Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Honey and the Hired Hand (Hawk's Way #1)” as Want to Read:
Honey and the Hired Hand (Hawk's Way #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Honey and the Hired Hand (Hawk's Way #1)

by
3.83  ·  Rating Details ·  369 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
A taste of honey...

When a mysterious drifter appeared at Honey Farrell's ranch, willing to work for room and board, the wary widow had to hire him. Tall, dark and grouchy, Jesse Whitelaw could scare away the lurking cattle rustlers with one growl. And Honey's sons could sure use a man around. Still, there was something mighty suspicious about the cowboy....

Jesse hated lyin
...more
Paperback, 248 pages
Published October 1st 2004 by Harlequin Books (first published November 1992)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Honey and the Hired Hand, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Honey and the Hired Hand

It Had to Be You by Susan Elizabeth PhillipsThe Leopard Prince by Elizabeth HoytTrue Love and Other Disasters by Rachel GibsonCourting Miss Hattie by Pamela MorsiRocket Man by Melanie   Greene
Bosswoman: In Love with the Female Boss
22nd out of 24 books — 19 voters
Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtryHoles by Louis SacharAll the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthyIsaac's Storm by Erik LarsonGiant by Edna Ferber
Books Set in Texas
376th out of 397 books — 155 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Julianna
Nov 17, 2011 Julianna rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Contemporary Western Romance, Sexy Alpha Cowboys
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"4.5 stars" For a short novel, Honey and the Hired Hand was a surprisingly enjoyable read that kept me very emotionally engaged. Joan Johnston seems to have a talent for expressing a great deal using an economy of words. The pace moves along very quickly yet the story never felt rushed. Even though it takes place over the course of only a few weeks, there is an intimacy to Jesse and Honey's relationship that makes it seem like they've known each other forever. The sexual
...more
Kay
Mar 03, 2012 Kay rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: print
After reading A Little Time in Texas, I just had to read Honey and the Hired Hand to see if Honey ends up with Adam. What a surprise when a drifter comes to help her with her ranch, and it's not Adam that Honey's heart beats faster for. Jessie isn't the man he appears to be, which is a good thing for Honey because she and her ranch are targets and she needs his help with more than mending fences. I'm looking forward to reading more about the Whitelaw's.
Cruth
Author: Joan Johnston
First published: 1992
Length: 1956 kindle locations.
Setting: Contemporary.
Sex: Explicit. Frequent.
Hero: Drifter. Ranch Hand. (view spoiler)
Heroine: Widow with two children. Runs a ranch.
Cheating: Heroine is seeing another man at start of book.

Good Lord, what did I just read?!?

First of all I’ll admit I bought it by mistake.I had intended to grab only a sample but instead 1-clicked. Since it was now on my kindle I gave it a go. Only it, a
...more
Linda
Jun 15, 2012 Linda rated it liked it
This was an good book, just not as good as Joan Johnston's books usually are. Maybe she tried to shorten the book, because usually hers are much longer. Honey is a widowed mother, that lives on and runs a ranch, with her 2 sons, one who's a young teenager, and the other is around 5 or 6. I will wrote more later...
Kimberly Woodlief
I liked this series so much that I had to start searching Amazon for the books to read in order due to the library not having them all. If you are looking these books check for them on Amazon. I actually got some books for a .01.
Julie Hanson
Julie Hanson rated it did not like it
Sep 23, 2016
Peggy vance
Peggy vance rated it liked it
Jul 18, 2016
Alice Kilincci
Alice Kilincci rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2016
Amanda Marsh
Amanda Marsh rated it it was amazing
Jun 09, 2014
B Colllins
B Colllins rated it really liked it
Feb 17, 2015
Lisa
Lisa rated it really liked it
Jul 17, 2014
Danielle
Danielle rated it liked it
Mar 29, 2015
Anne OK
Anne OK rated it liked it
Dec 08, 2009
Jeanette Arens
Jeanette Arens rated it did not like it
Oct 01, 2011
Kate
Kate rated it did not like it
Jan 26, 2016
Mary
Mary rated it really liked it
Feb 02, 2015
Christina
Christina rated it really liked it
Feb 02, 2008
Jessica
Jessica rated it liked it
Feb 06, 2016
Suhail Barot
Suhail Barot rated it liked it
Jan 05, 2014
Christi
Christi rated it liked it
Jan 18, 2013
Jen Hand
Jen Hand rated it liked it
Aug 30, 2007
Persephone
Persephone rated it really liked it
Apr 19, 2013
Mandy Autry
Mandy Autry rated it really liked it
Mar 24, 2009
Gina Eckhoff
Gina Eckhoff rated it liked it
Jul 01, 2013
Robin Fincher
Robin Fincher rated it really liked it
Jun 17, 2014
Alyssa Perkins
Alyssa Perkins rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2015
Gaby
Gaby rated it really liked it
Sep 03, 2010
yvonne gould
yvonne gould rated it did not like it
May 04, 2016
Jessica
Jessica rated it it was ok
Apr 20, 2014
Foretta
Foretta rated it it was amazing
Jul 11, 2013
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Cowboy in My Pocket
  • The Bride and the Bargain
  • Detecting Danger (Capitol K-9 Unit #5)
  • The Rustler (Stone Creek, #3)
  • The Cowboy Next Door (Cash Brothers, #1)
  • The Best Bride (Hometown Heartbreakers, #1)
  • The Player's Club: Scott (The Player's Club #1)
  • Lone Star Christmas (Hawk's Way, #11; Long, Tall Texans, #18)
  • Anywhere But Here (Anywhere, #1)
  • The Cowboy Takes a Bride (Jubilee, Texas, #1)
  • Soldier on Her Doorstep
  • Cinderella & the CEO (Kings of California, #8)
  • Twilight in Texas (McLain #4)
  • His Second-Chance Family (The Women of Brambleberry House, #2)
  • Luck Be a Lady (West Investigations, #2)
  • One Fine Cowboy
47784
Joan Johnston (born Little Rock, Arkansas) is a best-selling American author of over forty contemporary and historical romance novels.

Johnston was the third of seven children born to an Air Force sergeant and his music-teacher wife. She received a B.A. in theatre arts from Jacksonville University in 1970, then earning an M.A. in theatre from the University of Illinois, Urbana in 1971. She received
...more
More about Joan Johnston...

Other Books in the Series

Hawk's Way (1 - 10 of 13 books)
  • The Rancher and the Runaway Bride
  • The Cowboy And The Princess (Hawk's Way #3)
  • The Wrangler and the Rich Girl
  • The Cowboy Takes a Wife
  • The Unforgiving Bride
  • The Headstrong Bride
  • The Disobedient Bride
  • The Temporary Groom
  • The Virgin Groom
  • Lone Star Christmas (Hawk's Way, #11; Long, Tall Texans, #18)

Share This Book