Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Princess Academy” as Want to Read:
Princess Academy
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Princess Academy (Princess Academy #1)

by
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00  ·  rating details  ·  67,855 ratings  ·  6,609 reviews
A masterful story of a young girl plucked from her village by the king's ministers in order to learn the skills of a princess. What becomes a familiar story, quickly becomes a dark, powerful allegory of issues being faced by young women
Paperback, 320 pages
Published March 2nd 2009 by Bloomsbury Childrens Books (first published January 1st 2005)
more details... edit details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Princess Academy by Shannon Hale
    Princess Academy (Princess Academy, #1)
    by
    Release date: Mar 03, 2015
    Miri lives on a mountain where, for generations, her ancestors have lived a simple life. Then word comes that the king's priests have divined her vill…more
    Giveaway dates: Dec 05 - Mar 03, 2015
    5 copies available, 1053 people requesting
    Countries available: US and CA
  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Princess Academy, please sign up.

    Popular Answered Questions

    Debbie You might want to try The Royal Diaries, they are all based off of real girls, abeit with a slight fictional spin on things.
    …more
    You might want to try The Royal Diaries, they are all based off of real girls, abeit with a slight fictional spin on things.
    https://www.goodreads.com/series/4953...(less)
    Evendim No, this is not a classic. There's certain books we mean when we say "classic" and this is not one of them.

    You can "The Giver" or "Number the Stars"…more
    No, this is not a classic. There's certain books we mean when we say "classic" and this is not one of them.

    You can "The Giver" or "Number the Stars" for your book report. They're both very good and not too long.(less)
    This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

    Community Reviews

    (showing 1-30 of 3,000)
    filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
    Beth
    AUGUST 2012: Just re-read (technically re-listened) to this one in anticipation of the sequel coming out this month. Loved this book all over again!

    ---

    MAY 2007: So the latest books I’ve read … I haven’t exactly enjoyed. I mean, I do finish them and everything, so they must have been okay, but it’s not like I was ever reaching for my book multiple times a day, binging on pages. I’ve kind of missed that.

    But all that changed with Princess Academy! Seriously — I loved this book.

    (I should probably on
    ...more
    Tatiana
    Oct 17, 2009 Tatiana rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: those who love fairy tales and children's books
    Shelves: 2009, fairy-tales
    Sometimes you just want to take a break from endless angst and sexual tension of currently popular both adult and YA books and read something light and inoffensive. "Princess Academy" is an excellent choice for this purpose. Although this is an obviously children's book, it is not silly or overly simplistic. The fairy tale is very imaginative and teaches many valuable lessons (importance of education is among many of them), but never in a preachy way.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found mys
    ...more
    HT Goodwill
    Jun 29, 2007 HT Goodwill rated it 3 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: Women and girls from the age of adolescence and up, those who enjoy adolescent fiction
    Overall, the book was well written and appropriate for a young adolescent audience. It was certainly not written for someone in my demographic!

    I enjoyed a number of aspects of this book and also a few disappointements. Specifically,

    1) The resolution of the primary conflict (who gets to be the princess) felt too much like a plot-device (I can't say more without giving away the ending) that the author threw into the story to avoid a painful conflict between the characters.

    2)The culture of the moun
    ...more
    Shannon (Giraffe Days)
    The linder quarries on Mount Eskel make for hard labour, but the villagers who mine it wouldn't trade their life for anything. The linder stone takes skill to extract in whole blocks from the mountainside, and its qualities enable them to converse without speaking.

    Fourteen year old Miri wants nothing so much as to join her father and older sister in the quarry. But she's small, and her father has forbidden her to set foot in the quarry. Instead, Miri tends the goats; teases her childhood friend,
    ...more
    Tamora Pierce
    I really liked it when the girls started pulling together and thinking past the fairytale, deciding that was in their best interest.
    Lisa Vegan
    I found this to be a very pleasant story. I’m not exactly sure why some people hate it and a lot of people unreservedly adore it but I did enjoy it, a lot.

