Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Stalker” as Want to Read:
The Stalker
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Stalker

3.75 of 5 stars 3.75  ·  rating details  ·  415 ratings  ·  27 reviews
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Stalker from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.

When Jennifer Lee Wilcox returns home from the beach, she finds that Stella Trax, her best friend’s mother, has just been murdered. The police think Stella’s daughter Bobbie did it. Jennifer sets out to prove Bo
...more
Paperback, 192 pages
Published January 1st 1987 by Laurel Leaf (first published 1985)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Stalker, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Stalker

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 728)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Four Book Freaks
This book kind of sucked, I read it for Reading Olympics. Jennifer annoyed me, she seemed more like a twelve year old than eighteen years old. Lucas lacked depth, as did all of her other characters. Her characters weren't flawed. The book was predictable and didn't make sense at times. There was a rising action and then the ending just deflated like a sad balloon. The ending was too abrupt, didn't close well, and frankly was just poop. I wouldn't recommend this book to others, it really isn't ev ...more
Tara
I was a big fan of Joan Lowery Nixon's books when I was a kid, and was kind of excited to revisit my childhood. Jennifer's best friend Bobbie has been accused of murdering her (Bobbie's) mother, but Jennifer knows Bobbie couldn't have done it. So she embarks on a quest to discover the real murderer, teaming up with a retired police detective to hunt down clues and figure out whodunit.

As a young teenager, this book would have drawn me right in. It has murder, mystery, and a teenage girl who beli
...more
Ang
For those who love mysteries and thrillers, this is a great book. It combines the determination of one awestruck teenager who is trying to save her friend from persecution and the catastrophic point of view of the stalker/murderer himself. Without knowing who will win, this novel is a suspenseful page-turner that kept me going for hours at a time!
Maria
The Stalker, by Joan Lowery Nixon, is a book about a courageous girl named Jennifer Wilcox. One late afternoon she comes home to some bad news. When she walked inside her house, her grandma told her that Stella Trax, her best friend's mother, has been murdered in her house. The thing was that wasn't the only bad news... The police think Bobbie, her best friend, was the one who murdered her. Jennifer knows it couldn't have been Bobbie so she did whatever she could to prove that and help her frien ...more
Raquelle
"The Stalker" by Joan Lowery Nixon was a good book. It was really short and didn't take long to finish but I really like short mystery books because you get to find out what happens at the end quickly,this book wasn't my favorite book I've read but it was good because it kept you wondering if the main character Jennifer is going to be able to help her friend Bobbie get out of jail, because she was charged with being guilty of murdering her mother. So, it was a pretty good book for being so short ...more
Dani
About the characters: Lowery did a good job keeping consistency with the characters personality, flaws and strong suits, but for the protagonist, there wasn't much development.

Protagonist Jennifer Lee Wilcox is racing to solve the murder of her best friend's mother while handling her impatient urge to rush procedure and sprint to the finish. She doesn't overcome her quirk at all, though it hints that she will learn to do so. I wish there was more to her character and some resolution to her boyf
...more
Beth
Feb 16, 2014 Beth added it
Shelves: young_adult
High school graduation and then marriage seemed to be the first things on Jennifer's mind. This changes with Bobbie, her best friend, is taken to jail accused of killing her own mother. She teams up with a retired police officer, Lucas Maldonaldo, to try and prove the innocence of her best friend.
Nidah (SleepDreamWrite)
Jennifer enlists the help of a retired cop to help her friend Bobbie whose been suspected of a murder. Pretty good book, fast paced and suspenseful.
luhvBOOKS
Title: The Stalker

author: Joan Lowery Nixon

Series: N/A

Rating:

Summary: When Jennifer Lee Wilcox returns home from the beach, she finds that Stella Trax, her best friend's mother, has just been murdered. The police think Stella's daughter, Bobbie, did it. Jennifer sets out to prove Bobbie's innocence, but as she uncovers clues, she realizes she's only leading herself to danger!

Review: This stalker's scary. Definitely scary.

