Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Written on the Heart: The Case for Natural Law” as Want to Read:
Written on the Heart: The Case for Natural Law
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Written on the Heart: The Case for Natural Law

3.84  ·  Rating Details ·  127 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
With uninterrupted clarity, frequent eloquence and occasional humor, J. Budziszewski presents and defends the natural-law tradition in what is at once a primer for students and a vigorous argument for scholars. Written on the Heart expounds the work of the leading architects of theory on natural law, including Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas and John Locke. It also takes up cont ...more
Paperback, 252 pages
Published May 14th 1997 by IVP Academic
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Written on the Heart, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Written on the Heart

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
John
Apr 01, 2014 John rated it liked it
Shelves: 2014
Having spent the last year reading through the works of Theonomists, I thought it would wise to return to reading on natural law. I happened upon J. Budziszewski’s Written on the Heart in my father’s library and picked it up. Budziszewski is obviously a very intelligent and well-learned man. He knows the material and is well acquainted with the thought of Aristotle, Aquinas (who he refers to as “Thomas”), Locke, and Bentham and Mill. The first portion of the book reviews these philosophers. In t ...more
Paul
Nov 07, 2008 Paul rated it really liked it
Shelves: ethics, natural-law
Budziszewski (try saying that 10 times fast!) offers a good introduction to the Natural Law tradition in this book. He begins by looking first at Aristotle. He notes that Aristotle has many good things to say and makes positive contributions to the natural law case, but is - strictly speaking - not a natural law thinker but a natural rights thinker. Budziszewski points out that there's some in Aristotle that a Christian just can't accept, either.

He then moves on to Aquinas. He points out that Aq
...more
Jacob Aitken
Feb 14, 2015 Jacob Aitken rated it really liked it
It's good, but don't get carried away. Budziszewski does a superb job in presenting the Natural Law Theory. The book is remarkably clear and gives a number of pointed legal applications. It is easy reading, and sometimes quite fun.

I have a few qualifications and comments on the book.

*I still remain unconvinced to a degree. On one level I agree with Budziszewski--as a medievalist in the tradition of Augustine, Boethius, Anselm, and Aquinas, I believe there exists an objective moral realm and that
...more
Matthew Summers
Jul 30, 2014 Matthew Summers rated it liked it
I must confess I am disappointed by this book. It is not a *case* for natural law as much as it is an introductory history of the concept. The title misled me to believe that there would be developed arguments for and against natural law, but it only offered brief accounts of Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas, John Locke, and JS Mill. Even after reading it I didn't feel like a case had been made per se, and I only had a marginally better understanding of the thoughts of each author. I would recommend th ...more
Jacob Stubbs
May 09, 2015 Jacob Stubbs rated it did not like it
In this work, Budziszewski provides an interesting analysis of Natural Law. While it's clear that Budziszewski is smart and knows his stuff, I had a really hard time with his rhetoric. This work was definitely better than _What We Can't Not Know_; however, the way Budziszewski writes (and the font) are somewhat frustrating to me.
Seth Holler
Aug 29, 2014 Seth Holler marked it as to-read
Read in Feb 2012 (4 stars). Must reread soon.
Tia Septiani
what if I present this book? it seems good
alexandra
Mar 18, 2007 alexandra rated it it was amazing
My dad's book!
Stephen Wolfe
Aug 04, 2013 Stephen Wolfe rated it really liked it
3.5
Jonathan
Nov 21, 2009 Jonathan added it
Shelves: theology
None
BookDB
BookDB marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2016
Sean Daly
Sean Daly rated it it was amazing
Aug 28, 2016
SiSApis
SiSApis marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2016
Tim
Tim marked it as to-read
Jul 15, 2016
Matthew  Fenn
Matthew Fenn marked it as to-read
Jul 07, 2016
Tim Stone
Tim Stone rated it it was amazing
Jul 04, 2016
Dexter Downs
Dexter Downs marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2016
Charles Oden
Charles Oden is currently reading it
Jun 06, 2016
Matt Gott
Matt Gott rated it really liked it
May 10, 2016
Karen
Karen marked it as to-read
May 10, 2016
Jeff Frazier
Jeff Frazier marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2016
Bruno Toews
Bruno Toews rated it it was amazing
Mar 26, 2016
Nicholas Barnes
Nicholas Barnes rated it it was amazing
Mar 11, 2016
John Gay
John Gay marked it as to-read
Feb 11, 2016
Jamie Carlson
Jamie Carlson marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2016
Catherine
Catherine marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2016
John Herrick
John Herrick marked it as to-read
Jan 29, 2016
Bart Christensen
Bart Christensen marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • God, Philosophy, Universities: A Selective History of the Catholic Philosophical Tradition
  • The Christian Philosophy of St. Thomas Aquinas
  • Philosophy 101 by Socrates: An Introduction to Philosophy via Plato's Apology
  • Guide to Thomas Aquinas
  • On Politics and Ethics
  • God, Freedom, and Evil
  • Christian Reflections
  • A History of Philosophy 8: Modern Philosophy
  • The Dialectics of Secularization: On Reason and Religion
  • The Last Superstition: A Refutation of the New Atheism
  • On Free Choice of the Will
  • Luther and Calvin on Secular Authority (Cambridge Texts in the History of Political Thought)
  • A Humane Economy: The Social Framework of the Free Market
  • Ten Philosophical Mistakes
  • Does God Exist?
  • Ethics: Discovering Right and Wrong
  • Reading Scripture with the Church Fathers: Focusing Concern and Action
  • "I Believe": Exploring the Apostles' Creed
40365
J. Budziszewski (born 1952) is professor of government at the University of Texas, Austin, where he has taught since 1981. He specializes in ethics, political philosophy and the interaction of these two fields with religion and theology.

Budziszewski has written widely, in both scholarly and popular venues, about a variety of moral and political issues including abortion, marriage, sexuality, capit
...more
More about J. Budziszewski...

Share This Book



“it is impossible to legislate without legislating morality. Try to think of a law that is not based on a moral idea; you won’t be able to do it.” 1 likes
“An unsound thinker goes where his motives and interests invite him; a sound thinker goes where the argument takes him.” 1 likes
More quotes…