    I loved the little poems at the start of each chapter; they gave such a good feel for this mountain community and its people. I was completely charmed by this culture and its people.

    There is a very inspiring main protagonist and most of the characters were interesting. I really liked Miri (the main character) and her spunk and her ingenuity, e
    ...more
    Cindy
    Jun 26, 2007 Cindy rated it 3 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: Young Girls
    (warning: spoilers)

    Ok, so I hate it when people hype up a book so much that there's no way you can ever enjoy it. That's what happened to this book. Everyone told me I would love it so much, and so when I read it I was, I couldn't help but be...disappointed. It was good, don't get me wrong! I enjoyed it. I read it fast, it was a book that I wanted to find out what was going to happen next. But I found it to be very predictable and it felt very confining. She mentioned that the mountain was beaut
    ...more
    Kathleen
    Sep 22, 2008 Kathleen rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: 9-adult to read alone, read aloud to 5 and up
    I've been reading this to my 8.5 year old daughter at night before bed. She is eating it up - and I am too. In fact - I read ahead just to see what happens. . SHHHHHHHH.

    Though the title is appropriate, I'm afraid that some people will not pick up this book because they think it is froofy and shallow. . 'Tis not. The protagonist is a real, rich character with an inner life and traits both admirable and unfortunate. The world she lives in is believable and complex economically and socially, and wi
    ...more
    SheWunders
    I think this may be my favorite Shannon Hale book.

    The writing style is very much like her other YA books (Goose Girl, Enna Burning, & River Secrets). Also it shares the "speaking" theme.

    What I love most about Princess Academy is the growth the characters experience. Miri began as a scrawny quarry girl who didn't know her place in the world. She developed into a brave, intellegent girl who knows her heart. The road of growth is deep in plot and emotion which makes of a very meaningful and to
    ...more
    S
    Mar 11, 2008 S rated it 3 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: Middle School girls
    Shelves: young-adult
    An interesting title that I chose because my twelve year old refused to let me read the copy she'd borrowed from her BFF.

    This Newbery Honor book is the tale of Miri Larendaughter, misunderstood and misunderstanding, a girl who loves her mountain home and family, harvesters of a rare, marble like rock called Linder.

    A prophecy is made that the Prince's future wife will come from their home, and all the girls from 13 to 17 are rounded up and forced to go to school under an awful teacher. Fairly sta
    ...more
    Kyra
    Mar 30, 2008 Kyra rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: Everyone looking for a great book!!!!!!
    This book is really seriously a great one!! I love how there is so much to the story and how you never want to put it down!!!
    Juli
    Oct 14, 2008 Juli rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: fans of nontraditional fairy tales (or, you know, anyone who can read.)
    Recommended to Juli by: Katie O'Neill
    The main character is Miri (named for a moutain flower), who lives in the poor mountains of a rich kingdom. None of the mountain people can read or write, and their only source of income is a product of the mountain itself, which they have to mine, and they're dependent on traders who come from the lowlands with basic goods to swap for the precious mountain stone. The king's priests determine that the prince's future bride will come from Miri's mountain village, so all the eligible young girls h ...more
    Nola
    May 26, 2008 Nola rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: Young adults, girls
    Recommended to Nola by: Sesika
    Shelves: fiction-fantasy
    After hearing a number of people recommend Shannon Hale's The Princess Academy, I couldn't resist trying it out myself. I found it to be a delightful read, perfect for children and young adults, and rather engaging even for us 'big people.' More than your average fairy-tale, the novel creates a protagonist that exceeds the usual boundries.
    The premise of the novel is fairy-tale typical. When the priests of Danland determine that the prince's bride will come from the slopes of Mt. Eskel, an acad
    ...more
    Jacqueline
    Dec 07, 2013 Jacqueline rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: those who are trying to discover who they really are—whether a preteen, teenager, or adult
    Recommended to Jacqueline by: Amazon.com
    Old review written in 2008 or something like a million years ago:

    Everyone who has been or is a teenager has to admit it: one of the most trial times of your life is in your mid- and early teens. If you think about it, these are the times when you have the most conflicts in your life--those with family, friends, neighbors, and probably the greatest, with yourself. Young adult fiction writer Shannon Hale takes a look at these same conflicts. Though the main character of the novel Princess Academy
    ...more
    V. Gingerich
    Another book that makes me go, "Where have you been all my life?"

