Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “American Voudou: Journey into a Hidden World” as Want to Read:
American Voudou: Journey into a Hidden World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

American Voudou: Journey into a Hidden World

by
3.74  ·  Rating Details  ·  34 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
Voudou (an older spelling of voodoo)—a pantheistic belief system developed in West Africa and transported to the Americas during the diaspora of the slave trade—is the generic term for a number of similar African religions which mutated in the Americas, including santeria, candomble, macumbe, obeah, Shango Baptist, etc.

Since its violent introduction in the Caribbean island
...more
Hardcover, 360 pages
Published November 1st 1998 by University of North Texas Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about American Voudou, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about American Voudou

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 63)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Cecily
Jul 17, 2013 Cecily rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Horrible. Vodun told by a confused White voyeur.
Joseph
Nov 19, 2013 Joseph rated it it was amazing
I have to give this work five stars because it does what it set out to do rather fearlessly. However, I'm not sure it may always be clear what the author intended to do.

This is really a non-academic piece of travel writing, which aims to explore but not penetrate the history and fate of African religions in North America. As such, it is very caught up in the 'Orisha voudou' movement. This was the first I had heard of conflict between Santeria and Voudou, and it seems that historically Santeria i
...more
Aaron the Pink Donut
Aug 30, 2007 Aaron the Pink Donut rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Any one!
I really dug this book. It is a well written and very fascinating study of the American version of Voudou or Voodoo (the collective native religions practiced by West Africans brought to the untied states as slaves). The book is a sort of road trip diary of one mans search for what Voudou is and how it impacts the lives of the people who practice it in the south (he travels to New Orleans, Miami, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia for the most part). He spends a fair amount of time dispelling mis ...more
Zen
Very insightful look into the history of American voodoo, its practices and how those practices have changed over time. However, I know I've read a few other books about voodoo or vaudun that were better so this one only get three neutral stars.
Dawn
May 17, 2010 Dawn rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent book about voudou in America. Recommended to anyone who's interested in such a topic. Well written and informative, as well as amusing at times. Five stars all the way!
Fishface
Fishface marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2016
Laura Hutton
Laura Hutton marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Samm
Samm added it
Jan 18, 2016
Erin
Erin marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2016
Dominique Papillion-Herr
Dominique Papillion-Herr marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2015
Emily Edwards
Emily Edwards rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2016
LaShonda Henderson
LaShonda Henderson rated it really liked it
Nov 17, 2015
Micheal Shallop
Micheal Shallop rated it it was ok
Nov 08, 2015
Britt
Britt marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2015
Merav Taylor
Merav Taylor rated it liked it
Aug 31, 2015
J.
J. marked it as to-read
Aug 10, 2015
Kirsten
Kirsten rated it really liked it
May 25, 2015
Rod
Feb 12, 2015 Rod rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Kami Garcia
Kami Garcia rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2015
Kwame Fulani
Kwame Fulani marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2014
Lauren
Lauren marked it as to-read
Nov 23, 2014
sunshani
sunshani marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2014
J.R. Miller
J.R. Miller rated it liked it
Sep 23, 2014
Keeli
Keeli rated it really liked it
May 28, 2015
Gareth
Gareth marked it as to-read
Jul 07, 2014
Julia Legian
Julia Legian marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2014
Netta
Netta rated it liked it
Mar 24, 2014
Susanna
Susanna marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
7159965
Award-winning novelist and writer Rod Davis is the recipient of the fiction award in the inaugural PEN Southwest Book Awards in 2005 for Corina's Way (NewSouth Books, 2003). The novel is described by Kirkus Reviews as “a spicy bouillabaisse, New Orleans-set, in the tradition of Flannery O’Connor or John Kennedy Toole: a welcome romp, told with traditional Southern charm.”

He also is author of Amer
...more
More about Rod Davis...

Share This Book