Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Night Children” as Want to Read:
The Night Children
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Night Children

by
2.98 of 5 stars 2.98  ·  rating details  ·  62 ratings  ·  11 reviews
Inside the Castertown MegaMall, the biggest mall in the world, live the night children—runaways, abandoned kids, kids who got lost and were never found. They only come out at night, after all the shoppers are gone.

When thirteen-year-old Jule Devereaux visits the mall after the mysterious disappearance of her aunt, she becomes a pawn in the war between two gangs of night ch
...more
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published September 30th 2008 by Starscape (first published January 1st 2008)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Night Children, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Night Children

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 127)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Travis West
Part parable, part dystopian future, part alternate reality, the one thing this book is not is literal, which makes it hard to understand the number of reviews condemning the book as unrealistic and impossible.

In a world where children just go missing and no one seems to care, a society of kids live in secret in world's largest shopping mall, surfacing only at night once all the shoppers have gone home. There is a dark plan in the works by evil syndicate Zozzco that threatens the very existence
...more
Margaret
Jule Devereaux has been trapped for the night inside the WhirlyFunRide in the gigantic Castertown MegaMall, after she quarreled with her aunt and then her aunt disappeared, just as her parents did years ago. As Jule is about to find out, the mall is much more than it seems, and during the night, it is ruled by gangs of children, abandoned children and runaways who live in secret places in the mall. Or perhaps the children don't really rule here: perhaps the true ruler is the sinister billionaire ...more
Aura
This book gets 5 stars for the creative premise, 3 for style (when it's not being insufferably condescending), and 1 for its repugnant conclusions.

"Don't feel bad for homeless kids, they love the freedom! Foster homes are full of terrible people anyway! Parents are a luxury not a necessity! Everyone everywhere are basically greedy sociopaths!"

Ugh.

The biggest failure is that the main characters are passive observers in the climax rather than driving it or even participating. Everything is "solve
...more
Kate Coombs
This is the futuristic tale of a town consumed by a mega-mall. It's like the mega-mall is possessed by the aliens from The Matrix! Instead, it's run by a man who longs to avenge himself against humanity... But really, the story is mostly about a girl named Jule whose aunt disappears. Jule goes to the mall and falls in with a bunch of lost children who inhabit the vast complex, avoiding the security cameras and dining on leftovers from the food court. This part of the plot is actually far more in ...more
Andrea Cleland
This book had so much promise but fell totally short.
Bridget
There's something wonderfully sinister about the premise of this book- gangs of feral children living in a mega mall. Kit Reed has an unusual style, which may not be everyone's cup of tea, and the conclusion here was very similar to the conclusion of her Thinner Than Thou. I enjoyed it though, and I enjoyed the mystery behind Lance the loner and how he always managed to be where he was most needed.
JW
A book about feral children in a mega mall and the crazy guy who owns it. It's. I don't know how to describe it. It's probably a children's book, maybe YA but it lacks any real grit. This is a good tool to decide if someone's ready for a book with real intensity.
Meredith Amelotti
My hate for this book is indescribable. I had to force myself to finish this book. The plot was weak, and bland throughout the whole book. Even the climax wasn't even a climax.
Sarah
Jul 28, 2011 Sarah rated it 1 of 5 stars
Shelves: novel, ya
The third person narrator and totally unrealistic plot really annoyed me. I skimmed the ending and was unsatisfied.
Hayley
Readalike: Secrets of the Shopping Mall by Richard Peck
Riley H.
So far this book is pretty good, but I'm a little confused.
Anna
Anna added it
Nov 19, 2014
Haley
Haley added it
Oct 11, 2014
Naomi
Naomi marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2014
Nicole
Nicole marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2014
Beth
Beth marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Sugarkikkis
Sugarkikkis marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2014
Red
Red added it
Jan 31, 2014
Alaa' Khaled
Alaa' Khaled marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2014
Stella Maris
Stella Maris marked it as to-read
Dec 08, 2013
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
162930
SON OF DESTRUCTION "tells the story of the "thin line between an organised society and raw nature", and presents a compelling account of people torn by clan loyalty and made desperate by love, hate and loneliness." --The Guardian
http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2012/...


Her new "best-of" collection, THE STORY UNTIL NOW, A Great Big Book of Stories from the Wesleyan University press comes out in Mar
...more
More about Kit Reed...
Thinner Than Thou Enclave The Baby Merchant @Expectations Other Stories and ... The Attack of the Giant Baby

Share This Book