    Expect lots of similes and other figures of speech, lovely and well drawn characters, and a fantasy setting that feels real as the page.

    Miri fights against prejudice and ambition and worries about things like fitting in and how important she really is to her family. She struggles to know the difference between being happy and being chosen for something important, and, as a reader, I struggled, too. I really wanted Miri to be chos
    ...more
    Dana
    I love Shannon Hale - and get sucked right in to her books from the beginning. This book is certainly no exception.

    I'm trying to remember though - I have read a book similar to Shannon Hale's style - it was about a girl stuck up in a tower with her maiden. Does this book sound familiar to any of you? If so, can you remind me of the author? I'd like to check out more of those books.

    Nevermind...I just found it. It's called Book of a Thousand Days and yes, it is written by Shannon Hale and not so
    ...more
    Amma
    Dec 01, 2008 Amma rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
    Recommends it for: everyone
    Recommended to Amma by: no one
    This is the greatest book I've ever ever ever ever read. It takes place a longggg time ago in Scandanavia and it is so like real life it's scary. It very interseting, a book you can't put down.
    Nate
    My friend Chris Dufort LOVES this book. He is has every bit of Princess Academy merchandise that he can find. He told me that he has read this book 5 or 6 times. I took him up on it and I liked it.
    Kristi
    this was adorable! i loved it!

    review to come!
    Christina (A Reader of Fictions)
    Review originally posted on A Reader of Fictions.

    On the surface, Princess Academy seems a silly tale, a story of a Prince choosing a bride, an obvious read-a-like for Kiera Cass' The Selection. Of course, that is the crux of the story: the prince of Danland is to choose his bride from among the twenty girls of the proper age in Mount Eskel, a small territory town full of quarriers. The girls are required to spend a year in training for the Prince's coming. However, Princess Academy is so much mo
    ...more
    Lauren
    This book has great re-read quality. Even rereading it twice in say, a month, like I sort of am, is worth it. You catch little details and tiny foreshadowings you don't catch the first time around.
    ...........October 14th 2010........
    Shannon Hale's books affect me in very odd ways. Occasionally I have to wipe tears out of my eyes. I squeal and laugh and pound my feet on the floor. I have just finished re-reading two of her books in a row, and I am practically in a state of overload. Her books ar
    ...more
    TheBookSmugglers
    Originally reviewed on The Book Smugglers

    Miri is a young girl that has lived all her life on Mount Eskel, an unforgiving mountain that reaches far above the lowlands of Danlow. Here, Miri lives a quiet mundane life with her Pa and elder sister, Marda, tending to the family's goats and meager stores. Forbidden from working in the quarry where all other mountainers, male and female alike, mine linder - a rare, marble-like stone and Eskel's only natural resource - Miri has always felt separate from
    ...more
    Kat  Hooper
    ORIGINALLY POSTED AT Fantasy Literature.

    The people who live on Mount Eskel mine linder, the marble-like substance that’s highly prized by those who live in the lowlands. Even though they’ve always supplied the linder for the King’s palace and other important buildings, the mountain folk have their own culture and know very little about what happens beneath their mountain. Therefore, they’re just as surprised as the lowlanders are when the priests ordain that the prince’s bride will come from Mou
    ...more
    Jessica
    Literary academics love to debate definitions. When did the Victorian era of literature really start? To which nation should an ex patriot’s writing be accredited? What is young adult fiction? Stephenie Meyer, one of the most recently popular young adult authors, noted her opinion that young adult books merely have young adult protagonists, while adult books have adult protagonists. That may be true, but YA plots also usually involve some kind of bildungsroman.

