Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Written on the Heart: The Case for Natural Law” as Want to Read:
Written on the Heart: The Case for Natural Law
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Written on the Heart: The Case for Natural Law

3.75 of 5 stars 3.75  ·  rating details  ·  99 ratings  ·  10 reviews
With uninterrupted clarity, frequent eloquence and occasional humor, J. Budziszewski presents and defends the natural-law tradition in what is at once a primer for students and a vigorous argument for scholars. Written on the Heart expounds the work of the leading architects of theory on natural law, including Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas and John Locke. It also takes up cont ...more
Paperback, 252 pages
Published May 14th 1997 by IVP Academic
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Written on the Heart, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Written on the Heart

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 213)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
John
Apr 01, 2014 John rated it 3 of 5 stars
Shelves: 2014
Having spent the last year reading through the works of Theonomists, I thought it would wise to return to reading on natural law. I happened upon J. Budziszewski’s Written on the Heart in my father’s library and picked it up. Budziszewski is obviously a very intelligent and well-learned man. He knows the material and is well acquainted with the thought of Aristotle, Aquinas (who he refers to as “Thomas”), Locke, and Bentham and Mill. The first portion of the book reviews these philosophers. In t ...more
Jacob Aitken
It's good, but don't get carried away. Budziszewski does a superb job in presenting the Natural Law Theory. The book is remarkably clear and gives a number of pointed legal applications. It is easy reading, and sometimes quite fun.

I have a few qualifications and comments on the book.

*I still remain unconvinced to a degree. On one level I agree with Budziszewski--as a medievalist in the tradition of Augustine, Boethius, Anselm, and Aquinas, I believe there exists an objective moral realm and that
...more
Paul
Budziszewski (try saying that 10 times fast!) offers a good introduction to the Natural Law tradition in this book. He begins by looking first at Aristotle. He notes that Aristotle has many good things to say and makes positive contributions to the natural law case, but is - strictly speaking - not a natural law thinker but a natural rights thinker. Budziszewski points out that there's some in Aristotle that a Christian just can't accept, either.

He then moves on to Aquinas. He points out that Aq
...more
Matthew Summers
I must confess I am disappointed by this book. It is not a *case* for natural law as much as it is an introductory history of the concept. The title misled me to believe that there would be developed arguments for and against natural law, but it only offered brief accounts of Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas, John Locke, and JS Mill. Even after reading it I didn't feel like a case had been made per se, and I only had a marginally better understanding of the thoughts of each author. I would recommend th ...more
Jacob Stubbs
In this work, Budziszewski provides an interesting analysis of Natural Law. While it's clear that Budziszewski is smart and knows his stuff, I had a really hard time with his rhetoric. This work was definitely better than _What We Can't Not Know_; however, the way Budziszewski writes (and the font) are somewhat frustrating to me.
Seth Holler
Aug 29, 2014 Seth Holler marked it as to-read
Read in Feb 2012 (4 stars). Must reread soon.
Tia Septiani
what if I present this book? it seems good
Jonathan
Nov 21, 2009 Jonathan added it
Shelves: theology
None
Tony
Tony added it
Feb 25, 2015
Mahad
Mahad marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2015
Rachel
Rachel marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2015
Jeremiah Newcomb
Jeremiah Newcomb marked it as to-read
Jan 10, 2015
Reid
Reid added it
Dec 28, 2014
Christopher Goffos
Christopher Goffos marked it as to-read
Dec 03, 2014
Michael
Michael marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • God, Philosophy, Universities: A Selective History of the Catholic Philosophical Tradition
  • On Politics and Ethics
  • Philosophy 101 by Socrates: An Introduction to Philosophy via Plato's Apology
  • The Christian Philosophy of St. Thomas Aquinas
  • God, Freedom, and Evil
  • A History of Philosophy 8: Modern Philosophy
  • The Last Superstition: A Refutation of the New Atheism
  • The Dialectics of Secularization: On Reason and Religion
  • Ten Philosophical Mistakes
  • Christian Reflections
  • The Great Tradition: Classic Readings on What it Means to Be an Educated Human Being
  • The Political Writings of St. Augustine
  • Ethics: Discovering Right and Wrong
  • Reading Scripture with the Church Fathers: Focusing Concern and Action
  • An Introduction to Philosophy
  • Human Rights as Politics and Idolatry
40365
J. Budziszewski (born 1952) is professor of government at the University of Texas, Austin, where he has taught since 1981. He specializes in ethics, political philosophy and the interaction of these two fields with religion and theology.

Budziszewski has written widely, in both scholarly and popular venues, about a variety of moral and political issues including abortion, marriage, sexuality, capit
...more
More about J. Budziszewski...
How to Stay Christian in College What We Can't Not Know: A Guide Ask Me Anything: Provocative Answers for College Students On the Meaning of Sex The Revenge of Conscience: Politics and the Fall of Man

Share This Book