riga
Best book I've read all year. Took me to new places and made me want to have the story the two characters had. Amazingly written, a true romance novel, like I haven't read in a while
E.A.
Makes you wonder why women feel they deserve so little in life
Sarah Sammis
May 05, 2012 Sarah Sammis rated it 1 of 5 stars
Recommended to Sarah by: the zen leaf
Link+ due 5/12

Awful self pub.
Elizabeth
DNF. I tried, but I can't.
Mary
Mary added it
Jul 24, 2015
victoria ingram
victoria ingram is currently reading it
Jul 23, 2015
Christina West
Christina West marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2015
Beth
Beth added it
Jul 18, 2015
Jill Dugaw
Jill Dugaw marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2015
Ainul
Ainul marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2015
Christi
Christi marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 14 15 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Waking Up Gray
  • The New Rector (Tales from Turnham Malpas #1)
  • Thy Neighbor's Wife
  • The Weeping and the Laughter
  • Happy Endings Are All Alike
  • A Village Affair
  • Salvation Creek
  • Taken by the Wind (Jane Lawless, #21)
  • The Vintage Summer Wedding
  • A Kiss Before Dawn
  • The Lure of White Oak Lake (White Oak Lake, #1)
  • After the Fall
  • Gay Pride and Prejudice
  • Hungry Ghost (Tales of the Pack, #2)
  • The Road to Her
  • Pennance
  • The Guestbook
  • Untied: A Memoir of Family, Fame, and Floundering
1111195
Acclaimed southern author of The Secret Sense of Wildflower: Voted a BEST BOOK of 2012 by Kirkus Reviews.

Latest novel: Temple Secrets: Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets. Also check out Susan's collection of short stories: Grace, Grits and Ghosts: Southern Short Stories.

website: www.susangabriel.com
blog: www.susangabriel
...more
More about Susan Gabriel...
The Secret Sense of Wildflower - Southern Historical Fiction, Best Book of 2012 Temple Secrets Fearless Writing for Women: Extreme Encouragement and Writing Inspiration Quentin and the Cave Boy - A Humorous Adventure Story for Kids 8 to 88 Grace, Grits and Ghosts: Southern Short Stories: (New for 2015) For Lovers of Southern Novels & Southern Authors

Share This Book