Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Porto Bello Gold” as Want to Read:
Porto Bello Gold
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Porto Bello Gold

3.77  ·  Rating Details  ·  22 Ratings  ·  2 Reviews
This thrilling "prequel" to Robert Louis Stevenson's classic pirate tale imagines how Captain Flint and Murray sacked the Spanish galleon and buried their ill-gotten treasure on the Dead Man's Chest and on Treasure Island
Paperback, 302 pages
Published April 1st 1999 by McBooks Press (first published November 30th 1923)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Porto Bello Gold, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Porto Bello Gold

Treasure Island by Robert Louis StevensonSilver by Andrew MotionPorto Bello Gold by Arthur D. Howden SmithThe Adventures of Ben Gunn by R.F. DelderfieldBack to Treasure Island by Harold A. Calahan
Treasure Island
3rd out of 23 books — 8 voters
Secrets of the Realm by Bev StoutTreasure Island by Robert Louis StevensonMaster and Commander by Patrick O'BrianMoby-Dick; or, The Whale by Herman MelvilleTwenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
Nautical Tales
236th out of 442 books — 324 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 72)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Helmut
Feb 21, 2013 Helmut rated it it was amazing
Shelves: pirates, favorites
Fünfzehn Mann auf des Toten Manns Kiste...

Heutzutage wird die Erbfolge der britischen Monarchie in Tageszeitungen diskutiert - soll der alternde Prinz Charles auf sein Thronrecht zugunsten seines Sohnes William verzichten? Solch ähnliche Diskussionen waren Mitte des 18.Jh., als unser Roman spielt, nicht nur eine emotionale Frage, sondern führten zu blutigen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den Jakobiten, also Unterstützern des abgesetzten Hauses Stuart unter Führung von Bonnie Prince Charlie, und d
...more
Sarah Elizabeth
Aug 24, 2009 Sarah Elizabeth rated it really liked it
It took me years to track this book down. On any recommendations or lists I've ever heard or read, "FOR FANS OF TREASURE ISLAND, ETC.", Porto Bello Gold has been listed as number one. But of course, it's out of print. However, it's worth the search and the drama of searching. This book is great; it's dramatic, exciting, adventurous. It's deeper than a simple pirate yarn, both younger and older fans will enjoy. Like most pirate, etc., novels I've read recently, it took me a while to get through ( ...more
Denver
Denver marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2016
Elizabeth-28
Elizabeth-28 is currently reading it
Jul 14, 2016
Johnbarry95
Johnbarry95 marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2016
Alexa Burks
Alexa Burks marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2016
Brage Strand
Brage Strand rated it liked it
Jun 01, 2016
Richard Parker
Richard Parker marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2016
RobinR
RobinR is currently reading it
Mar 06, 2016
Ian Donnelly
Ian Donnelly marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2016
Chiara
Chiara rated it liked it
Feb 07, 2016
Majorics István
Majorics István rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2016
Kasen Dudley
Kasen Dudley marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2016
Brendan Jure
Brendan Jure marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Zarai Gintoki
Zarai Gintoki marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2015
Rozus
Rozus marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2015
Will
Will marked it as to-read
Jul 18, 2015
Chrissy
Chrissy rated it really liked it
Jul 04, 2015
Joel Portice
Joel Portice marked it as to-read
May 20, 2015
Elwood Taylor
Elwood Taylor marked it as to-read
May 04, 2015
Dylstra
Dylstra marked it as to-read
May 04, 2015
Mark Roebuck
Mark Roebuck rated it liked it
Feb 23, 2015
Kristine
Kristine marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2015
Mike
Mike marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2015
Kim
Kim marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2015
John Doe
John Doe marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2015
Matt Tomerlin
Matt Tomerlin marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2015
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book