Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Brotherhood of the Tomb” as Want to Read:
Brotherhood of the Tomb
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Brotherhood of the Tomb

3.71  ·  Rating Details  ·  180 Ratings  ·  11 Reviews
The tombs have always been there beneath the city of Jerusalem. At first obscure, then hidden, then lost entirely, it was a place where death went about its business unseen. Where the living had become the dead and their mourners had in turn been mourned. And then, in 1968, a discovery is made that is so shattering that the reverberations echo through time. For the tombs a ...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published March 1st 1995 by Doubleday (first published August 24th 1989)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Brotherhood of the Tomb, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Brotherhood of the Tomb

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 324)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Eric_W
Nov 26, 2008 Eric_W rated it really liked it

Fans of Ken Follett and Umberto Eco will both enjoy Brotherhood of the Tomb. The author, Daniel Easterman, (a pseudonym), is a former professor of Islamic studies at Newcastle University who brings a great deal of biblical history and middle eastern studies to his novels.

It's difficult to review this book without giving away the plot. suffice it to say, the hero, an ex-CIA agent, who reads Aramaic, Hebrew, and assorted other languages, stumbles onto a plot which would overthrow the existing reli
...more
Mikiel Ottmar
I liked it, especially the detail and history.
Robin
Oct 28, 2007 Robin rated it it was ok
it's the DaVinci Code.
If you like these CIA thrillers, where people get hit over the head with pistols in the dark in one chapter, then wake up in strange farmhouses in the next, to other characters who hold court for 10 pages of exposition and conspiracy theory, then you might like this. I read the first 100 pages, then skimmed the next 50, then jumped ahead to the end and scanned for paragraphs beginning with "That's why..." These books are easy to punch out in afternoon if you need something
...more
Toni
Mar 20, 2007 Toni rated it it was amazing
Even though I'm a diehard atheist, this book was quite the thriller. Lots of political intrigue and machinations within the Vatican to keep The Brotherhood, a shadowy group founded, supposedly by Joseph of Arimethea, for the purpose of keeping secret the true circumstances behind the death of Christ, under wraps. Lots of dead language fun!
Steve
Nov 11, 2008 Steve rated it it was ok
Another mystery thriller involving a rogue element in the Catholic Church hiding a secret and killing people. Fast action that is not very believable. Interesting, but not the greatest read. I think I might have read a couple of his previous books, The Ninth Buddha and The Seventh Sanctuary.
Ruben
Jan 12, 2014 Ruben rated it it was amazing
As good as Da Vinci Code!
Rae
Aug 05, 2008 Rae rated it liked it
This thriller revolves around the discovery of the bones of Christ and his family and what it might mean for mainstream Christianity. Silly, but lots of fun.
Ahmad
Aug 24, 2013 Ahmad added it
Read it many years ago and totally enjoyed it. For me it was a great jump off point for research around many of its themes. HIGHLY RECOMENDED.
Samira Ibrahiem
Aug 21, 2012 Samira Ibrahiem rated it really liked it
This thriller contains some beautiful intense dialogues...didn't expect I would enjoy it that much while buying it ...
Karlene Elliott-mclean
A bit hard to follow but it was okay in the end.
Gracie
Mar 19, 2013 Gracie rated it liked it
Shelves: suspence
"La fratellanza del sepolcro"
Carlos Mendez
Carlos Mendez rated it liked it
Aug 25, 2016
Carolyn Teudt
Carolyn Teudt marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2016
Grace
Grace added it
Aug 17, 2016
Lawrence Azzopardi
Lawrence Azzopardi rated it really liked it
Aug 17, 2016
Sarah
Sarah marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2016
Oscar Lion
Oscar Lion marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2016
Variaciones Enrojo
Variaciones Enrojo marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2016
peter hutchinson
peter hutchinson rated it really liked it
Jul 17, 2016
Trevor Mettam
Trevor Mettam rated it it was amazing
Jul 16, 2016
Melissa-Lee
Melissa-Lee marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2016
Marina
Marina marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2016
Udenwa Chuks
Udenwa Chuks marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2016
Pam
Pam marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2016
Omar
Omar marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2016
Whitney Trimble
Whitney Trimble marked it as to-read
Jun 13, 2016
Girish Muralidhar
Girish Muralidhar rated it it was amazing
Jun 07, 2016
Thomas Gannon
Thomas Gannon rated it really liked it
Jun 05, 2016
Almira
Almira added it
Jun 04, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Vanishment
  • The Deceit
  • The Lure
  • A Thousand Fiendish Angels: Stories Inspired By Dante's Inferno
  • The Book of J.
  • The Blessed and the Damned (Righteous, #4)
  • Dominus (Dominus #1)
  • Blood Sacrifice (John Jordan Mystery, #5)
  • Devil's Hand (Drawing Thin, #1)
  • Black Evening
  • Darkness Peering
  • Lastnight (Jack Nightingale, #5)
  • Entangled
  • The Didymus Contingency (Origins, #1)
  • The Valhalla Exchange
  • Warhol's Prophecy

Share This Book