Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Opas Engel” as Want to Read:
Opas Engel
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Opas Engel

4.41 of 5 stars 4.41  ·  rating details  ·  51 ratings  ·  10 reviews
With gentle visual humor, Jutta Bauer's simple story shows how Grandpa's charmed life may be due to someone special watching over him all along.

Grandpa loves to tell stories about his past. There was the time he was almost run over by a bus, the time he made a big dog cower with just one look, and all those scary street corners he passed by unscathed. From climbing the hig
...more
Published (first published October 1st 2001)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Opas Engel, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Opas Engel

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 89)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Nanor Bouladian
Beautiful book...touching illustrations.

Here's to all the Angels who watched/are watching
over the Armenian Genocide survivors,
including my Grandmother's family...
Somporn Karam
I am editor of this book in thai edition. This is one of my favorite books. I like the idea of the story. It's simple but powerful story! And Jutta's illustration is heart-warming! In my opinion, I think this book is definately good for children. Sometime we don't need to worry too much if the children can understand the story or not! I think to give children a chance to experience a good story is also the good idea.
Pburmeister
I read this book to my college class of designers recently; one student who sits with people (vigils?) dying in hospice had a really strong connection with it.
My favorite page for its illustration is the war scene: Bauer successfully and gracefully navigates dangerous territory, avoiding overstated and trivializing treatments.
Readers who like William Steig and M. B. Goffstein should acquaint themselves with Jutta Bauer.
For a consideration of this book's elegance see:
http://adumbrations.net/brief
...more
Jojo
A little Book with a sad but heartwarming story..
My mother gave it to me when my Grandfather died and i liked to think that his Guardian Angel is now with me.. :) The Illustrations are wonderful
Heather
47 months - This wasn't at all a bad book just one that might be more appropriate for adults. Talk about going way over the head of a kid. Really don't think my almost 4 year old is going to understand the historical significance of a Nazi officer for example.
Adih Respati
A grandfather, on his deathbed, is telling his grandson a story of his guardian angel. When he passed away, his guardian angel then guards the grand son. The illustration makes the story beautifully naive --and kind.
Bettina
Great little book about an angel who tries to protect a boy during his life.
Lovely illustrations. With some text.
Not sure if it is for small children.
Great for grown ups and older children
Relyn
Aug 31, 2008 Relyn rated it 2 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Relyn by: found it while browsing my library's website
Well, not so much. This wasn't bad in any way. It just wasn't so good either.
Tanaporn Srirasa
it made me smile and cry ....
Steven Chang
Steven Chang marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2014
Susan
Susan marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2014
Sarineh
Sarineh marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2014
Yueh-ju Shih
Yueh-ju Shih marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2014
Hourig
Hourig marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2014
Aida N
Aida N marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2014
Salpi B. B.
Salpi B. B. marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2014
Mary
Mary marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2014
Margo Farra
Margo Farra marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
75796
As a child
Jutta was born in 1955, in Hamburg. She went to school for ten years and describes it as “a necessary evil”.

As an adult
Jutta is one of the best-known picture-book artists and cartoonists in Europe. She currently lives in Germany.

As an artist
When asked where the idea for Opas Engel (the original German title of Grandpa’s Angel) Jutta commented, “At the time I had my drawing table at the f
...more
More about Jutta Bauer...
Selma Schreimutter The Queen of Colors Steht im Wald ein kleines Haus Juli und das Monster

Share This Book