    Princess Academy is no exception. T
    ...more
    Mimi
    It was cute that when I read and finished the book we were on our road trip to Utah. all the mountains around were quite the setting. Of course we're staying this week at Quarry Lane. I will try quarry speech with the rock wall on the patio.

    (And we drove through Badlands right after I read "Peace like a river", kind of freaky to drive the same road.)

    I think she does well creating intensity, just enough to be entertaining for adults but not too scary for younger readers. I like her balanced writi
    ...more
    Diane
    Every now and again I like to read a good children's book, especially if it has a smart heroine. Princess Academy was perfect reading for a Sunday afternoon. It tells the story of Miri, a 14-year-old girl living on a mountain that mines a valuable stone. One day, it's announced that the prince will choose his next princess from Miri's village, and all the girls are sent to an academy to be educated.

    Miri is a spunky heroine -- she studies hard, she tries to make friends and she stands up for the
    ...more
    Gloryseeker33
    I loved this book. I thought the premise interesting, and it did turn out to be a great story, but it had so much roundness and depth beyond the interest of story and setting and character. The exploration of the need to belong, the value of accepting differences and working together, of doing good to those who have not treated us well, are all explored here. Mis-communications and misunderstandings, struggles with self worth, and feelings of being unloved and left out, and the resolutions of th ...more
    Cheryl
    I was surprised how much I liked this. I would've absolutely loved it when I was an 11 yo girl. This cover evokes the originality of the story, and the atmosphere of the mountain home of the girls, much better than the other cover with the close-up of the girl's head.
    Heathercrow
    This book was such fun. Who hasn't dreamt about being a princess at least once in their life? I loved the characters and it was just a sweet story. I am looking forward to reading more of Shanon Hale's books.
    Anna
    I LOVED this book. The title makes it sound more like a fantasy fairy tale, but the book is so far from it.
    « previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
    topics  posts  views  last activity   
    Chapter Book Choice #1 2 6 Nov 17, 2014 09:03PM  
    Would you rather be a lowlander or a Mountain person? 47 99 Oct 23, 2014 12:01PM  
    Would you rather go to princess academy or stay in the village 9 23 Oct 23, 2014 11:58AM  
    • Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers, #1)
    • Dragon's Breath (Tales of the Frog Princess, #2)
    • Fairest
    • Once Upon a Marigold (Upon a Marigold, #1)
    • Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy
    • Our Only May Amelia (May Amelia, #1)
    • A Posse of Princesses
    • The Truth-Teller's Tale (Safe-Keepers, #2)
    • East
    • Princess Ben
    • Golden (Once Upon A Time Fairytales)
    49177
    Shannon Hale is the New York Times best-selling author of six young adult novels: the Newbery Honor book Princess Academy, multiple award winner Book of a Thousand Days, and the highly acclaimed Books of Bayern series. She has written three books for adults, including the upcoming Midnight in Austenland (Jan. 2012), companion book to Austenland. She co-wrote the hit graphic novel Rapunzel's Reveng ...more
    More about Shannon Hale...
    The Goose Girl (The Books of Bayern, #1) Austenland (Austenland, #1) Book of a Thousand Days Enna Burning (The Books of Bayern, #2) River Secrets (The Books of Bayern, #3)

    Share This Book

    “There you go...let it all slide out. Unhappiness can't stick in a person's soul when it's slick with tears.” 483 likes
    “I keep thinking about a tale my nurse used to read to me about a bird whose wings are pinned to the ground. In the end, when he finally frees himself, he flies so high he becomes a star. My nurse said the story was about how we all have something that keeps us down.” 253 likes
    More quotes…