Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Growing Up with Roy and Dale” as Want to Read:
Growing Up with Roy and Dale
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Growing Up with Roy and Dale

4.23  ·  Rating Details ·  26 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
He was King of the Cowboys, she was Queen of the West. To us, they were just Mom and Dad and living with them was almost as rowdy as a Saturday matinee.
Hardcover, 206 pages
Published July 1st 1986 by Gospel Light Publications (first published January 1st 1986)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Growing Up with Roy and Dale, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Growing Up with Roy and Dale

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-41)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Lisa
Apr 03, 2012 Lisa rated it really liked it
My son is a real "Roy Rogers" fan and we loved reading this book together. There were a few spots I skipped when Dusty was being rebellious but most of it was great reading! Roy Rogers godly character really was a wonderful example to children but an amazing husband and father.
Mike (the Paladin)
Dec 02, 2009 Mike (the Paladin) rated it it was amazing
I'm a child of the fifties and I grew up with Roy Rogers and Dale Evans on my TV every Saturday morning and their movies every chance I got. Usually there were a couple of old westerns on Sunday afternoon, all the greats Hoppy, Gene, Rex (Allen or Bell), Tex (Ritter), Johnny (Mack Brown) but of all the heroes Roy Rogers was my favorite.

I have read many bios of Roy and I suppose one would have to be pretty bad for me not to ride back in time and take some refuge for a time in thise memories and a
...more
Kpent
Mar 13, 2011 Kpent rated it it was amazing
Great book! If you have appreciated the legacy of Roy Rogers and Dale Evans, you'll appreciate this very human depiction of life in their home and the grace of God that created such a godly heritage. As a pastor's kid, I too appreciate the perspective of living in a fish bowl and sharing your parents.
Taylor
Jul 17, 2013 Taylor rated it it was amazing
Shelves: to-buy, favorites
I love Roy and Dale and naturally enjoyed reading a book by their son.
I have read many books by and about them and I really liked reading one from Dusty's point of view.
I loved Dusty's honesty. He wasn't afraid to share that they weren't perfect and made mistakes.

Definitely, a must-read for fans of Roy and Dale.
Judy Tate
Nov 03, 2014 Judy Tate rated it it was amazing
A behind the scenes look at what life was like with The King of the Cowboys and the Queen of the West. It wasn't always easy, but there was a lot of love in their home.
Carolyn
Carolyn rated it really liked it
Jun 06, 2010
Ellen
Ellen rated it really liked it
Feb 24, 2010
Leahbashaw
Leahbashaw rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2009
Gail
Gail rated it really liked it
Jun 22, 2010
Brett Lawrie
Brett Lawrie rated it liked it
Nov 19, 2016
Debbie
Debbie rated it liked it
Oct 11, 2008
Natalie
Natalie rated it it was amazing
Sep 19, 2014
Veronica Hetke
Veronica Hetke rated it liked it
May 17, 2017
Jan Jordan Lokensgard
Jan Jordan Lokensgard rated it really liked it
May 22, 2014
Koleesa
Koleesa rated it really liked it
Jul 01, 2012
Roxanne
Roxanne rated it really liked it
Jun 11, 2016
Mary
Mary rated it it was amazing
Sep 20, 2015
Sue
Sue rated it liked it
Aug 31, 2013
Stig
Stig rated it liked it
Oct 14, 2011
Hannah Bowen
Hannah Bowen rated it it was amazing
Mar 05, 2014
Krystina
Krystina rated it it was amazing
May 24, 2009
Jez
Jez rated it it was amazing
Apr 25, 2010
Natalie
Natalie rated it it was amazing
Sep 19, 2014
Audrey
Audrey rated it really liked it
May 28, 2011
Katlin
Katlin rated it really liked it
Nov 06, 2013
Belle
Belle rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2011
Mary
Mary marked it as to-read
Jul 03, 2011
Clara
Clara marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2012
Olivia
Olivia marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2013
Cabrennan
Cabrennan marked it as to-read
Aug 10, 2014
Johnny Smith
Johnny Smith marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2015
Olivia
Olivia marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2014
Joanne G.
Joanne G. marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2014
F
F marked it as to-read
May 01, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book