Things I Loved: There's the mystery I wanted! After reading A Deadly Game
...more
Cindy Ng
It was about Jennifer solving a mystery about who killed her friend`s mother. Jennifer`s friend is Boobie whom the police thinks that she killed her own mother. Jennifer knows she did not so she goes on a investigation with a retired police named Lucas. They find people and ask question, everytime they did they got closer. What they didn`t know was that someone was stalking them the whole time so they don`t get to close on the guy.In, the end Jennifer found who killed Bobbie`s mother but almost ...more
Samantha
This book was also pretty creepy. It was about this girl who had a friend who's mother was murdered. People said that it was her friend (the main character's friend) so of course the main character couldn't believe that it was true and set out prove everyone wrong but in doing so she found out stuff i would say she probably really wouldn't want to know. I thought that when i first read the blurb i wanted to read it soo bad because i love mystery type books so it was very eye catching so i think ...more
Nicole Svare
This story was about a girls compassion and loyalty for her friend. She refused to believe that her best friend, Stacy, had committed the crime of murdering her mother. I really liked that there were a few pages at the beginning of each chapter, That were from the viewpoint of the murderer. Seeing it from his point of view really made it seem creepy. "Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum" is what he would say, most of the time. I found that funny, and imagined him singing it. I would recommend this book ...more
Kelsey F
I love t read mysteries and I think this book may be my favorite mystery book yet.When Jennifers friend Bobbi finds herself blamed for the murder of Stella her mother Jennifer knows she didn't do it. She tries to hire a private eye but doesn't have enough money for one. She finds herself asking a ex police officer to jion her and help her crack the case.Those of you who like mysteries this is a book you have got to try.It's worth the time and you'll never guess who did it.I love this book.
Matt Kelly
This book is about a girl named Jennifer who's best friend named Bobbie was arrested for allegedly killing her mother but Jennifer thinks that she is innocent and has gotten a private investigator to help her and is determined to prove Bobbies innocence. After she had proved that Bobbie didn't kill her mother she realized that Bobbie was in on a credit card scam and now Bobbie will have to stay in jail.
Stephy
Nov 04, 2008 Stephy rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: people who like mysteries
Recommended to Stephy by: no one
This book is about a girl who's best friend is accused of strangling hermther to death and she is determined to find out who the real murder was. On her way she runs into a bunch of people and a stalker who won't revel himself and tries to get rid of her. The endong was pretty suprising but if I told you that'd be spoiling and I hate doing that =]
KRISTI  ♫ ♪
OH.MY.GAWD. I can't even EXPLAIN how good this book is. Where to start? hahaha. Umm...the way Nixon wrote it is sssoooo aamaazing and you just HAVE to read on and finish the book. It is so aamaazing. Yall HAVE TO HAVE TO HAVE TO read it. I'm so serious. It is SUCH an aamaazing book!!!
Sarah Tilatitsky
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Emily
This is one of the awesomest books I have ever read! It keeps you on your feet and is very addicting to find the outcome.
Brittany
Like the other books I've read by Joan Lowery Nixon, the suspense is great, you can't put them down!
Tysh Francis
For a book nearly 30 years old, I was really impressed with it's timeless writing and good story.
Shreeya
its sooo good so far! I LOVE JOAN LOWERY NIXON'S BOOKS IT IS SOOOO MYSTERIOUS AND GOOD!
Nessie
creeeeeeeepy!!!!!! it was a really well written book though, really enjoyed it!
Leah Middleberg
May 29, 2011 Leah Middleberg is currently reading it
It is really good so far. i love books that scare me.
isabelb
Dec 15, 2007 isabelb rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: idk
i really want to
read this book
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Michelle
This book was okay, but somewhat predictable.
Michelle
a really nice mystery book...
Arya Stark
Loved this book
Kim
Kim marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2015
Ginnie Grant
Ginnie Grant marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 24 25 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Class of 2013: book review 4 9 Mar 27, 2013 10:38PM  
  • Party Line
  • Countdown
  • The Twisted Window
  • Fatal Bargain (Vampire's Promise, #3)
  • All-Night Party (Fear Street, #43)
  • Guilty (Nightmare Hall, #6)
  • The Yearbook
  • The Giant and How He Humbugged America
  • Deadly Night (Ghosthunters 101, #1)
  • December Stillness
  • The Diary
129033
Author of more than one hundred books, Joan Lowery Nixon is the only writer to have won four Edgar Allan Poe Awards for Juvenile Mysteries (and been nominated several other times) from the Mystery Writers of America. Creating contemporary teenage characters who have both a personal problem and a mystery to solve, Nixon captured the attention of legions of teenage readers since the publication of h ...more
More about Joan Lowery Nixon...
The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore The Other Side of Dark A Family Apart (Orphan Train Adventures, #1) A Deadly Game of Magic The Séance

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »