Brotherhood of the Tomb
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Brotherhood of the Tomb

3.65 of 5 stars 3.65  ·  rating details  ·  139 ratings  ·  10 reviews
The tombs have always been there beneath the city of Jerusalem. At first obscure, then hidden, then lost entirely, it was a place where death went about its business unseen. Where the living had become the dead and their mourners had in turn been mourned. And then, in 1968, a discovery is made that is so shattering that the reverberations echo through time. For the tombs a...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published March 1st 1995 by Doubleday (first published August 24th 1989)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Brotherhood of the Tomb, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Brotherhood of the Tomb

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 219)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Eric_W

Fans of Ken Follett and Umberto Eco will both enjoy Brotherhood of the Tomb. The author, Daniel Easterman, (a pseudonym), is a former professor of Islamic studies at Newcastle University who brings a great deal of biblical history and middle eastern studies to his novels.

It's difficult to review this book without giving away the plot. suffice it to say, the hero, an ex-CIA agent, who reads Aramaic, Hebrew, and assorted other languages, stumbles onto a plot which would overthrow the existing reli...more
Robin
it's the DaVinci Code.
If you like these CIA thrillers, where people get hit over the head with pistols in the dark in one chapter, then wake up in strange farmhouses in the next, to other characters who hold court for 10 pages of exposition and conspiracy theory, then you might like this. I read the first 100 pages, then skimmed the next 50, then jumped ahead to the end and scanned for paragraphs beginning with "That's why..." These books are easy to punch out in afternoon if you need something...more
Toni
Even though I'm a diehard atheist, this book was quite the thriller. Lots of political intrigue and machinations within the Vatican to keep The Brotherhood, a shadowy group founded, supposedly by Joseph of Arimethea, for the purpose of keeping secret the true circumstances behind the death of Christ, under wraps. Lots of dead language fun!
Steve
Another mystery thriller involving a rogue element in the Catholic Church hiding a secret and killing people. Fast action that is not very believable. Interesting, but not the greatest read. I think I might have read a couple of his previous books, The Ninth Buddha and The Seventh Sanctuary.
Ruben
As good as Da Vinci Code!
Rae
This thriller revolves around the discovery of the bones of Christ and his family and what it might mean for mainstream Christianity. Silly, but lots of fun.
Ahmad
Aug 24, 2013 Ahmad added it
Read it many years ago and totally enjoyed it. For me it was a great jump off point for research around many of its themes. HIGHLY RECOMENDED.
Samira Ibrahiem
This thriller contains some beautiful intense dialogues...didn't expect I would enjoy it that much while buying it ...
Karlene Elliott-mclean
A bit hard to follow but it was okay in the end.
Gracie
"La fratellanza del sepolcro"
Jacqueline Atherton
Jacqueline Atherton marked it as to-read
Sep 03, 2014
Raja
Raja marked it as to-read
Aug 19, 2014
Laura
Laura added it
Jul 14, 2014
Stephanie
Stephanie marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2014
Nathan
Nathan marked it as to-read
Jul 07, 2014
Natasha Brough
Natasha Brough marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
The Judas Testament The Seventh Sanctuary The Ninth Buddha Name of the Beast The Last Assassin

Share This Book