Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Other Preacher in Lynchburg: My Life Across Town from Jerry Falwell” as Want to Read:
The Other Preacher in Lynchburg: My Life Across Town from Jerry Falwell
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Other Preacher in Lynchburg: My Life Across Town from Jerry Falwell

3.4 of 5 stars 3.40  ·  rating details  ·  15 ratings  ·  2 reviews

After teaching for a number of years, John Killinger, eager to be a pastor, was offered a church in Lynchburg, Virginia. It wasin the 1980s whenJerry Falwell had a congregation there. Falwell had just started the Moral Majority movement and had helped to get Ronald Reagan elected president. In 1983, a Good Housekeeping national poll rated Jerry Falwell the second most r

...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published March 17th 2009 by Thomas Dunne Books
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Other Preacher in Lynchburg, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Other Preacher in Lynchburg

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 31)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Brian Bojo
Aug 05, 2011 Brian Bojo added it
Shelves: 2010
A story of Jerry Falwell's empire as seen through the eyes of a mainline protestant pastor whose church was across town from Dr. Falwell in Lynchburg during the height of the Moral Majority. The author, a liberal theologian in the tradition of Neibuhr and Barth, shares personal stories of both positive and negative interactions with Dr. Falwell. He also broadens the text into a critique of fundamentalism; though his critique is more anecdotal than academic, and his target was not fundamentalism ...more
Kathryn Bundy
I picked it up on a whim and on a whim I read it. It was sort of interesting --- certainly not life-changing. Seemed a little like self-justification, but that's the point, isn't it? How do you state your case in response to nonsense without sounding just a little bit petulant?
LB Johnson
LB Johnson marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2014
Marley
Marley marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2014
Kellie Reynolds
Kellie Reynolds marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2013
Morgan
Morgan marked it as to-read
May 13, 2013
Amber
Amber marked it as to-read
Aug 21, 2012
Brian Reagan
Brian Reagan marked it as to-read
Jul 28, 2011
Jackie
Jackie marked it as to-read
Jul 15, 2011
Carla
Carla marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2010
Mary Guarnieri
Mary Guarnieri marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2010
Redpittman66
Redpittman66 marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2009
Katherine Willis Pershey
Katherine Willis Pershey marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2009
Lori
Lori marked it as to-read
Mar 10, 2009
Sara
Sara added it
Mar 09, 2009
Dana
Dana marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2009
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
71021
The Rev. Dr. John Killinger lives with his wife, Anne, in Warrenton, Virginia. A former pastor in Baptist, Presbyterian and Congregational churches, he also taught for fifteen years at Vanderbilt Divinity School and was Distinguished Professor of Religion and Culture at Samford University in Birmingham. He is the author of over 50 books, among them God, The Devil, and Harry Potter. Because Dr. Kil ...more
More about John Killinger...
God, the Devil, and Harry Potter: A Christian Minister's Defense of the Beloved Novels Ten Things I Learned Wrong from a Conservative Church The Life, Death, and Resurrection of Harry Potter Beginning Prayer Hemingway and the Dead Gods: A Study in Existentialism

Share This Book