Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Opas Engel” as Want to Read:
Opas Engel
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Opas Engel

4.41  ·  Rating Details  ·  71 Ratings  ·  12 Reviews
With gentle visual humor, Jutta Bauer's simple story shows how Grandpa's charmed life may be due to someone special watching over him all along.

Grandpa loves to tell stories about his past. There was the time he was almost run over by a bus, the time he made a big dog cower with just one look, and all those scary street corners he passed by unscathed. From climbing the hig
...more
Published (first published October 1st 2001)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Opas Engel, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Opas Engel

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 123)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Nanor & Co.
Mar 14, 2014 Nanor & Co. rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Beautiful book...touching illustrations.

Here's to all the Angels who watched/are watching
over the Armenian Genocide survivors,
including my Grandmother's family...
Rebecca Collins
Such a lovely book! It made me feel so happy inside, but also quite sad as it refers to the passing of a grandparent, which I have experienced myself.

I think this book would be great for children to read especially if they are going through a bereavement because it shows to them that there is always someone watching over them. I think I would also use it to help myself as well because I never know how to respond to a situation like this, as I always feel that I am saying the wrong thing, or mak
...more
Somporn Karam
Aug 22, 2013 Somporn Karam rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am editor of this book in thai edition. This is one of my favorite books. I like the idea of the story. It's simple but powerful story! And Jutta's illustration is heart-warming! In my opinion, I think this book is definately good for children. Sometime we don't need to worry too much if the children can understand the story or not! I think to give children a chance to experience a good story is also the good idea.
Pburmeister
Feb 05, 2014 Pburmeister rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read this book to my college class of designers recently; one student who sits with people (vigils?) dying in hospice had a really strong connection with it.
My favorite page for its illustration is the war scene: Bauer successfully and gracefully navigates dangerous territory, avoiding overstated and trivializing treatments.
Readers who like William Steig and M. B. Goffstein should acquaint themselves with Jutta Bauer.
For a consideration of this book's elegance see:
http://adumbrations.net/brief
...more
Johanna H.
May 23, 2014 Johanna H. rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: owned
A little Book with a sad but heartwarming story..
My mother gave it to me when my Grandfather died and i liked to think that his Guardian Angel is now with me.. :) The Illustrations are wonderful
Kevin English
Nov 28, 2015 Kevin English rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
While the scenes connecting it to the Holocaust are brief, I enjoyed the uplifting message that we, perhaps, are not alone.
Marissa García
Tender and moving.
Heather
Apr 17, 2013 Heather rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: from-library
47 months - This wasn't at all a bad book just one that might be more appropriate for adults. Talk about going way over the head of a kid. Really don't think my almost 4 year old is going to understand the historical significance of a Nazi officer for example.
Adih Respati
Aug 01, 2007 Adih Respati rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 01-picturebook
A grandfather, on his deathbed, is telling his grandson a story of his guardian angel. When he passed away, his guardian angel then guards the grand son. The illustration makes the story beautifully naive --and kind.
Bettina
Jan 21, 2013 Bettina rated it it was amazing
Great little book about an angel who tries to protect a boy during his life.
Lovely illustrations. With some text.
Not sure if it is for small children.
Great for grown ups and older children
Relyn
Aug 31, 2008 Relyn rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Relyn by: found it while browsing my library's website
Well, not so much. This wasn't bad in any way. It just wasn't so good either.
Tanaporn Srirasa
it made me smile and cry ....
Joe
Joe marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2016
Valeria Fogato
Valeria Fogato rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2016
Karin Kustermans
Karin Kustermans rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2016
Edie Griffin
Edie Griffin rated it liked it
Dec 23, 2015
Scott Harrell
Scott Harrell marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2015
Eleanor McMullon
Eleanor McMullon marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2015
Hannah Mary
Hannah Mary marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2015
Becca Edwards
Becca Edwards marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2015
Annabel Hall
Annabel Hall marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2015
JackAndrew Harford
JackAndrew Harford marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2015
Michelle Gibson
Michelle Gibson rated it really liked it
Nov 17, 2015
Tjivuruwan Mavali
Tjivuruwan Mavali marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2015
Victoria Kan
Victoria Kan marked it as to-read
Oct 31, 2015
Megan
Megan rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2016
Kai
Kai rated it it was amazing
Oct 01, 2015
Emy
Emy marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2015
Návi
Návi rated it really liked it
Jul 07, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
75796
As a child
Jutta was born in 1955, in Hamburg. She went to school for ten years and describes it as “a necessary evil”.

As an adult
Jutta is one of the best-known picture-book artists and cartoonists in Europe. She currently lives in Germany.

As an artist
When asked where the idea for Opas Engel (the original German title of Grandpa’s Angel) Jutta commented, “At the time I had my drawing table at the f
...more
More about Jutta Bauer...

Share This Book