Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dreams of the Centaur” as Want to Read:
Dreams of the Centaur
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dreams of the Centaur

4.08 of 5 stars 4.08  ·  rating details  ·  36 ratings  ·  6 reviews
"Dreams of the Centaur" brings to light for the first time in fiction the tragic enslavement of the Yaqui Indians by Porfirio Diaz's regime at the turn of the last century. Through the lives of the Ducals--a Mexican family who has created a ranch out of the desert--this "Western saga brimming with the heart and soul of Mexico . . . is an extraordinarily rich novel" ("West ...more
Paperback, 349 pages
Published April 1st 1997 by W. W. Norton & Company (first published January 1st 1996)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dreams of the Centaur, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dreams of the Centaur

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman AlexieThe Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman AlexieBeyond Oria Falls by Sheryl SealLove Medicine by Louise ErdrichCeremony by Leslie Marmon Silko
Native American Fiction
127th out of 513 books — 483 voters
Send More Idiots by Tony Perez-GieseHoulihan's Wake and other fragments of Mexico by Bryan  MurphyLike Water for Chocolate by Laura EsquivelPedro Páramo by Juan RulfoXtabentum by Rosy Hugener
Books Set in Mexico
10th out of 69 books — 56 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 91)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Leigh McDonald
Aug 20, 2007 Leigh McDonald rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Mexican history, character-driven novels
Shelves: recentlyread
This book was a beautiful, often heartbreaking and astounding journey through a place and time--Sonora, Mexico in the late 1800s. It's raw and tough and quiet and haunting. I learned a lot of incredible history, and I have mental images I don't think I'll ever shake. It's easy reading in the sense that the language and characters keep you interested and flowing through the story, but subject-matter-wise it's definitely no walk in the park. Still, utterly worth it. I came across it by chance, and ...more
Chrisl
"Eye-Opening" ... looking back on Northern Mexico, just 100 years ago ... making slaves of the Yaqui, (Apache cousins) and shipping them to the jungle plantations of Southern Mexico.

From one of the most respected librarians review magazines
KIRKUS REVIEW

Fontes returns to the Durcal family, introduced in her 1990 debut, First Confession. This prequel to the earlier work, which was set in the 1940s, takes place in the northern Mexico state of Sonora from the mid-1880s to the turn of the century,
...more
Judi
DREAMS OF THE CENTAUR takes place at the turn of the 20th century, when Mexican President Porfirio Díaz was responsible for the deportation, enslavement, and slaughter of thousands of Yaquis Indians. Similar to Isabel Allende's THE HOUSE OF SPIRTIS, the epic family story is integrated with the history and politics of the times. In this novel, the events of the Durcal family is told through the voices of Felipa and her oldest son Alejo Durcal.

Long ago, wealthy hacendados had claimed the best land
...more
Christina
I really enjoyed this book overall. Lots of drama, but really showed strong woman as characters.
Jozny Wolf
I TOOK ME TIME TO FINISH THIS BOOK BUT IT WAS AWESOME!!!
Kate
A readalike for Hummingbird's Daughter? perhaps........
Emily
Emily marked it as to-read
May 25, 2015
Fatima
Fatima added it
May 11, 2015
Kristie Zerda
Kristie Zerda marked it as to-read
May 11, 2015
Rebecca
Rebecca marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2015
Deborah Pickstone
Deborah Pickstone marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2015
Liz
Liz marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2015
Jen
Jen marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2015
Kelsey
Kelsey marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2015
Alyssa
Alyssa marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2015
Megan
Megan marked it as to-read
Sep 23, 2014
Patricia Richards
Patricia Richards marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2014
Yesenia
Yesenia marked it as to-read
Aug 10, 2014
Jennifer
Jennifer marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2014
Kristine Pratt
Kristine Pratt marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Montserrat Fontes is a distinguished writer whose first novel, First Confession, has been widely praised as a major contribution to Chicana fiction. Her work is often taught in the CSLA U.S. Ethnic Literature course. Her second novel, Dreams of the Centaur, is currently being translated into German and French.
More about Montserrat Fontes...
First Confession

Share This Book